Putting your best face forward

Whoa now, Happy Halloween, huh? That will certainly keep the kids off your front porch. I’m not even going to guess if that is a man or a woman; kind of like asking a lady ‘when are you due?’ Don’t even go there….

Am I seeing the real you?

When you first jumped into social, were you cautious so as to minimize your social fox paws (faux pas)? Or did you just stumble in like a bull in a china shop which was my MO. If you have been in for any time, how much have you changed?

I certainly thought I was swave and deboner (suave and debonair) and acted like I belonged. Even now I pull some green horn stunts, isn’t that right Kaarina? Friends don’t let friends drive drunk, right? I can’t believe most of you stayed around as difficult it can be to stay ‘connected’ to my site. I’m impressed, you guys make me smile……….:).

I have met some dick nozzlesย in here and people who just flat-out dropped me, but I don’t think there has been anybody who turned out to be totally creepy. Ok, maybe marginally creepy but I eventually just went my own way. Most started chasing a business model I had no interest in so we eventually parted ways. Hopefully I don’t have too many haters…

But you look so nice

Whereas, it can seem like a love-fest in here at times; the reality is, it is not exactly a bed of roses for everybody right now. I don’t think most with challenges in their lives are making this stuff up, and we are probably only getting to see the tip of the iceberg.

I would caution that until you walk a mile in someone’s shoes, be slower to judge and if you aren’t getting what you want out of the encounter, just move on.

You are the only measure of validation you need. You are chasing a rabbit down a hole if all you do is sniff ‘A-lister’ butt for recognition (that probably wasn’t a good mental image but it made me laugh when I wrote it, so it gets to stay).

I hate to do this, but….

I’m sure these people will just love the fact, I linked them to this post with Peter, Peter the Pumpkin eater; but they certainly deserve some love even though we sometimes only see each other from afar.

Margie Clayman – Obviously she was a much better student than I in school. She has a creative, clever way of weaving stories throughout history and able to draw a parallel with social; somebody was paying attention in class. I go to her place for my history lesson and to be entertained; she is a talented individual indeed.

My man Howie Goldfarb – That’s a nice southern name if I’ve ever heard one. Howie and I are both lovers of baseball and other things odd and we frequently tweet each other, especially during baseball and football season. We certainly hang out at a lot of the same places even if we don’t end up at each other’s place. Howie is smart too and has a very good handle on what is real in social and what is not; at least he makes a lot of sense to me.

Howie, you truly are the thorn between two roses here.

Amber Avines – She’s a California girl, with a laid back approach and typically writes about what she observes in her everyday adventures. I always enjoy stopping by and most times my replies are close to what she was talking about in her post. I have to put her in the smart category as well, so I guess you might see a pattern here. You are only as good as the company you keep, right?

The common denominator?

Gini of course and there was no way I was not going to include her in this post especially with the pumpkin shot.

I just wanted these people to know I enjoy their work and what they bring to the mix even if we don’t crash on each other’s floor. If you don’t know them, it will be worth a visit.

That’s my story and I’m sticking with it

I have a confession; I had about 3 different stories I was going to do but one way or another I was going to find a way to use the pumpkin pic. I hope my ‘mentioned’ friends don’t take offense, because you know I love ya.

That.is.all.

85 thoughts on “Putting your best face forward

  1. I don’t know if I should be flattered or scared that you knew that image would get me?!? I seriously tweeted it before I read this, just because it’s so great!

    What I want to know is if someone is editing you or if you’re finding the correct spellings all on your own? Either way, it’s pretty darn funny!

    Does this mean I’m an A-lister and you’re sniffing my butt??

  2. Hi Bill,
    ” I donโ€™t think most with challenges in their lives are making this stuff up, and we are probably only getting to see the tip of the iceberg.” Not likely! I think these are the starting places of the best blog posts, don’t you? Those are the best faces, the ones with heart .
    The main thing is to have fun, right? It’s why we came to the blogosphere and started blogging, beneath all those other reasons.
    Lori

    • The ones w/ heart are the best faces indeed.

      Fun is what keeps me around; I’m not ready to commit to trying to monetize this because I don’t have a clear vision of what that looks like. However, I do know social can be an effective tool and allows you to have more arrows in you quiver when you go out to hunt.

      Social is also very informative and educational as well….and that’s the truth….

  3. One of the things I’ve noticed is that people are in such a rush to make a “social” name for themselves, they’ll go all out to flame someone, particularly if they are an “A-lister.” You know the drill – make some noise, be controversial, etc. etc. – so that people start paying attention to you. Then, when they actually meet that person IRL, they fawn all over them. It’s really easy to write something snarky, if not downright mean… but when you know that person IRL, you might not be so quick to do so.

    I have certainly been guilty of this myself, though I don’t think (and hope) I’ve ever written anything that is really mean/a personal attack (though I’ve been on the receiving end). Which is basically all to say I agree with your point about slowing down. We can all afford to do that. The world isn’t going to come to an end if people don’t hear from us for a few days/weeks/months… right?

    • I remember how snarky you used to be with me, but once you met me, I wasn’t so bad after all, huh? It took two visits, but I was able to get the job done………:).

      The world is not coming to an end; the sun will still rise in the East and life will go on. I get slight anxiety when I know I can’t keep up, but I’m pretty good at keeping it at bay.

      I’ve met some good friends; learned a thing or two; and have enjoyed my efforts. That is all I will say about that….

      Good to see you; hope your new gig is going well.

  4. Dude. Just RT this. Wow. The picture is just ….. well …. wrong. Ha. funny as hell, but just wrong. take CARE. Crazy man.

    Al

    • It was very wrong, that is why it was so good. I was going to do a completely different blog but it didn’t match the picture……..I’m not sure this one does either, but I just had to run with it…………because that’s how I roll………..:). Good to see you bud, hope things are settling down for you these days……

      • Ok Ms Buttinski; what I have been doing is follow the trail back up the comment stream and just reply on the last reply button in the line. Somehow that seems to place it in the right spot………I know awkward, but that’s only one of the crazy things you have to put up with on my site.

  5. Gini is definitely the common denominator in a lot of our connections. She deserves a lot of credit. Plus she should change her Twitter and Facebook avatars to that image up top!

  6. I’ve seen that pic before and it scared me then just as much as it did now Bill! Man oh man…

    Hey, some of my regular peeps are still hanging around from the beginning but most have moved on and I don’t know where the heck they’ve gone. Hey, I just say those that want to stay are cooler than Sh*t so that’s all that matters right.

    I love ya Bill! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • There is all sorts or reasons for people to leave; it could be their model changed, they might feel it is an ‘uneven’ relationship, they might drop out, etc, etc, etc. All we can do is love the ones we are with, right?

      I have a few of the long timers, with you being one of them………..:).

      Good to see you, thanks for the visit.

  7. What the heck happened here?

    I’m not taking about the pumpkin ass or the Bieber, but the shiny, spartan new look. The place is looking pretty elegant, but utilitarian these days. Very nicely done!

    Anyway, that just might be the best blog post picture ever for a variety of reasons, both good and bad. Mostly bad, but it could become viral.

    So now you’re advertising for 95.09 KLZX? โ€ฆ sellout … ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Talk to you later, FLA

    p.s. So are you’re brown-nosing Gini? I thought I was doing a pretty good job as chief toady until you took over.

  8. I was sure that I would get a link to my new pumpkins when I saw your picture ๐Ÿ™‚

    I started out in social as a very shy boy, and ended up as brutally honest man with lots of brilliant friends ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I did think of your pumpkins when I put the picture in. I should have linked it with the caption, ‘see what you can be when you grow up?’

    There were some things early on that gave me pause for thought; hitting publish for the first time was certainly one of them. But we’s big boys now, huh?

    Good to see you sir.

  10. I have to admit I was a bit worried when I went here via the trackback and then saw the picture. Luckily it all turned out alright ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks so much, Bill. You rock and I’m glad I know you!

    • Kind of like a back handed compliment, huh? I think I like the fact you mentioned me, but do I really have to be associated with that picture?………:).

      You are very talented and very readable, even the times when I’m busy and think I’m just going to ‘scan’ what you have to say it usually pulls me in for the whole kit and caboodle.

      You are a pleasure to know as well. I hope your day has gone well.

  11. Bill, I told you not to use this picture of me! Combine your post with Jens’ post today of how to get your picture on Google search and, well, that’s just scary.

    I would like to think that people’s true personalities come through online, but unfortunately people sometimes pretend to be who they’re not. On Halloween that’s okay but otherwise not so cool.

    Luckily most of the folks I’ve met online have been great. Especially the Nigerian who emailed me to let me know I that my long lost relative died there and left me millions of dollars. As soon as he wires the funds into my bank account (I just gave him all that information), I want to thank him personally!

    • I laughed out loud when you said it was your picture; I didn’t tell anybody, but it was actually my picture……..:). I was actually thinking of posting this as my picture as a joke, but it took me so long to get rid of Santa Claus, that might have been a joke that wore out it’s welcome quickly.

      I also had to laugh at your Nigerian reference because I have a long lost relative there as well. As far as my online friends, I’ve told them my house key is under the front mat and feel free to come and go as you like………

      Good to see you, hope you have a great weekend.

  12. Much need laughs, Bill. That photo has me laughing and I don’t know why. How cheeky. I won’t say more, because I know not what I’ll say. I am down with a viral fever and am waiting for it to get disgusted with me and go away. And then, when I am clean ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll go visit those stellar people you mentioned. I naturally assumed they’re wonderful because I like you.

    Sniff Sniff. Where is the tissue?

    • Yuk on being sick, so I’m glad this brought a smile. Once I saw the pic I just had to use it. When it came time to publish I had second thoughts because I was linking friends in this post; but I think they were all good sports about it.

      They are good peeps and I get to bump into them from time to time. They all have something unique they bring to social and I appreciate them all.

      Get well so you can have a good weekend; talk to you soon.

  13. I jumped right in to social media thinking that no one was paying attention, so who else would I be but myself? I don’t believe in A-listers ’cause I don’t know who they are! LOL! Are you one, Bill? I guess an A-lister would be a blog I frequent because it interests me. That’s it.
    Great pic. Big is beautiful!!

    • Somebody called me an A-hole once but I don’t think I’ve made the A-list yet…..:). Like you, I don’t really care where you are on the social ‘ranking’ list; if I like ya, I will support you and visit your place. Some visit the A-listers for the attention it will bring; if you see me somewhere it’s because I like being there, not because I’m trying to score ‘points.’ To each his own though, you have to find whatever sustains you and just go with that.

      Big is beautiful and I like the fact it was a nice, smooth butt too………..yikes…….:).

      Good to see you, thanks for taking the time to stop by.

  14. The problem I have with you Dorman is I don’t feel Alien around you! LOL

    I must say your play on words is very impressive for a numbers guy. You make some great points and also one reason I devalue Klout. I don’t feel everyone is genuine or the real them in Social Media. and it is funny. It goes both ways….no not me…..people are sometimes nicer and sometimes meaner. All depends on the facade they created.

    Well here is to keeping it real and Rays or Angels v Mets series.

    • June 12th, 1st base side, 15 rows up Rays vs the Mets; look for me on TV and I will try not to be the drunkest one among my 4 friends. Looks like the Angels are close to .500 finally.

      It is scary that we ‘get’ each other; must be a ‘guy’ thing, huh?

      I love Klout BTW; I consistently get more free stuff from them than anybody. Who cares what it is measuring……..:).

      There are definitely ‘two’ me’s; the one when I’m with my wife and the one when I’m with my friends. I’m probably closer to the one when I’m with my friends when I’m online.

      Good to see you sir, hope you have a great weekend.

  15. Bill,

    Let me share something I read about rabbits in a great little book called Hagakure (‘Hidden Leaves’).

    “The man who chases two hares will catch none.”

    So the people who try to up their blogging game by sniffing A-Lister butt might want to rethink their strategy. Yes, you can be a great brown-noser and sycophants have their uses (hey, sycophancy is a transferable skill), but you’re not cultivating self-confidence or talent.

    I’d rather spend my time playing Skyrim than waste it on people I don’t find interesting just because each of their blog posts gets 600 comments.

    Which leads me to the question, at what point does participation turn into pure noise? When’s the signal to noise ratio so low that even butt-sniffing becomes irrelevant?

    Oh, and greenhorn mistakes are OK. We all bumble, make typos, unfounded assertions… it’s a part of being human. Being human is showing your scars from time to time and still being able to laugh a little.

    Finally: You don’t see the real me online. These are my words; they’re not me. I don’t use social to vent, troll, or engage in pointless debate. I want to add value or spread good ideas — that’s one side of me. The other side just wants to kick back with a Trappist beer and listen to good music. So there’s a question — if you keep your meltdowns out of social, as you should, does that mean you’re less real? Or just discreet?

    Stay swave, Bill.

    • From my observations, it appears most think there is a one-off level of anonymity in social and are prone to say just about anything. There is a tendency to be too revealing at times in an effort to make sure everybody gets to see the ‘real’ you.

      I would like for people to think I have this ultra-exciting life and I’m always on the go doing interesting things and meeting interesting people; but the reality is most of the adventure is going on in my own mind. I kid about wanting Extremely Average’s moniker, but that is pretty much me. I have fun however with life and people so I typically can make any day a good day and that’s all that counts, right?

      We get to see parts of the creative you, but other than that you really don’t get involved on the chatty side of it. Of course, I’ve been able to hear parts of the real you and sure we will probably talk again.

      Some of these A-listers get so big they can’t engage and that’s fine; it just means I probably won’t find them interesting and if they can still grow their audience by being less, then more power to them.

      I go to places I enjoy and are interesting; I have no meter to judge where they are in the social spectrum and frankly, don’t really care.

      Good to see you Magnet man; hope you have a great weekend.

      • True, I’m not very chatty. I try to limit my comments in that I would like each one to be a valid contribution.

        Being an introvert, small talk is something I have to work at. Doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy it, only that I’m kind of quiet. (Some would say too quiet.)

        I should start hanging out at your blog more, it’s laid back and friendly like a beer garden on a June evening.

      • I’m glad the site gives off a comfortable, let’s have a beer feeling. I am not pretentious in the least, and hopefully that comes through.

        I like introverts, because I get to do all the talking………..doh………:). Actually, I can talk someone’s ear off but I really try to do a better job of asking ‘good’ questions so I can pull someone into the conversation.

  16. Hahaha…I know I’m the 4,522 comment and therefore hardly the first to laugh at your pick for the photo…but (ha…pun intended) what a hoot. No matter how crazy busy life gets, there are a few places that I try to visit every week and yours, my friend, is certainly one of them. Thanks for a fun ride and this post was a perfect example of why I love you. And, you couldn’t have picked greater people to highlight today. I’m all about Margie, Amber, Gini and Howie. And what great communities that they have nurtured.
    Happy AS ALWAYS that I stopped by Bill!
    xoxo
    Claudia

    • They are good, solid peeps and they make my online journey enjoyable. I don’t see them everyday, but I certainly see them.

      I hope all is going well with your new place and life is getting back to normal. May was very interesting for me, but it’s done now and ready to start the 2nd half of the year.

      When I saw that pic, it was so outrageous I had to find a way to use it. Maybe that will be my method now, select the pic first and then write a story around it.

      Thanks for the visit and kind words; it certainly is a pleasure to see you. I hope you have a great weekend.

  17. Man, my eyes just threw up a little. The one thing that’s for sure is that I am always surprised when I come to this site. You never disappoint….:-)

  18. I thought the picture was of a baby until i read your post and realized it was a full grown man/woman. it hurt my eyes.

  19. I think the smooth skin makes it appear ‘baby like’ but it is definitely an adult, gender to be determined………:). Whoever it is, I’m guessing they have a pretty good sense of humor; or a disturbed one……..

    It’s like a car wreck; you don’t want to see it, but you can’t take your eyes off of it.

    So good to see you; hope you have been well.

  20. Bill, the pic is quite creepy. I wish you use better pics next time… at least that will allow us to concentrate on your post. The pic is too big to share in 140 characters but I will still try ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Creepy and disturbing; how would have liked to have been the artist? It indeed makes it hard to concentrate on the post………:).

      Good to see you, hope your weekend went well.

  21. You may have one of the best heads of hair (for a guy your age) on the web, but you need to do some squats for that lard butt of yours!

    Post was funny. Comments even better!

    This is a great place to visit Bill – you da man!

  22. […] Bill Dorman suggested Timeless and Total cost when he said: “As we move on there are certain business practices like integrity and credibility that are ‘timeless.’ In my business where it is so easy just to focus on the cost of your insurance policy, we have to paint the picture of your ‘total’ cost of risk; soft and hard dollars.” […]

  23. I have to be honest, that picture made my brain tell my eyes to shut down. So, I couldn’t read anything after that horrible image.

    My dog, however, was reading over my shoulder and said you mentioned me. So, THANK YOU for that, Bill! It’s been a pleasure getting to know you online and your blog comments always keep me on my toes!

  24. Hi there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in I.E., it has some
    overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, great site!

  25. hydra-“Growth would have to exceed the deilcne in percentage of retained income and the percent of population increase in the group.”and it has. so what is your point?

Leave a Reply

