If you were so good, why did you quit?

Answer me this; when is the last time you have been inspired by true greatness? Not some smooth orator, likable kind of guy, but down to earth greatness? Other than me, who else inspires you? Ok, ok; you knew I had to throw that in…..

If you had the magic touch and were so great at building a business or were an off the charts salesperson; why would you walk away and start doing something different?

Would it be because it was too hard to sustain?

Would it be because you needed another challenge?

Would it be because maybe you really weren’t that great?

Or maybe it was a combination of the three.

They were just lucky

Nurture versus nature; do you think some people just have it and others don’t? Do you think that is why there are so many Extremely Average people because most of us are not gifted, we missed out on the lucky sperm pool lottery?

If you want to have it too, do you think hard work alone can get you there?

Do you think Tiger Woods, arguably the greatest golfer to walk this planet is gifted? If your answer is yes, do you think he was born that way?

Could you see Tiger Woods walking away from golf so he could teach others to be gifted like him? Of course not, it would be ludicrous to walk away from what he does best. Then why is social awash with all these gurus experts who have done just that? They will tell you they have been there done that, but why are they so quick to walk away to do something else?

Alternative revenue sources are good where I can work twice as hard for half the money, right? 

We all know better; there is a smidgen of greatness, but most are just working stiffs like the rest of us and really didn’t like the business they were in to begin with.

Maybe practice will make me better

Raise your hand if you play tennis, golf, run, bike or workout? How much time do you spend training or pushing yourself to get better? Do you spend more time working on this than working on getting better at your job?

I don’t need to practice at my job, I’m doing it every day.

Really?

If your job is what is putting the food on your table doesn’t it make sense to spend more time practicing and getting to the top of the heap with this than your hobbies? I vote yes, but why are so few willing to do this?

Well, I did go to a sales course and took a continuing education class last year; isn’t that practice?

Not all practice is the same

Do you think Tiger just goes out and hits a bucket of balls? The difference between Tiger and 99% of the recreational golfers is, his practice is deliberate; and he has a coach.

And there is a huge difference between just practicing and deliberate practice.

The gifted then, aren’t people with freakish natural abilities in a particular domain. The gifted are what they are because they maintain high-levels of practice and improving performance.

In other words, it’s not about what you’re born with. It’s about how consistently and deliberately you can work to improve your performance.

The reality is:

  • Deliberate practice is not fun.
  • Deliberate practice takes you out of your comfort zone.
  • Deliberate practice pushes you beyond what you think you can do.

But make no mistake, deliberate practice is the difference between good and great.

Regardless of what you see and read in the blogs, most are not willing to deliberately practice to shine above all others and truly achieve greatness.

It’s not good or bad; just reality. All you have to do is look around to see this is true. We all know many people who are willing to work hard, but it takes a certain mindset to take it to the next level; and this mindset is deliberate practice.

In case you are wondering, I deliberately practice at having fun. That counts for something, right?

That.is.all.

72 thoughts on “If you were so good, why did you quit?

  1. Good morning, Bill. What a wonderful pep talk to start my morning! You’re right, of course, there are so many people who just want to be good without practicing (like my kids with their musical instruments, but that’s another story).

    Practice makes perfect and nobody’s perfect so nobody practices enough. That’s what I used to tell my students when I taught tennis.

    The opportunity to grow and improve is a motivator for practicing. It can be as simple as writing a paragraph to a blog post three times to see which one you like best. If you’re dedicated to giving your best, you will be motivated to practice.

    Malcolm Gladwell showed us in Outliers that it takes 10,000 hours to be great at something. I’m thinking you’ve already surpassed that in the fun department? You certainly know how to make your blog posts fun!

    • Yes, I have far exceeded that in the fun department; now I better get started on the business side, huh?

      10,000 hours of practice; sounds pretty boring and tedious, huh? But if you truly want to be in the 1% that is what it takes. You still might not be best of the best, but I’ll bet you will be pretty darn good whatever it is you have been practicing on.

      I tried to self-teach myself guitar when I was just sitting around the house….I think I put about 3 hours into that….I didn’t want it bad enough….

  2. My son who’s 15, almost 16, picked up golf this year and plays 6 days a week for his new school’s golf team. Yes, he’s gifted. But what’s more important, he’s focused and has a coach who pushes him to do better. He flew past seasoned vets of the team and is ranked #1, winning every match. But that’s how he is with everything that matters to him.

    When I danced I was never the best. But I’m pretty sure that I worked the hardest and expected the most of myself. And it was for that reason that choreographers and teachers trusted me with parts.

    Coaches, mentors, teachers..they have made all the difference. We all need to do our best and sometimes we can’t see the next level as well as someone else. But, I for one, am not really keen on working with anyone (including myself) who’s not willing to sweat and sweat some more and to give when there’s nothing left.

    Great thoughts to reflect on today! Thanks, Bill.

    • I think we are on the same page, not liking to work w/ anyone else who’s not willing to put forth the effort….including myself….

      The key piece to the deliberate practice is the coach/mentor. They are the ones who can push and cajole but also evaluate what still needs to be done.

      A lot of people just don’t have the patience to put that kind of time in, or enough want-to.

      Sounds like your son is doing well; good age to start to, good luck.

  3. I need some deliberate practice in fun. How much do you charge for lessons, Bill?

    That reminds me, deliberate practice often costs money but not necessarily a fortune. You want a pro to help you work on your swing? I spent ten weeks (twice a week for an hour) with a pro working on my golf swing) as a kid. I think that ran my mom about $1,000 – not including bucket fees.

    Unfortunately, I didn’t improve my swing much. That was a bummer for the pro, my mom and me. [shrug]

    Same thing happened with the ghee-tar. I just couldn’t get that guitar to play right. But I brought all the heart in the world to it. And I put in the hours for a year. Stupid guitar!

    So there’s some things I just can’t get right- regardless of the investment in deliberate training.

    Team sports also never worked out for me.

    Football in high school: I could leg press twice what any senior could – as a freshman. Pushing a skateboard 8 miles a day builds some serious strength. [grin] And I could bench the same as any senior. My time on the farm turned out to be useful in some regards.

    My problem, however, was that I took getting hit without “cause”, very personally.

    I still remember that day at try outs when some tower of a Senior sacked me just for the fun of it. I went Bruce Lee on him and did a flying side kick to his head just as soon as we got up and I had enough runway for the lift off. He was unconscious before he hit the ground and I put on a shit eating grin as big as Kansas.

    The coach told me that he never wanted to see me again.

    That was a bummer.

    I also made some lasting un-friendships with the football team that day. It led to car chases, hotties, and armed confrontations. High School can be wild…

    Still, i’m very interested in weekly lessons in fun. And I hope that you will consider it.

    • A dollar three eighty seven is all I charge and I will take all comers…..

      I love the Kung Fu football story. Somewhat similar, we were playing pickup basketball and one of my friends decided to go Kung Fu on someone who just happened to be defending him a little too hard. He did the flying kick and a couple of karate chops, but was so small the other guy didn”t even move. We all started laughing so hard, it ended the fight.

      Even though you didn’t go Eddie Van Halen on us, I’ll bet the time and effort produced a lot better results than you give yourself credit for. I’ll also bet, if you put the same time and effort over a 5-yr period there would have been a tipping point in there where you would have started kicking some butt with it.

      Deliberate practice is hard and not a lot of fun; that’s why I try to stay away from it….:).

      Good to see you Stan.

      • Most who want it bad enough usually find a way to make it happen. Sometimes you have to be creative or it can be humbling, but you will find a way.

        Great story w/ your kids.

    • I’ve found that a lot of things in life are free and the next level is for those who want it. My son plays for free because he’s good. My oldest son and daughter taught themselves the guitar and piano. We could never afford lessons. Then my son worked to pay a teacher to help him improve.

      Your sports stores are classic.!

  4. Interesting thoughts Bill, I guess when it comes to blogging I have been practicing since that first post was published and I still haven’t got it right! I’ve never really thought about whether my practice has been deliberate, I would think not as I’ve just been getting on with it really, I suppose you could call it practicing in the dark. 🙂

    The main thing about practicing, whatever type it is is to keep on doing it and most importantly to learn from the inevitable mistakes.

    • I do the blog because it’s easy; I have talked about a book, but so far I haven’t had the discipline to sit down and give it a good 2-3 hours every night. I think that is what would make a big difference in my writing and I also think having someone coach/critique me along the way would be invaluable.

      We do good enough Tony, and some day maybe that light bulb will click on and we will take the time to see just how much talent we can create.

      Good to see you sir.

  5. 🙂 Everything takes practice. Needs it, in fact. Today I practiced relaxing because that’s what I needed to do. You are absolutely right about deliberate practice – it is a bit of a four letter word just like “diet”. To help me get better at writing, which is what I do, besides blogging at my three blogs – I just take on activities that involve writing – and hope I am getting better. 🙂

    😦 I don’t do any of the things you asked – tennis, golf, run, bike or workout – unless walking and motorbiking counts 😀

    Thought-provoker, as always, Bill. Cheers! 😀 Always happy to see your email alert in my mailbox!

    • I like to practice taking a nap; eating a good meal; consuming a good drink…..:).

      I tried deliberate practice with golf; my mistake was trying to do it on the cheap and not have a coach. That was the missing piece and I actually got ‘ok’ with my efforts but will still 8-10 strokes away from the good golfers.

      Deliberate practice is what makes perfect. Good to see you Vidya.

  6. Love this line…”there is a huge difference between just practicing and deliberate practice.” The intention you set when you practice is what makes the difference. When I sit down to write with a burning desire to get something across what I write is very different from what I write when I just want to stick to my schedule!

  7. Hey Bill,

    I’ve been AWOL. My iMac blew up (must have been writing a sizzling blog post because it made a popping noise, then started smoking’—literally). Had to set up all my social media counts again and and now working on Bob’s MacBook Pro, which gets way too hot after an hour or two. Sigh.

    Practice is highly underrated because it’s usually not the fun part. I consider the first draft of my book a good example. It’s the draft a writer slogs through in order to get to the draft that makes more sense. People look at the ‘gifted’ performers and assume it’s in the genes. But they don’t see all the deliberate practice, as Kaarina describes it, that gets them to that point. Because that’s the unsexy part.

    • Yes you have; I think I inched ahead of you as the blogger to watch while you were gone but I’m sure you can make up ground quickly……..:).

      Good luck with the equipment; I just got some new gear at the office and it’s rock-n-roll.

      Very unsexy, very tedious and very un-fun; but it’s what it takes to set yourself apart. And only you can do it…………

      Welcome back.

    • Sorry to hear about the iMac blow up:( Hope it’s resolved soon. I’m having a ridiculous situation with my google accounts (not to be compared in severity to your situation, but frustrating nonetheless), whereby I’ve changed my email address, lost my Reader, can’ figure out which address is connecting with what…grrrrrr…

  8. Bill, love this! The concept of deliberate practice is what is inherent in the 10,000 hour rule — if you practice something deliberately for 10k hours, you will master it. The books Outliers and Talent is Overrated both speak about this effect. The catch, as you point out, is how many people in a typical business setting deliberately practice their profession. How many times a week do 20+ year sales veterans do role playing and practice objections?

    My thought is that sports guys, like Tiger, are different, because lifelong practice is part of the sports environment.

    • Hey Adam. I thought that 10,000 hour thing was pretty cool when I read it and then discovered i have been a project manager for wayyyyyyy more than 10,000 hours. I must be an expert, I thought, then I realized I am not an expert. I’m good but not the best. I probably need to practice more.

      Sorry Bill, did i hijack your comments?

      • Hey Frenchy, you can jump in anytime. Probably the only thing I have 10,000 hours in is sleeping and breathing; I guess I do pretty good at that.

        Sales is like a football game; if you took out the time in a week you were actually ‘selling’ you could boil it down to just a few hours. At least in my world that’s how it goes. There’s a lot of other stuff going on to get you to that point, and it can all be called selling, but the actual presentation is brief.

    • We do role playing about once a month and you wouldn’t believe all the bitching and moaning that goes on. It’s uncomfortable and not a lot of fun, but if you are going to mess up better to do it in front of your peers instead of a prospect, huh?

      But shouldn’t lifelong practice be a part of your job? Like Tiger, it’s what you do for a living, right? I know a few who are students of the ‘game’ of sales and they do well; but it is hard to maintain.

  9. I find a good way of “practicing” marketing is to teach. If you give a presentation to a group, you’re forced to organize your thoughts and consider unexpected questions. You get the same effect from just sitting with someone and reviewing topics they’re not familiar with. I read somewhere that teaching was a great way of learning, and in marketing, if you’re not learning, you’re not going to be much use.

  10. Deliberate practice, huh? Damn, that means I suck at everything. I suppose knowing it is half the battle.

    I think I have 40,000 hours of project management experience and I think i practiced for about 5 minutes once. Up until now I thought I was pretty damn good. Well, if I get started now and start practicing it maybe i will get to Tiger status before I am 60. Wish me well.

    Oh, and thanks for the kick square in the cojones. Appreciated…..;-)

    • We all have certain skill sets and we are all probably pretty good at what we do; but I assure you, if you are willing to put the time and effort into deliberate practice, real deliberate practice, it would make a huge difference.

      One of the challenges with it is, you have to carve out the time to devote 2-3 hours a day at least 5-6 days a week for it to be real. That’s cutting into my drinking time……easy now; maybe I can be a pro at that…….:).

  11. Have you read Outliers, Bill? 10,000 hours. That’s what you need to ‘practice’ to achieve true greatness. That’s a lot of time on Twitter. It’s a great book though because it discloses the generally overlooked considerations of success. And yes, luck is part of it. Luck, circumstance, culture, history, practice, family legacy. And talent. A fascinating read!

    • I haven’t, but will have to do so. Sounds like a book that gets you all charged up and ready to go but when you realize the task in front of you, you better take the eating the elephant approach; one bite at a time.

      There are many pieces that have to come together; but some of it you can make happen if you are willing to do the heavy lifting.

      Thanks for the suggestion AND the visit.

  12. So, Dr. Love is all about pep talk today?

    Works really well.

    Sometimes practice is what can make you better and maybe even the best. For about everything – if you can’t get yourself to practice more, you really can’t be all that good.

    Hope all is great, Chief!

    • Take golf for instance; it’s fun to play and if you play enough you will actually get better by just showing up. However, at least for me, there is about a 10-15 stroke difference between me and my really good golfing buddies. The only way I can get there is through deliberate practice; the question is ‘how bad do I want it?’

      Good to see you Hajra, Chief is doing great watching over his tribe…..:).

  13. I know from my own personal experience Bill, you can be passionate about something and give it your all but still not make it. I know that talent does have something to do with it whether we want to believe it or not.

    Just like Tiger, he has been practicing with a coach since he was a kid but he also had the talent. I’d love to be a singer so no matter how much coaching and money I spend on lessons, I’ll never be a singer.

    I do believe though that whatever you do undertake and if you are decent at what you’re doing, improving it by getting additional education or a coach so that you can improve even more is really crucial to you getting ahead or better for that matter.

    Those that claim to be the best yet move on to something else, I often scratch my head over their true reasons for it too. Huh, they were in it for the money. Who are we kidding.

    • I’m going to respectively disagree with you ma’am; I really believe if you wanted to be a singer that bad and were willing to get a coach and put in this magical 10,000 hours of deliberate practice you could get pretty good. You might not sing at the Met, but I’ll bet you would be good. I’m like you, I can’t sing a lick, but with proper training and practice, who knows? I just don’t think we have that kind of want-to in us, at least for singing, huh?

      Do you have 10,000 hours yet w/ your business? See how much better you are getting at it? Some of it has been uncomfortable, hasn’t it? But look at the results. It works…….

  14. One of the reasons I respected Michael Jordan as a basketball player was his willingness to practice deliberately and adjust his game as he aged.

    But I want to circle back to something else.

    A long time ago Paul Wolfe had a great conversation on his blog about whether natural talent exists or not. It was really interesting.

    There is a lot to be said for combining deliberate practice with a coach. When you have a professional who can help guide you there is a significant advantage and benefit to it. It can’t make up for some things.

    John Wooden, Phil Jackson and Larry Brown could have worked with me my entire life but I wouldn’t be any taller and I still wouldn’t be able to compete with as well with the giants.

    So there are limits to some of what you can get, but that wouldn’t stop me from taking advantage of those resources if I could.

  15. Sometimes genetics will be a limitation; Abdul Jabbar would never be a jockey. However, if you had that fire, the coach/mentor and been a gym rat like Pete Maravich, who knows?

    My own kids were talented in baseball, tennis and soccer but I never pushed them to the point they didn’t enjoy it. My youngest son now tells me his regret is that he gave up baseball too soon. You can only push so far or you might end up with a Todd Marijuanavich, but what is that line? Did Tiger ever not want to practice and his Dad just kept pushing him?

    That’s why Tiger was socially stunted and when this fame hit him and the women were all over him he didn’t handle it well. Instead of being social as a kid it was practice, practice, practice. There is some give and take………

  16. Practice is not enough. Going to continuing ed is not enough. Doing something over and over is not enough.

    The Desire to get better and better at something that matters is a first step, but desire (like practice) is not enough.

    Yes sir Mr. Dorman, I believe you and your contributors are correct.
    Deliberate practice is what makes the difference.

    To borrow from Daniel Pink:
    1. You have to believe that it’s nurture and not nature…and that incremental steps will get you there.
    2. You gotta feel the pain. It’s the effort that gives meaning to our tasks.
    3. And, we must forever approach without quite reaching.

    And like Ms Zive (and Mr. Gladwell) suggest 10,000 hours and being born at the right time can make all the difference.

    I like this post of yours. Not just because of your charm but because you are talking about things that matter. Good work….again.

    • Hey Mr Max, sorry I couldn’t make the Delt trip for the Clemson game; sounds like a big time was had by all. Hopefully next year it won’t be on my wife’s birthday….:).

      Deliberate practice takes a much higher commitment level than just showing up. It will be painful, uncomfortable and hard to fully appreciate the end result when you get started. Probably the closest thing I have done to something like that was training for my first marathon. There was certainly a lot of un-glamorous training involved but it was well worth the effort.

      Thanks for your kind words and I do appreciate the visit. Hopefully soon we can catch up over drinks, lunch, dinner, something………

      Take care.

  17. Hey Bill

    Believe it or not up until the age of 22 I was a budding classical musician.

    I studied a Bachelor of Music degree at the University of Edinburgh for four years.

    Flute and piano were my instruments and it was expected that we would practice these at least three hours a day, so I know what deliberate practice is about.

    On top of that all the usual lectures, tutorials, essays, exams and more.

    I did pretty well at the practice but I was always drawn more to the written stuff. Not just composition but I won’t bore you with the details. I had a sort of natural affliction for being able to do it without too much effort.

    And there was my downfall, because I didn’t have to work at it too much when I left university I didn’t pursue it very hard. In time I fell away from music and ended my working days looking after pension schemes.

    Being honest with you, I really don’t know whether I blog for business or pleasure. I think it’s for business and that’s what I’m trying to do but it will always come second until my kids have grown up as that’s my real job.

    I’m not quitting though as I enjoy doing it too. Posts don’t just roll off my tongue though, I have to make a real effort to do them. I see that as my deliberate practice in blogging.

    I hear so many people say you need a long term plan, you need this, you need that, yadda yadda! I doing it for the here and now and if things happen they happen and if they don’t well I guess that’s up to me.

    Whoa, sorry for getting all serious on a Friday night. I’m thinking of pouring a nice glass of whisky in a bit. That will mellow things a bit!

    Have a great weekend.

    Tim

    P.S. How did your son get on by the way?

    • Wow, interesting story; so you definitely knows what deliberate practice looks like. Because so much time is required, I’m sure it’s hard to maintain the same desire over a long period of time. It really is hard work and no-fun….

      For now I am blogging for pleasure; I will certainly let you know when that changes….if it does.

      Yes it is up to you; and when you are ready, that is when you will make it happen.

      Serious is ok; but let’s retreat to the coastline and sip on a nice, smooth single malt and talk about the meaning of life……….:).

      The kid is ‘in;’ he will be starting next week. I have him in today doing some ‘research’ and how we get info on prospects. Tedious but necessary….

      Have a good weekend.

  18. Having a mind for greatness is rare.

    Believing in yourself when most self-made people are surrounded are small minded non-believers is a hard environment to overcome, because you have leave behind old friends and in many cases even family members to move forward.

    Change is necessary to attain an exceptionally successful life if you’re not born into it and for some, that change will never happen. They are stuck in a conversation that will keep them right where they are for the rest of their lives.

    Assuming you have a mind for greatness and the determination that’s fueled by belief in your dreams/ vision – then taking action and never quitting are two biggest things in life that seperate those who kill it and the majority don’t.

    That. Is. All.

  19. You hit the nail on the head; you will have to get by the naysayers and it will probably mean you lose some of your friends. It truly takes a singular, almost selfish focus to accomplish.

    Vision and the desire; if you can get both of those in the same room you can move mountains. Some aren’t willing to roll up their sleeves long enough to make it happen.

    Here’s to not losing that vision or enthusiasm. Good to see you Mark.

  20. Bill,

    Thanks for the motivation. You are right about practice.

    Though I didn’t achieve greatness, entirely, I did once practice golf. It had been a long summer and I’d spent most of it on the road secret shopping for KFC and Taco Bell. The hours are long, the pay is fair, and the food is smelly…after a while.

    When I returned from my 12,000 mile, 60 day journey, I was awash with cash and decided to buy some new golf clubs. I hadn’t upgraded since the clubs I used in high school. Now, don’t misunderstand, I didn’t play high school golf, I just wacked it around the course with my friends. I’d never broken 100.

    Most people never break 100, or at least don’t do it on a consistent basis. I’ve read, though I couldn’t tell you where, that less than 1% of golfer shoot under 100 regularly. I wanted to join that group!

    So, after buying the clubs I went to a local diving range. While buying my first bucket, I noticed that one could purchase a season pass. The season was mostly over, so I haggled and got a good deal. It meant I could hit as many balls as I wanted.

    I started with 600 on the first day. The next day I hit 700, and then did the same the day after that. I hit ball after ball after ball for an entire month. Then I went to the course. I shot a 94.

    I’ve only shot above 100 once in the many years since. My scores tend to be in the 88-92 range, which is a long ways from a scratch golfer (someone who shoots par), but it is still something I’m proud of and someday, if ever awash in cash again, I may just take a month and go golf crazy, one more time, just to see if the low 80’s are possible.

    Thanks for the post.

    Brian

    • You are about where I am with golf right now; I spent just enough time to get me in the high 80’s/low 90’s range and would have to kick it up a notch to take it down 10 strokes. Time, money and want-to are my stumbling blocks. You put all this practice in and then you want to go out and play at least twice a week….it’s quite the commitment.

      I’m sure you get pretty dedicated with your writing.

      I was hoping you would see the link; your moniker describes most of us……..

      I’ll see my Iowa buddies in a little over two weeks; we have 16 of us from all over in a Ryder Cup style tournament over 4-days at some great courses. It’s always a fun time.

  21. Outliers. What makes someone achieve greatness? Repetition. Practice. Tedium. Less ass on the couch time. Which is exactly where I am right now. Woopsie.

    • I do like my couch at times………:). There has to be something in you to make you want to achieve it; it’s certainly not going to happen just because somebody else says you will. Good to see you Pam I am……….

  22. Hey, I didn’t quit so I am still good 😉

    To be honest, the only person that has inspired me by their true greatness is…

    ….

    ME!

    (Yeah, I mean myself 😉 And there is one other character too: Batman).

    Of course, there are many other sources of inspiration too 😉 But, true greatness? Well, that’s all to Batman (and including myself isn’t an act of arrogance, but I am inspired by myself and my brain and me being a human).

    I don’t believe that anyone is born gifted (okay, there might be a few out there – savants and others who have disabilities but are really good at something).

    Other than that, all of us have the same brain structure.

    Sure, the number of neurons might be different (but, that’s all because of our own actions. Are we willing to learn? Now, there are cases in which you can’t learn due to your circumstances or surroundings, but in those situations too, you can actually learn – from your LIFE!).

    No one is perfect. No one will ever be. And yet, everyone is perfect (at being themselves).

    Deliberate practice?

    Now, I agree on that 😉

    Smart practicing, right? Practicing what that matters (who said, we can be better at something by participating the wrong things? Well, we will still get better – at doing the wrong things).

    • Deliberate practice is hard because you just don’t do it for a week or a month; it can take years and you have to find a way to stay motivated the entire time. This is why so few actually do it and the ones that do, this is why they stand out.

      I’m impressed w/ you sir; you and Batman.

      No one is perfect, but everyone is perfect; well said and I agree.

      Good to see you sir.

  23. Bill – This is a great post to start my morning….thx for prepping me up for the day ahead!!!

    Yes, deliberate “anything” will never be sustained and one can be sure that he cannot continue with it. Every interest and practice should come from within and not by force.

    • I’m glad you liked it. On paper you might think ‘well, I can certainly do that,’ but the reality is very few can. Even the greats reach a point where they just rely on the training they have done to get them through.

      The challenge is, you want to push your child to achieve; but how much and how hard? Ultimately, it still has to come from within or you can’t sustain it.

      Quite the dilemma; good to see you sir.

Leave a Reply

