If this were my last blog post

If you follow sports at all, you have seen the aging star who just doesn’t know when to hang it up. The sport is all he knows and even though his mind is saying yes, yes, yes, the body is saying no, no, no.

With blogging or writing do you ever pass your prime and have squeezed every last drop of creative juices you have within you? Or, because you are only using your mind and not necessarily your physical abilities, do you get better with age; like a fine wine?

What if you are just talking to yourself

If I took my ball and went home would anybody really miss me? Life goes on whether you are ready or not; but how quick would my absence be absorbed? I’m no dummy, this will be measured in hours, not days or weeks.

I’m speaking in the first person, but how many feel like this can be a whole bunch of nothing at times? You think you are doing all the tried and true methods; the traffic ebbs and flows, but some days you wonder ‘what is all this for’? In the big scheme of things, does this really mean anything; did it have an impact on anybody but me?

Personally, I find joy in writing and the engagement it allows. It’s not always epic and my structure probably leaves something to be desired by the purists, but I’m tickled pink someone is actually reading it. Simple goals, simple pleasures……:)

-30-

Any journalism people familiar with this symbol? So where did the term originate? Some say the mark began during a time when stories were submitted via telegraph, with “-30-” denoting “the end” in Morse code. Another theory suggests that the first telegraphed news story had 30 words. Others claim the “-30-” comes from a time when stories were written in longhand — X marked the end of a sentence, XX the end of a paragraph and XXX meant the end of a story. The Roman numerals XXX translate to 30.

I have seen ‘old school’ journalist sign off with -30- when it is their last column.

What would you say if this were your last post

Is this the time to pull out all stops for that epic piece you held in reserve, just for this moment? Would this finally be your walk-off home run? Would people think, where has this been?

Would you single out anybody specifically to tell them how much they meant to you on your journey; or produce the Top 10 list of all times?

How would you do it

Do you think it best to just disappear or have a grand send off? In my minds-eye I would opt for the Mach V with my hair on fire, but in reality it would probably be with a whimper. We have all seen too many just fold up their tents and leave town, never to be seen or heard from again. Even though we have access to the masses, there is still a certain anonymity in social that lends itself to just walking away.

How’s it going to be

How’s it going to be when you don’t know me anymore? Yes, some have been blogging for quite some time, but this part of social is still relatively new. Mark my words however, we saw some social burnout occur last year but I predict this year it will occur more frequently; and some ‘names’ will be in this wave.

The moral of the story

Don’t be afraid to go deep with your friendships and enjoy them while they last. Appreciate the efforts and know we all have our private demons to deal with somewhere. Be quick to praise and slow to criticize until you walk a mile in someone else’s shoes.

That.is.all.

57 thoughts on “If this were my last blog post

  1. Hi Bill,

    I have no idea what I would be doing. I’m the type of guy who could just leave without saying a word. But, I’m not sure. And, if I left by telling the whole world about it, it wouldn’t be easy to come back (and say that it was just a mistake to leave).

    Your post reminds me of the book, The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch. I read this book a few years ago, and it’s one of the few books that I still remember every single page (at least it feels like I remember every page). Saying goodbye is always the hardest thing to do, and that’s why I don’t like saying goodbye… and I know that I’ll always end up coming back, that’s why whatever I do, it won’t be the last time I do it 🙂

    • It would probably be like a gym membership; instead of every day it would turn to twice a week to 3 time a month to gone. I don’t imagine many would take the time to make a grand announcement.

      Saying goodbye is hard and I don’t do a good job at it.

      It just seems people are trying to find that elusive sustainability point AND monetize it; and I think if that is their model it will be difficult. Because of the frustration and difficulty most will just opt out and try something else. We will see new ones arrive but many more leave, in my opinion.

      Good to see you sir, thanks for dropping by.

  2. There was a post I saw a while back – I don’t remember which blog it was – but it was by a guy who’d been battling cancer. He’d written his last post when he knew the end was coming, and when he died, his wife published it. It touched me no end.

    I don’t know if we could all do that, I’m sure it would be extremely emotional to write, but it’s not a bad idea to have a draft of something like that ready… so that when the time comes, if one still wants to have a “goodbye” post published, one can. Kind of like having a will, I guess…

    • Here is the link you are talking about Shonali (I’m pretty sure). The single greatest blog post I have ever read.

      http://www.penmachine.com/2011/05/the-last-post

      I’m not sure what I would write if I was just walking away from it. I’m sure I would do some sort of farewell post. However, if fate was carrying me away (like this guy), I think I would just have to cop out and say: “What he said.”

    • There is a big difference from being your last post because you will no longer be with us and the reflection it would allow vs I quit. Some might do the ‘last post’ just to see if they get a reaction.

      On one hand I don’t want to have a set schedule; however, on the other I want to be disciplined enough (like working out) that it is in my routine.

      I like this stuff; people might avoid me because I’m not business enough or compelling enough; but I’m having fun and enough fun to sustain me so life is good, right?

      I know business; I know the important of measurement; I know stuff, but that’s not my platform right now. At least I know what I know, right?

      Good to see you ma’am; thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your thoughts.

  3. Bill, I love the photo! I think I’d like to use that for my last post!
    I think this “burnout” thing will come and go. I’ve already had my first episode of “what the heck else do I have to say and why am I doing this anyway?” – and I blog ABOUT LIFE! But then I did what I usually do when I have questions – write them down and give it time. Soon I came up with some ideas for posts and realized my “down” episode was just a cold coming on 😮
    I don’t know how I’d end my blog. I can’t imagine anything different than doing what I’m doing but that’s good – right? It means I’m fully engaged!
    I want to, as you say, enjoy it while it lasts. It’s fun today…. 🙂
    Lori

    • Part of me wants to take the month off from writing and just blog explore and leave great comments; the other part just wants to write and not worry about having to keep up with everything. Choices, huh?

      I still go through spells when I wake up and think, ‘you know, you can walk away from this at any time’. And this feeling can change from day to day.

      All I know is right now I feel I am in a very good place and this feels good to me. That’s all that counts, right?

      Sorry I missed the chat today, hope you had fun.

    • If you read the words while it is playing and then try to put it in the context of really leaving; it can be quite sad. I really like that song BTW.

      Are you traveling this week? Did you miss the chat too?

  4. Wow, Bill. I hadn’t ever considered this before. But all good things must come to an end. I really love writing for my blog. I have thought about how much I would miss it if I stopped writing my blog but never what my last post would be.

    I think I’m like Jens. I wouldn’t like to write a final post, even if I knew I were quitting. I might change my mind and decide to come back, then feel silly because I had said farewell to my readers.

    What if I didn’t know it was my last post? Should I write every post as if it were my last, just in case?

    Thanks to Adam for linking to Derek’s post. That put a lot into perspective for me.

    I don’t think I shall write a last post because I would always hope that it wouldn’t be the last.

    • I don’t have any ‘last posts’ in the hopper; I will probably just fade away or either be so ridiculously famous I can’t quit…………:).

      Just as an aside; I have thought about an alias/anonymous site that is not tied to me in any way and be more edgy with my writing. Because I am so closely tied to my business, I can be silly in here but need to be respectful of the fact my business community could still read this. The Billy that no one knows, huh?

      All I will say is, this is my last post for today………….

      Thanks for your support Carolyn; you are the best.

      • If you do start an anonymous site, please let me know so I can follow your posts there too. You can trust me. I won’t spill the beans. People might guess it’s you, though, when each post gets 1700+ comments. 😉

        I wrote a post last night for today that I didn’t publish because it wasn’t G rated. Are you accepting guest posts on your edgy site?

    • You have piqued my curiosity now; you better forward me this post and it might even make it here……….:). You owe me a GP anyway…

      It is a thought about the parallel sight………….you just never know.

  5. Dude, you really want an obituary only to watch it all occur and then resurrect yourself to applause? Don’t think so.

    That dude on FB who was being promoted all over after he left a seemingly suicide note and then showed up…I wonder if he got better after he saw how much he was missed.

    So, dude, you’d be missed for sure. In fact, I’m trying to get one of my peeps who became dear to me to return phone calls now, or tweets. She isn’t and I’m very sad. I need to know she’s OK, but apparently, she’s not interested in maintaining relationships.

    You see, there is something different about our network and the relationships we build without ever speaking. They are sometimes deeper than those we have with people we see every day.

    • I think I want a faux funeral to see who shows up……..:).

      And I’m glad I graduated from buddy to dude now.

      These relationships can go deep, and I for one take them seriously.

      I will be very interested to see who is still standing 3 months from now; and as we know, 3 mos can be an eternity. I certainly hope all my peeps are still around; I guess only time will tell.

      Thanks so much for stopping by; you are always welcome here.

  6. Bill, it is so fun that you think about things like copy end marks. I can’t tell you how many news stories, and then news releases I ended with either -30- or ### without a second thought. Because the stories used to be set by a typesetter, they’d all come out on one long sheet and that defined the end of one story. And the same was true when a story was transmitted “over the wire.” I looked in my AP Stylebook (from college–the pages are yellow) to try to find exactly what the -30- meant. I couldn’t find it, but you have provided a great trip down memory lane!

    And, as for the idea of my goodbye–I’ve always lived the Stephen Covey habit: begin with the end in mind. It makes it easier to appreciate and honor the opportunities I have to connect whether via a blog or in person. The conversations I have in these forums aren’t part of my “strategy.” Whether I’m here, or I’ve actually posted something at my place, it’s just all about the visit, the thoughts and the connection. So I’ve relieved myself from some of the pressure others feel, or so I think.

    • Now you are going ‘old school’ on me……..:). I thought that was an interesting tidbit of information and tried to weave it into the story.

      It’s all about the visit; enjoy it for what it is, don’t be afraid to go deep with the relationship. Everybody has their own personality and way of doing things, but the people who think they will grow their business without some relationship building (or trying to build it after the fact) seems silly to me. ESPECIALLY when you are in the service industry w/ no tangible product.

      So good to see you Mimi; thanks for sharing your thoughts. I hope things are well with you.

  7. Wow, heavy stuff Bill.

    I would miss you if you were gone. Perhaps even for weeks :-).

    I suppose how I signed off would depend on the reason for ‘the end’. I would probably walk away quietly – certainly no fanfare. I would likely call it an extended ‘break’…just in case I returned, I could do so gracefully.

    I think you’ve indulged the possibility of the ‘end’ long enough Bill – now promise your readers you’re not going anywhere and start working on your next post!

    • Well thanks for the kind words and turning week into weeks…….:).

      I am having fun with no plans of shutting it down. I have never been one to seek out GP opportunities, but might be more pro-active in this area in 2012; but that’s a big ‘might’……..

      It would be easy for me to just fade away; it’s hard for me to say good-bye to everybody as I’m walking out the door.

      Good to see you ma’am, thanks so much for dropping by.

  8. I can’t even think that far ahead Bill so I would have no idea what my last post would consist of. I sure would hope I’d be missed but like you said, who really knows.

    I’ve created some awesome friendships here online so I have a feeling although we have blogging in common that our friendships wouldn’t die just because my blog did. I know I would miss you even if we don’t chat all the time or annoy each other on all the social platforms. We both work building our business although very different in that respect as well.

    You’re a great guy Bill and I’m honored to know you. You bring a freshness to the online world that we need more of. You even get us to put our thinking caps on from time to time. Yep, we have to pull them out of the closet, or at least I do.

    Enjoyed this post and glad to see you finally got some inspiration. Please don’t tell me you’re slowing down in your old age! 🙂

    • Not slowing down………well, maybe a little bit, but without a designated ‘writing’ time I’m ok with waiting until I feel I have something worth posting.

      I do appreciate your kinds words, your friendship and your support. You have built such and great and solid community you would definitely be missed.

      I guess I am in somewhat of a unique position in that I’m not really teaching anything and I really don’t have any particular ax to grind so I can write anything I want. I think this keeps some people away because they are seeking more and it probably attracts some for the very same reason. Who knows, huh?

      Good to see you; hope you are having a good week.

  9. Bill,

    That image had me worried 🙂

    If I left, I would leave with no fanfare and nobody would notice. That’s just the way it is. Jens mentioned Randy Pausch and you know how I feel about his lecture. He said goodbye in a big way, BUT this was really for his kids.

    He was about values and living life the right way. I have a set of values and I’m sticking to them. My family is my backbone and I’m sticking with them. They are the most important thing in my world, so if blogging starts to interfere with that, then it’s time to slow down. As l long as I can get this done without working myself into a frenzy I will. And, I will 🙂

    “what is all this for’? In the big scheme of things, does this really mean anything; did it have an impact on anybody but me?”
    –Well, if it has just a little impact on just a few people, well we’ve done something, right? You know that feeling, as you do a lot for people in your community already.

    I’ve been at this for a very short period of time and have met some really great people, including you. You’re not building up to something are you? You better stick around, dude. 🙂

    • Actually I am building up to something; I want all my friends to stick with me when I become ridiculously famous so you can tell all your friends you know me; and I’ll come speak to your Rotary club for free just because you know me. You will have to feed me, but that is the only requirement……..:).

      I’m with you on having an impact on even one person; when someone replies I made them smile, laugh or think, then it’s a win for me.

      Reality is, we all know how tenuous this can be at times; sometimes life does jump up and make us change our priorities. However, I don’t have any plans to fade away and plan on pestering you for some time to come.

      I do appreciate your friendship and support; we have a lot of growing still to do so let’s enjoy the journey. Notice I said growing, not growing up however……….:).

      Thanks for coming by.

  10. I like to think that if I hung up my keyboard I would do it without any sort fanfare. While everyone is watching the movie, I would just slip out the backdoor and move on to the next thing.

  11. Hey Bill,

    I really don’t know! I would just be all polite and all say thank you and all but I am not sure how many people would call on just to say hi! What I really wonder is that after I am “gone” from the blogging scene, will people really bother, I mean some might drop in to say hi but really how many?

    Fickle social media? 😉

    But really, why would I end my blog? I like coming in now and then and dropping in my thoughts! If I can keep doing that for a long long time, I will be happy!

    But if I had to choose one topic for my last blog topic, it might be food really! Food you guys should bring for Hajra’s farewell party!

    • Now we are talking; last your last meal or something, huh? Food is always a good topic, especially when you are partaking in it…….

      Social is very, very fickle. BUT, no more fickle than real life, we just get to see it played out by many more people in here than we do in real life.

      Blogging does allow you to pop in and out but we both know it takes effort to build a community. I never thought I’d like the writing and engaging part as much as I have; but it’s been pretty cool for me.

      So good to see you and thanks for the mention at Jane’s place (that is her place, right?). Hope you are well.

  12. Hmm.. I saw a thing, an app that let’s you send one last snarky FB message/video, which is probably more my style than a touching, moving, the ‘end is nigh’ kind of post. (Crap, now I’m really thinking about the ‘what if’ and whom do I appoint to close accounts.)

    Actually, like Jack and others I’d just slip away when no one was looking, end on a ‘high’ note then fade. But would it be away? I read about it all the time, not just the sadness of what to do w/ social accounts when someone passes away, but also when they just walked away.

    My question back at you is: It is official? So many blogs sit abandoned but nothing official about it; see also how many inactive Twitter accounts (think they may pull them if gone 6 months). If I’m bailing on social media forever, would I want to close all accounts and remove all profiles (as best as I could)? Do I continue to pay for the domain/hosting of my blog or let it go? Closing of someone’s accounts seems an ‘official’ move that they’re not just gone, but gone for good.

    • Good question; I don’t know if you recall Marianne Worley, but I think she did just that. She just disappeared and removed herself from my Triberr account. I don’t know if she shut down FB or Twitter, but she was definitely gone. I did try to reach out to her but with no response.

      I want the snarky message on my tombstone so people can play it when they drop by………..:).

      What is the high note? GP seen by zillions; book offer; TV offer; or just your best post ever. I think we both know it would be very easy just to slide into oblivion in here with little or no fanfare.

      I’m having fun with what I’m doing so I guess I will keep at it for awhile; I hope you are too with your new direction. Best of luck to you.

      Good to see you; thanks for coming by.

  13. Hey Bill
    It Sounds like Bill that you are questioning the effort expended in blogging vs. the enjoyment received. I’m still sorting that out myself and plan to make to some changes that are consistent with what I want out of blogging and life in general. I am questioning all aspects of blogging (frequency of blogging, what blogs to read and when or whether to leave comments etc.). I’ll be really interested in what you come up with.
    Riley

    • Right now I am enjoying it a lot; a month from now, who knows? That is how quick your thinking changes in here.

      Whatever you do, I hope you find what is sustainable for you and it allows you to stick around. We certainly know all those who have not made it. Maybe this is a last man standing gig, huh?

      Good to see you sir, hope you have been well.

  14. “Don’t be afraid to go deep with your friendships and enjoy them while they last. Appreciate the efforts and know we all have our private demons to deal with somewhere. Be quick to praise and slow to criticize until you walk a mile in someone else’s shoes.”

    That’s a heck of a finish, Bill.

    I am just bleeding from my heart today… you know why.

    I can’t imagine, I don’t even want to think about loosing the people who have come to mean so much to me… To just disappear? I would be deeply hurt. I HAVE to believe many would feel the same.

    What a terrible time for folks, everywhere. This, this being online, these blogs, FaceBook, Twitter, these CONNECTIONS we have each made, mean so much.

    So much more than dollars and cents.

    But that is what is hurting people…is dollars and cents.

    • I replied in my DM to you; but I know many of these people have turned to social as there last ditch effort and it’s not working out financially like they thought it would. On top of that, social can be a time suck so it’s taking away from them keeping their eye on the ball. This more than anything will cause them not to be survivors and it is very sad. My heart bleeds as well.

      This is probably one of the reasons I try to bring humor and silliness because the last thing people want to read is me whining about this or that when I have it so much better than many. I know that, and it makes it real easy for me to appreciate what I do have. All this pettiness of who is following who, etc, etc, etc really means so little in the big scheme of things, if you know what I mean (and you do).

      It is always a pleasure to see you around these parts ma’am; very much appreciated for sure.

      I hope things are well.

  15. Your last paragraph was so awesome: “Don’t be afraid to go deep with your friendships and enjoy them while they last. Appreciate the efforts and know we all have our private demons to deal with somewhere. Be quick to praise and slow to criticize until you walk a mile in someone else’s shoes.”

    So well said, Bill. In fact, it was so awesome that I have nothing else to add today!!

    • Hey, maybe that was my walk off homerun, huh?

      I know because of family, work, life, etc that it can be difficult to have meaningful relationships outside of that. But some use it as an excuse for not having relationships in here. If I hear the statement I am not in here to make friends, I question why they are even in here at all then. We don’t have to be best buds, but you better at least work on making me your advocate. If you think you can get by without referals or relationships and have a successful business model, then you will be one of the few.

      BUT, who am I to say; eveybody has their own way of going about this and I would be the last to say there is a right way or wrong way.

      For once I leave you speechless; I love it……..:).

      Have a great day.

  16. When I first started blogging everything seemed to be going good. It seemed as if people actually cared about what I had to say, but the negativity attacked my mind when things started to go bad.
    I wondered if people were still reading my articles, if people even cared, and if I was actually impacting anyone’s life. When I was on top of my blogging, I still had those thoughts run through my head, but they only got worse. At times, many times, I felt like I was working my ass off for nothing. I felt like nobody cared about what I was doing and to be honest, I still do.
    All these different feelings led me to disappear without a trace. No goodbye, no farewell, but just another person who gave up.
    Little did I know, in life we have to give before actually recieving anything in return. I do not think I gave enough.

    Do you give without hoping for anything in return? What do you do when it feels like no one cares about what your doing?

    God bless,
    William Veasley

    • I would like to think I am a very giving person. I do try to give as much as I can without any expectations of anything in return. However, we both know you can end up doing all the heavy lifting in a relationship at times and because of this you do just walk away.

      One thing I have found however, the more I give the more I seem to receive.

      If nobody really cares (being totally ignored) what you are doing it could be difficult to keep marching on unless the act itself was giving you satisfaction regardless.

      I was on the tit for tat bandwagon early and wondering why a certain segment of my friends would never drop by or support me, but I would see them at similar sites. I had to come to the realization it wasn’t about me personally, this was just the way things happen at times in here. Once I quit chasing who I thought you were supposed to be chasing and just did my own thing, it became fun again like it was in the early days.

      I was blinded by the light; I thought everybody was supposed to be driving toward traffic and monetization, but I quickly found out this was not a sustainable model for me.

      I am in a happy, realistic place now and I do believe it will provide me a much better platform to be able to stick around for awhile.

      Thanks for your thoughts sir; always appreciated.

  17. Ah, Bill, you had me worried at first! Sneaking out through the back door! A good night’s sleep over it (no dreams, though) and it looks different: these darned expectations and some desperate naiveté do not pair well.

    Of course, we would all like to be liked, respected, admired and achieve some sort of stardom, but has not life taught us some lessons: only few will ever make it to the top, reaching stellar income figures are a result of expertise, hard work and persistance.

    I guess I am in a lucky position: blogging for fun (eh, very serious fun) and connecting with interesting people, lucky again for having made friends whom I would sorely miss and looking forward with a childlike curiosity where the journey is taking us all to.

    I have been thinking about writing an anonymous blog as well (are you serious, where would you find the time for that as well?), we will see?

    As for my last supper, bring food (yes, and wine) and music and be merry!

    Happy to know you, Bill!

  18. I attended a local economic forecast breakfast this morning put on by our Chamber of Commerce. As I am walking across the room to find my table, I’ll bet I talked to at least 50 people. That is so similar to my model of what I am doing in here. Some were customers, some were prospects, some were competitors and some were centers of influence. I didn’t ‘avoid’ anybody because I thought they might not fit in my business model, as some are wont to do in here. You never know what opportunities might present themselves from each and every relationship you make.

    Of course, my anonymous blog will be about the soap and the ladies, right?…….:).

    All of my actions reflect not only on me but my business as well, because I am so closely associated with it. Because of this, I have a tendency to seek the middle of the road. The last thing I need to do is be controversial and piss a customer off so much that he wants to fire me. An anonymous blog might allow me to be more opinionated as I see plenty of BS going on I wouldn’t mind calling out.

    BTW – when did you stop dreaming about me?………:).

    I joke that I always eat like it could be my last meal so I want to enjoy it to the fullest; your last meal sounds great, but it could be continued just in case it really wasn’t your last meal, huh?

    So good to see you Barbara, hope you are well.

    • This could be me attending a large gathering, even if I am not a member of your Chamber of Commerce, talking to everybody, irrespective of where, what and why. Sometimes this annoys my daughter who cannot understand why a) I am talking to everybody and b) why I am always nice. Basically I like humans and I like to interact and you never know what could come out of a simple conversation.

      Hey, I treated that lady nicely and I hope the soap will last a lifetime …

      With you all the way on BS (stands for Basel-Stadt as well, so you better watch out), just make sure you will let me know when you start your anonymous blog.

      On second thought I will postpone that last supper and attend a few thousands more myself so I am sure people get decent food. Welcome, anytime!

      I’ve got a dream trauma right now, apart from that everything is fine and I am cooking for my children and godson, Italian food, not bad, and the sauce is amatriciana, so you would like that!

      Enjoyed every minute here! You are good company!

  19. Wow … lots of bizarreness going on. This post, which I just had the opportunity to read, is indeed timely as Carolyn wrote in her email. Plus, I’ve been in the midst of my own epiphany with my business and what this year holds. I think you’ve written some profound, very telling words here Mr. Dorman and the responses are included.

    Right now, I’m about to make a major shift in what we do. I’ve realized for going on two years and after about 6 in my prior business that I’m always planning ahead – building my businesses. This is a good/bad thing and somehow I’ve lost sight of just the here and now, especially with my child. Personally, I’m tired and I’ve realized I may not have been working exactly smart. Hard yes; smart not so much. So … part of my planning for the future was learning social media, connecting through blogging, content, etc. I’ve learned a tremendous amount, but the results have been minimal in respect to it growing my business. There are a lot of reasons for this; however, my point in rambling on is that with my new turn, I’m seriously evaluating my blog situation. I think I’m going to focus just on the inspiration and happy stuff and veer from some other things. This I could do and still maintain connections and release the stress of more focused business blog writing. If I choose to drop the blog altogether, I’d bow out gracefully and thank each wonderful person for their support and kindness. I would also continue to be blessed by their greatness on their blog as I’d remain a reader. It’s a very weird place to be in right now. I also said if I won the lottery, I’d never get on the computer again. I haven’t won the lottery, but I have gotten a huge wakeup call recently and am evaluating everything.

    Do I think I’d be missed? Truthfully, for about all of 10 seconds. Do I think I’d keep some friendships no matter what? Absolutely! I’ve formed bonds that I honestly pray will last. There are good people on this journey and I’m a better person because of them. Without being schmoozy or joking, I count you at the top and several of your commentators here. I think the moral of your story really sums it all up. For me, it’s about just learning to live in the present and accept it for face value. Wow, so much in this post and weirdly, I found comfort in it that I’ve been needing to find over the last few days … thank you.

    With a full heart sir,

    Elena

    • Wow, what a response; very well thought out and I can tell you are probably at several crossroads here. I sense some frustration/reality check on a personal and professional level.

      Blogging, responding and engaging can be very time consuming. It can also be a whole lot of nothing too; no income AND no feedback. Trust me, there are times I have thought about just going back to being a commentor.

      For now I am not using this as a business platform, but interesting enough I have had a couple of requests to ‘perform’ at a pika-pikachu event and have been asked to guest speak at a social media class at the university here. So I can tell there are people who certainly ‘see’ my presence.

      Just like a brick and mortar business, it is tough to harness all this and know how much ‘social’ is needed vs how much you want and can do. I would say if 98% truly quantified their efforts, they would realize it is a losing proposition from a pure monetary standpoint.

      It is only a tool; find what is sustainable and live within those parameters. Sometimes you just have to do what you have to do but I know I’d miss seeing you around.

      Good luck w/ your decisions and your journey; I hope you have a great weekend.

  20. As you know Bill, I’m not one for parting words… I’ll try to make a difference with my actions in all I do and leave the speculation and talk to others.

    In life, you’re remembered most for the things you did, not for the things you said.

    You would definitely be missed…

    • Oh, we were talking about you all right; it’s a good thing you decided to show back up before it got too ugly. I can only defend you so far…..:).

      Talk is cheap; action speaks much louder than words. I too would like to be remembered for what I did.

      Good to see you and thanks for the kind words. I hope you have a great weekend.

  21. Bill, I might have known I’d be number 803 on the comment list. 🙂 I have thought about this one over the last few days and I think my last post would be something extremely epic. I’d want to go out kind of like The Beatles and Seinfeld did. At the top of my game, just when everybody was wanting more. I’d write something like “The First of Eight Reasons why You Will Die if You Don’t Do This. Tune in tomorrow for Two Through Eight…” And then be done. 🙂

    • I like that, keep them clamoring for more. And instead of being that guy who died to young to become a legend; be that guy who just shut it down in his prime and knew it was over…..the true ‘walk-off’ home run.

      Good to see you sir; thanks for taking the time to stop by, it was much appreciated. I hope your week went well and you have a great weekend.

  22. Erm, Billy Boy…? We doin’ ok there? You wrote a post about if anyone would miss you if you stopped posting and now you’re pondering what your last post ever would be. Are we having a teensy existential (or midlife) crisis? Can’t you just get a Porsche? 🙂

    My blog is about to be 1, so I haven’t thought about quitting. Can’t even imagine it at this point which makes me happy, because I’m told the first year is the hardest. So I kind of win, right? Yeah… I win. Also, I’m just not that easy to shut up. And I don’t think you are either, my friend.

    So, suck it up, get a freaking Porsche or a mistress and keep entertaining us, is basically what I’m saying. You know, in the nicest possible way.

    Hugs!
    Melody

    • Shoot, as popular as I am certainly you wouldn’t think I could hang it up; what would all my fans do?……………doh……………

      Wow, I’m coming up on one yr as well; I think my first post was early to mid-March. It seems like an eternity now. Yes however, you do win and it’s quite the accomplishment. Like you, it’s hard for me to shut up as well…………:).

      When I first got on this hamster wheel I fell in with a pretty fast crowd; so the way I learned is what I thought everybody was doing. I soon found out that pace was not sustainable for me, ESPECIALLY if I was not making any money at it. Now that I have found what is sustainable, I am having a blast. I won’t lie though, there are still some mornings I wake up and wonder what it all means……….and then I turn on my computers and it’s ON baby……..

      A cool thing did happen this week; I was approached by a professor at the local university who would like for me to guest speak in one of her social media classes. I thought it was pretty neat someone locally actually noticed me. Look out world………

      I’m afraid you will be stuck with me for awhile until some of this hawtness wears off; which is not likely anytime soon……..:).

      Thanks for stopping by; it always a tremendous pleasure. I hope you have a great weekend.

  23. Hi, Bill.

    Here I am. Braving the waves of change and writing my first blog comment as Leigh and not as Kim Davies. I didn’t get to say goodbye on my last post as Kim because I had no idea that the blog where I was writing under that pseudonym would be discontinued so abruptly. But, I had no plans of getting lost, so I got another blog going and emailed a number of people about what is happening (it took a lot of courage that because many of these people didn’t know that I was really Leigh and not Kim). Now, I am going back on the blogosphere to let people know that while Kim Davies may not be around, the real person behind her is definitely alive and kicking.

    So, I am undertaking steps that would inject Leigh in the Kim’s place (blog, Twitter and Facebook for starters) and I hope the others would welcome me with open arms as you and a number of others did. I may not have written my goodbyes as Kim in my last blog post on VizSource.Info, but I am definitely not about to let you guys forget me. 🙂

    Leigh 🙂

  24. Well, looks who’s here. I knew something was up when I tried to go back and see if you replied to a comment and the whole site was was gone. When I got your e-mail about the time this was posted I thought, how appropriate.

    The good news is, you have been there, done that so you will have a leg up on how to get started, huh? It will be interesting to see where you decide to go with it this time.

    I’m sure it was hard having to basically live another life while trying to engage on a personal level. I think most will understand, you were just doing what you had to do.

    It’s great to see you; thanks for stopping by and hope all is well with you and the baby. I guess I’ll be bumping into you again, and that’s a good thing.

    Take care…..

Leave a Reply

