What is Your Exit Strategy?

Well, chronologically March 4th is the 4-year anniversary of this blog but since I have been persona non grata for close to a year it might be a stretch to think this post as an anniversary. However, it was interesting to go back and see what post numero uno (that’s Spanish if you want to look it up in Google translate) was about and what was on my mind at the time. If you are curious at all, here is that bad mofo (that’s French I think).

With writing like that the internet world must have suffered a significant setback when I left, huh?

What does any of this have to do with an exit strategy?

No kidding, right; looks like you are they guy who leaves through the back door without telling anyone goodbye.

The reality is, I am of the age that I should probably start putting some thought into this process instead of just walking out the door at work and expecting everything to just fall into place. Of course, that’s pretty much my MO, to just show up, so why should this be any different?

The truth is, my job is probably not different than most in that some days I am ready to walk out right now, no questions asked. Then there are other days where I feel I could easily do another 10. I am somewhere in between leaving right now and probably closer to 10, but then again I had a pretty kick ass start to this year so we will see how long that euphoria can carry me I suppose.

Part of the reason I am leaning more toward the 10 number is that my wife has already said I won’t be sitting around the house, and if she says it then it’s probably true and unless one of you want to take me in I better just keep showing up at the office.

Looking back

When I reminisce and reflect on my life the easy thing for me to do is to break it down in 10 year increments. 10 years is not a long time, but to put it in perspective I remember how much I enjoyed my 10 year old birthday party with my friends and only 10 years later I was celebrating my 20th with Uncle Sam in the woods at Ft Benning, Georgia.

During that 10 year stretch not only did we move away from the home town I grew up in, my parents divorced and I came of age I suppose.

As much as we take comfort in the routine at times, life is all about change, and a lot can happen in just 10 short years.

In the 4 years since I took the pledge and became active in the social arena there has been quite of bit of change. There have been some consistent Steady Eddie’s but then there have been more who just became tired and threw in the towel like me. It’s just online it’s more visible to all.

Every journey can be a learning process and would like to think I smelled the roses along this journey as much as I could. My circle of friends certainly expanded.

Looking forward

What does the future hold in store? Who the heck knows and when you listen to what is going on in the world around us it can be certainly scary at times. But I usually just compartmentalize it and put it on the back burner because it’s all out of my control anyway.

What I can do though, is to sit down and map out what I would like to see the next 10 years look like for me. Not only financially, but what in the heck I am going to be doing with myself to keep it interesting and fun (I’m still very big on fun).

Fortunately at work we have some tools at our disposal that will allow me to do just that. Things will always be fluid because life events dictate it, but at least I will have a road map to get me headed in the right direction on this journey.

Have you peaked?

Some people who were cool and popular peaked in high school. That wasn’t me fortunately because I was never as cool as I thought I was, and would like to think that peak is still out there somewhere.

Maturity allows for wisdom and most will say I am not mature at all but chronologically it allows me to be reflective and feel I have become more open-minded and less judgmental these days and happy and thankful for my lot in life.

That’s a good thing, right?

Well, enough rambling for now; I’m not making any promises but I’m sure I will at least remain in the somewhat invisible lurking mode for the immediate future. And you know what the man with the glass eye said when he removed it, “I’ve got my eye out for you,” so behave out there you kids and don’t forget to have some fun.

11 thoughts on “What is Your Exit Strategy?

  1. Hey Bill, I was thinking about you and hoping that you would do an anniversary post.No, you haven’t been around in a while but when you do show up it’s always welcomed.

    I’m steady Eddy and yes, I’m still having fun at blogging. I just don’t understand why others don’t feel the same way but those are probably the people who have passions that don’t involve staring at a screen.
    Interesting how you divide your life into decades. I hope you continue to keep us posted on your business your social work and your mountain biking. You always entertain us educate us and enlighten us.

    Sincerely,

    Steady Eddy

    • See, I’m even tardy in responding. I miss it; it gave me a sense of purpose, even if it was in my own mind.

      Who knows, stranger things have happened, huh?

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I had a huge smile on my face when I saw your post land in my inbox this morning. No matter how frequent – or infrequent – our contact/connection, I always know that you’ll bring that smile to my face. Fun? Always! And you bring fun and a healthy perspective to all of us. I had a 3 year blogaversary pass last month without posting as I seriously considered letting everything go. After much soul-searching, I decided, however, that it’s time for another re-invention. Stay tuned…the new site will bring a new focus to my words.
    I’m thankful for the friendships that were forged in those fun heady first days, and I miss that. The online world isn’t the cozy little place of camaraderie it once was. But for those of us who connected around that time, I’ll always hold dear in my heart. The days of #TeamBlogJack, Agent 86, crazy commenting, banter and fun are a fond memory now, so it’s always nice when we can connect and reminisce. Cheers! Snowshoes

  3. Dork…..just kidding. Sounds like a good idea. I am mapping out things in 5 year cycles. seems to work for me.

    No Florida for us this year. Too many things going on right now.

  4. Hey Bill,

    Exit strategy, I hope it never comes to that.

    Yeah, agreed completely with you – a lot can happen in a decade. Sometimes even quicker. It is best to make the most out of the time we have got.

    I guess it is a good thing to not peak quickly – people who grow slowly, grows more.

  5. I have that backdoor exit strategy always when I am in a crowd. I linger off to be alone and slip away when no one is noticing.

    I think you are right, let us live our lives to our fullest now and let the worries for later…what say??

Leave a comment