Did you ever grow up?

Good question, huh; is 2012 the year it happens? Quite the dilemma for me because as soon as you grow up, you grow old, right? I know my wife is certainly ready for me to figure it out, but I am having too much fun to worry about it right now.

Where are you now?

Whatever your ‘occupation’ is, was it on your ‘I want to be’ list when you were younger? If not, when did the light come on; if it ever did?

Other than wanting to be a professional athlete, my short list was butt doctor, dentist and liar.

I have always been a ‘butt’ guy, and remember telling someone in elementary school I wanted to be a ‘butt’ doctor. This person immediately told the teacher what I said, and I was so embarrassed. It was probably then I decided to figure out my plan B.

My best buddy at the time (who’s father was a lawyer) and I were playing in the orange grove by his house one day, when we came across some fruit pickers. They were taking a break so we started talking with them. One of them asked my friend what he wanted to be when he grew up, and he said ‘a lawyer’. I thought he said liar, so when they asked me I said ‘I want to be a liar too’. Of course, they all had a big laugh at my expense. My friend did grow up to be a lawyer but I have tried real hard not to be a professional liar, so fortunately I chose something else.

Dentist seemed lucrative and seemed an easier path than doctor; but that fell by the wayside when I found out you had to do well in school too.

Today’s reality

My youngest son just graduated from college with a degree in Political Science and a concentration in Journalism. He ‘settled’ for those because he really did not know what he wanted to do, and we couldn’t continue to keep paying his out of state tuition.

Today’s job market is not too promising for people with just a generic type degree or no real direction in what they want to do.

Me? I did 3 years in the Army; 2 years of juco (and thought I wanted to be a CPA until I took my first upper level accounting course); and in between my Junior and Senior year in college at 24 years of age, insurance became my light bulb moment.

My reasoning? I was a business major and one of the core courses was Introduction to Insurance; and my girlfriend’s brother-in-law was a State Farm agent who appeared to be doing quite well and not working too hard.  I have never been accused of being the sharpest tack in the box, but it didn’t take me long to put two and two together and say ‘hey, I can do that’.

I did pursue the insurance career, it has worked out, and I can’t imagine any other profession that would be better suited for my personality. Was it pre-destined? Maybe, maybe not. The only caveat is, sales looks much, much easier on the outside looking in, trust me.

How about you?

What is your story? Did you ever think you would be doing what you are doing today; was this destiny all along? Are you living your calling?

Who wants to take a mulligan because you need a ‘do-over’?

Raise your hand if you want to get paid just being social. In a way, I do get paid for just that; there are a few more parts involved than just being personable, but it is a big part of it and that is kind of cool. Social I can do.

How old are you?

I’m quelve and will be forever; please don’t tell my wife, but I might not ever grow up. While you are trying to decide, does anybody want to go outside and play with me?

46 thoughts on “Did you ever grow up?

  1. Of course I want to go out and play. Grab the football and lets go. Great post Bill. Yeah, I’m 54 goin on 18. Ha. Sales has always been a natural fit for me. Love it. Never thought I would be on line, twitter, facebook and running The CARE Movement. Wow. This is my calling, passion and purpose. I still feel like the best is yet to come. Eternally optimistic, Faithful & Grateful. Always.

    Thanks again brother, for all you do. Happy New Year !

    Did you say butt doctor ?

    Al

    • You know, it sounded good but it might be like my kid who loved Chick-fil-A until he started working there. Maybe I wouldn’t have the deep appreciation I do for the derriere if I was working on it all the time, huh?

      Whenever my guy friends get together we are a total bunch of goofs and it’s rare one serious thing comes out of our mouths.

      Young at heart my friend; young at heart.

  2. Hey Bill, Do we have to grow up? I’ll play in the playground with you.

    Some might say that my love of tech is just a love of toys for grown ups. I disagree with that because I’m not a grown up.

    I wanted to be a lawyer when I was young and lo and behold that happened. But when I became a mom, I discovered my ability to multi-task was severely challenged by a colicky baby.

    Now I’m a tech blogger doing pretty much what I was doing as a lawyer: advising people what to do.

    I try to keep it fun and interesting. Would a grown up do that?

    Glad we’re in the same boat, Bill. I know there will be plenty of others who want to join the playgroup.

    Very happy New Year to you. I hope that 2012 is a bountiful and joyous year for you!

    • Yay, the more the merrier. For some reason unbeknownst to me, people think they have to be serious about business; all.the.time. I take what I do and the service I provide very serious. I know essentially the business owner is not only giving me the keys to the car, but to the house as well and saying ‘protect me’. I just went back and looked at my contract however, and did not find a ‘you are not allowed to have fun at what you do’ clause.

      Keepin’ it fun and interesting is what keeps it sustainable.

      2012 is going to rock socks and I look forward to being in the playground with you.

      I just got your msg about 7% not being acceptable; I will check it out (or replace my battery in someone else’s phone when they aren’t looking………:). Thanks for your help.

  3. Bill — maybe you can help me out with this — where do you train to become a butt doctor? Sounds like a fascinating profession.

    I tried being quelve for a while, but then discovered that everteen suits me.

    Guess the times when adults were supposed to be all serious and frowny are behind us. Things change. I’m glad they do.

    When I was a kid, I wanted to fly F14s, ride dinosaurs or explore unknown planets. “Emperor of the Known Universe” wouldn’t be bad, either.

    I only figured out I’d like to be a translator around the age of 15.

  4. I have told every teenager or college student I’ve ever had the “what interests you” (because I hate phrasing it “what do you want to ‘be'”) conversation with that life is all about do-overs. I don’t think anyone has to pick one course and stick with it. The downside is that you don’t ever get to claim an expert niche. The upside is that you stay open to possibilities and applying your skills in new ways all the time. Which keeps us young. Which may be the same as never growing up!

    Now I have to go tell my spousal unit the lawyer/liar story. Happy New Year, Bill!

    • Hola Mimi, were your ears burning? Your name came up in conversation today just wondering how you were getting along.

      I know it is rare I have a job where I have been at the same place for 29 years doing essentially the same thing. That was my dad’s model and I followed it. Times have changed so it will be interesting to see the paths my kids take.

      Keeping young is where its’ at; I’m all for play.

      Happy New Year to you as well ma’am; thanks for stopping by.

  5. I’m already outside…in the snow…where are you? Or did we just have play time?

    Seriously, I think if we can all maintain child-like (not childish) qualities…see the wonder in the world, the opportunity in every day, the goodness of people and the service we can provide, then we grow every day. I like the Robert Fulghum book “All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten”, which I’ll quote from:

    “Share everything. Play fair. Don’t hit people. Put things back where you found them. Clean up your own mess. Don’t take things that aren’t yours. Say you’re sorry when you hurt somebody. Wash your hands before you eat. Flush. Warm cookies and cold milk are good for you. Learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day some. When you go out into the world, watch out for traffic, hold hands, and stick together. Be aware of wonder.”

    I live my calling every day, and I love the simple sensibility of Fulghum’s words. Cheers! Kaarina

    • That’s even better than the 10 Commandments (and a whole lot more fun…..:). But it is so true………and simple. Just take care of that and all will be good.

      I tried to go outside, but saw all that snow and had to go find my long-johns; definitely not a Speedo day.

      Good chat today; thanks for coming by.

      Happy New Year, and talk with you soon.

  6. I’m with you Bill, I don’t think I’ll ever grow up. Both of my nieces and nephews still think I’m the “fun” aunt. Yep, they can actually take me anywhere, even around their friends, and I won’t embarrass them. They still think I’m pretty cool so that really makes me happy.

    I never really knew what I wanted to be when I grew up. I didn’t have any hobbies, any loves, any passions, nada. I had nothing, absolutely nothing. I also sucked in school so attending college was not even on my radar so had I wanted a professional career that would have stopped me in my tracks.

    I only fell into the secretarial field because my first office job was as a timer keeper for a brick laying company. I worked there for five years, only did work for five minutes each day and loved it. Can you imagine, they thought I was a secretary after that?

    After that job ended I stayed in that field and did exceptionally well because of my outgoing personality, my annoying organizational skills, my strong will to help others and my uncanny ability to teach myself new skills. I excelled so that’s where I was stuck until early 2007.

    I never ever pictured myself as an entrepreneur. I never had the desire because my mind was stuck in the old school thinking that you HAD to work for someone else in order to have a good life. Man, I can’t believe people still fill our kids heads with those lies.

    I also didn’t think I was smart enough to build my own business which is what held me back the first several years of being online. My mindset that it’s not possible for little old me to be successful doing something so way outside my comfort zone. Thank goodness I’ve even surprised myself with that.

    Okay, sorry for the long comment. I’ll hush now! 🙂 Thanks Bill for continuing to entertain me with your posts and not being afraid to say whatever the heck you want to say. I love and admire that about you.

    I hope you have a wonderful day and have fun celebrating the new year. Looking forward to continuing our friendship well into the new year. Happy New Year Bill!

    ~Adrienne

    • You have done quite well indeed; I’m thinking maybe your true calling was teacher.

      It’s amazing what you can do when you pretty much have to figure it out and get it done all by yourself. That’s not to say there isn’t help along the way, but ultimately it still comes down to you, right?

      The problem/challenge/quandry is, there are so many people who have no idea what they want to do. What they want to do is try several different jobs and see how they like it before having to make lifetime decisions. But you have to have experience before you can get hired AND not everyone wants to be an entrepreneur.

      And one more point, the schools don’t do a great job of getting kids ready for the real world anyway. Too much academics and not enough life.

      Happy New Year to you as well; looking forward to fun and interesting times in 2012.

  7. I am 230 pounds of five year-old and rarely leave the playground. My kids want to know if I ever plan on growing up and I say NO.

    Not me. I spend plenty of time being serious but I am much better as the insouciant, ready and willing to defenestrate troublemakers known as Jack.

    I have been many things in my life and will probably be a few more but in the end I will always be a storyteller who loves words.

    • And I do believe that is your true calling; and feel you are on the cusp of having many doors open for you in the foreseeable future.

      Even though I wasn’t an athlete on the level you attained, in my minds-eye I still consider myself one. That is probably where a lot of my ‘play’ is involved.

      I was king of the ‘hood in pickup basketball, football and baseball; those were the glory days indeed.

      It has been great getting to know you my friend; thanks for sticking around and putting up with my meandering way with words; very much appreciated.

      Happy New Year to you.

  8. Oh yes I want to keep playing for the rest of my life!

    I could be very well the girl in the picture! I took my psychology before people actually forced me to get into becoming a doctor and I was just an inch close to actually picking up the white coat! But thankfully, I didn’t and after I finished the psychology thing and got a job, somehow I got a writing part time job and then I went like…. hmmm…

    The worst part is that I am still 26, so I have a lot more years to keep going hmmmm…..

    Okay Bill, you just gave me another thinking thing for the new year!

    • And never give up that playful spirit.

      The ‘worst’ part is your just 26………ha, I’ll trade you right now……..:). That just means you can keep playing for a long, long, time.

      The other thing is, you always have something you can fall back on and maybe someday it does become your passion and not somebody else’s passion for you.

      So good to see you as we wind down 2011; it has been a real pleasure getting to know you this year and I look forward to much more fun in 2012. Take care and have a great weekend.

  9. Hey Bill!

    I love that you either wanted to be a butt doctor or a “liar.” They are great aspirations! When I was a kid I wanted to be a child psychologist. I knew this inherently by 2nd grade. I entered college as a psychology major. I hated the lab rat testing part and didn’t realize how much I would have to work with numbers and statistics. I HATE numbers!

    I changed my major to Sociology/Social Work. That suited me perfectly. I realized that what I really wanted to do was help people. I’m a helper/giver by nature so I fit right in as a social worker.

    I did that for several years after graduating and got very burnt out from the things I saw on a daily basis. I switched gears completely and managed my family’s printing business. My expertise was customer service–helping people–big surprise!

    You know the next part of the story: Got pregnant, business closed, almost had a nervous breakdown:) Now here I am running my own virtual assistant business–helping people–and loving it!

    If I’ve learned anything over time it’s that you’re never too old to decide what you want to “do for a living.” If you had told me back in high school that my career would have taken so many different paths I wouldn’t have believed you. But all of those things made me who I am today so I don’t regret a single one! Happy New Year, my friend!

    • I know what you mean about attrition with the social workers. Way over worked and way underpaid; plus way too much paperwork and court time to be effective one on one with the kids. I see it and live it through my involvement with the Guardian program.

      My guess is, you would have been a great Psychologist and who knows how relevant the numbers, stats and lab rats are to the finished product? Unfortunately our education system makes too many things ‘one size fits all’.

      The good news is, your path made you much more resilient and wiser and also allows you to work at home and be with your baby as it grows up. Sounds like a win to me……

      That is a great attitude to never be ‘too old’ to decide what you want to do.

      Great to see you today; Happy New Year to you.

  10. I keep looking for my inner child but I think he is playing hide and seek. Maybe he’s behind the couch. 🙂

    As far as the passion(s), I have never had that one thing that was above all else. I have always had a number of things I was passionate about and depending on where life was at any moment, they received more or less attention. This year I have gotten to write a lot since I jumped into blogging, but my guitars gently weep in the corner as they are mostly ignored.

    Have a great new year Bill, and DM me if you spot my inner child — he could be anywhere!

    • I think he just might be behind the couch………..:).

      I have gotten into several things w/ gusto and probably passionate about it at the time (running, working out, golf, tennis), and whereas I still enjoy them all I am not singularly focused on any one thing right now.

      Blogging has created a new opportunity I’m finding I like a lot more than I thought I would. The big think with it is, I have met a lot of new and interesting people; that is what I find fun.

      Career-wise; my dad had a job where he wore a tie to work and he worked at the same place close to 40 years. I admired that, and it looks like that was enough of a model for me to emulate because it appears I will do the same. Funny how things work out like that, huh?

      Good to see you my friend and glad you can make the 11th. I have been to 3 or 4 of them and they are always fun………and safe.

      Happy New Year to you and the wife.

      • Thank you for the sensible crutiqie. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I’m very glad to see such great information being shared freely out there.

      • There are some attention-grabbing time litims in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity but I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

      • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

      • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

  11. Bill,

    Like everyone else, I’m just a little curious as to exactly WHAT a butt doctor IS…. hmm. (I dunno if you should tell any of my crew that when you come to visit. K? Just sayin…)

    Because you asked, I thought about it. I have a standard response, but hadn’t really thought back, hard, in like, EVER, so for you – I did.

    I only ever wanted to be in the Military. That’s it. That’s all there ever was. I am probably the only person alive that studied for YEARS to take the ASVAB ! (Who needs SAT and ACT scores? …) Well, I aced the ASVAB but the military thing, well, I didn’t take to being shot at real well.

    Did I ever want to be me (and ALL I am now!) when I grew up? Sheesh. I didn’t even know people like me existed!

    Growing up? Well, my body has been getting it’s revenge on me for living 30+ years as if I was an immortal for the last few years, sorry, I’m OLD. (snort!)

    Speedo at -38* … FUNNY!

    ~Amber-Lee

    • Bullets coming back at you probably increases your pucker factor by a degree or two. Fortunately, I was in the peace time service and never had to be deployed.

      It’s funny you were so singularly focused about the military, did it and then thought ‘ok now, maybe this wasn’t then end-all after all, huh’?

      When it came down to it, I wanted to be like my dad who had an office job and wore a tie to work. I didn’t really know what he did at the time, but he was the only one in our neighborhood who ‘dressed up’ to go to work. I thought that was admirable all by itself. Guess what? I have the office job with the tie……..fortunately, I’m in outside sales so I come and go as I please, but in essence it is an ‘office’ job. I became my dad……..:).

      My body rebels at times; I don’t do any heavy lifting, rugged work like you, but I am still very active physically. I just know after 3 sets of tennis on Wednesday nights, Thursday morning feels like I have been in a train wreck.

      Oh yeah, butt doctor as in admiration of the butt (preferably female) so I think your crew will be safe…….:).

      Have a good one ma’am; thanks for stopping by this New Year’s eve.

  12. Hello friend!

    I’m 43 and always say I’m a year older and have done so pretty much all my life … so really, I’m 44. 😉 My heart is about that of a 15 year old max and perhaps my academics too?! I think the problem is that I’ve “played” most of my life … I’ve played wicked hard, but still …I’ve played.

    I’ve been so, so many things and experienced some unique wild times. I dreamed of owning my own cosmetic company, called Elena Patrice Cosmetics at the age of 14 and had it all planned out. Instead I became a freelance make-up artist starting at 16; hung out with some pretty big boys and won an award or two (Elena Patrice was my “stage” name then, which is actually my first and middle names. At the time I was officially Elena Barbuto – there’s a reason I’m telling this …). I went on to sell encyclopedias, work in retail, be a secretary, be a partner in a collection agency, write award-winning children’s books and create toys, to running our publishing company and now to this (WGB) … quite a journey.

    Am I where I thought I’d be? Well … yes, I always wanted to be independent and run my own deal. I’ve always wanted to give back in some form. And my name … well talk about a self-fulfilling prophecy … after a divorce and sick of last names people couldn’t pronounce, I changed my middle legally to my last. At 14 I didn’t ever think it would be my legal name and thought it’s not cosmetics, it is mine!

    I, like you, love being social and love, love sales … it’s my lifeblood. It always comes back to having a purpose and making a difference to me (that’s why I left the glam industry). I’ve had my fair share of struggles, but man oh man; it’s been a heck of a ride. Sometimes I laugh at the things I’ve done and witnessed and had the privilege to be a part of – never a dull period that’s for sure.

    Great post Bill! I love learning more about you and others … it’s all so fascinating and fun!

    Wishing you a magical New Year’s!! Be safe, stay you!

    Happiness,

    Elena

    • Very interesting story indeed; certainly no straight lines on your journey.

      I’m not sure if you know my Army story and how that got me on the right path for my ‘life’ but another defining moment was when I graduated from college. I could have taken jobs in New York, Atlanta or Houston but did not pursue any of them. Primarily because I had no money to go there and start living before I got paid; but I also didn’t know anybody there. Sometimes I wonder if my path would not have been as straight if I would have been bold enough to experience life before settling in. No regrets, just makes me wonder at times though.

      Barbuto, huh? A distant cousin I have met through some genealogy stuff we are doing is a Barbone.

      I love your story, you have had quite the interesting life indeed. I’m sure with all of those twists and turns there have been some highs and lows but sounds like you have the right attitude to face both head-on. I think some are definitely post worthy………:)

      I am definitely a kid at heart, and hopefully can stay that way.

      Thanks for sharing, thanks for showing up and Happy New Year to you and your family. See you soon……

  13. Hi, Bill,

    Come and play with me? You did it again – start off with some innocent tale, interject a liar or such, and then you get us all thinking!

    When I look around my generation and see people whose faces look sad and empty, I think remaining / feeling young has not only to do with attitude but also with keeping your dreams. When I look at my friends, I see laughing faces, a funny story told and empathy for family and friends.You would fit in well with our group!

    Over the years I wanted to be a doctor (I was easily impressed by the white coat and know-it-all attitude), a cowgirl (I fell hard for a steer at age 5), a fashion designer, a cleaning lady (I loved ours because she was always mispronouncing words and thought that people on TV would speak directly to her and reply to them standing in front of it), a fashion designer, a journalist, a mother of 10.

    What I did: I studied English and History, worked as a teacher, secretary, farm worker (in Israel), waitress, barmaid, translator, worked in advertising, sales, studied Marketing, had my own company in EDP solutions, had a child and marriage.

    And now: I work parttime for a NPO and direct my passions for cooking, writing, wine, travels, photography, perfumes and curiosity for all new things towards a goal… As easy as that!

    Actually, I meant to wish you a very happy, playful, laughter filled, creative and productive New Year, you got me talking again!

    • Wow, very interesting indeed; I would love to hear how you ended up farming in Israel.

      Translator, huh? Do you know southern? I’m guessing you at least know German and French in addition to English; how many others?

      I have a feeling I would fit well with your crowd, especially if we are breaking out the mulled wine……….:).

      There are different schools of thought if things happen for a reason or if we are exactly where we are supposed to be because of some pre-destined master plan; all I know is life is a journey and I want to enjoy it as much as I can. I do that by learning and meeting new and exciting people like yourself; you enrich my life and I appreciate it.

      So good to see you and thanks so much for taking the time to stop by. I hope you have a fantastic Happy New Year and see you on the flip side; take care.

      • … and here we are on the flip side, safely landed!

        Southern as in Italian or Spanish: yes , Southern as in grits: sorry to disappoint you.

        I love the concept of life as a journey with an open ticket to be enjoyed, so many people seem to have no ticket at all or lost it somewhere along.

        Thanks for enriching my life, you know I do not like mulled wine that much, I will open a nice bottle of Amarone instead, if this is ok with you.

  14. Hey Bill!,
    I’ve always wanted to dance. Love the stage and NOT having to talk to communicate! I really never should have stopped. The studio is a magical playground. And the costumes and characters keep things interesting and challenging. Add music and it’s a heady experience.Social media is a bit like that…you get to express yourself with the lights obscuring the audience. Quite fun. Great thoughts.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

    • I can imagine; being able to lose yourself and just letting it all hang out there. Yes, social can be like that indeed.

      Lights obscuring the audience; there is a certain anonymity in social that allows people to say and act in a certain way and no real repercussions from your audience. It could be very similar to to social.

      So good to see you; hope you are ready for the new year that is upon us. I have enjoyed getting to know you.

  15. I like to think that growth is a continuous process. I think it’s just as true for our career choices as well. Today’s economy is changing fast, a lot of people make a living doing a wide variety of different things. You don’t have to just “settle” for one job anymore, but engage in many things that could potentially bring you money. I see this trend a lot nowadays, especially with online entrepreneurs. It’s encouraging to see more freedom now in our career choices than ever before.

    • Hey Steven, thanks for dropping by. Whereas social allows you to have a voice, it also makes being an entrepreneur easily available as well. Trying to figure out what works for you is still the ‘heavy lifting’ part, but the opportunity is certainly there.

      It’s funny; my dad worked for the same employer for close to 40 years, and I’m close to 30 w/ my current employer. Very rare these days, but social has provided other opportunities.

      I am eager and wide-eyed; I want to at least stay young at heart.

      I wish you a very happy New Year, I appreciate your comments.

  16. Hey, Bill. Just tell me, how long until recess? The coolest friends I have are the ones who never quite grew up. Thinking like a child can give us insights that might have escaped us.

    We are a family of late bloomers. My daughter is a junior at Smith College. She is 40 and finally pursuing her dream. Her major is theatre arts. I say, go for it!

    Me? My first choice was Annie Oakley. When I found out there was not a job market for cowgirls, I switched my goal to becoming an interpreter at the United Nations. I was so excited to see a cover story in Seventeen Magazine called “Careers at the U.N. Until I opened it up and read that girls could be in the “secretarial pool.” Boy was I bummed. But my, how things have changed. In the 60s, girls were told they could be three things: nurse, teacher, secretary. I chose teaching. BUT I am finally where I want to be: writing, with the first draft finished of my first book. It is NEVER too late!

    And “butt doctor”? It was probably because you couldn’t pronounce rectal surgeon at age eight. : ) Fun reading everyone’s stories.

    • You are ‘old school’ like me, but refused to get in line. There really is no ‘timeline’ and thank goodness we are willing to still put ourselves out there in search of the things that interest us.

      I think as long as we are searching, learning, and growing, we will stay forever young.

      I had a grandmother who lived to be 102 and she was pretty spry ’til the end; hopefully I picked up some of those genes as well.

      Good to see you here Judy; I know what you mean trying to keep up with everybody, but we certainly know where to find each other.

      Let’s have some fun in ’12 and I will be out on the jungle gym in the playground……….:).

      Happy New Year to you.

  17. Hey Bill,

    I have a masters degree in Political Science, and look where I ended up 🙂

    I didn’t know what I was doing while I was young, and my dad wanted me to be a liar/lawyer as well. But I didn’t. The only reason why he wanted me to be one, was so I could help him out with all his “problems” for free 🙂

    Being paid to be social would be awesome, and 2012 will be a quantum leap for me in this way. I’m going in a completely different direction and starting my own business (for the first time), and this is scary.. because I really don’t know what I’m doing. But I don’t want to grow up, I want to keep exploring and keep having fun without too much hard work. And when things get boring, it’s time to do something completely different.

    Cheers, to 2012, or skål like we say in Norway 🙂

  18. Both of my sons have Political Science degrees and one is a lawyer, but he’s wanted to be one since high school so at least he was able to follow his dream. The other is still searching……

    As long as we stay young at heart the journey will remain fun and interesting. It’s never too late to follow your dream or some variation thereof.

    Just like anything else, sometimes you just have to jump in a learn by getting your hands dirty and starting your business will be no different. Best of luck to you in this endeavor.

    Lykke til deg i 2012, ser jeg frem til å være en del av den med deg.

Leave a Reply

