You are my sunshine, my only sunshine

Well, apparently if you incessantly whine about not making anybody’s list, someone will eventually put you on one just to shut you up. Within the past couple of weeks I have been awarded the Sunshine Award; not once, not twice, but three times.

Trust me, anytime I get recognition in a positive way it is greatly appreciated. Sometimes us bloggers seem to toil in obscurity at times, so if someone throws me a bone it always makes me smile.

And speaking of smiling; I recently attended a local Chamber party hosted by the board chair.  She brought cards with characters faces on them to give to each member of the board depicting her impression of us. Me? I ended up with  Mr Happy; imagine that, huh? Happy….sunshine…..work with me here, that’s kind of close, right?

I want to thank the people who thought I was award worthy

First I received notice from Barbara Klein at Late Bloomers; then Kim Davies at VizSource.Info dropped one on me. Finally, to top off all these wonderful accolades and kind words, Hajra at Hajra Kvetches made it complete.

All of these lovely ladies have been very supportive and probably way too kind to me. It is a true pleasure to know them and the fact they thought I was award worthy of something really means a lot to me.

Yes, there are rules

Rule # 1 – thank the person(s) who gave you the award.

Rule # 2 – Answer 10 questions (yikes)

Rule # 3 – Pass the award on to 10-12ish deserving bloggers (double yikes)

The 10 questions

  1. Favorite color – blue of course, Billy Blue Eyes knows no other.
  2. Favorite animal – dog; man’s best friend without a doubt.
  3. Favorite number – 10; my birthday is on the 10th.
  4. Favorite drink – de agua; nectar of the gods.
  5. Facebook or twitter – twitter, because I finally figured it out.
  6. My passion – food; see previous post.
  7. Giving or receiving gifts – receiving; I’m selfish, what can I say?
  8. Favorite day – Friday; kicks off weekend and Friday nights rock.
  9. Favorite flower – wall; because I can be one so well.
  10. Favorite food – hamburger; it would be my last meal.

My favorite people online

Ok, this is going to be tough because I have lots of favorite people online. I wrote down my list of favorites only to discover I had way more than 10 or 12. I know, hard to believe; this is coming from a guy who probably couldn’t fill a phone booth if that is where they decided to have his funeral.

However, there is a caveat because it is my list, right? The people you see below show up every single time I post; rain or shine, no ifs ands or buts. There are quite a few people not listed who stop by quite often I also hold near and dear, but it’s only appropriate I give a shout out to those who have put up with this week after week after week……….

Like I said, I have some very dear friends who have ‘life’ issues going on, or maybe have dropped in and out recently who weren’t named; but the people on the list above really deserve a medal. They have been consistently consistent for some strange reason.

If you are taking the time to read this, I would strongly recommend checking these fabulous people out.

Congratulations all, you have been officially ‘knighted‘ Sir Sunshine by King Bill.

51 thoughts on “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine

  1. “Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows,
    Everything that’s wonderful is what I feel when we’re together”…

    And that’s the truth:) You’ve built a wonderful community here Bill, and your posts always make me smile, laugh and think (not necessarily in that order:) You’re always diligent about responding to comments, and the people who comment…well, I’m honored to be part of the Sir Sunshine pack.

    Wishing you all the best! Have a wonderful Christmas and a happy, healthy, prosperous new year. From the land of snowshoes, Cheers! Kaarina

    • You were certainly an easy choice; we’ve been through the ‘wars’ together and somehow are still kickin’ and scratchin’ so maybe we will survive this thing after all.

      I’m thinking of doing a post about the people who wonder why their community isn’t gaining traction yet they take 2-3 days + to respond to comments. Social is so instant, if I have to wait 3 days to get your reply…..well, 3 days is an eternity in here. I am of the opinion just don’t post if you are too busy to reply; isn’t the give and take of commenting and replying part of the allure? I won’t cut any of my friends off because of it, but I have a handful of my friends doing it.

      Good to see you and hope you and the family have a fabulous Christmas. Also, thanks so much for the Christmas card, it was very thoughtful indeed………..and now I have your address……….:)

    • You know, I would have replied to your additional comments, but whoever’s cheap ass site this is, they don’t even have reply buttons after you comment on a comment. WTH, what’s up with that?

      Thanks for dropping back in Ms Claus; have a good one.

  2. Congratulations my friend. You are Mr. Sunshine. Like Kaarina said, you are always commenting and spreading the love and laughs. So honored to be on your sunshine list. (Not sure how many, that is now) At least 3. Ha. Luv ya brother. Seriously, what an awesome list. Appreciate it greatly. Even if I am #13. Geez.

    Already looking forward to our next meeting in real life. Golf for sure.
    Might be taking The CARE Movement on the road next year. The ultimate road trip. A CARE-a-van. More to come soon. Florida is the first state on my list to visit. Yeah Baby.

    Thanks again for your continued support and encouragement. Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    And I would be in that phone booth, pal. For sure.

    Al

    • I couldn’t leave big Al off; you haven’t made it every time, but I was giving you the benefit of the doubt with all you have going on. Plus, it might look like a gay thing if I had all the dudes at the top of the list. Homey don’t play that way…………..:).

      It will be interesting to see the CARE-a-van. Get an old VW van and paint flowers on it.

      So good to see you my friend and I hope you and the family and the dogs have a fantastic Christmas.

  3. Well Bill, I can see why she gave you the “Mr. Happy” card. You just seem like a real character and trust me, those types are usually pretty darn happy.

    Now it’s Mr. Sunshine so congratulations on this award. Not once, not twice but three times. Man, does this mean you’re really special because if that’s the case then so am I. This will be my third nomination as well so stay tuned for my post. Haven’t had time to fit it into my schedule.

    Thank you for thinking of me and I can tell I’m among some good people. I’ve been mulling over how I’m going to be able to pick some people for this award as well. I’ve also got some darn good and faithful blogging buddies I must admit.

    Thanks Bill and enjoyed reading more about you. Blue is my favorite color too, just can’t help myself.

    Take care and Merry Christmas.

    • Picking the list was easy and hard; everyone I listed rarely, if ever, misses commenting on my post. Those were the easy ones to list and just leave it at that. However, there is quite a few more who pop in and out I really like as well but I had to draw the line somewhere, right? And finally, I have some who rarely make an appearance here, but I like them equally well. It’s just the nature of the blogging thing, huh?

      It was very easy to pick you; keep up the good work and we’ll see you on the flip side expecting big things, ok?

  4. Aw Bill, I’m touched and honored to make your list and to be among such great company! But I’m confused – Mr Happy is a wallflower?! I don’t think so 😉
    I’m just taking a little break from “Christmas” where I am making bread with my son who has mastered the Lebanese bread-making that I haven’t quite mastered yet! I hope you are having a very merry holiday, despite being busy at work! See you back here in 2012!
    Lori

    • Bread making sounds yummy; save me some.

      Initially, for flower I put ‘huh’? I really don’t have one and it might have sounded feminine if I did……..even though I’m totally comfortable with my sexuality………..:). I can wear a pink shirt……….:). So being the silly guy, wallflower sounded like something I would come up with.

      See you in 2012; enjoy your time with your family. I really appreciate all of your support; it means a lot.

  5. Hey Bill!

    Thanks for the Knighthood, Sir Sunshine, but you are certainly no wallflower. That’s like calling our friend, Al Smith a wallflower 😉

    Honored to be in such great company on your list of 13. We’ll call that a lucky number today. You certainly deserve the awards given and I do always enjoy coming here. You’re one of the first people I connected with online and still enjoy engaging with you online. Should we call it “engagement?”

    Like you, I love Fridays and hamburgers, but haven’t completely figured out Twitter.

    Speaking of sunshine, guess what? It’s sunny in Seattle today … again! WTF? We pasty folks that call this giant moisturizing pad home are in absolute shock. Driest December on record and more sunny days than I can remember this time of year. You can’t relate, I know. You’re in sunny FLA, but it is THAT unusual. Makes me worry about 2012 … What is up? 🙂 😉

    • I’ve called Al a few things, but wallflower wasn’t one of them……..

      It is a lucky number today and I’m glad you are part of that list. It’s interesting how this evolves because there are probably 10 people I could easily name that used to come by quite often who just went away. I know some changed their model entirely, but some are still out there. I’m sure you would know all 10 as we run in similar crowds.

      The good news is, I no longer ‘worry’ about who is where or any of that. I will try to do what I know best and if it has some stickiness to it, then we are in the bonus round, right?

      Sunny in Seattle…………..isn’t that a movie? In December no less; maybe that Mayan calendar about the end of times in 2012 is correct after all, huh? It has been perfect weather for a month in the FLA; I’m lovin’ it.

      Good to see you and thanks for stopping by. I hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas.

  6. You are sunshine amigo! What is this I hear about you being a wallflower? Nonsense. Total nonsense.

    We are as we say “the company we keep” and we keep ourselves in good company. You are as we say here in Jersey ‘good people” you make me smile when I come here and I know you have a kind word for everyone who comes here.

    Mr. Sunshine. I have a song for you “Here Comes the Sun” my favorite song and a great expression of hope.

    Have a very Merry Christmas if I don’t see you before then my friend.

    • Well thank you ma’am as we say down here in the land o’ cotton. Actually, that is Georgia, I’m in the land of oranges but we say the same thing sometimes…………:).

      The only reason I used wallflower is because I couldn’t think of a ‘favorite’ flower so I had to be silly.

      I know ‘Here Comes the Sun” well and now it is playing in my head.

      I hope you have a Merry Christmas as well; I read your Christmas post and I think you will find what is important.

      Take care…..

  7. Hey! Mister Sunshine!!
    Of course you were awarded! Without fail you bring a smile to me and more often or not, you even earn a LOL!!

    Congratulations and all that gooey stuff.

    Bill, you have taught me, by example, how to enjoy just how to BE in the moment and take what life throws, but better, to enjoy it and make it work. Like you, I have found the greatest humans (!!) here, online, and consider my life a blessing and a prize.

    Have a fab day, my pal. ~Amber-Lee

    • Thanks much for the kind words; it is certainly great to see you. I do believe you would have been on that list too if it weren’t for your spotty internet. However, I hope you know you are near and dear to me as well; I appreciate you very much.

      I try to be in the moment as much as I can; one thing I can do well is compartmentalize and not let the little things get me down. The more I can genuinely be positive and upbeat I hope it carries over to the people I come in contact with.

      Yes, this truly is the bonus round with all the new friends we have made. It truly is a blessing………….

      BTW – and I told Kaarina earlier; will you give me a heads-up when you see Santa leaving the shed? He’s up by you, right?

      I hope you and the family have a very Merry Christmas.

    • I chuckled when I put this post together and included you; I’m thinking you would be the least likely to put something like this together, or at least in this format. However, I wanted to make sure you were feeling the love too.

      I do appreciate you my friend, you have been very supportive and that certainly means a lot to me. Keep your fingers crossed and maybe Chanukahclaus will bring you an iPad after all……..:).

      Have a good one and talk to you soon.

  8. You made the sunshine list 4 times, Bill. You forgot you were in Kaarina’s. 😀 But, you must be in everyone’s list by now, being the Super Social Man and Mr. Sunshine that you are.

    I am really happy to have placed you in my list, Bill. You and Kaarina have been part of my support system since I started and I am awfully thankful for that. Plus knowing you has a great bonus…you keep absolutely wonderful company. Makes me think I’m kinda cool, too, just knowing them. 🙂

    Have a Merry Christmas!

  9. Hi Bill, Congratulations, Mr. Sunshine! That fits you in every way except having a “Grunge” theme. I don’t see how Grunge and sunshine mix, but you make it work!

    Lol, about the wallflower. I guess that flower is blue.

    Thanks so much for naming me in this post. I am truly honored because your comments section generally holds more names than the New York City phone book.

    I accept your award and look forward to fulfilling the requirements. 🙂

    • I know, how can Mr Grunge also be Mr Sunshine, huh? As far as the wallflower I was going to try and get a pic of someone wearing clothes that matched wallpaper………

      It was interesting to start making a list of who is in my community and how many names it actually was. It was hard for me to just list 13 because I have some really dear friends that don’t show up all the time, but I guess I had to use something as a cut off point.

      So good to see you, and not only were you worthy because of your presence you have been very helpful with my phone and other tech tips. I appreciate you………

      Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  10. Hi Bill,

    Thanks a lot for the award. I had no idea that I could be on a sunshine list and with so many awesome people. If you’d added pizza or food to the name of the list, I wouldn’t have been as surprised 🙂

    I could definitively use some sunshine. It’s mostly dark outside, but the snow provides a little light.

    I understand that your favorite food is hamburger, I love hot and spicy (vegetarian) hamburgers. But you’ll probably guess what my favorite food is 🙂

    Thanks a lot Bill. I really appreciate it.

    • Just like trying to cut the list off at a certain number, I have plenty of ‘favorite’ foods. However, hamburger has been the most consistent from way, way back. Part of the allure was my dad used to cook out on the grill just about every weekend. We would be outside playing in the yard acting like crazy kids, but I always loved the smell of the grill. When it was time to eat I would be starved. They were always so, so good.

      I’ll have to think of a pizza post too. I remember when a friend of mine moved up to the Chicago area and I went to visit him. We went to get pizza and it was the first time I had deep dish pizza (this was many years ago). I thought that was the coolest thing ever…….

      Here’s some sunshine headed your way; we are definitely not going to have a white Christmas this year.

      Thanks for dropping by my award winning friend.

  11. Hi King Bill,

    Lovely court you keep, where is the jester, hidden in an avatar?

    You bring smiles to everybody’s faces and make us feel welcome, truly a regal quality!

    Lovely list: bacon and grits do not figure on it – how come? Becoming unfaithful to your true self?

    Happy Holidays and a wonderful, fun filled and creative 2012!

    • Like I mentioned to Jens, I have plenty of ‘favorite’ foods but had to pick one. What I really like is having ‘breakfast’ for dinner. Eggs, grits and bacon………..yum, yum. I also like a vine ripe sliced tomato with that.

      Yes, I have to admit I am a ‘ho’ for food and can’t be faithful to any of them.

      Thanks much for your kind words and your support; I’m very glad I got to know you this year. Now we’ll just have to see who gets to visit who first. Will I be there to go to your cafe’s and drink wine, or will you be here to put your toes in the sand on the beach and sip margarita’s?

      Erholsame Ferien für Sie auch!

      • Bill, I am game for anything! But the most important thing for me is in whose company to enjoy all the frivolities! I am really grateful and glad for getting to know you this year.

        And here is another challenge for you:
        ych wynsch Dyr und Dynere Familie e scheene und besinnligi Zyt und e wunderbars 2012!

        Hugs, Barbara

    • Hey Wes, now if I can just have someone give me the dollar Bill award and everybody send me dollars lots of time………..:).

      Good to see you today; I’m at the office on Friday but I think about 2/3rds of our people are taking the day off. I don’t expect much work to get done.

      I do appreciate you stopping by and Happy Holidays to you as well.

  12. Wow, speaking of time to comment… I win the blogosphere’s equivalent of the Nobel Peace Prize — a Sunshine Award from you — and don’t make it back until the next day — many apologies.

    I do appreciate the award!!! You are always there for every post I write, and I always notice. I make sure to never miss one of yours (even if I show up a bit late).

    As many have pointed out, I do believe you are the true Mr. Sunshine. Your wry humor and banter always lightens up the comment sections — even though you usually have a great point to make too.

    BTW, I think you’re going to be in trouble with my missus next time we all meet — now that I’m telling her she has to call me Mr. Sunshine. 🙂

    Thanks so much for the inclusion. It was a great group of folks to be listed with.

    A great holiday and New Year to you and your family Bill!

    • Yes, remind her that’s MR Sunshine…………actually I think it annoys my wife at times; she thinks I’m too happy at times. Hmmmm, is there such a thing?

      Well, if we are nothing else, we are consistent at each other’s place. Maybe we’ll have to meet again and give each other medals or something.

      Your inclusion was well deserved and I appreciate your friendship and support.

      I hope you have a great holiday season and hopefully we can catch up again before too long. Talk to you soon.

  13. Bill,

    OMG! I am glad I came by! I didn’t want to prove you a liar by not commenting every post. I can say, I am usually late by a day or so but I make it to the party, usually. Now the pressure is on.

    It is hard to come up with 10, 20, or any list of favs, isn’t it? I usually just try to give people kudos as I blog along. And anyway, you know how I feel about ya. You do rank on top for people that have helped me break out of my shell. (You, beer and my friend, Lisa, the biggest flirt, extrovert I know, help me be Allie.) But I am not calling you King Bill, no way!

    Does this mean I have to do this list too? Why do you put this pressure on me?

    Anyhow, best wishes for the Holiday Season.

    ~Allie

    • See, you just never know; kind of like the time I found you over at the lady bloggers place, huh?

      For you, you can just call me Bill or even Billy as my family is wont to do.

      The shell breaker, that’s what I am………….

      Thanks for stopping by and receiving your accolades. Have a good one.

  14. Merry Christmas Bill!! So much for me “showing up” ey?!? OK, I’m totally late and lame and am just now starting to breathe from waaaay too much holiday and a 5 year old off for two weeks (she’s painting next to me as I write)!! WAAAH!!

    “Food” …”blue” … “dogs” “hamburgers” …you’re winning me!! I swear each time you reveal more of the Mr. Dorman, the more I like you!! You’re moving up in the table ranks my friend! 😉

    Talk about ‘way too kind’! Thank you, thank you … endlessly!! Why you hang out with me I have no clue, but I’m eternally thankful. Such a good list you’ve got here and everyone so worthy (not speaking of myself here).

    “Putting up with you” is easy peasy and such a joy because after all, you are full of sunshine and “Mr. Happy” is sooo appropriate. I’d have to label you Mr. Funny and Mr. Kind too! 😉

    I hope your holiday was the bestest and you’re rockin’ and rollin’ getting ready for an awesome 2012!!

    Have a faboo, worthy day my friend!!

    Abundant kindness,

    Elena

    • Somebody told me you were the one with all the money so I was hoping if you started ‘sharing’ some of that wealth you might remember who your good buddies were……….:). That’s why I keep you around…

      Trust me, there is still a lot of A list chasin’ going on in social and if you think that is what is going to elevate your status, then I’m all for it and more power to you. However, that’s not my gig and I appreciate you just as much as any other person I engage with, regardless of where their ranking might happen to be.

      I’m all about the connection and giving back when I can; it’s a model that seems to do ok for me so I think I will stick with it. Me I can be; I certainly have had plenty of practice with it.

      You were well deserving of the Award and I do appreciate you very much; thanks for your support (even if you did almost make a liar out of me and not show up……..:).

      Take care and Happy New Year.

  15. Hey Sunshine!

    Is that how I should address you from now on? Ha ha!
    Thank you so much for including me on your list!
    Sorry I dropped by so late but better late than never, right?
    I’ve said it before, I keep coming back because it’s always worth reading what you have to say! One day it might be clever, the next day insightful and some days just plain funny. I hope you have an awesome day, Bill:)

    • And sorry I’m so late in replying; it’s a new phenomenon to me when people reply to older posts. Sometimes I forget to go back….:).

      I do appreciate your visits and your comments; it always makes me smile when you arrive.

      Whereas you find my scattered way of thinking as a plus, that’s just the way I am all the time. Sometimes good, sometimes bad, huh?

      Your kind words are always welcome; hope all is well with you.

  16. Great post Bill! Especially love your list of your favorite people on-line. You can meet some really great people out in cyberspace. Hope your new year has been treating you GREAT so far.

    • Great so far, indeed. The people I have mentioned are definitely some top-notch people; good people to know.

      You will find interesting, diverse and different people in cyberspace; and that is what makes it fun for me.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. Hope all is well.

  17. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior to and you’re just too great.
    I really like what you have received right here, certainly like what you are
    stating and the way wherein you say it. You make it enjoyable
    and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible.
    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is really a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

