I’m taking my talents to South Beach

Because of my very diverse online community, there is a good chance most of you don’t even know who Lebron James is. He is an extremely talented NBA basketball player who’s contract expired in Cleveland and became a ‘free’ agent last year. After much courting by the rest of the NBA teams, he chose Miami and then uttered the infamous words ‘I’m taking my talents to South Beach’ when he decided who won the ‘Lebron lottery’.

The whole process was ugly and not only did he listen to bad advice from his camp because he ended up looking like a total tool when it was all said and done; he became public enemy number 1 in Cleveland. However, as he is laughing all the way to the bank, he could probably give two hoots what others think about him.

Anyway, it’s only appropriate as I share with you what the next leg in my social journey looks like.

Can you be too social in social?

Apparently my wife thinks so; she was concerned social was becoming my mistress and it was hard for me to make an argument otherwise. Her biggest beef being how frivolous and time consuming it can be and how little of my efforts were leading to a ‘payday’.

Basically she said, sh*t or get off the pot; either do something business related that will drive traffic or write a book. I know the easy thing would be to talk about insurance, business, sales, leadership, etc. because that is what I know; I live it every day. But if you think social is being covered in here, tell me you don’t see those topics too.

I love my job; I have the best job ever…..most of the time. If you told me I could make a million dollars writing about any or all of those topics on my blog I still don’t know if it would be motivation enough to lead me down that path. I’m a glass half full guy, but my guess is I would probably make about $37.50 and putting a lot of time and effort into something that would be hard to keep my attention.

At least I’m truthful, right?

I would rather be famous than good

I have decided I’m going to write a book. I mean I should be able to knock one out in a couple of months, right? If I wrote a book I could write about anything I wanted. I might even use a pseudonym so I can write racy romance novels and not embarrass my kids.

I’m sure the copywriters purposely stay away from my site because they cringe every time they wade through one of my posts. I write like I talk; which is sometimes not the proper syntax and/or grammar. For an English speaking guy why in the heck was English one of my harder subjects? It’s because the teachers tried to take something very simple (talking and reading) and dress it all up and make it hard; I don’t care about nouns, pronouns, adjectives, prepositions, on and on and on. As soon as they dropped into that talk, my mind was out the window.

Read I can do, and because I have always been a reader there are not many words that will stump me if I know the context in how it is being used. And because of this, I can write well enough. Not perfect, but I don’t talk perfect either………..so there……..

It was the best of times it was the worst of times

I’m serious; if nothing else, this just made my bucket list and all of you can say ‘I knew him when’.

I’m being facetious in this post and do not want to make light of the people I currently know who are toiling through this process, @TheJackB, @Berget, and @ExtremelyAverage to name a few; but with a gift of gab, an active imagination and a love of writing, let’s see where it takes me.

I might as well go to Hollywood and try to be an actor, huh? I’m not quitting the day job, but I am going on record as saying this is my next big project.

I know, not earth shattering and don’t be asking to borrow any damn money when I make it. However, I will invite you all to attend the taping of the Jay Leno show; @TheJackB said we could stay at his place.

That.is.all.

54 thoughts on “I’m taking my talents to South Beach

  1. Well good luck Bill. I am looking forward to seeing your perspective (and your wife’s) on book writing and the expected riches that are expected to follow AFTER you write your book. If it’s not basically a labor of love prepare for a long hard ride. LOL
    Riley

    • Just like blogging, huh? There’s only about a gazillion of us in here; it should be a piece of cake.

      I actually do have an idea and tying it in w/ my volunteer Guardian ad Litem and the exploitation of teens in the ‘system’.

      I’m sure it will be a labor of love, but I thought I could get good at golf too.

      Good to see you; hope you are well.

  2. What’s it all about Alphie? Good luck man. I.am.sure you will get advice in droves so I don’t need to tell you that 30,000 sales will get you on the NYT best seller list (or somewhere around there). Looking forward to it and try to remember the little people.

    • I just hope I can keep my good hair…………..:).

      I have some ideas and would like to tie it into my volunteer work through the Guardian ad Litem program. It would deal w/ the runaways from the foster care system and how they are prone to be exploited.

      What the heck, huh? It’s only a book, right?

    • It will be fiction, but my ‘character’ will be present. However, it can’t be all about me so I have thoughts of having a ‘main’ character and follow them through their journey in the ‘system’; what it does to them and how they ultimately turn out.

  3. Yay! Bill! I agree. Sometimes producing something tangible makes all of the difference to our loved ones when it comes to being online. It does to me. I have to do something more! Can’t wait to read it!

    • It will be an interesting endeavor. Hopefully it won’t be like the time I tried to self-teach myself to play the guitar. That lasted about two weeks…..

      If I’m serious about it, I will need to dedicate specific time to it and not just fit it in when I have time.

      Maybe it will be like my marathon training; one step at a time.

      Thanks for stopping by; hope you are well.

  4. Bill,

    One of the rules of Copywriting is to “write how you would talk to the prospect if you were face-to-face”, so you’re certainly doing nothing wrong in that department sir! πŸ™‚

    Robert

    • I guess it helps if you don’t know any big words, huh?……..:).

      I guess I might as well do something tangible; this will be an interesting task indeed. I know writing a book is no comparison to blogging, but I was hesitant to jump into the blogging well initially too.

      What’s the worse than can happen; lose an eye or something….:).

      Good to see you sir, hope your day went well.

  5. I’m all for it, Bill. Write your book! Start today!

    You’ll prolly finish long before me considering I only have three of twelve chapters in draft.

    • I do recall you had one in the works as well. I’m expecting mine to be turned into a movie and I’ll make sure you have a part……..:).

      It will be interesting; at least I have a community that I can lean on when I start running into road blocks.

      Rock-n-roll, right?

      • Yes, you have a community to lean on and I’ve decided I want to be part of it if you’ll have me.

        I have come to the point where I believe without question great writing is all about the emotional connection. Period. Copywriting, fiction, non-fiction etc. It doesn’t matter what form so don’t underestimate your strength. You just made an emotional connection with many in your post here and that’s hard to do because it requires a level of honesty that can be hard to tap. I know because I am the queen of that struggle and am still hesitating to put it out there. Not to be confused with lying — lying sucks. But to be honest about the why and the emotions involved. Even Stephen King says always tell the truth. It took me awhile to understand because he writes fiction in a genre I don’t care to read. But I read him to try to understand and now I get it. Good writing becomes great when you are fearless with the truth and make an emotional connection. You’ve already proven you can do that and it’s something I admire. And you don’t even have to be a “dick” about it. πŸ™‚

      • Hey Susan, you are certainly welcome to be a part of my community; watch out for some of these ne’r do wells as they might have fleas, but they are all good people.

        I write like I talk and pretty much what you see is what you get. If you were to meet me IRL I don’t think there would be much of a disconnect (except I’m probably way cooler in person…..:).

        It will be an interesting endeavor indeed; I hope it’s sustainable and rewarding.

        Thanks so much for dropping by and leaving your thoughts.

    • Movie rights too; I’ll be ‘all world’ and will no longer be the ‘invisible’ blogger, huh?

      Now that I have given it some thought and have some ideas in mind, I’m kind of excited; let’s see where it takes me.

      Good to see you; hope your day went well.

  6. I loved the “proposition”…did you put that in there on purpose?

    So what does it really all mean Alfie? Does it mean we won’t see your wit and wonder here on this page? Are you going to blog about the book-writing process? Are you retreating into the cone of silence? Enquiring minds need to know.

    And I won’t be asking to borrow any damn money when I say “I knew him when”. I’ll just expect that you’ll give it to me, haha! Cheers! Kaarina

    • Only be concerned if I quit making eye contact. Maybe I’ll go ala @TheJackB and start a parallel blog that follows the exploits of my writing……..

      What it means is I will still be here and will probably touch on my progress (or lack thereof). I know I will have to spend a lot more ‘thinking’ time on a project of the magnitude. Let’s see, 30 chapters 20 pages each chapter………..hmmmm…….I can do that……….

      I’m thinking once it hits the streets it will be like I’m printing money anyway………….

      Hola ma’am, hope your day is going well.

  7. Lucky South Beach.

    I’ve got the answer to your problems, Bill. Lots of authors turn their blog posts into Kindle books. Easy peasy. You could hire a Fiverr guy to do it.

    You could have your Kindle book ready in a week. All of your faithful readers would buy a copy (remember, you don’t need a Kindle to read a Kindle book!). You could rake in the riches, your readers would be happy and you could have a great reason to continue blogging.

    Problem solved.

    • Whoa, that might be testing my friendship if I tried to get people to buy a compilation of my blog posts on a Kindle book. Although, that sure sounds much easier than writing a book, huh? And you know me and easy……..:)

      I actually have a general idea of the ‘book’ I want to write. I suppose the first step is to develop some characters and put together some type of outline of how I want to story to develop.

      If I rake in the riches I think I will get a hall pass to blog as much as I want. Shoot, if I made $10 I’d probably be ‘all in’.

      Thanks for the suggestion; maybe I could borrow some of Jack’s posts to include with my stuff……

      Hope your day is going well.

  8. Write one word at a time and never stop or so one of my high school teachers once advised me.

    It works for me. I just write until it feels done and then I write some more. You have more than one book in you. All you need do is sort out what the first one will be and you’ll be on your way.

    • One step at a time; I am kind of curious to see how well I can develop the characters and tell a story at the same time and then try to put it all together.

      You are light years ahead of me in terms of writing; I guess once I jump in I’ll find out just how much of a commitment it is.

      Good to see you today; hope all is well on the left coast, sunny and warm here.

  9. First of all, I’m a copywriter and I most certainly do NOT avoid your blog! I think you write really well, and your grammar is generally correct, so some of that schooling sunk in!

    That said, I’d be happy to edit your book when it’s done :-).

    And I’m pretty sure you’d crack at least $40 if you decided to monetize a blog. Don’t sell yourself short!

    • Well, that was a nice thing to say. You know what they say about feeding the wild animals………..you might not ever get me to leave.

      Generally correct, huh? I’m fixin’ to do something about that……….

      I hope trying to put my thoughts together enough to create a book will be as fun as blogging; I’m kind of excited to at least give it a try. Maybe I’ll be the next big thing, right?

      I just might take you up on the editing offer; you just never know.

      So good to see you; thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts.

  10. You could become a shampoo model! πŸ˜‰

    My family thinks the same; they feel the time I spend on typing out comments and writing blogs and all, I could have well written a book. But it is really what works for us and what doesn’t. One social media day at a time maybe?

    • I would be the dude where the soap gets in their eyes and I couldn’t talk into the camera because I would be crying……..:).

      I think I could do just about anything I set my mind to, including monetizing my blog, going on the social speaking circuit, etc, etc, etc. HOWEVER, there has to be enough ‘want to’ to go along with that for me to make it happen. If I can just ‘show up’ and it will happen then that will be cool; if I have to do a lot of heavy lifting at this point I’m probably not interested.

      I really do have a pretty sweet gig with my job; could I use some more money, absolutely, but who couldn’t, right? If some think I’m a ‘social’ under-achiever because I’m not more motivated or don’t have a clear vision; I’m ok with that. All I know is it has to be sustainable for me and making it a second job is not where I want to go with it. I’m just glad all the people who are doing that are letting me hang around.

      Good to see you; thanks for stopping by as it is always a pleasure to see my friend Hajra.

  11. Hey Bill,

    You gettin’ the same treatment at home, huh?

    I have to give my wife daily reports and she keeps asking, where’s the money? She wants to see me bring home some cabbage.

    Seriously, that is a long term plan and we’ll just have to see what happens. Some money, that is.

    About writing: I keep hearing famous bloggers say you SHOULD write like you talk, so you’ve got that part down.

    Oh yeah, THE BOOK … Go for it!

    Write that book and don’t stop, for anything. We all know you have a good book in ya, just find someone to edit it when you are done. πŸ™‚

    • I keep telling my wife how popular I am…….priceless…………..

      I’m just having trouble envisioning a platform where I’m talking about the ‘business’ world and it be something I plan on doing for the next 3-5+ years. I would much rather talk about life, the good and bad, what really is important, and if ‘business’ is a part of it then I will weave it in. I’m certainly not the sharpest tack in the box, but like you, I have ‘experienced’ enough to know what bullshit is and not be afraid to call somebody out on it.

      Ms Ruth Zive has offered to edit my first tome so I’m good to go; I guess all I have to do now is write it, huh?

      Good to see you my friend; hopefully those vampires haven’t been hanging around.

    • As part of our ‘training’ at LUI, we occasionally tape our ‘sales’ calls. Whereas we don’t have a script per se, we do have certain questions to ask to see if we can take it to the next step. It’s funny to see people go into their ‘sales’ mode and so far away from how they sound conversationally. In my mind I always envision it like I’m talking to my buddies who would call bullshit in a minute if I started sounding ‘funny’. Therefore, business, writing, etc, the closer I can stay to the ‘real’ me the more comfortable I am. ‘Me’ I can do……..

      In conjunction with the book writing, I am going to buy a lottery ticket every week I meet my goals. I’m trying to see which one will bring me the million the quickest…………:).

      I’m excited, I just hope I can give it some legs. Good to see you and thanks for stopping by.

    • Book about sexual exploitation of kids in foster care, runaways; but it will be fiction with a central character. Unfortunately as a volunteer Guardian ad Litem it’s a topic that I actually know something about because these are the kids I’m supposed to be the voice of in court while they are in the system.

      I don’t have to ask permission……….I hope my wife isn’t reading this…….:). The reality is, it has to be something that will keep my interest. If you have my interest I am ‘all in’; if not, it could get iffy.

      Long time no see D, hope you have been well and your journey is still good for you. Thanks for stopping by….

      • Interesting book subject.
        Yep, if we are not interested, we can’t keep it running. The combination of an inclination (yr interest), an aptitude (what you are good at) and of course the all knowing mr market will determine the success of your book.
        Cheers,
        DEREK

  12. I’m conflicted as to how I should respond to this post. On the one hand, you break my heart by mentioning LeBron (how could you???). On the other hand, I’m so excited!!!

    Oh…muffin, muffin…how do I respond?

    Congratulations, Bill πŸ™‚

    • Sorry to pick at that scab; I’m sure it’s still a painful memory.

      As I ‘formulate’ my plan of action to tackle this task, I know it’s going to be like training for a marathon. I just need to come up with a ‘game plan’, commit to it and stay on task. I do have a basic premise I will be working with but it will tie in more w/ my volunteerism and the Guardian ad Litem program but I think I can bring some life to it.

      So good to see you; I really appreciate you stopping by. Sorry I had to drag LeBron out to do it…………:).

      I hope all is well and you are ready for a great weekend.

  13. So now it’s you, Jens and Jack all going for those books. What is happening with our bloggers? They want to go all serious on us and yikes…actually start making an income from their efforts.

    Ah heck, I don’t blame you. You get to a certain point and think I want more. I have no doubt you’ve got plenty of stories in you Bill. Here is one suggestion you can tell your wife.

    If you continue blogging and stick with the contacts you have they can lead to publishers and people in the know so that all that hard work will happen much faster because of your connections. Huh, you like that?

    I guess that means we better start cozying up to some publishers for you guys. Start making those connections that count and see where that leads. Hey, go ask Danny Iny. He’s already made it a big time with his book so there’s a start.

    I agree with everyone else too Bill, write how you talk because this is how you connect more with the readers. To hell with our English teachers back in school. I didn’t do so well in that class either. πŸ™‚

    • Well, those hammerheads are well on the way. Jack is one of the most prolific writers I know. I will have to set up a ‘schedule’ if I’m going to stay on task; I can’t just wait until I have ‘free’ time…….

      Blogging and social is what comes easy to me so I plan on staying around. I already have an editor who has offered their services. I really plan on having something for them to ‘edit’.

      So good to see you Adrienne, I hope your week has gone well. Take care and have a great weekend.

  14. Hey Bill,

    I know who LeBron James is, but all I’m thinking about now is that I’m looking forward to read your book. This is amazing news. I’ll be your first paying customer. I promise. And it doesn’t matter what genre or topic you’re writing about πŸ™‚

    I’m off to celebrate Easter in Denmark and Legoland πŸ™‚

  15. Hey Bill,

    This is awesome news. I’ll be your first paying customer, no matter the genre or topic.

    By the way. I’m off to celebrate Easter in Denmark and Legoland πŸ™‚

    • I’m thinking something along the lines of the exploitation of teens, when they run away from foster care to get out of the ‘system’. I have some central characters in mind and of course I will have a character as a volunteer Guardian ad Litem. We’ll see how it goes………..

      Have fun at Legoland; you’ll have to visit Legoland Florida which is virtually in my backyard.

  16. Very excited for you Bill! Have some thoughts that I’ll touch base offline with. BTW, don’t kill the blog, my understanding is that publishers are a lot kinder to people with an existing platform.

    Hearty cheers on the new direction!

    • I had not thought of that angle, but I can see where it would be important to have a ‘body of work’ available to see and also an audience to go along with it. Hmmmmm, maybe I do need to start thinking about being more purposeful with my audience. Jenny Lawson @TheBloggess does a great job with it. She’ll have over 5,000 comments all the time. If I’m going to emulate someone, she would be a good model. And in spite of her popularity, she will actually engage with you if she has the time.

      Yeah, let’s talk because I’m green as a fresh booger in this arena and open to suggestions.

  17. Hey Bill,

    Wow!!! Writing a book is really a tough and rewarding thing. I so much wish to read your book. Count me as one of the first buyers :).

    • My first course of action is making an ‘appointment’ with myself to give myself enough ‘thinking’ time every day to get the ball rolling. I definitely have given it some thought so now it’s time to see where it will lead me down this path. I am excited however…..

      Thanks for stopping by; hope all has been well with you.

  18. Bill – I’m not social enough to keep up with my own “social” pages, so forgive me that it took so long to read your posts. I think it is an absolutely wonderful idea that you place your obvious literary efforts towards a book project. I am ordering my autographed copy TODAY!

    Most sincerely,

    J. Forrest Young

    • Yeah, it’s pretty fast paced around here………:).

      My thoughts are to do fiction but the premise will be about a female character, young teen who has been placed in the ‘system’ and the challenges and temptations she will face on her journey to adulthood. It will be based loosely on some of my experiences I have garnered as a GAL.

      I will probably pick your brain (not your nose) for research material or ideas.

      That’s my story for now……….

  19. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subbircse for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

