Treat your blog like the dog that it is

Woof.

Are you a dog or a cat person?

Cats certainly are more self-sufficient, but come nowhere close to the unconditional love a dog will give you. Is your blog self-sufficient, or could it use some attention so it will provide your readers with unconditional love?

Is your blog man’s best friend?

I’ve been in this game long enough to see which blogs do a really good job of being welcoming, happy to see you kind of blog. And I see the ones that push, push, push with little regard as to the stickiness; they are on a mission and need to keep pumping this stuff out. Every day.

Self-sufficient indeed, but where’s the love?

Guess what? They are both effective in their own way and it really depends on your mission.

Do you want to feed your ego, or feed your wallet?

And speaking of wallet, if you were to guess, who do you think is making real money in social these days; who are the top 2 per-centers?

And what is real money? Do you think a sustainable 6-figure income puts you in that category?

Would you walk away from a 6-figure income working for someone else to become a solo-preneur in social; would you jump off that cliff because you think it has that much potential and surely you can crack the code and do better than most on your own?

Oh, I think the potential is there, but why would someone want to give up a 40-50-hr week for an 80-hr week at probably 1/2 the pay if not less?

Maybe it’s because it would be doing something you love, huh?

What does the economy have to do with it?

A lot, and I can tell you exactly when the tide turned because what fuels our revenues at Lanier Upshaw is a direct reflection of how healthy the businesses we insure are doing. Yes, there were some industries who lagged behind, but eventually it pretty much caught up with everybody.

It was the 4th quarter, 2007. That was when our cheese was moved.

We were rock-n-roll up to that point and going global…..ok, maybe regional, but we had some grandiose plans indeed. We have been digging out of a hole ever since, but happy to say the line was drawn in the sand at the end of 2011.

And any astute business owner will tell you cash is king; and fortunately we were in a good cash position when the shit hit the fan sands started shifting.

What did that look like?

Ugly at times.

I saw more businesses either close or become shells of what they used to be; I saw more people lose their jobs and/or houses than I cared to see; and I had a strong feeling we weren’t in Kansas anymore.

I also saw many turn to social out of necessity, hoping it would keep them afloat. Yes, social is here to stay and there are plenty of opportunities, but for most it’s not like printing money. It’s more like a real job and it can be damn hard too.

But for some after they got past the pain of the life lesson learned, it has been fulfilling and successful enough to keep you going.

Why the dog analogy?

Well, I’m hoping my blog will treat me like my dog would. Even though I have neglected it somewhat lately, you should have seen it wagging its tail when I walked back in the door. It was like I never left. Talk about unconditional love indeed.

But I do realize if I don’t walk it regularly, I will still have to clean up the pee and poop regardless of how well I trained it. I would rather spend my time doing something productive.

As I inch along.

Ok, I’ve satisfied the ego thing I suppose; I have some of the best and nicest friends in here anyone could ask for. So, I guess that leaves the wallet, huh?

I don’t want to just push, push, push as that’s not my style. But since I have invested the time in learning how the game works in here, I would like to devote more time to branding Billy D as it relates to my business and ultimately that might mean more green backs, right?

It might take a while, as nobody has ever accused me of being the sharpest tack in the box; but Rome wasn’t built-in a day either.

There is no right way or wrong way, only your way.

Who let the dogs out?

Woof.

48 thoughts on “Treat your blog like the dog that it is

  1. My tail is wagging to see a post from you here today, Bill. You’re right, blogs are more like dogs than cats. They need more attention but can be more loyal and affectionate. You can tell when a blog is being treated like a cat. The blog may be easier to maintain, but the readers will show up when they darn well please, if then.

    Happy week to you, Bill!

  2. I always thought this social thing was supposed to augment your business. Just another way to get the word out about how awesome you are. It’s not really one or the other, is it? You already know that though. Maybe it’s more of a mindset thing. Do you love it as much as it loves you? Cheers, sir.

    • Augment yes, that works for me. Some use it totally to generate $$$$ but I see me being more effective for me using it as a door opener and then let’s see if it’s worth taking it to the next level. As I clunk along, eventually I will find my way I suppose.

      Good to see you sir.

    • Consistency yes; and that is actually the easy part. The hard and time consuming part is trying to be everywhere at once and giving back in the form of comments, shares, etc. Some do a much better job of this than I do. Even though I’m coming up to two years at this thing, I still have much I can learn.

      Thanks so much for stopping by, I hope all is well on your journey.

  3. Yo Billy D, too bad you are across the country because tonight I am going to going to make Charles Barkley look like a slacker. Tell him the next time see you him, will ya.

    Anyhoo,not a cat person or a fan of cats. Although I do like cats that eat my enemies, lions and tigers are good for that. I am blogger, hear me roar.

    Been a long time since you were invisible.

    • Did you tell Chuck I’m gunnin’ for him when he makes it back down to the F L A? Hopefully you didn’t bruise his ego too bad.

      I’m a dog person; they really know how to live in the moment.

      Invisible or MIA; is there a difference?

      Good to see you sir.

  4. Bill, I think it’s like anything else in life – what you focus on expands! Even Christmas tree growers have to do some pruning! Blogs are probably more like dogs – they respond to what you give them. If you ignore them, they’ll still come around, but will they be so happy that they forget? I don’t know. Blogging AND having another business is an enormous feat of organization, one I’m tackling with a vengeance in 2013! Join the LFI Hangout on the 16th – we’re talking about it then!
    Lori

    • Hey Lori, I’m just trying to find something somewhat consist that blends both worlds but keeping it something I enjoy as well. I think I’m close; I do know during my hiatus that I really missed being a part of the blogging world.

      Good to see you; I’ll try to make the hangout.

  5. Sing along with me…”who let the dogs out…woof, woof…who let the dogs out…” This was one of our theme songs back in 2000 when our Canadian lacrosse team was playing for the Championship Cup in B.C. Ahhhhh….memories. You know that, regardless of frequency of posting there will be many of us who will come a’running when there’s a Billy/Agent 86 post. Is that the tail wagging the dog? Regardless, just keep doing what makes you happy, and brings home the bacon. Mmmmm…did someone say bacon? Cheers! Snowshoes

    • Bacon, bacon……….woof.

      I don’t want to miss all of the fun so I need to stay plugged in somehow. I’m just trying to get my arms around if I start tying this into my business and posting it to LinkedIn, do I have to be all in, all the time? Do I need to pick a schedule and be purposeful with it? At least with a personal blog I can pretty much do what I want with very little repercussions other than lack of traffic. Decisions, decisions……….

      Good to see you ma’am; hope all is well north of the border.

  6. Woof!
    Licks on the face…
    Happy New Year, Bill! : )
    You are my very first comment of 2013, Bill! Now I know it’s going to be a banner year!

    Everybody has been negatively affected, some more than others, in this horrible economy…
    I tend to agree with Seth on this: http://www.businessinsider.com/if-youre-an-average-worker-in-this-forever-recession-youre-going-straight-to-the-bottom-2012-1
    We are in the midst of a huge shift on how most business (globally) will get done in future.
    During this transition, some folks are getting crushed, but make no mistake, the most valuable companies in the future of the world are being born as a direct result of the same catastrophe and there will be a transfer of wealth like nothing we’ve ever seen.
    It’s on a global scale from the get-go…
    Now, depending on what side of the equation you’re on, one of these is driving your professional life;
    – fighting to keep what you had, losing the battle, losing hope – or,
    – clearly seeing the tide changing, determined to make a difference & contribute answers and taking off on a giant wave that is sure to provide the ride of a lifetime!

    For these, itโ€™s an exciting time indeed and it’s fueling the future of business in the world.
    If you’re ambitious, smart and capable, you’ll want to plug into this energy here : )
    The other one is sucking the hope and life out of millions. They are not seeing the shift and have been swallowed up by sorrows : (
    The new generation of business is growing up digital. For us, we must fight to stay current and up to date; for the younger generation who’s taking over, its in their DNA and it’s morphing and growing by the hour ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    In regards to the things you’ve learned on your blogging journey so far (you’ve done brilliantly), when you start to look at ways to monetize, you will have to learn all over again in a senseโ€ฆ at least that has been my experience so far.
    You’ll make mistakes, learn by trial and error, just like you’ve done up to this point.
    There’s a lot of work and new things to learn on top of what you’ve already been doing, which you’ve mentioned requires a good chunk of time. It’s not an easy task.
    Rambling now…

    It’s good to see you, Bill… I look forward to sharing 2013 with you, sir! I have an idea I want to pass by you, once I get a bit further along developing it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Rambling? I’m going to use it for my next post…….:).

      There has been certainly some trial and error on my part but when I look at most of my peers I am light years from them with understanding somewhat the social platforms and what it does and doesn’t mean. Sometimes I get too down on myself for not being farther along but when I step back I can see even though it’s just a blip in the social world I feel I have accomplished a lot.

      I always want to be learning, I like active engagement and I like to write; maybe there is a spot for me in here somewhere, huh?

  7. Yea right…blogs are dear to us, but I would say a blog is more like a child…if it is not making too much noise, you know they are onto something ๐Ÿ™‚ (like a huge overhaul or a re-design)…and also you can easily tell when they are sleeping and out of business ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nice to read another one from you Bill.

    • Yep, when you can’t hear them you know you better go check on them, right?

      I took some time off to see what I felt would work best for me going forward; if people stopped showing up I certainly wouldn’t blame them because I have not been able to give back as much as I had previously been doing. However, I feel I will keep posting just to keep my spot in the game and just see what it looks like when we get to the fourth quarter I suppose.

      I do appreciate your thoughts and for stopping by; I hope all is well with you.

  8. I grew up on a farm and we had cats and dogs. I’m not sure I could choose between the two for different reasons.

    I’ve slowed down a lot on blogging and social media over the past few weeks but I’ve made some good friends that they still come over and visit whenever I post something new.

    I’m trying to get back into posting at least once a week. I still hope I treat my blog more like a dog though. I love the community I started to make and try my best to get around everyone’s blogs whenever I can.

    • Like you, the last few months was a good time to step away for awhile. Of course, I couldn’t totally walk away but there will be a different version of me going forward; at least from a personal blog stand-point. There really is no pressure for a personal blog other than what you might put on yourself.

      I’m excited about 2013 and I think Mr Bow Wow is as well; I can see his tail wagging.

      Good to see you sir.

  9. You definitely have a Dog blog. I think mine is more of a cat, but I love it and do its bidding. Regardless of what type of animal my blog is (It may be a guinea pig or a wildebeest for all I know), I feed it every day and it makes me happy to do so.

    • Ah yes, the wildebeest……….I think we all morph from one degree to another in here and sometimes it can happen weekly. I’m clunking around a little right now, but I’m here and there really is no pressure so I will ride it out for now until the next big thing comes along and bowls me over I suppose.

      Good to see you Mr Meeks.

    • Honestly?…:).

      Different strokes for different folks; I have seen all kinds of methods working. I somewhat emulated Gini Dietrich because she was my entry into social but quickly realized I am nowhere near organized enough, or have enough of a social vision to keep that pace. And I have seen success at the other end of the spectrum where there is absolutely no engagement on the part of the blogger but they still have a substantial audience.

      I guess it’s just a matter of finding what a good fit for you is and doing the best you can within those parameters, huh?

      Thanks so much for stopping by, so good to see you.

  10. Quality in a blog is important but define it first. The words or thought is going to be judged by individual tastes of those who read it. What is universally judged and remembered is the presentation (spelling, grammar and tone) .

  11. Well done metaphor Mr. Bill. Dog person here, but can hang with the cats if they happen to be around. You seem to keep the dog coming back with a wagging tail (do you keep treats in your pocket?) so you must be doing something right!

    We need to figure out a Tenoroc date soon while it’s still under 100. This weather is so FUBAR; my yard’s already turning into a mosquito-ridden, malarial pit — in January!

    • I played tennis last night and it was 80 degrees when we started; crazy, huh?

      The Howl at the Moon event is coming back up, I’m not sure if Lanier will have a team but if you are interested, I will let you know.

      I like pets (dogs and cats), but definitely a dog person. Woof…….

  12. Love your dog and cat analogy here to a blog Bill – so creative and I must pin that adorable picture you have as well. Blogging sure is a lot of work, it’s not just about blogging, it’s about sharing and commenting and reading others blogs. Getting to know others in the community. You may not see direct $$$ from it but it could easily lead to it over time. Just how much time do you have to get to that point?

    • Yep, it’s the whole nine yards that keeps you busy. If I was a better planner of time I’m sure I could fit it all in, but right now my day job is pretty busy in a very good way so I need to ride that wave as long as I can.

      I would like to find that blend where my social efforts actually supplements my income. I do know the power of networking and I’m certainly a firm believer in it. And all my networking efforts don’t have to be directly related to my wallet; I find you can help people in so many different ways so I always try to keep an open mind.

      Good to see you Lisa, I hope you have a great weekend in your vest……..:).

  13. I think any blog is more interesting when it’s the result of personal experience, and that, Mr. Bill, you have in spades. So keep filling us in. Hell, I might even call you for some insurance some day.

    By the way, we have four… yes, the number that comes after three… cats.

    • And I just might answer that call……….:).

      I know me the best so I can certainly keep it personal with my own anecdotes; whether anybody finds that interesting or not is a whole ‘nother ball game, huh?

      Meow, thems cats are a roamin’……….

      Good to see you sir.

  14. Woof! I think my Titan just took offense to your post! hahaha Very true Bill! Take it from a dog blogger, they (dogs) and blogs can be very high maintenance. The trick is finding the medium and just go with the flow. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh yes, some dogs are very high maintenance but the love a dog gives you back is certainly worth it. I wish I could live more in the moment like a dog at times.

      I’m still trying to dial in my ‘ideal’ social presence and maybe one day that light will click on and I know I’m exactly where I need to be.

      Thanks so much for stopping by; I do appreciate it.

  15. Oh my gosh! What an amazing post! As someone who was going to my furry dog’s obedience training last night, I LOVE this post. No matter how much effort we’ve put into training (or blogging) in the past, if that effort isn’t consistent the rewards of both fade away.

    • I agree with that; if it’s going to be worth anything you certainly have to pay attention.

      So far I’ve been fairly consistent on the blogging part; what has taken a back seat lately is my commenting at other places. And I know that’s a big component of growing your blog but my day job is cookin’ w/ gas right now and I need to stay close.

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave your thoughts; much appreciated.

    • And I hope you don’t mind that one of the two will be a warm one………..

      I have some wasabi & soy sauce Blue Diamond almonds on my desk; pretty tangy but good.

      Hope you are doing well sir.

    • Hay Adrienne, good to see you. I’m still wandering somewhat, but my dog collar does have my name and address on it. I’m trying to dial in what works for me and still brings some value.

      Let’s just see where this journey takes me, huh?

  16. Bill: You have some splendid analogies within your article man! Though I am not a fan of pets (Mostly because my father wasn’t a fan of them) what you said about not walking your dog, but still having to clean up the pee and poop was right on point. If you have to go through the process of cleaning up the pee and poop then you might as well enjoy walking the dog as best you can, right? The same can be said about our blogs. I am the type of person that leaves my blog un managed sometimes, but I really have to get some post scheduled so I will be in a better position the take time away from my blog writting. As for money, I don’t blog for it, I blog for fun, happiness, learning and sharing knowledge. That is my main reason why I don’t set deadlines, though im sure a lot of people would disagree.

    Best Wishes,
    William Veasley

    • Hey William, hope all is well and thanks for stopping by.

      This blogging can be a strange bird indeed and everybody’s mission might be just a little different I suppose; I’m just trying to figure out what works best for me.

      As always, I appreciate the comments.

  17. Well, the headline worked, Bill – anything that mentions furry four-legged creatures, and I’ve just got to click on that link.

    Got cats too but have to confess DOGS are my thing – like my blog, they’re very attention seeking and keep me busy, they occasionally make me curse (usually the labrador, when he steals my lunch) but more often bring a smile to my face. They’re worth the effort and I don’t know what I’d do without them.

    As one of your other readers mentioned, they need consistency and my husband and I aren’t too good at that, hence we have two moderately badly behaved hounds – still gorgeous, though.

    Sue

    • I think I have found a ‘keyword.’ I have several new visitors to this post just because I mentioned dog. Funny how that works, huh?

      Good to see you; thanks for stopping by. I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

