Why do you think that is?

This is a cute little list of ‘why’s’ and most will make you shake your head in acknowledgement, but it you want to play along, here it is:

Why

  • Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries are getting weak?
  • Why do banks charge a fee due to insufficient funds when you are already freakin’ broke?
  • Why do they use sterilized needles for lethal injections?
  • Whose cruel idea was it to put an ‘s’ in the word lisp?
  • Why do you never hear father-in-law jokes?
  • If people evolved from apes, why are there still apes?
  • Why did Kamikaze pilots wear helmets?
  • Why do people constantly return to the refrigerator with hopes something new to eat will have materialized?
  • Why do we keep pushing the elevator button once it is lit up?
  • Why will we circle the parking lot looking for the closest space when we are going to the gym to work out?

Do you have any to add?

I had a few more but might not have been as family friendly so I will let it ride for now; maybe you have one or two you can add.

Did you know:

The statistics on sanity say that one out of every four people is suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best friends; if they are ok, then it’s you………….doh…………

My question would be, what if none of my friends are ok?

Let me inspire you

A day without a smile is like a day without sunshine! And a day without sunshine is………like night.

This will have to do

Now that I am Mr Change and such a change agent, about the only resolution I have for this year was to ‘pop’ a post for every day of the week since I was stuck on Monday for so long. Well, I was going to post this on Sunday but never got around to finishing it. Monday it is, and that still leaves Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday for me to fill. To be continued….

I know, they were all last year, but guess what?  It’s my party and I will do (cry) as I want to……

What did we learn today?

Bottom line? Not much, but I never promised you would. As you can see, I will be taking a much more serious tone with the post going forward. Hopefully it won’t cause too many ‘unfollows’ I might have to post about again.

Happy New Year everyone, and let’s make 2012 a remarkable year.

 

97 thoughts on “Why do you think that is?

    • Hey Mimi, I was going originally do this Sunday but didn’t start to edit it until Sun afternoon so I decided to wait until Monday. After I reviewed it I accidentally his publish; well Sunday it is then……..:).

      I have seen the talking louder AND slower; that will make them understand us, huh? The other one is turning your music down when you are trying to find something while you are driving. Gotta think, right?

      Thanks for making my first ever Sunday visit. You are my first on many fronts, huh?

      Good to see you, and hope to see you much more often in ’12.

    • Dang, Mimi…that was the one I was going to suggest. It always makes me giggle when I or someone else pumps up the vocal volume when speaking with a person who doesn’t speak our language. I’m waiting to find a study that verifies that our language comprehension is significantly increased with volume. Too funny.
      Happy New Year Mimi and Bill…
      Claudia

        • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

        • For me this is a relatively easy question, but has a pretty complex answer. The specialty I have actually looked forward to working with is OB/GYN. I find that the ability of a woman’s body to produce a child, endure the amount of abuse it takes during a pregnancy, and the amount of pain endured during delivery is amazing. The joy of being able to be present as life enters the world is truly one of the greatest moments in life. To me that would be the best possible option. I also would love working in the operating room with a surgeon. I have experienced the OR quite a few times, and have been on both “sides” of the table. I have to say I would love to work with any surgeon in the OR except for Orthopedics. The reason behind that is the surgery’s are pretty brutal when it comes to the skeletal system. Having been in the OR with an Orthopedic surgeon and seeing the use of the saws, hammers and other heavy equipment in order to perform the surgery just sends chills up my spine. I know that type of surgery is not for me. I think my favorite surgeries have to be that of the abdominal cavity. The specialties that I would least like to work for are few, and for simple reasons. Pediatrics is not a specialty for me since I have four children of my own. My Aunt is a neonatal nurse practitioner and I followed her in high school and saw the good, the bad, and the ugly so I can honestly say I could not emotionally handle that type of position. Podiatry is also an area I could not see myself working. The reason behind this is pretty silly, but here goes, I very much dislike other peoples feet especially if they are not well kept. I know in the medical field you will encounter feet on a daily basis, but I could not mainly work with feet on an everyday basis. My last specialty is Orthopedics for the reasons I noted above about the “barbaric” nature of the surgeries and treatments for the musculoskeletal system. Its just not for me.

    • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

  1. Do I need to get you “days of the week” Speedos my friend? 😉 Now you are posting on Sunday? I am confused, which is a normal state for me these days.

    Why do all smartphones always cut out when we are getting to the important part of the call, like an address or someone else’s phone number?

    Why do we check our phone nonstop just after we sent a text to someone? Oh, wait..that might just be me.

    Why do we insist on drinking Dunkin Donuts coffee knowing it is way too weak?

    These are the questions I need answers to. Can you help me?

    Since I am learning Espanol, I speak louder and slower to those customers. I think its working 🙂

    Good to see you and ready for a good 2012.

    • Initially it was going to be an intentional Sunday post, then I decided to keep it Monday, but accidentally hit publish so Sunday it was. I guess it was meant to be, huh?

      Days of the week Speedos, now that might have some possibilities…:).

      Your G-Men rule, they looked pretty good. I’m sure it was even sweeter beating Dallas to do it, right?

      Good questions and I don’t have the ‘universal’ answers. I do find myself talking louder on the phone however; like maybe you are in a different country or something.

      Happy New Year to you; look forward to seeing you around.

      • 194I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in witring this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative witring skills has inspired me to get my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

      • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

    • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

    • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

  2. “Why do we park in a driveway and drive on a parkway?” That one always stuck with me.

    Hey–Sunday, Monday–whatever. Either way it’s a post from Bill:) Happy New Year:)

    • Those were good, and why is that, huh?

      I am going to mix it up some this year; keep my friends on their toes, right? Why do we say that one too?

      Happy New Year, it has been a pleasure getting to know you and look forward to seeing you around in ’12 as well.

  3. Dork.
    I’ve got something different for you, though.
    Bella asked me this just this morning…”Momma, do I EAT what falls out of my teeth, when I floss them?”

    Now.

    Yeah.

    Well.

    There ya go! Happy and very, very remarkable happenings for all!
    ~Amber-Lee

    • I am a dork, but a lovable one.

      Of course you eat it; it was good the first time, now you get to savor it again…………:).

      I tried to tee it up for you, but you didn’t take the bait. I left the ‘why does a bear scat in the woods’? on the table for you.

      Well, I can it has been an interesting year with you and your intermittent internet. But is has been a real pleasure getting to know you and look forward to more fun in ’12.

      Happy New Year to you and see you around soon.

  4. Wow, Bill, What a way to start the new year – by blowing my mind! A Bill Dorman post on a Sunday? Not possible! It must be Monday and no one told me!

    I did that in the beginning of my blog, hit “publish” when I meant to hit “save”. I thought of pulling the article, but then I realized that both of my subscribers would be confused by the email that appeared in their inbox announcing the arrival of a new Wonder of Tech article, so I went with it. The world did not explode.

    Thanks for starting the year off with deep philosophical questions. Do I have all year to ponder the answers or do you need a response immediately?

    I look forward to many more posts from you in 2012. Serious or not, they’re always enriching.

    Happy New Year, Bill!

    • This was the second time I have hit publish premanurely. The first time was a half finished post and I went in a panic trying to shut it down. It was popping in in people’s e-mail and they wanted to know what was going on. I never did go back and finish publishing it………this one I just decided to let it ride.

      Yes, you do have all year to ponder those extremely deep questions and we can include the answers in a ‘best of’ post at the end of the year, ok?

      Thanks for the kind words and friendship most of all. I look forward to seeing you around in ’12.

  5. Haha, when my remote runs out of batteries, I have been stingy with my money and have been taking the batteries out of something else. (laugh out loud)
    I never knew people used steralized needles for lethal injections. That is the stupidest thing I have ever heard. Possibly, they fear the person getting injected will die of aids before dieing of the poison. (laugh out loud)
    This world is crazy, but anyways, I hate when I have nothing to eat in the fridge, and is why I have been learning to cook. It is hard to get myself in the mood to cook, but when I get started it is actually pretty fun.

    Nice post my man. I look forward to your next post and keep working hard!

    God bless,
    William Veasley

      • So my fridge will not be empty anymore. It is easy for me to buy fastfood, but I am the type of person that believes in saving my money for rough times. When I cook, I cook a lot of food. Then I will not have to cook or buy fast food for a few days because I already have food in the fridge to eat.

        On top of anything, it feels good inside to know I care enough about myself to take the time and prepare a well-balance meal.

        Hope that makes sense!

        God bless,
        William Veasley

    • Hey William, I do the battery transfer too; or even mix and match some to see if a different combo will bring more life.

      If you are going to have capital punishment, I don’t know why we bend over backwards to be humane with it. Most people are on death row because they did something really bad and probably inhumane. An eye for an eye, huh?

      Thanks for the kind words and visit; very much appreciated. I’ll see you around.

  6. Why do doctors leave the room when you get undressed. Aren’t they going to see you naked?

    Why do we whip our arms from side to side when the bowling ball is headed for the gutter?

    What is the difference between partly cloudy and partly sunny?

    Why do people say “heads up” when what they really mean is “duck”.

    Great list Bill! Happy New Year!

  7. Ahh sir, you sleeper you,

    I thought I was seeing things and had to look at the calendar, which I just put up today because it’s the first day of the New Year duh?, so it was easy to find. 😉

    I’m not as witty as you … but I’m with you on the not-so-family-friendly ones and then I’d be all over the map; add a drink and I’ll become Lucille Ball in an instant!

    My only resolution is to laugh a hellava lot more than the previous one and I’m starting with you or are you starting with me?! Hmm… I’m that one in the four and I’m OK with it … I think.

    Oh well, sooo neato to see you on a Sunday … love a man who keeps me on my toes! He, he!!

    Be safe, be happy!

    Kindness always,

    Elena

    • Sleeper as in ZZZZZZZ…..:).

      Lucille Ball, the Queen of Comedy. She always made me think of my mom.

      I told you I’m in the change mode now; I definitely plan on keeping you on your toes this year.

      I do seek out humor and it does definitely keep you young at heart. If you are not familiar w/ @KarynBuxman, check her out. She finds humor in everyday life and I do like her philosophy.

      Let’s rock in ’12 and be able to look back this time next year and be amazed at all we accomplished and the friendships we made.

      Thanks for your support and see you around.

      • Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide cridet and sources back to your website? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Regards!

      • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

      • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

      • A psychiatrist is a physician who specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. I have a bachelor’s degree in the social services field. For several years, I have worked with children who have been diagnosed with mental disorders. It is upsetting to see children victimize at an early age and even more disturbing to see them as predators as early as 5 years of age, however knowing that I am doing my part to assist them in becoming functioning youths and adults is rewarding. The empathy, confidentiality and maturity of a medical assistant are definitely needed in this area. I enjoy establishing a rapport with these clients and helping them to find adequate coping skills to deal with their disorders, therefore I would like to work for a psychiatrist.I would not like to work for an emergency physician for several reasons. I will explain a few. Patients who come to the emergency center typically have serious injuries or trauma. I would not like to have my mind constantly focused on who is coming thru the door and how sever the prognosis is. Knowing myself, I know that would be my focus and I would not be very productive. Also, in the emergency room the staff has to be prepared for anything, I would prefer an area that focuses on a particular specialty. Most importantly, I do not wish to see excessive amounts of blood loss on a regular basis. Actually, not even a minimal amount of blood loss on a regular basis. Giving my opinion and thoughts about this specialty, I would not be an effective employee.

  8. Hi Bill,

    You’ve got some interesting questions to start off the new year. Your last one, about finding the closest parking space, is one I have been asking for a long time. One of my friends are doing this all the time. He drives to the gym, and it’s very close to his home, and from what I know about him, he would get the same exercise just to walk to the gym as he gets excercising when at the gym 🙂

    I love the quote from Einstein about insanity, and it goes something like this. Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

    One thing I keep doing, and I always end up asking myself why, is that when people can’t hear what I’m saying, I end up not saying it louder, but altering what I’ve just said, but trying to keep the meaning. I probably think that they didn’t understand the words I just used 🙂

    I need to bring some sunshine into my life, living in Norway this time of the year doesn’t help… it’s dark and cold (and rain).

    • Ah yes, insanity; that is why I’m a ‘change’ agent this year. Most of my friends already think I’m certifiable, we certainly don’t want them to be able to tag me with the insanity label too, huh? The other thing about the gym is the people who come in and just use the treadmill; they could do the same thing walking around their neighborhood, right?

      Another parking analogy and the reverse of your darkness in Norway; as you know it can get freaking hot in Florida. When I park I am always looking for potential shade; I don’t care if I even have to walk farther to my destination. You can’t cool your car down fast enough when it’s being beat down by the sun.

      Sunshine is good my friend; it does affect your disposition. For the time being, just keep a sunny disposition and we’ll see about sending some sun your way; we have plenty…….:).

      Good to see you sir; look forward to your direction in ’12.

    • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

  9. Hey Bill,

    Sanity is such a relative term actually, and what better than beginning the new year thinking about preserving ours!

    Some really interesting questions to begin with. And just thinking about what we do and what me might do to make it better might just help u save the sanity or whatever is left of it.

    Happy New Year! You started off on a thoughtful note!

    • So, what are you saying? Did you just diagnose me? You know, there are degrees of sanity, right?

      This was just meant to be a light-hearted post and one of those when the inspiration struck I just put it down in print and hit publish (a little before I planned to, but it worked out).

      So good to see you Hajra; I know you will have some changes this year with your job and/or writing, so best of luck to you. I really do appreciate your support and friendship. Take care…

    • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

    • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

    • For me this is a relatively easy question, but has a pretty complex answer. The specialty I have actually looked forward to working with is OB/GYN. I find that the ability of a woman’s body to produce a child, endure the amount of abuse it takes during a pregnancy, and the amount of pain endured during delivery is amazing. The joy of being able to be present as life enters the world is truly one of the greatest moments in life. To me that would be the best possible option. I also would love working in the operating room with a surgeon. I have experienced the OR quite a few times, and have been on both “sides” of the table. I have to say I would love to work with any surgeon in the OR except for Orthopedics. The reason behind that is the surgery’s are pretty brutal when it comes to the skeletal system. Having been in the OR with an Orthopedic surgeon and seeing the use of the saws, hammers and other heavy equipment in order to perform the surgery just sends chills up my spine. I know that type of surgery is not for me. I think my favorite surgeries have to be that of the abdominal cavity. The specialties that I would least like to work for are few, and for simple reasons. Pediatrics is not a specialty for me since I have four children of my own. My Aunt is a neonatal nurse practitioner and I followed her in high school and saw the good, the bad, and the ugly so I can honestly say I could not emotionally handle that type of position. Podiatry is also an area I could not see myself working. The reason behind this is pretty silly, but here goes, I very much dislike other peoples feet especially if they are not well kept. I know in the medical field you will encounter feet on a daily basis, but I could not mainly work with feet on an everyday basis. My last specialty is Orthopedics for the reasons I noted above about the “barbaric” nature of the surgeries and treatments for the musculoskeletal system. Its just not for me.

  10. What if the all friends are crazy.. I think I am in the right group then 😉 because it is more fun to be crazy than sane .
    Happy new year to you Bill and congrats for really funny/interesting post. I have got a little tech one ( you may need to know a little php)
    Do you GET the POST or POST the GET ;)? ( No girlfriends in college ;))
    and
    How do we present the presentation ?( I heard it from a previous manager of mine)

    • Those are good Ashvini, thanks for sharing.

      Like you, all my friends are nuts and I’m right there in the middle of them. I know my wife scratches her head many a time wondering how I am even a functioning adult; but I can fake it just enough to get by…:)

      Good to see you sir; it has been a pleasure getting to know you and look forward to more fun in ’12.

      Happy New Year to you.

  11. Thanks for greeting the baby year with such deep questions. Monday, Shmonday! BTW, how big are your champagne glasses?

    Why did my grandfather not only speak louder but also tiptoe when calling long distance?

    • My flute was quite adequate to at least fill ‘er up twice from the bottle. We drink wine mostly, so champagne is quite the step up for us. I’m not sure of the quality; I think it was Bob’s or something and had a screw off cap but other than that is was pretty good……..:).

      I have a tendency to talk louder on the phone and walk around and still talking with my hands.

      So good to see you this bright and shiny New Year. It has been a pleasure getting to know you and look forward to our journey in ’12.

      Take care and I’ll be bumping into you again soon.

      • I wondered before whether you are a pure Southerner, you must be somewhat Italian, they do it all the time.

        I know that champagne: Bob Premier Grand Cru, Millésime, if you send in 6 caps, you get a free bottle. Mind your head though when walking through that doorway.

  12. Why do we gesticulate when we are talking to someone on the phone?

    Thanks for yet another lively, thought provoking post to get the year started. I do have to say though that I was already confused about which day of the week it is with all these holidays without you adding to the mix 🙂

    All the best for 2012 to you and all your community Bill, looking forward to a fun ride!

    Cheers

    Tony

    • I had been so predictable, it was quite the change, huh? Maybe I can keep mixing it up in ’12.

      I am a hand talker and do so on the phone and usually pacing as well.

      Tony my friend, it has been a pleasure getting to know you. I know you will find your sustainability level and be around for a long time. I look forward to continuing on this journey with you.

      Take care.

    • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

  13. “If people evolved from apes, why are there still apes?”… And why are we fascinated by movies where the apes evolve past us???

    Funny stuff Bill! And a few of them are actually legitimate questions about how we act as people. No, pressing the elevator button more does not make the thing come faster but many still do it anyway.

    I haven’t yet published early by accident (how’s that for a jinx), but I came really close once. I’m not sure what stopped me but at the last millisecond before pressing down on the mouse I realized what I was doing.

    2012 — off to a rockin’ start at the house that Dorman built! TTYS

    • Also, why do you have to turn and face the front of the elevator; if you faced the crowd it would make everyone uncomfortable, right?

      That was number two on the premature post; I survived however….and it will probably happen again………just like getting fired……:).

      I’m looking forward to this fun; it will be fun and adventurous.

      Thanks for coming by, good to see you.

  14. Got a few more to add:

    Sweet meets are candy, but sweet breads, which aren’t sweet, are meet.
    Why is it that a writer writes, but fingers don’t fing, grocers don’t groce, humdingers don’t hum, and hammers don’t ham?
    Why is it that we drive on a parkway and park in a driveway?
    Where do homeless people have 90% of their accidents?
    If you drove your car at the speed of light, and you turned your headlights on, would they work?

    • I tried to drive my car at the speed of light once………..

      Those are good Jack, thanks for sharing; I’m sure if we thought about it, we could come up with quite a few.

      Good to see you, thanks for the drive-by; I’ll see you around this week.

  15. lol… What a great post Bill and you published it on Sunday? How dare you get me off schedule. Now look at me, I’m way at the end of the commenting pool now, darn it!

    Have you and Darrell been chatting. This is something he would definitely write about but then again, he doesn’t have a blog. Yep, another one of my sarcastic friends, I have quite a few. But he does keep me on my toes.

    Is Bill going to be publishing more often now? Well you know I’m going to enjoy that. Anytime you want to churn something out you just go right ahead. Surprise us all but please do continue with your whit and humor. That’s what makes you you Bill!

    Hey, Happy New Year my friend and hope you had a great weekend. Now it’s time for me to get back to work. 🙂 See ya!

    • The Sunday post was different, that’s for sure. The funny thing was, I really didn’t expect much from a traffic standpoint because it was so close to my last one and on a Sunday. It just so happened Danny Brown mentioned me in a post: http://ow.ly/8g3Lx and it caused this to easily top the one-day traffic from my Dead’s Man post. That was pretty cool………..

      I don’t plan on publishing more often per se, but publishing more when the inspiration strikes instead of set schedule. I don’t know if that will be better or not, but that’s my game plan.

      Happy New Year to you too; I look forward the seeing you around in ’12. Thanks for coming by today.

  16. Hey Bill, I love these little crazy quirks! You made a lot of people laugh with this light-hearted post. So are you saying you’re going to post every day of the week in 2012? 😮
    My favorite little whatcha-may-call-it is this: “The whole world is crazy except you and me. And sometimes I wonder about you.” 😉
    Lori

    • Not everyday, but will have at least one post on every day of the week before the year is over…………there might be a stampede away from here if I tried to post every day.

      You have just cause to worry about me; my wife is known to ask me if I had been dropped on my head as an infant……..:).

      Good to see you; welcome back. Thanks for your comments.

  17. From “why do you think” to “do you ever notice?” …

    I think Carlin said these …

    Ever look at your watch and you still don’t know what time it is?

    Ever stand in one of the rooms in your house and you can’t remember why in the heck you went in there?

    Ever been talking to yourself and someone comes in and you have to pretend your singing?

    A few more greats from George Carlin:

    “Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?”

    “Here’s all you have to know about men and women: women are crazy, men are stupid. And the main reason women are crazy is that men are stupid.”

    “Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity.”

    • Those are the best; and live the driving one……….

      Those are great additions my friend, thanks for the contributions.

      I talk to myself all the time in my office, especially when I’m commenting on blogs; my co-workers walk by and try not to make eye-contact.

      Good to see you, watching the Ducks and Badgers on TV; I’ll see you around this week.

        • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

  18. Really interesting questions to ponder Bill. Definitely got me thinking. Also, are you being sarcastic about your more “serious tone?” I took a kind of curious and fun tone away from it…some parts almost made me giggle (by the way, I think I’m the friend with the mental illness… :P)

    • Hey Steven; yes, sarcastic. However, I can drop a serious one if I need to; I just don’t feel the need that often.

      You and me both; I’m not sick, but I’m not well……..:).

      Thanks for stopping by; much appreciated.

    • We do and if you look above and see Craig’s comment with the George Carlin quotes, I thought those were classic.

      Melody’s, huh? She’s good people, thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment; it is very much appreciated.

    • Hey Bernardo, thanks for stopping by. I definitely want to keep it light as much as possible. It seems like a lot of our friends are struggling, so if I can make them smile or laugh then it’s a good day for me.

      Thanks for your kind words as well.

  19. Trying to remember any funny ‘whys’ that have been left off, can’t think of any. Hmm… why do people suddenly get smarter as they drink more alcohol, while their buddies get dumber and deafer? 😉

    I like the serious. And a day w/ out sun is night. Or an eclipse. Or maybe IDK, Seattle.. some place it rains 342 days a year? Look forward to more and yes, let’s hope we all have a kick ass 2012.

    • Or Seatlle; I’ll have to pass that on to Craig McBreen. Not only smarter the more I drink but exponentially better looking too……..:).

      2012 will be good, count on it.

      It has been a pleasure getting to know you Davina, and look forward to mo bigger and mo better this year as well.

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

  20. And also the skilled everyone is able to work with you at at any time.
    That it’s greater than a right, it’s your duty, to be who you
    happen to be. Baofeng cb Of the 3 male strength qualities I’ve
    stated previously, my guess is basically that you – similar to most
    men – weren’t practicing Challenge inside your heavenly union.

    It is better to verify the source from the auto radio wholesale.
    Baofeng uv-5r new We discussed how bullying continues as adults and I shared a tale about
    how my lady had this happen to her by other parents in front
    of these children. That’s because that holy and high privilege was
    and still is available to men and women, people like you
    and me.

  21. Good post. I learn something new and challenging
    on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be exciting
    to read content from other authors and practice a little something from their
    web sites.

Leave a Reply

