This blogging gig is hard work

Ah, the ebb and flow of social; it’s interesting to see who is still around visiting, who’s around but on a different mission, or just flat-out couldn’t keep the pace.

For those no longer around but ultra-focused on taking it to the next level but no longer have time to be social, or at least social in all the wrong places, best of luck to you and I’m glad we had the opportunity to meet.

You got in social for a reason and hopefully it is still a platform you can use to help fuel your success.

I just read about this on another blog

Me too and it was someone who I spent a lot of my early days with. However, it was obvious to me since I was a few rungs below them in the perceived social hierarchy, I would not be enough of a stepping stone to advance them.

Let’s just say we both sought greener pastures.

Life in the big city.

And that’s fine; that’s their model, and they are on a mission.

I hope they make it big and hope it’s sustainable.

Sincerely.

Who is left?

I don’t need to name names, they are here on a pretty consistent basis. I know how fluid social is so anybody that has been around more than a year is a pretty big deal.

I did have a surprise though.

Jayme Soulati who I’ve known since my early days posted a repeat of her post of 8/8/11 at Spin Sucks this weekend. The cool thing was, I had commented on her original post.

I might be doing the same ol’ thing, but at least I’m still around, right?

It can’t last forever

Nothing lasts forever.

I have a few long-timers in my community I can tell are on the way out. They won’t need to say goodbye, but they keep getting smaller and smaller on the horizon.

And it’s kind of sad because you do become friends with your community. However, we all know life, other endeavors, lack of interest, or no perceived value will contribute to the exodus.

Life in my town.

This is what happens when you just show up

Even though I haven’t changed much from my early days, you certainly can’t say I haven’t been consistent.

Whereas some might think I should have grown a lot more than I have, at least I’ve been true to my mission so far.

But that has probably been to my detriment as it seems sometimes the glue is just not sticky enough to keep the community close.

The big hairy experiment

So much of a coincidence it is actually kind of scary. I wanted to reference one of my earlier posts to make my point and take a wild guess what day I posted The Big Hairy Experiment; yep, also 8/8/11.

Gives you goose bumps, huh? Must be Halloween……..:). Ok, maybe not that big of a deal but still uncanny.

What is your point this time? 

I thought my Monday post this week was somewhat witty, catchy and reverent. I also thought it was one of my better written posts, but that is only my opinion.

Monday traffic was pretty healthy; however, Tuesday looked like Saturday or Sunday traffic for some reason. And even the comments were way down.  I don’t rely too much on measurement, but is that a sign; a harbinger of things to come?

I never put too much stock in one post, but I just have a feeling it’s getting harder and harder for some to make an appearance.

The last thing I want is for people to just show up out of some sense of social obligation.

And if it’s time, it’s time and I certainly wish you well.

Was that your point?

Really?

My point is, my son’s first day at Lanier Upshaw is today; Wednesday 10/17/12.

Because he was family he probably had to jump through twice as many hoops as anybody else would. He did extremely well and I’m very proud of him.

I want to observe how his first week goes.

Next week, I’m playing in a 4-day golf tournament with 15 of my buddies from FLA, IA, WI, MI & OH. It’s 8 on 8 Ryder Cup Style format and I won’t be on social.

Therefore, this post might be my last social act until November. This is my big hairy experiment and based on every thing I touched on in this missive; the timing is probably right.

I’m sure my absence will not leave a gaping hole in the blogosphere, but have fun while I’m gone.

That.is.all.

61 thoughts on “This blogging gig is hard work

  1. OOoh, while the cat’s away….
    I’m just flitting in for a moment to say: congrats to your son and to you on him joining the company. Golf…do you play that in snowshoes? Gaping hole? yes, but we’ll work hard to fill it. I’ll be back later to add further comment:) Cheers! Snowshoes

  2. I can’t stop being loyal. No matter how long and difficult the road gets I keep coming back…like the pet you drive to the wilderness hundreds of miles away and keeps coming home! LOL! Made myself laugh! Really. I’m laughing.
    Honestly, this year in the blogosphere has changed who I am. I don’t have a hard time making friends, but I can’t have too many and still feel like I know each of them. So…regardless of where you are or if you ever post again regularly, I consider you a friend. When I talk about one of your posts (and I do) I call you “Bill,the insurance guy.”
    Have fun golfing! My son played a match on Nantucket yesterday and won! I can’t stand the game myself, but I understand why people do. I do like driving the cart though.
    See ya!

      • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

  3. Hey there…congrats on your son joining the firm! What a feeling that must be. I remember when you said that was going to happen, and here it is.

    I’m not sure all of the people that you are referencing have gotten too big for you, for this space or for any of this. Many have simply found some sort of groove in how to manage the flow of all of this. In everyone’s early days, there can be an enormous amount of time spent in Social because it is an unbelievable place to connect with others. What often happens is that people learn as much as they can through use and observation, they they realize that, to get the rest of their work done, they have to manage their work flow a bit better.

    As followers and connections grow, it also becomes a larger task to stay connected. That;s a function of sheer numbers, and will continue to change this world we all know and love.

    Glad to see you, and hope you have fun with your son there. I’m on a bus headed to Chicago at the moment, looking forward to helping a company formulate marketing and social media strategy, then find their “groove” in these spaces.

    Be well, my friend.

    • Hey Nancy, how the heck are ya? Yes, most of us second tier grizzled veterans have figured out what is sustainable for us. And yes, social is fickle as ever so I shouldn’t be too quick to make judgments based on a single post. It just seemed like the air was going out of the balloon for some.

      I’ll step away for a couple of weeks and maybe it will provide some clarity for who I want to be when I grow up………:).

      So good to see you and good luck with your trip.

  4. Well Bill I think you have identified the crux of the matter – how do you chose to spend your time and what’s the payoff. I think it takes a while to sort it all out – what do you want from social media and what effort are you willing to expend. Good luck to your youngster and don’t slice your drive into the water on the fourth hole lol.
    Riley

    • The thing is, I thought I was in a sustainable place and getting what I wanted out of social. Fortunately or unfortunately for me, it’s visitors and if I don’t have enough game for people to stick around it might be hard for me to do so as well.

      It was information overload for the kid yesterday; today he will be with the IT department all.day.long.

      I’m looking forward to the golf and seeing my friends; it will be fun.

      See you soon.

  5. Opportunity cost is crucial for any blogger, or indeed social media person. When so much can be done for free, it is time that becomes the valuable commodity, and should be suitably treasured.

    • Time is money; but in the course of a day what exactly do you do with all that time? In my case, I got to a place I could keep social sustainable and not have it cut into my productive day job time to a certain degree. Because I like to network, social was meeting that need at my desk.

      Could I do more? Yep, and maybe this time off will bring clarity.

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by sir.

  6. I agree that blogging is hard work, but it is also fun. I have a friend who started a blog called Life of An Architect about the time I started mine. We both grew for a while and then I started to use my blog for writing books and my readers sort of got bored. It was okay, I was doing what I wanted. He kept creating new and interesting content that spoke to his readers and now gets 10-20,000 readers per day. I think his focus on providing the content that his community wanted was the key. My point is this, I love my blog, and it motivates me to write every day. I’d like more readers, but what I really want is to continue writing and to improve at the craft. I’ve posted daily for over 1000 days and that is something I’m proud of, but more than that, the streak keeps me going when I don’t feel like writing.

    I guess my point is this, I sense you love your blog, too. It seems to me that there are always people hanging out here and leaving comments, so from where I sit, the blog is a huge success. I hope you can appreciate how well you’ve done and take joy in that fact. If you’ve not reached your goals, then I say keep going. I have every faith you’ll get there.

    Enjoy the golf!

    • In some ways I admire the path you have chosen because if I really wanted to get better at being a writer, that is certainly the way to do it; regardless of who is showing up. However, I am social by nature so my payoff is visitors AND comments. Yes, I do love my blog and still surprised at the community I have.

      The time off will do me good; I will definitely be back.

      The golf will be fantastic; we are playing 4 really, really nice tracks and the format is match play so if you stink it up on one hole, just move on to the next one, right. I’m waiting on you to get down here so we can play, we can probably get on one of the Disney courses.

      Talk to you soon.

  7. Hi Bill,
    It is all part of the cycle. Two of my blogs have seen big jumps in traffic and two have seen things plummet. Social makes me laugh because I have posts that I know are outstanding that receive little to no attention and others that are closer to filler that are lauded as amazing.

    Can’t account for taste or for people. Maybe the readers know better, and maybe they don’t.

    I know some of the people that no longer visit me have seen big bumps in their visibility and never come by. Don’t know if they are too busy, bored with my material or think they are too important. Maybe that is it and maybe it is not.

    Not all that different from sales, some months/years you are the big dog and then you aren’t. Can’t always pinpoint it, still have a great pitch but the ears aren’t there any more.

    Anyhoo, enjoy the time with your son. That should be fun. Gives me an idea or two for a blog post.

    • I’m like you, Josh, I can rarely predict the traffic for my posts. The one that surprised me the most was How to Change Your Twitter ID Successfully. Who knew there were that many people dissatisfied with their Twitter ID? It’s good to hear I’m not the only one who can’t predict traffic.

      • As I write a post and I’m making myself laugh or think that I really nailed that one and then send it out and it barely get’s a ripple; it just confirms how fickle this thing can be. I see some who truly put out dribble just to keep their posts consistent, but they have built up so much street cred people act like it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread (if that really was a great occurrence….:).

        Now, let’s talk about that Twitter ID……….

    • Now that the kid is actually here working, it’s kind of exciting for me. Our company is privately owned and we are committed to internal perpetuation; he could actually be running this thing one day.

      Out of all the visits I get in a day, I wonder how many actually take the time to read but don’t comment; probably more than I think. Because I’m a chatty kind of guy, I do like the comments but really shouldn’t put too much into that metric alone.

      Tell me about sales; what have you done for me lately?

      Thanks for your thoughts; I’ll see you in a couple of weeks.

  8. So? What’s your point, Dorman? All you need to do is get Gini D to write your posts for a week and hire your son to go in and comment for you. No one will know the difference. You know how I know that? I have had a Japanese Macaque blogging for me for over 6 months now and no one has noticed.

    Good to see your son making his way….the Dorman way….and enjoy that tournament. My golfing days are over for this year. See you in FLA in March!

    • At first blush I would say Gini wouldn’t have time to fit something like this in, but if anybody in the ‘sphere could make it happen, it would be her. She really is the best BTW……

      It will be interesting to see how my son embraces social with the job; he has a minor in Journalism so he can definitely write.

      The golf we are playing are on 4 really nice courses; I’m ready to go chop them up……….:).

      See you soon sir, thanks for the visit.

  9. We just love you, babe. We don’t comment, some would call us a lurker, but I maintain we are what we are, it is what it is, and we are going to miss you.

    • We are what we are….it is what it is……….:).

      Thanks for the kind words and as in the famous last words of the Terminator……’I’ll be back’………….:)

  10. Not sure if it’s a phase or a seasonal thing, but I’ve found myself pulling away a bit from all except Facebook. Seems more personal and easier to connect there. And that’s the other challenge…there are so many awesome people to connect with and sometimes I just can’t keep up!

    So I fade away, and usually come back to those that with whom I resonate.

    • I actually had to pull away from FB because it was too visible; it made it appear that all I was doing was social and that wasn’t necessarily a good thing for me. It is easy peasy though……..

      Because I’m social by nature I probably try to keep up w/ too many, but maybe this time off will give me some clarity and it might clean house a little bit on it’s own, huh?

      So good to see you; hope all is well in the great white north.

  11. Congrats on your son, Bill. I would be so nervous each day my daughter came in the office. But I’m sure he’ll do great. You must be so proud!

    I don’t recall you asking permission for time off, Bill. You need to fill out the form in triplicate 90 days ahead of your requested leave date. Submission of a form is no guarantee of permission being granted. Requests will be considered in the order in which they are received. You will receive an answer no sooner than 120 days from the date of submission.

    You know, if this blog weren’t about you, you could have guest posts. Maybe we could submit posts such as, “What I Like Best About Bill Dorman.”

    Have a great time and I expect two holes in one or one hole in two. 😉

    BTW, did you change the font on your blog? I really like it. Which font did you use?

    • I’m a little nervous about my son here because I certainly want to see him succeed but know how humbling sales can be at times. He surprises me though and I need to think of him as a man now and he knows what he needs to do to get it done. With the right kind of mentoring, he should be able to far exceed anything I have done.

      Funny you ask about the permission slip; I put in my request yesterday for time off from the office and of course, we have a board meeting on Wednesday. I usually don’t like to miss those, but duty calls……:).

      I think the fonts are what the new theme gave me; I don’t recall specifically changing anything.

      I’ll take a hole in one; I just can’t let it cost me $450 like the last one.

      See you soon.

      • My people say your font is Helvetica. For some reason, that looks better on your blog than mine. I just changed my font though, I like the clean sans serif look of your font, even if Helvetica doesn’t work on mine.

        Well, I hope that you don’t get two holes in one that cost you $900!

    • The challenge will be, even though I’m taking a hiatus I will still see what’s going on. Like staying home from school sick and everybody is out on the playground playing………..

      I’ll be back; I won’t take as much time off as you did……….:)

  12. Hey Bill,
    I definitely agree that you can’t judge anything off one post. I can hardly ever tell which ones are going to do well. A handful I knew that I knocked it out of the park, but most of the time it’s random, and there are too many other factors…
    Glad you’re taking some time off the social merry-go-round. Should be refreshing, though I must admit I’m not quite convinced you’re going to make it until November. If you do, the next round is on me! 🙂
    Congratulations on your son joining LU! I know you must be a proud papa. I look forward to hearing how his first weeks go.
    Enjoy the time away!

    • Yeah, November is a long time away………..yikes; maybe I’ll be back after golf………..:). You know me, I gotsta be social……….

      I will be back and hopefully refreshed and on a mission.

      It’s cool having my kid here; up until about 3 months ago I would have never thought that was a possibility. Now that he’s here, it’s pretty exciting. It really can be a great career for him and I think he realizes that.

      See you soon.

  13. Hey Bill, this is very timely for me. As a rookie I’ve hit a padded wall. It’s my 7th week as a blogger – and after 3 months of working 15-hour days I’ve discovered there’s more to life, like being social in the offline world! Doh, I hope I won’t be one of those people you’ll be saying goodbye to in a few months’ time.

    Btw, this is strange… I was dreaming about you the other night – Bdorman264… Bdorman264… Bdorman264… like a clock ticking inside my head, and your smiling face stuck to my frontal lobe. Seriously it was driving me mad! What do you make of that??

    Oh and good luck with the golf.

    Lil 🙂

    • Ah, my early days in social; I thought there was absolutely no way I could keep up the pace trying to blog and comment and still do my day job. There was many a night I was burning the midnight oil to make it happen. HootSuite and lists help me solve some of the clutter, and eventually I found a happy medium. It’s tough to back off though because you feel you will lose the ground you have gained.

      Hang in there, you will run into the wall several times, sometimes padded sometimes not.

      As for the dreams, that’s when you know your brain has turned to mush and social has taken over your life……….:). My brain is still mush BTW.

      The golf will be fun; good to see you and thanks for the kind words.

  14. Congratulations with your son Bill. I don’t know how it feels to have your son working in the same company as you, but I know that I would be proud.

    But golf? I have never tried it, even though it looks like fun and relaxing, especially if it’s sunny Florida 🙂

    • Golf can be relaxing but can be very frustrating too…..just like life…..but I keep a good attitude and take it for what it is; kind of like social, I do what I can and hope not to stink it up too bad.

      It’s neat seeing the kid around; it will be fun.

      Sunny indeed; our days are still in the mid to upper 80’s in October.

      See you soon.

    • Too late; I’ve already been looking, but no playing. I have had to release some posts out of Triberr and replying to your comment doesn’t count…..:).

      I’m taking my son to a networking event tonight, it should be fun.

      The smack talk is already going down with the golf; so I know it’s going to be fun and I’m ready.

      Good to see you and talk with you soon.

  15. Hey Bill

    Sounds as though you’re son is getting stuck in and will be a chip off the old block! It must be really interesting to have him working in the same firm as you.

    I’m a little late to the party this week. My wife’s on holiday for a couple of weeks so I’ve been offline more than usual. I haven’t forgotten you though.

    I hope you enjoy the golf! I drove past what seemed like 100 courses this morning on my way to Gullane.

    • Interesting indeed, but I like it; and I will do everything w/in my power to make sure he far exceeds anything I ever did.

      I want to play some more of your golf courses; soon my friend, soon.

      Good to see you and I will catch up with you soon.

  16. Hello!

    I have always admired your approach, You give the meaning of social in social media. You make it work. I have always loved how to manage to keep it fun yet be everywhere, every time. Congrats to your son on the start of a new journey.

    Hope you enjoy your golf. As for missing from the blogosphere, you sure the blog stocks won’t come crashing down because Bill didn’t show up?

    • Blogs stock will crash; actually, me head-count will probably go to zero and maybe I can slowly build from there, right?

      Social is like networking to me and that I can do; I just need to keep it sustainable which I have been able to do. It just makes me sad if I think people are leaving because they feel there is no value here and I’m not giving them enough ‘actionable’ items on their social journey.

      Thanks for the drive-by and talk to you soon; I’m getting ready to take my son to a ‘networking’ event.

  17. Blogging is indeed hard work. Much harder than anyone of us can ever express in words.

    Like you said, some leave.

    Some stay.

    But, no one stays for ever, right?

    Someday, we will all lose interest.

    Or maybe the world will end.

    Or maybe internet will shut down.

    Or blogging will be banned after the governments of the world take over their respective countries.

    Who knows?

    There is always an end.

    What matters is not the end or the beginning, but how we lived, how we blogged.

    Good luck on your break, Bill 🙂 Hope you have fun! And Congrats to your son!

    • I think because it’s so easy just to jump on the computer you can keep these relationships going on indefinitely; however, just like real life, people come and people go.

      Blogging is easy; blogging is hard. I use it to network and be social. It’s a platform for me to talk with others and share thoughts and ideas. However, you want it to be meaningful enough people want to show up, right?

      I’m looking forward to some fun time with my friends; talk to you soon, thanks for stopping by.

  18. Hey Bill!
    I still stop by here and there. I don’t forget to come around, even if it is on a Saturday, like today just to see what has been going on. I can say I have been busy and all, you know, the Giants are doing pretty good this season. (WOO HOO!!) And they have been getting most of my attention.
    Working, working, working. I wish I could come by more often but I’m sure like many people that started here around the same time are either gone out of frustration or working on some new project. Always a hustle and a bustle. But I love the social, even if I stopped working toward business I think I would still blog.
    Congrats to your son. If he is anything like you, I’m sure he will be awesome! :-p I don’t know if my son and husband could work together. They are trying to fix up an old El Camino. Let’s just say, tensions flare.
    Have fun golfing. I was thinking of taking it up next spring, I’ll have to come by and get pointers from you.

    ~Allie

    • Be careful with golf, it can be addicting like social….:).

      Giants play today, hopefully they can scratch out two more wins. My man Buster needs to start hitting….

      It has been fun having my son around; we had to get him moved into his apartment this wknd, so much for practicing my golf game, huh?

      So good to see you and thanks so much for stopping by. I hope your week goes well.

Leave a Reply

