When to walk away…

GatorUhhh, maybe now would be a good time……just walk away Renee…..

Only in the F L A I know can I take you to places you can play with the alligators every time; ok, maybe not actually play with them, they don’t seem to have the best disposition regardless of how cute and cuddly they might appear.

Do you know Florida did not really become popular until air conditioning became affordable and available to all? Ya think….and I knew that other Florida; we didn’t have air in our house or car until I was 15 yrs old. That would be called child abuse these days I believe….:).

I knew Florida before Disney; where did all these people come from?

I’m a fourth generation Floridian; it’s a good thing I wasn’t the first. I might not have stuck around long enough to create any kind of legacy. Because being in a semi-tropical climate, yes we have lots of inland water which grows bugs and other things that bite, and heat & humidity; I probably would have bailed out early and been a damn funny talkin’ Yankee.

Hey Cleetus, who are you saying talks funny; that’s like the pot calling the kettle black, huh?

Have you ever seen a country mosquito? Big…..

Oh, I wish I was in the land of cotton, old times there are not forgotten…….

Do you know why we call roaches palmetto bugs? Marketing 101; who wants to move to a place that has roaches? You can put lipstick on a pig, but it’s still a pig, right?

Somehow this became a Florida post; this was supposed to be about social. Really.

Well, once I put my original photo in, it kind of took a life of it’s own. That gator really was a beast, if you look closely, you can see it has some serious girth to it.

I’m proud of my southern heritage; it’s the only heritage I know. And I can trace from Mitchell Dorman who died on December 11, 1784 in North Carolina, that my direct Dorman line just kept migrating south. And no, I’m not racist and never have been, my parents taught us to accept all, regardless of the color of their skin or religion.

I guess when you grow up only two missed paychecks from being poor white trash it’s easy to be humble and inclusive…:).

Are you proud of your heritage; regardless of the baggage that might go along with it?

Sorry I took you along with me down my memory lane.

Dorman, it’s time for you to walk away….from this post at least….

Wow, did this go in an entirely different direction than I expected. I was going to talk about the people I see taking my path and moving to the passenger seat in here while letting others drive the social train. However, it still let me talk about me which is always a good thing, right? Wha?

I’ll humanely put this post down with some suthen’ terminology in case you want to fit in around these parts…..actually, because we have so many snow birds who relocate to this great state you don’t get the true southern flavor as you would in Mississippi or Alabama. But if you venture into some of the smaller towns where time has stood still you can easily detect a true Florida Cracker accent from the locals.

Here we go:

Coke – every soft drink is a coke; not pop, not soda, but Coke. Ask for a Coke and a true southerner will ask what kind would you like.

Fixin’ to – I’m fixin’ to go to the store, can I pick you up anything? I guess we aren’t really fixing anything, huh?

Might could – I might could pick you up some food while I’m out at the store.

Pocket book – not purse, but pocket book.

Bless your heart – Well, bless your heart, I’m sorry you are feeling so bad today.

Feel free to drop those in anytime and you’ll fit right in.

Y’all come back now, ya heah………..and maybe we’ll have some grits with that fried catfish, ok?

51 thoughts on “When to walk away…

  1. Yes, I’m a Yankee who bailed on Florida, even with air conditioning. I really did enjoy my time there and made great friends I’m still close with. But I couldn’t convince any of my other friends or family to move down there with me so I retreated back up north to Virginia.

    There are many wonderful things I miss about Florida, but palmetto bugs don’t make that list.

    • Vuhginya, now that’s a fine suthen state if I do say so myself……….:). Even with the bugs, heat & humidity, you can just about do something outside if you so desire at least 360 days a year; that works for me.

      It’s all I know and at this point in my life I do not think I would like living someplace cold. I guess you can adapt but I would rather not have to.

      Beaches and sunsets; nuff said. Good to see you ma’am, thanks for stopping by.

    • Yikes; I heard somebody mention it might be cold this week, even in the 60’s…….whew……….

      I’ll hook you up with the lingo, just bring some Canadian coins that gets everybody all pissed off when they inadvertently find one in their pocket.

      Hola.

  2. Bless your heart, Bill, you know, I still don’t have a car! I’ll have a Coke, please. Oh, my treat. I’ll bring my pocket book along!
    That alligator looks BIG. And yes, I’ve seen them huge mosquitoes!

    • I saw several gators that day, but this was the biggest. If my zoom was better on my phone I think I could have captured how big it really was.

      I know, you are scooter lady; traffic is too crazy around here to be safe on a scooter.

      My grandmother used to have those little 6 1/2 oz Cokes in her fridge in the summer and would let us have one after my dad cut her grass; man were those so good.

  3. If we had dared to use might could right next to each other our English teacher would have been very angry. And here coke means just the brand, nothing else. You ask for coke, you get coke!

    Bless your heart! 🙂

    • It’s not as prevalent now with the Coke lingo because Florida has been infiltrated w/ Yankees, Cubans & Mexicans; we are becoming a very international type community. I guess eventually this will probably create a whole different lingo in time.

      I suppose us true Floridians might could pick each other out once we heard them talk…….:).

      Good to see ya.

    • They used to be endangered; now they are as prevalent as roaches. Banana Lake and Lake Hancock close to me have so many gators it’s almost scary to even take your boat out. Lk Hancock is the feeder to the park I was in where those pictures were taken.

    • I’m pretty neutral (at least in my own mind) compared to some but if you get me going and in the right crowd I can certainly hang with the best of them….:). I know my roots and being a 4th generation I suppose they run pretty deep (which is pretty hard in this sandy soil).

      Good to see you, hope all is well.

    • Those things fly too; yikes……….in the early days I’m sure it took a pretty good marketing job to ‘sell’ Florida. Even though there was plenty of sun, there were also plenty of bugs, snakes and hot as Hades humidity. I don’t recall it being that hot growing up, but if I didn’t have my air I might not have the sunny disposition I have….and that’s the truth.

      Good to see you Ruth, thanks for stopping by.

  4. ha! You got me laughing! I loooove southern accents, can’t stand a Massachusetts one- ugliest one I know and am happy to say I was born in Connecticut and have only lived in Ma. for the rest of my life after 4 years old..As far as heritage goes,.I always wanted to be an Indian. My dad was a fisherman and I used to get away wiith the fib that he was one (due to his perpetual sunburn) until 5th grade. Don’t like purses or pocketbooks. If it can’t fit in your pocket why do you need it?
    I’m sure I’d love Florida….barefoot works for me.

    • True story, I do have some Indian in me; I think it was my great-great grandfather that had a injun wife. I don’t think there were many choices in early Florida so you had to take what you could get, huh?

      I played golf with a guy from Maine last weekend. He was talking about the pah’s he made; we were having fun back and forth with the accents.

      Good to see you; I’ll be thinking about you and your dad.

  5. First, I’d never have gotten that close to take that gator picture–even if you took it from far away and hit the zoom. Second, I wish I hadn’t clicked on the “palmetto bug” link. Eeeww!! Either way, I loved getting a little taste of Florida. Never been there but plan to visit some time. Maybe we can hang out–minus the gators and palmetto bugs.

    I was originally a city girl (Philly, PA) transplanted out to the country (Lancaster, PA) when I was in high school. Talk about different worlds! It was really only a two hour driving distance but everything from the way people talked to what they wore was oh so different. You adapt and learn. Then you grow up and figure out that there’s only so much that makes us different and we all really want the same things in life.

    Good to see you, Bill!

    • We went to Cooperstown one year when my youngest was playing baseball. We flew into New York City and stayed there a couple of days and then drove upstate to Cooperstown. What a huge difference, no comparison. I can imagine it was the same transformation for you as well.

      We might sound different and even act a little different, but there really is very little that makes us different.

      Thanks for stopping by today; always a pleasure.

  6. Ha! Down here in South Florida I fit right in. Most people are from the Northeast. The northern part of the state does seem much more southern, in parts (I’ve lived in Texas and Georgia as well). The worst part to me are the fire ants. And they regularly catch gators from our canal and haul them off to “relocate” them…

    • Ah yes, South Florida; it’s an entirely different country/state down there. If you come up the center of the state and then take the T at I-10 that is where you will find most of Cracker accents. Up on the Georgia/Alabama line is where it starts really becoming a southern accent.

      How can we forget about fire ants and sand spurs. I was barefooted a lot as a kid and know sand spurs and fire ants well. And lets not forget about chiggers, wasps, and stinging nettles; I’ve been plagued by all at one time or another. I even got the moniker of Rattlesnake man for awhile because I stepped over one and didn’t even know it until I passed it. How I didn’t get bitten is beyond me. The one thing I have escaped however is poison ivy; knock on wood…or my head.

      Gators are plentiful, if they haven’t already, I think they can be removed from the endangered species list anytime now.

      Good to see you Julie.

  7. Having some roots is a great thing Bill. I’ve no idea how many generations of Englishmen I go back. I’ve traced my family tree back to 1672 and they’re been living in or around Lincolnshire, UK ever since!

    Accents are funny things. I’ve moved around the country so much I kind of don’t have one any more. There are so many accents over here though from county to county. I still can’t understand a word that some people from Glasgow are saying!

    • There is a line of my family from Cambridgeshire; that would be Jennings on my grandmothers side. I always thought Dorman was English but I haven’t made a direct connect and I’ve seen Dorman’s not only in England, but Ireland and Germany as well. I must be a mutt, huh?

      Accents and languages are funny; it’s interesting to see how much the Queen’s English changed when people arrived in the US.

      Good to see you Tim.

  8. Love the post, Bill; what a gator! Your suthen’ terminology is so true. Originally hailing from a very friendly Canada, I was stupefied the first time a 17 year old waitress called me “Hun” and “Sweetie”. I think I LOL-ed a little. 🙂

    • Bless your heart………:).

      I think because of the people I hang around with and with my work my accent is nowhere near as bad as some I hear from around here. When I hear it, it makes me think ‘I sure hope I don’t sound like that.’ But, I can still drop a fixin’ to in the conversation if I’m not paying attention.

      I hope all is well up there in Pensacola, thanks for stopping by.

    • When you fly in to Florida, the gators are looking for you too………:). It’s rare you hear of a gator attack, but they do happen. You certainly need to respect them.

      Gators, snakes, skeeters; we got ’em all.

      Good to see you Mark; hope all is well.

  9. Hi Bill
    Once I learned what Florida was like I decided it wasn’t a place I would want to live. I will stick with California. No gators, giant ugly bugs, humidity, lightening storms, hurricanes and I am doing fine without AC. Probably a good thing everyone doesn’t want to live in the same place. But did get a good kick out of your vocabulary.
    Mary

    • Because Cali is on a higher longitude, they don’t have the same amount of crawly things that Florida has. However, Florida is not on a fault line so we are not apt to drop off the earth but we are so low the water could certainly cover us up….:).

      SoCal or NoCal? Ever been to Black’s Beach? I think I saw Dr Seuss there.

      • I live in Northern California, across the bay from San Francisco. Been to many beaches along the coast. Forgot a lot of the names. But so I looked it up. There is one in SF, Santa Cruz and San Diego. For sure have been to the Santa Cruz one.

        We may end up with an earthquake but our house will not be 5 miles down the road in pieces. Maybe in pieces, but it will still be in the vicinity of where it took it’s last breathe. The last big one we had was in 1989 and other than shattered nerves, nothing happened to my house. Not so with some of the people in the bay area as it collapsed the freeway only about 15 miles from me.

      • Well I guess that is why I never went to the one in San Diego!
        You are right it was during the baseball game. Not a fan.
        Me and hubby were at home and not feeling well. Was half asleep on the sofa…talk about getting shook up and in the hallway like quick as a rabbit! The cats were very upset, one was hiding under the desk shaking and jumped at every little noise for days, of course me too!

  10. I’m Texan, so I can relate to a few of those sayings. Can also relate to Texas tall tales. I will not paste the link here since it is my first comment, but you can find my “Texas Tall Tales Growing Up Down By the River” post on my blog if you are so inclined…

    • Hey Brian, thanks for stopping by; you could have linked up, I’m pretty casual around here but I will go check it out.

      Down by the river living in a van?

      Ah yes, the older we get the better we were; some of those tales grow to mythical proportions.

      • Exactly…and um, I actually had relatives that lived in not much more than a van down by the river. Had one who in her lifetime lived in a penthouse with a professional gambler…and in a small trailer (not much bigger than a popup trailer) while dating a professional water skiing instructor. You have alligators…we had water moccasins 😉

  11. Haha, at first I thought you had a dead body in the grass!! Luckily I read the post or I might could have called the cops on ya!
    Another hilarious post Bill. Thanks for cheering up my day 🙂
    In New Zealand we’d say Good on ya Mate!
    Later Alligator!

    • No cops, I would have put the Kung Fu grip on them…..

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post and thanks so much for stopping by; you write w/ a smile and it’s always a pleasure to ‘hear’ your voice.

      I hope all has been well with you and you have a good weekend.

    • Consciousness, or UNconsciousness?

      Yes, I don’t always have a message and can ramble with the best of them.

      You better make sure your book tour comes to (central) Florida; good luck.

  12. I have a feeling Bill that you and I could swap good stories because this weather here in Houston is a lot like Florida. Thank goodness I don’t live on the water though but we do have gators in some of the waterways in the area. Our mesquites are pretty big here too and we do say “ya’ll come back now ya here”. Oh there’s more but you get the drift.

    • Yes, you are probably the one who can relate the most to what I say. Adam Toporek is in Orlando but he came from Virginia so some of this is still ‘foreign’ to him.

      Good to see you Adrienne.

  13. I have a few cousins from GA and gowing up they would come up to visit the “Yankees” not the team, but (us) “The NJ gang”, every couple years or so. In about 2 days of their being here I would find myself saying things like, “Y’all” and talking with a southern drawl. (just a little) 😉 But I am glad you decided to walk away… from this paricular fight. 😉
    BTW, love the one line “we didn’t have air in our house or car until I was 15 yrs. old”
    Epic funny! Good post Bill ! 😉

    • I lived in Georgia for 3 years when I was in the Army; I think I really got southern then. There is a difference between deep south southern like Georgia and Florida. We sound more like hicks in Florida……….:).

      I know in Maine & New England they change r’s into h’s, but down south we drop the g’s; like I’m fixin’ to or goin’ to something.

      Good to see you, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

