Build your blog in 3 easy steps

If you are taking the time to stop by and read this, then chances are you are a blogger.

Blog, blahg, blogging, those are funny words indeed. To us on the inside, quite commonplace; to all others, it can elicit all kind of reactions and responses.

How do you respond when somebody from the outside remarks ‘I heard you were a blogger?’

If you are obscure and revel only in the perceived semi-anonymity of social media and most in the outside world have no clue what you do; it can be akin to a remark like ‘I heard you were gay.’

Say what?

Certainly nothing wrong with either, but were you quite ready to tell the whole world? Do you feel like thumping your chest or do you stammer and come up with excuses and act like it is no big deal?

Were you prepared for the traffic?

When you finally had the courage to write a post and after proof-reading it 173 times, did you expect a tidal wave of visitors and comments when you hesitantly hit publish for the first time?

Or did you expect nobody to show up?

Or somewhere in between?

It was still somewhat exhilarating hitting the publish button though, wasn’t it?

The reality

When you decide to jump in social  just because everybody seems to be talking about it and you certainly don’t want to be left behind; there is probably an observation phase, just so you can see what this is all about.

You see all the activity, so it might be easy to think blogging could be the road to recognition, popularity and riches. Once in you typically go two ways: 1) build the perfect blog site with all the bells and whistles and make it look all pretty, and then try to write something epic; or 2) wade in slowly and see what’s going on before you dip your toe in the water.

The water can be cold…..and deep too…..

The reality? You might have the best looking clothes at the party, but if nobody knows you, you will probably end up blending in with the wallpaper.

But, I’m all about business

Good, more power too you. But it’s like joining your Chamber of Commerce and expecting people to just show up at your door without doing anything else but becoming a member.

I know nothing about you so why should I put any credence in what you have to say or sell?

When you finally come to a Chamber social, just don’t be that creepy guy handing out all your business cards to everybody who walks through the door.

Establish your credibility first

Depending on what your expectations are, there are many different ways to measure social success.

Because I am a pretty simple guy, for me it was not only comments, but the type of conversation that went along with those comments as well.

In my day job, I do a lot of networking. I viewed social online as an extension of this, so actually I found it pretty easy to pull off.

Whereas I will likely seek you out at a networking event, what I won’t be doing is trying to sell you on anything but myself. I will open the door and provide an opportunity for us to get to know each other, nothing more, nothing less.

If you ask, I will give you my 30-second commercial; but chances are I will be asking most of the questions.

To me, this approach allows you to form your own opinions of what type a person I am, what I am all about, and if you think I’m credible or not.

Even though people think they have this cloak of semi-anonymity online in social, why would you want to act any differently in here than you would if we were to meet in person?

My secret sauce

Normally I would charge a lot of money to provide this advice.

The reality is, if you re-read the above 3 paragraphs, that’s all I have; that’s all it took for me.

However, if you want more details, I will share with you what has worked on my journey if you think it will be beneficial. It might not work for everyone depending on what your mission is, but for me, I know it starts with people first….always, regardless of what you are trying to do.

If you take the time to develop the relationship and get to know the people, then great things can be done.

What is twitter?

When I started, I kicked around in twitter for about 6 months following athletes and celebrities and quite frankly it was boring and it sucked. It was one-way communication and I just didn’t see the point.

By purely a fluke, I re-tweeted a post from a local person I followed who was heavily into social and taught PR at the local college. Also linked and mentioned in this tweet was none other than Gini Dietrich.

I didn’t know Gini Dietrich from Gini Bobini, but when I re-tweeted the tweet she was mentioned on, for some silly reason she started following me.

Wow, a real person who I didn’t know wanted to follow me on twitter.

I followed back and checked out her site. Unbeknownst to me, she had a fairly popular blog and there were all kinds of people engaging in conversation there.

Not knowing any better, I jumped right in and left a silly comment. Guess what? She responded back………wow again, someone is actually talking to me in social.

Blogs are where it’s at

Discovering her blog and then seeing the engagement with the visitors who also had blogs as well; I started visiting other sites and leaving my comments there too.

Because Gini had a good mix of the right kind of people, it didn’t take me long to be recognized.

It was hit or miss with some of the blogs I visited because some were more socially oriented than others; but by being consistent and visible it did not take long for people to form an opinion as to what type of person I was, what I am all about, and if you think I’m credible or not.

  • Step 1 – take the time to meet the people and form relationships first; get a good feel of what crowds you want to hang with. I would sprinkle a few ‘A’ listers (Danny Brown was very generous too) but if you want real engagement, drop down a notch to other bloggers like yourself who appreciate the attention.

Invest your time here first and it will be time well spent.

I am a blogger

Because I was starting to be seen everywhere and was personable, courteous and somewhat witty with my replies; people started to encourage me to start my own blog.

I thought ‘why not’ and with a free WordPress account it was extremely easy to jump in.

To give you an indication of what my expectations were, I came out of the chute as the Invisible Blogger because I thought no one would show up.

  • Step 2 – link your blog to the comments you leave. Make it easy for people to come to your place.

To my surprise, people started to show up but I have to believe it was because of the time I spent with Step 1.  I was even highlighted in a post by Ari Herzog and quite truthfully it scared the daylights out of me, because I would have felt bad for Ari if nobody showed up.

Thankfully he didn’t have to hear crickets, but it validated laying a good foundation first.

I don’t have time to be social

Trying to make money online is just as hard trying to make it in the real world. If you are using blogging as a means to generate revenue, then you probably don’t have time to just hang around the blogs and be social all day.

However, if you are using a blog as a platform so people will get to know you, it will be to your advantage to take the time to develop the relationships first; regardless of your mission.

  • Step 3 – temper your expectations of making gazillions of dollars online and be willing to give much more than you receive. You will be paid back many times over.

That’s it, that’s all I have

What I didn’t get into was SEO, measurement, linkbait, keywords, etc.

Why, because I don’t use any of it; essentially what works for me is just showing up.

However, that’s not to say the tools at your disposal shouldn’t be used; I just know what I described above has worked pretty well for me and if that looks like success to you, then feel free to copy it.

Good luck in your journey.

That.is.all.

84 thoughts on “Build your blog in 3 easy steps

  1. Indeed it is all about relationships, connections, engagement and of course, having a great time through it all. That’s all it is for me 🙂 I am simply grateful for the people who do show up at my blog, because they’re some amazing folks, some of whom I am likely to meet soon. 🙂 And thank heavens for Skype which lets me see some of my favorite people from thousands of miles away, right here in my living room or my sunny office, depending on the time of day!

    No SEO, stats, whatevas for me either, Bill. Just happiness. And if I can help someone out in some way, that’s reward enough!

    • Personally, I feel if you do the relationships first, then if and when the ‘stats’ are important to you, you will have a solid base to build from. If they never become important, then just keep doing what you do best, right?

      Two things that have made this a ‘win’ for me; all the great people I have met and all that I have learned along the way. For now, I don’t have to make it any more than that.

      Good to see you as always; I hope you had a great weekend.

    • There are two specialty offcies I would like to work in. My interest are in the nervous system and the endocrine system.In the 12 years I have been with my boyfriend, he has lost two sisters and a brother to different forms of lupus. He also lost his mother to the disease before 20 years before I met him. I feel working with an endocrinologist or neurologist I will be able to learn more on how these system works.The proctologist office would be at the bottom of the list. After experiencing a lower GI to rule out problems in my stomach. I refuse to go through that again.

  2. I think “just show up” are three words that are highly underestimated. Because that’s 95% of the battle, I think… and I think you wrote a post about it a while back as well, didn’t you? Especially since recently I haven’t been “showing up” as much as I think I should, I really feel the effects; not just on comments, etc., but on the wonderful interaction(s) I had with so many people. I suppose the good thing is that now I know who my “real” friends are (like you), because they understand what I’m trying to deal with, and know that I haven’t gone away for good. But really – consistency is key… if this whole world is important to one.

    And I sent you an email about FL in November!

    • Just showing up indeed; and now people are talking about growing and changing and staying relevant. Sheeeshhh; can’t I get comfortable ‘just showing up?’

      I’m proud of you; I’m glad you are taking the time to stay as plugged in as you can. Most would have folded up their tent. It’s not easy because life does get in the way.

      Even though I haven’t done a good job of establishing a specific mission in social other than ‘just showing up,’ I have met some great people, and maybe I don’t have my PhD in social yet but I have been exposed to some master’s level courses.

      I got your e-mail and will respond; good luck while you are on the road.

  3. A lot is about expectations, is it not? In real life we know where a heightened expectation’s attitude will lead you, but what about blogosphere? At first, depending of course where you look for answers, it is an overwhelming place of endless promises, of immeasurable wealth to be gained within 30 days or guru status within 24 hours. It is like the cunning barber on the medieval market selling you the facial cream of eternal youth or those three dark figures cheating you out of your last money in a shady card game.

    Having a sales background I can relate to your three step MO:
    1. Establish your credibility, be authentic and gain trust
    3. Hold your expectations in check, be patient and work hard and time will reward you.
    2. Here you have got me: Linking your blog to the comments you leave? How do you achieve this? Unless that blogger has some plugins such as commentluv installed?

    And now let us see this 30 second commercial, shall we?

    Bill, what I like about this post is that it is all about people and the way we interact.

    I trust you are fine and your week has taken off to a promising start!

    • Yeah, if I had a real comment system you could actually link a post here, huh? Actually from here I can click on your name and get to your post. Where the real commenting systems are, I can put in my URL blog address to link to it.

      I don’t make it the easiest to find me or know when I have replied to a comment; but it’s not impossible either. I would like to think I’m worth it……….:).

      People are the common denominator; some in here try to skip that part and go straight to the money, and of course in less than 30-days, but where’s the foundation? House of cards if you ask me…………

      If it was easy and the shortcuts really worked, then everybody would be doing it, right? It seems like everybody is ‘trying’ to do it in here, but they are trying to skip the work and relationship part.

      I’ll work on publicizing the 30-second commercial……….maybe……….:).

      Week is off to a great start; thanks for stopping by.

  4. “…quite frankly it was boring and it sucked. It was one-way communication and I just didn’t see the point.” ~ isn’t that how we all feel? I don’t write to be heard. I write to hear you and your thoughts. I love a good conversation and blogs are ideal because I can come and go around other things that need my attention. The hard part is sticking with something you love even if readers don’t come for a while, ’cause it takes time to get to know people and let them figure out where you are.
    Thanks, Bill!

    • I like feedback and that is probably the one thing that has kept me from jumping in with both feet on our business blog. I can write and I could write pertinent articles for our corporate site; but if none of my peeps showed up I might lose interest.

      I’m in sales for a reason; it’s a lot more fun to me being the relationship buy than the tech guy. I have a master’s level CPCU designation in insurance but I would clear a room if I started talking in detail about insurance.

      It was obvious you loved family history and even helping others with it; that was pretty much a niche but I always find that stuff interesting.

      Good to see you Betsy.

  5. I think I have pretty much the same approach. I still don’t bother about SEO, keywords and the technology hype. I just make sure I show up and people are kind enough to come by. And if people come by, then I try my best to check out their blogs!

    I also like what Barbara mentioned …

  6. Sounds like a great formula and it certainly has worked for you.

    Personally, I put stock in the conversations that happen in this space. That’s really what is becoming important to me. The analytics, keywords, SEO and all that stuff is easy enough to learn but doesn’t really replace the effort put into really reading and responding to the folks kind enough to visit.

    I am still in awe of anyone who doesn’t get how important it is to recognize someone who takes the time out of their lives to share their thoughts in your space.

    • Probably because I like to network anyway, blogging has provided a platform I can do this and it’s fluid enough I can come and go as I please or as time allows. How cool is that?

      If all the metrics became a key measure of my success; I would figure it out as we know there are certainly no shortage of articles on how to maximize these efforts.

      People, conversations, connections; they are all the building blocks of a successful social presence. Get this taken care of first and it makes the rest a whole lot easier.

      Good to see you Ralph; hope all is well.

    • I have a confession; this was a post for someone else’s place but it didn’t quite fit what they were looking for. My ‘normal’ writing time got interrupted this weekend and I even started a couple of other posts but didn’t like where they were going. Therefore, I drug this out; tweaked it a bit and sent it flying.

      After listening to Danny over at Jason’s podcast I felt a little guilty as this felt like an ‘old-news’ kind of post instead of anything fresh and new.

      Oh well, it’s still relevant and now that I have a reach of over 16 mil in Triberr now, maybe a noob will show up and they’ll think this is the greatest thing they have ever heard in here, huh?

  7. That is a great formula Bill and for the people who don’t build those relationships then they will continue to struggle. I bet if you were to ask Gini or Danny if they would share a post for you if you asked them they would say heck yeah!

    Why?

    Because they know you and like you Bill. That’s why it’s important to build those relationships because for all those other people online who are here to build a business, when other people share your information and help you out then that is how you can start to become more relevant in other people’s eyes as well. People you don’t even know but are friends of Gini and Danny. Because they recommended your content, that goes a very long way.

    The giving part is the funnest in my book though. Helping other people and making those connections is the true power here. The rest will fall into place once you start making those connections.

    Great share here Bill and you’ve got it down pat. Now, enjoy your day!

    ~Adrienne

    • Yes, you can have a full time business in here but you can also be social too. Even if you make widgets, you still have to reach out to the public to get these things sold and somewhere along the way if the ‘right’ relationships were built it sure will make it a heck of a lot easier to grow the business.

      I like to give too and thanks to some sage advise from some people I respect in here, it’s much easier for me to do so w/out any expectations in return. I have been fortunate and paid back many times over; I have no complaints.

      Great post today; thanks for taking the time to stop by my place too.

  8. Hi Bill,

    This was quite informative. Frankly, I never really thought of relationships as a platform for bloggers. But then I have only been one for less than a month.
    Where it hit home was when I read Adrienne’s “Give me five minutes and I’ll make you a better blogger”.
    That sealed it. And you have shed even more light on the topic.

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll be making laid out plans on using this.

    • A noob; a newbie, huh? Welcome to this crazy world of social and blogging.

      Hang around long enough and you will meet some really great people.

      Adrienne has it going on; she’s definitely smart about everything blogging.

      My whole premise has been relationship blogging; in many ways it got me established to a certain degree.

      Good luck with your journey, thanks so much for the visit today.

  9. Well Bill, we certainly have this in common on blogging strategy; just show up!

    There’s more to this effort and in due time, things will clarify and the right opportunities will present themselves.

    It probably doesn’t help that we don’t do all the tech stuff/ stragegies out there; but there’s tremendous value in just having your mind and heart in the right place when you do show up.

    As long as it helps and benefits people, I am down.

    Cheers, sir!

    • Put a stamp on it; I agree wholeheartedly. One thing we do have is a base with some credibility and we can go in many directions from here should we so choose.

      Mind and heart in the right place and good things will happen; that I do know.

      Good to see you my friend; I hope you had a great weekend.

        • Yeah, there are some I don’t let go through……….

          I didn’t even know I had a spot you could sign up for that. I’ve had others ask me how to do it.

          Some subscribe to all comments, which I hate to do; and some just star the post in their reader so they can come back to it. When I become big time like you with an actual self-hosted site, I will get me one of those rec’d reply buttons……..:).

          I don’t make it easy, do I?

  10. You know, you have turned “just showing up” into an art form.

    I think you are in a great position to talk about these things; I have seen very few people develop the depth of community and relationships that you have. We have discussed the different approaches a lot, and I think you’ve made a relationship focused approach really successful.

    PS. Impressed with the long post! On a roll…

    • Did you get any work done today? I see you were blogjacked; pretty cool stuff, hopefully it also came with some great dialogue. Today was our big sales meeting day and other stuff going on so I couldn’t play.

      Relationships and community I can do; if I ever figure out where I want to go with this I think I can safely say I have paid my dues…..and I know people……..:).

      This was a long one, wasn’t it.

      Good to see you.

    • It’s kind of like the first day at school; it’s new, exciting and there is a certain sense of wonderment and nervous anticipation. Then as the months click by we become somewhat wizened and jaded to a certain degree. Having said that, as long as there are people involved then I’ll probably find a way to hang around.

      I have fun with it; it’s enough for me right now.

  11. Hi Bill,

    Thanks for a very interesting article. Love, the “proof-reading 173 times” – I concur. 🙂

    It’s like looking in a mirror because so much of what you describe happened to me as well. I didn’t dip my toe in the blogging pool for financial gain but to vent some frustration and share my experiences for the benefit of anyone interested.

    I try not to think about the global scale of blogging otherwise I get all panicky that somehow, somewhere in the world I’ve stepped on someone’s toes. Instead, I try to think “what the hell, it’s free, if you like what you see then fine, otherwise, move on, there’s nothing for you here”. In the end I’m not looking for fireworks, a simple “thanks, that was helpful” is enough to stimulate new contents and perpetuate the blog for as long as people benefit from it.

    My biggest worry about blogging is the dreaded writer’s block. Luckily, we are not alone and simply coming across an interesting article, such as yours, can set the idea press rolling again.

    Thanks again for putting in words a feeling I couldn’t get quite straight in my mind…the mist has cleared and I can see more clearly now.

    Regards,
    Enzo

    • Ah yes, the first few articles were easy enough to crank out and then the weeks start rolling around pretty quickly. I do have to spend a little more time thinking of what I want to write about, but I’m in enough of a routine now I usually can come up with something. As we know, some posts work better than others however.

      I like to go back on older posts and not only see if I still like what I’ve written, but to see who was in my community at that particular time and see if they are still around.

      We all expand and contract and have different things to offer at different points during this journey; as long as people find it worthwhile to stop by, then I’ll probably keep writing.

      Good to see you; I really appreciate you taking the time to pay a visit.

  12. Preach on, brother! I always use this analogy too…especially when I speak. Not being social in social media is akin to standing in the middle of a room at a networking event, with your hand out, and collecting business cards. You go back to the office with all of those cards, but you haven’t had a single conversation so no one will take your call. People are so funny when they say they don’t have the time. But they have time to make cold calls or attend trade shows, where they get nothing in return.

    • Preach it brother, preach it…….I suppose because you can ‘reach’ so many in social and these people instantly become your friends and supporters, you don’t have to be social to make it happen.

      There are so many little things you can do to help foster and further a relationship that really pay off if you just take the time to make it happen.

      You cover much more ground than I do, but you truly are the master. You really do it the ‘right’ way, and I’m glad I had an example like you as someone to emulate.

      Did you hear about the Bear’s fan who got his throat slit in Jacksonville? I don’t know all the details but apparently it happened at 2 am in a bar’s restroom in Jax. Crazy indeed……..

  13. Hey Bill, You’re right, too often people want to rush things, both the building of the blog and the writing of the content. Editing 173 times sounds about right to me. Every so often a little typo slips by, no matter how often I check a post!

    Starting to write about personal technology, I knew it would be a while before I could establish myself as having knowledge on the subject. I played it safe for a while, sharing the best tech I could find. In January, after a year of blogging, I made a bold move writing a controversial piece called Close Your Apps! about how closing apps on an iPhone can make a big difference in performance and battery life. My article was in response to an app developer who had written a piece saying that you didn’t need to close your apps. Steve Jobs had said the same thing. But I had evidence to support my position that closing apps brings significant improvement to performance of an iPhone so I wanted to share it with my readers. That article remains one of my most popular posts.

    I understand why you’re reluctant to write your business blog, Bill. It’s a different experience. Writing for The Philadelphia Inquirer is fantastic and I greatly appreciate the opportunity each week. But the experience is quite different from writing for my blog, not nearly as social. Nothing is stopping me from giving up my blog and writing just for The Inquirer, but I’d be giving up a lot of fun and friends if I didn’t have my blog too.

    Thanks for showing us how it’s done. And showing up!

    • Obviously networking I can do and maybe I need to be more purposeful with my networking at times; but if I can get to know you in a casual way with absolutely no-strings attached, then it makes for a good start of a relationship. I might be able to help you or vice versa at some point in time; but that will not be the premise of me getting to know you.

      You’ve done a great job with your tech blog and have a great community; I’ve kicked around doing more posts for the LUI blog and writing about insurance from a consumer’s standpoint and making in ‘understandable.’ We’ll see; I’ll need to feel the ‘passion’ however for me to make it happen.

      That’s why I like my personal blog so much, because people actually show up; I like that……….:).

      Ah yes, showing up I can do………..:).

      • Yes, your passion definitely shows here and it would be a shame if your LUI blog were just a chore. You may be surprised though if you give it a go and people respond positively to it. Your talent with writing may take you farther than you think!

      • You are too kind.

        If I commit to it, I could make it work. I just don’t think I could do two blogs (or more) like Josh however. Maybe that is my next step up in here……….

    • 179Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, like you wrote the e-book in it or somtnhieg. I believe that you could do with some p.c. to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

    • Thanks for stopping by; I’ll get by and check your place out.

      Entertainment is ‘easy’ stuff and tends to draw a better crowd. However, Carolyn at @WonderofTech does a great job of blending the two and she has a great community; you should check her out.

      How long have you been blogging?

  14. One thing I never understood was the exact match domain. You take a keyword and put it in your domain and Google starts you sending traffic. Or follow h1, h2, h3 conventions or keep the length of the post to a minimum number of words . Keeping the Keyword density to a certain percentage is also funny. Unless I repeat the same word 100 time , I am not going to The only way to succeed is to connect with others . Seems like experts have forgotten that part totally 🙂

  15. If I would have had to follow the bouncing ball and have the ‘right’ words in the ‘right’ place and link this and link that to make this place happen I probably would have given up. The connecting with the people is the easy part for me; now my challenge is ‘where do I take it?’

    Who knows, maybe this is all I have; I don’t think so, but before I start running down a different path I want to be a little clearer in my direction.

    Oh well, I guess we will figure it out one of these days, huh? Thanks for stopping by sir….

  16. I see that you have changed your design a bit, Bill 😉 Looks great!

    I agree with you on all aspects, Bill. It is better to wade in the waters and start without a blog first (well, I have never that, but I am doing it now; deleted by blog and spending most of my blogging time on other activities – commenting, social media networking- so when I launch the blog, it will be with a bang, or at least I expect it to).

    Another thing why this method is so good is because it gives you experience (and when you start a blog, you have a lot of experience and things to talk about – you won’t be like a newbie who doesn’t know much). And if you spent time on networking, you would be creditable already 😉

    Make those relationships. Be natural and social 😉

    And of course, I do agree on your point about interacting with people like us (and people who are more experienced and known than us – I guess, that’s why I am here :D).

    Anyways, great points, as always 🙂

    That. is. all. I. have. for. you. At least. for. now 😉

    • That’s all? I know better than that………:).

      Craig McBreen did a great job of observing before jumping in, but when he did, he was ready. He would drop the noob reference a time or two, but he knew what he was doing.

      It was time well spent.

      Yes, yes, yes; take the time to establish relationships, see who is a good fit, and build from there. It will save a lot of social angst wondering what in the heck just happened.

      Good to see you; thanks for dropping by. I did change it up a little bit; craziness…….well, maybe not really…….:).

      • Maybe there is more 😉

        Oh, Craig started out like that? Cool 😉 Didn’t know that (he is working on some awesome changes, isn’t it? We will see where he takes us with his blog :D).

        😉 Haha, I wouldn’t describe it as craziness, or may be I would (depends upon how I define craziness – and that is one word that has always confused me – Aren’t we all crazy for being “normal”?

        • We all use ourselves at the ‘normal’ base line, right? It just depends on how far someone deviates from that if they get the ‘crazy’ label…………:)

  17. I think your point about following stars and celebrities is a good one. Their is too much noise and volume for them to have a two-way conversation. The best part about social media is the social aspect. The more one is out there, the better the chance they will get people to check out their stuff. It isn’t difficult work, but it does take a time commitment.

    • Hey Brian; well said. Time more than anything and since it is in such a ‘limited’ supply it behooves us to use it wisely. The people part is easy for me; my challenge is taking it up a notch.

      That’s probably why I’m good at sales in creating the opportunity, and then bringing my team in afterwards to do the technical/heavy lifting.

      When I’m out and about, all I care about are the people getting to know me. Once they do that, I can take it from there.

      Is your golf done for the year?

  18. What I wasn’t prepared for, and maybe still am not prepared for, was the idea that I need to blog a lot, and consistently. I’ve taken a little break over the past few weeks and the traffic fall off is pretty dramatic.

    No worries, though. It’s given me some ideas.

    I particularly like step #3 — be willing to give more than receive. Just like in real life. 🙂

    • Blogging, if you want any traction/visitors has to have some consistency; otherwise, there are too many choices and it’s too easy for people to just move on.

      The flip side of this is commenting and I think you can be just as effective doing that as well.

      It all comes down to time and we all know time is money; so you have to use it wisely.

      Networking I can do; and for now it’s enough. I do know the game enough, it’s just a matter of what I want to do with it I suppose.

      Good to see you; whatever you have going on I hope it has been good for you.

  19. So true about expectations, but one thing I do know is you have to be consistent and really have something to say that people would bother to read. Good writing skills go a long way. I am a relative newbie to blogging, but enjoy meeting people who love art as much as I do.

    • Hey Pamela, welcome. Thanks for taking the time to stop by.

      Not only do you have to write well enough, it has to resonate with your audience or they will quickly go elsewhere. Consistency is huge too because there are just so many options, people will move on quickly.

      Networking and meeting people is right up my alley and probably the biggest reason I have had any success at all.

      Good luck with your blogging efforts; there are definitely good days and not so good, but I have really enjoyed all the people I have met.

      Take care.

  20. Hi Bill,
    Found you and your blog through Cathy Presland on twitter, and since I’m planning on diving into the deep end of the ‘blogoshpere’ very soon, thought I’d check it out.

    Well, after spending the better part of a half-hour reading not only this one, but several other days entries I must say I hope I grow up to be a blogger like you! Your blogs are informative, very well-written and entertaining – just what I think a good blog should be.

    Thanks for giving me a great blog to chase after,
    MJ

    • Thanks for the kind words and thanks for taking the time to stop by.

      My methodology was somewhat simplistic and I’m sure there are better ways to link certain things, use keywords, etc; but what has worked for me is just taking the time to meet people and talk with them.

      Whereas some use FB and Twitter as their broadcast platform, I’m comfortable hanging around the blogs and getting to meet the people; where the real work is being done.

      Good luck on your journey, there will be ups and downs but the main thing to do is just show up; it can be rewarding.

  21. We actually have different way of measuring social proof. Its more reliable because it depends on number. For example if you have more than 500 followers that are visible in your blog, it will tell the reader how good are you in blogging. You can also use alexa as tools to measure the ranking of site according to visitors.

    • What if you are good, but nobody sees it? Followers is certainly a good measurement, but I have also seen really good bloggers who quit because they never get the traffic they wanted.

      Social is fickle, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

