Does this pizza make my ass look fat?

Er, uh…..well, if you have to ask…….

Before I take off trying to make some sense of this, theย Lanier Upshaw, Inc business website is up and running again, lean and mean. If you have time, check out my post ‘3 Way to Uncover Your Agent’s True Identity’. You will probably think this sure isn’t the Billy we know, but trust me, give it due time as my true colors will start to show.

Now, on to the serious stuff……

If you like food, raise your hand

I do, a lot; if I wasn’t already married, I would probably elope with it. And I pretty much like everything too; there are probably some non-traditional exotic dishes (monkey brains) I might have to draw the line on, but I can plow through just about anything.

Fortunately, I can eat with no dietary or health restrictions to worry about. I’m also active enough to reasonably control my weight; no washboard abs but perfection annoys people anyway, right?

I mention this, because it seems from Thanksgiving through Christmas I really get my ‘eat’ on. Anybody else have that working for them?

What is your passion

Obviously food can be a passion for me and I can also be passionate about music and reading as well. However, it probably suits me better on the consumption side instead of the production side.

The question is, and you read a lot about following your passion, when and where do you decide to change and become a producer? And if you decide to take this step and then it becomes ‘work’, what if the passion quickly wanes?

Maybe it’s like art and best to appreciate from afar, huh?

What is your point

As we approach the end of the year and you think about what you want to accomplish in 2012, are you ready to ask yourself the ‘hard’ questions that maybe you already know the answer? If the answer isn’t what you want to hear, what are you going to do about it?

How much control do you feel you have over your own destiny? If you don’t feel you have that control, what is it going to take to regain it?

Action or reaction?

Does this pizza make my assย butt look fat?

75 thoughts on “Does this pizza make my ass look fat?

  1. Luv the picture. Hilarious. Only you, Bill. I hear you, about the eating during the holiday season. Too much good stuff just sittin there waiting to be eaten. I also like to read and love music. Too many things in common with you. Oh boy.

    I have not written my goals down for 2012 yet. I do know I want to bring The CARE Movement to as many people as possible. This is my passion and purpose. Speaking to groups and companies anywhere I can. It is up to me though. I have the choice and I control my own destiny. We all need help, but it is up to us to decide, choose our path and make it happen.

    Ok. Time to go eat something. How about some Steak, Eggs and some Allman Brothers ? Yes sir.

    Thanks again Bill. Take CARE.

    Al

    • The bad thing is, most of the parties are buffet style so I end up just grazing and grazing and grazing. I went to the Bucs game on Sat night and we had club seats. These came w/ debit cards for food and drink; the cards weren’t working so we got everything for ‘free’. What are the odds I would abuse something like that, huh?

      I have not written my goals for 2012, but know exactly where I want to be in my day job, my fitness, and my social. I don’t want to be so rigid there is no room for error, but specific enough it gives me direction.

      Steak and eggs sound awesome. Allman Bros was the very first concert I attended; it was 1971 I believe. Don’t tell anyone or they will guess my age; I wasn’t driving yet, but actually had a date so it was a fun time.

      Good to see you and thanks for dropping by.

  2. Love the picture, Bill! I was wondering from the title if you and Jens would start a new blog just about pizza, though Jens keeps telling us his blog isn’t about pizza.

    Congratulations on your other website. I will be by to check that out too!

    I don’t have much control of my destiny. Most of the great stuff in my life I never planned, it just happened. So I’m along for the ride, enjoying it to the fullest, waiting to see what the next turn reveals. I do try to make the most of the opportunities I’ve been given. But I learned a long time ago, I’m not in the driver’s seat. I’m just happy to ride shotgun.

    • Jens did prompt the title; especially since we have been talking about pizza so much. The only time I eat pizza is when we have it delivered. Since we are empty nesting now, we usually have it once a week. I like mine with a little Tabasco sauce sprinkled on it.

      I would have to concur, most of the great stuff in my life I have not planned. However, I think some of the things I did plan allowed some of the great stuff to happen.

      I too am along for the ride with wide eyed excitement and anticipation; I fully expect good things to happen.

      As you should know by now, I’m really, really good at just showing up.

      Good to see you today; hope your weekend went well.

      • Jens, California Tortilla has Tex-Mex food and is amazing. Yes, they have 100 different hot sauces in every restaurant. And 121 different types of sodas with free refills. No worries if your daughter spills her Fanta!

        But Cal Tort isn’t in California, it’s in the middle Atlantic region of the US, from Philadelphia down to Virginia outside of Washington, DC. Lots of vegetarian options too. Yummy!

        They rate their hot sauces on a scale of 1-10. Tabasco is a 3.

      • Carolyn, I love Tabasco sauce and I love Mexican food. Is California Tortilla a chain in many cities in California? I have never heard of them, but just by looking at the name I know that I’ll love their food ๐Ÿ™‚

      • California Tortilla is a chain of Tex-Mex restaurants in the Middle Atlantic area of the US (none in California). They have yummy food with loads of vegetarian options. 122 different varieties of soda with free refills so no problem if someone spills a Fanta!

        Number 10 is Dave’s Insanity or Orange Krush. But you really shouldn’t try those without a fire extinguisher nearby!

  3. Hey Bill,

    Like everyone else I love the photo! Unfortunately I am a HUGE food lover as well, and eat pretty much anything bar monkey brains! lol. I try to keep in shape but when I’m busy and don’t have time to work out I tend to pile the pounds on a bit.

    I’d certainly like to think that I’m following my passions in 2012. Ironically I’m working on a workout product that I’m really excited about. I’m also building my writing business, but would have never thought I’d be building a writing business this time last year! But, if I didn’t enjoy it, the passion would have waned by now. So all in all, with God’s help 2012 will be a great year. Hope you have a great 2012 and keep growing your amazing blog. Have a wonderful holiday season.

    Robert

    • It’s funny sometimes when you reflect and see what you actually did accomplish in the previous year and how much of it was not anticipated.

      One year ago I was about as green as you can get in this social arena. There are many areas I could have developed much more with, but at times I feel like the grizzled veteran. I have found my ‘sustainability’ level for now, so that I’m grateful.

      My pants are my guide; if they start getting too tight I know it’s time to moderate. I don’t need a scale to tell my fat ass to get off the couch…:)

      2012 is going to kick some butt; I am very excited about the opportunities.

      I hope you are having a wonderful holiday season as well.

  4. Hi Bill,
    that’s two “hard” questions alright: “How much control do you feel you have over your own destiny? If you donโ€™t feel you have that control, what is it going to take to regain it?”

    To the first – complete control. We’re just generally too lazy to assume it, to get organized, to be disciplined, even with the “simple” things like taking time to write down goals or visualize them. (Or is that just me ๐Ÿ˜ฎ )

    To the second, set Intentions, which are more powerful than goals. Sit and think about what you want for the new year and what it will take for you to get it. Start by writing down questions. The answers will come.
    Thanks for making me remember this! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Happy Happy 2012 to you Bill, and Merry Christmas too!
    Lori

    • Ok, I know you are taking some time off so no over eating for you….:)

      It is so easy to get caught up in the day to day to not sit down and organize some type of plan.

      There are so many things in life you really have no control over; the only control is how you react to these things. The things I can control; my income, my health, my relationships, I want to make sure I do the best I can in these areas. All 3 of these are in my plans for 2012.

      If you can discover your ‘why’ and follow a plan to get there; you will be more fulfilled I believe.

      So good to see you; and see you next year, right? Merry Christmas!

  5. Look at you and your new digs! I like the look of your place here, Bill. I must admit, I read you regularly in my inbox, but haven’t dropped by in a bit, so forgive me if this new look on your blog occurred months ago. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Re: the LU Blog and your post, well done! Love that. I manage a blog for an insurance agent and think your content is ‘spot on’! Congrats.

    Re: 2012 and what’s ahead, I am grateful for all of the bumps in the road that I experienced in 2011 and the fantastic opportunities that now lay ahead in 2012. I think we have a mix of control and fate at work in our lives. Many times I’ve thought I was in control and realized a little too late, that was not at all the case (we’re really rarely in control, are we?). It’s what we choose to do with the cards we’re dealt that demonstrate true intention, thought and purpose (not necessarily control) when faced with tough choices or situations.

    Merry Christmas to you, Bill! And a very happy, prosperous New Year!!
    Best,
    Erica

    • Yeah, I think it was August when I changed it……..doh………not really. Trust me, as we all evolve and find what works for us I know there will be ebb and flow with the visits. I always enjoy seeing you and I’m so glad you took the time to comment.

      You make a good point; it’s what we choose to do with the cards we are dealt, how we react to this hand is what we do control. Therefore, if we do a really good job of controlling the things we can, I think you can be much happier.

      Merry Christmas to you and I know there is still a lot of excitement in your house with the little ones. Ours is tempered somewhat these days, but it has been a great season so far.

      2012 will be rock n roll; count on it.

  6. What a great photo… When I started reading that I immediately thought of Jens with his addiction to pizza. He won’t call it that, just the love of it.

    I’ll be sure to check out your website as well Bill. You’ve got me curious if nothing else.

    Ah, planning ahead. I do my best but the way my life has been it hasn’t always turned out like I planned. Sometimes not so good while others even better. So I’m on the right road at least for now and I do have big hopes for next year so I’m staying on that road and doing my best to make that happen.

    I have no doubt your 2012 will be productive and successful. Have certainly enjoyed reading your posts here and look forward to what you’ll be sharing with us next year.

    Have a wonderful week and in case you don’t post on Thursday, happy holidays!

    ~Adrienne

    • Yes, Jens was in mind when I used pizza in the title.

      Life is like a round of golf; there will be all sorts of twists and turns and it is really how we react to these situations that determines how much ‘control’ we feel we have. I can tell you are survivor and have the attitude of it’s up to you and only you to make it happen. I think we are both ‘old school’ enough to know that’s the only way we know.

      I’m very excited about the prospects in 2012, and not just business. I want to continue to enrich my relationships as well.

      Merry Christmas to you and so good to see you today.

    • Adrienne,

      I love it when people hear the word pizza, and starts thinking of me ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m not sure if it’s a compliment, but it makes me happy, and that’s what’s important, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Jens, I put some hot sauce called Jackass on some black beans and chicken and rice once and tasted nothing after the second bite. It was so hot, my scalp was sweating. I might have overdone it, huh?

        Tabasco is good though, but definitely on the milder side of hot sauces.

      • Bill, I have done that too. I remember a visit to an Indian restaurant where I ordered Vindalo (the hottest on their scale), and it was just like you described (I’m still sweating just thinking of it) ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Bill, you promised you wouldn’t use that photo of me:)

    In answer to your question: I am in control of my destiny, and my choices, not chance, determine it.

    As you and I have discussed, I’ve got changes in mind for 2012, and they’ve already started. No need to wait for new year’s resolutions, which people set but often don’t achieve. Why? Because they start off with good intentions (and we know which road is paved with those, right?), but they don’t commit to the actions required to achieve those goals.

    So I’m “cheerleading” everyone to set a goal(s). Write it down. See that goal accomplished in your mind. Start today and take one step in its direction.

    I follow my passion: always have, even when it’s created big bumps in the road.

    Heading over to check out your biz post. Does that mean I have to be on my best behaviour over there?

    Merry Christmas Bill, and here’s to taking those steps every day:) Cheers! Kaarina

    • But you said I could do a before and after; the one before you started running………in snowshoes…………:).

      We are definitely in control of our choices; it all starts from there.

      Passion is good because it makes the journey fun and rewarding; even if we stub our toe a time or two.

      If you drop anything in the biz post, just remember to say how great I am and whatever they are paying me here, obviously it is not near enough.

      2012 is going to ‘rock hot’ as @soulati is prone to say. I’m looking forward to following your journey and where it leads you.

      Thanks so much for your friendship and support; Merry Christmas to you and your family. Good to see you today.

  8. First of all, hilarious pic!

    I was wondering what your point was… a little bit, so I’m glad you clarified. ๐Ÿ™‚ This is a great time of year to ask those questions. I try to ask them often, but the new year is definitely a time to not only ask them but try to answer them in a detailed way.

    We all have control — and we all don’t. Not saying I have it all figured out, but to me the key is focusing energy on the areas you do have control and preparing for possibilities in the areas you don’t (like buying insurance, ahem!).

    Happy holidays to you and yours Bill if we don’t bump into each other again this week!

    • Yep, you are just never quite sure if I will have a point in one of these things, huh? I’ve heard there should be some type of structure to your ‘stories’, but it’s not always a guarantee over here……

      We all know of our friends who are struggling either financially or in relationships and hopefully they don’t get so beat down they feel they have no control whatsoever. Also, sometimes you have to take baby steps first to get out of a bad situation. Usually, there are no quick-fix remedies.

      I concur about focusing energy on the areas you can control. I have to remind my wife that because she can stress on some things she really can’t do anything about.

      Yes, you let me control the insurance part and I’ll make sure you don’t have to worry about that. Did you know you can never have too much insurance………..:).

      Happy holiday to you and yours as well my friend; I’m sure we will do some more chest bumping before the week is out.

  9. We would get a long famously Bill – very passionate about food…

    All of it ๐Ÿ˜›

    In answer to your question, for the self-made entrepreneur there are seasons of feeling in control, just as there are seasons of feeling complete and utter despair.

    Just keep your down, continue to move people and things until your living the vision you have for your life. If you survive it, it’ll all be good : )

    P.S. Ya know Bill, its not your ass that looks big – your head seems a little swelled though – put down that dough ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    • Ah yes, I knew the head reference would make an appearance. I’ve tried to use photo shop to minimize it on my Avatar but it’s not always so easy when you have a melon like mine.

      The self-made entrepreneur can be a lonely world. Sometimes in my world of sales it feels like we are out there on an island all by ourselves and that can be challenging to say the least. You can be doing everything ‘right’ and still not getting the results you need. That is when the hard questions arrive and should you stay the course, or try something different.

      I say keep doing the things you do well and enjoy, and be the best you can. Delegate everything else, right? If it were only that easy……:)

      Good to see you sir, hope all is well. Merry Christmas to you too.

  10. I have NO idea what lies ahead…but a lot of good food had better be in it! I love to eat. Often! Comfort food is the best. I made a huge pot of Mac and cheese yesterday. So I’m happy!

    • If good food is in it, the obviously everything else will take care of itself, huh? The mac and cheese sounds great…….

      I have done my share of eating good food over the last few weeks. I’m probably going to have to start walking to work (8 miles) pretty soon.

      Good to see you and hope you are all settled in at your new place.

  11. Hi Bill! It’s been busy around your way obviously. Things at LU are looking great.

    Good question on the passionate-hobby-turned-career. That can sometimes be a passionate hobby killer. I think it takes serious thought all the way through on what it really entails to make that fun idea into a fully functioning business. If you don’t absolutely love doing it 15 hours a day, every day, and think & dream about it in between, then you’ll likely burn out on it – both the business and the hobby. A very sad state indeed. Some things are just meant to be enjoyed.

    I’ve got a personality to do that type of thing and I’ve done it on a few occasions. And I’ve learned which work and which don’t – it comes down to which are legitimate money-making business opportunities vs. which are just hobbies-gone-wild. I find it hard to keep going when that hobby isn’t displaying the future potential you would like it to have – just because you like it doesn’t make it a feasible business. So the idea of following your passion I think needs to come with a caveat – does it have potential to be a real business or are you just going to end up a happy, broke hippie?

    Happy Monday and good food to ya!! I’m all in on the good food!

    (but decided against the food production biz I contemplated…)

    • My oldest son ‘loved’ Chick-fil-A; so much he thought it would be a great idea to work there as well. Guess where he will never eat again….

      I also wonder about that with pro athletes. Taking something you enjoyed as a kid and making it a job. Whereas you would think it’s the ultimate dream job to ‘play’ all the time, is it really?

      As you know Jan 1 is an extremely busy time for us and therefore we don’t take too much time off in December. Personally, I didn’t knock down everything I was working on but definitely starting the year on the positive side with still some great opportunities for the first quarter. I’m looking for 2012 to be a big year.

      So good to see you today and hope your holiday season is going well.

  12. Hi Bill,

    Consider me a board member of the “I love food” club. Good food is a real pleasure but I have to add that a bad meal really irritates me. So disappointing.

    I don’t think that we have complete control of our lives but we do have complete control of how we respond to the things that happen.

    For example, I couldn’t stop my grandfather from dying nor could I prevent my bank from going under.

    How I decided to respond and deal with them, well that is entirely up to me. Got a few goals in mind for 2012 but really they are things that I have been working on for a while.

    Happy holidays to you and yours.

    • I hear ya, I couldn’t stop my dad from smoking so he could be a kidney transplant candidate. His addiction to smoking cost him his life.

      The one thing we can control is how we respond; sometimes it is hard to even do that, but it is within our control.

      2012 will be a good year and we’ll look back a year from now and give each other high fives. I hear Kobe’s wife is on the market…..just sayin…

      Happy holidays to you and your family; bump into you soon.

  13. Faboo post Mr. Dorman! Merry Christmas week to you!!

    And no, no … no big rear for you!!

    You use two of my absolute favorite words outside of “love” … food and passion!! Both of which I love tremendously!! One I eat a lot of and the other I express a lot of!

    I’m an action girl myself and I feel that we have a substantial amount of control over destiny. I’m of the absolute thought that “God helps those who help themselves.” I believe we are presented with opportunities and it’s all about taking action with good intentions. Just the way I live or shall I say strive to live.

    Once I’m passionate about anything, pretty much wild horses couldn’t drag me away … I’m in and I’m committed.

    Wonderful post my friend … love it!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Happy Christmas wishes to you and yours,

    Elena

    • Hi Elena, thanks for the kind words. I liked the picture the best, I thought it was pretty cool.

      Yes, you do have to take matters into your own hands or you shouldn’t complain if you are willing to take whatever life throws at you. Even if we can control a lot, we can control our actions and how we react to life.

      Passion is a wonderful thing and hopefully people get to experience it to the point it is a call to action.

      I’m glad you liked the post and it is always a pleasure to see around these parts. I hope your day has been well.

  14. Hi Bill,

    Love the pic AND title.

    Like a certain Jens we know, I like pizza a lot, and make my own. And pasta and with our proximity to Asia here in Seattle, all the best of Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, etc. I could go on. But right now, I’m simply trying to cut back on all the damn cookies that are staring me in the face all the time. I can’t resist cookies. Who can? So the gut expands this time of year like Jolly St. Nick. Oh, well. December is chubby and plump month. ๐Ÿ™‚ So, like you, I can’t get enough good food.

    I feel I have some control over my destiny, but things in life never turn out exactly as expected. Positive change is really about perspective and having a solid long-term vision. Things never turn our perfectly, but without a good outlook and vision you’re lost. I know, I spent many years in a “lost” state. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I almost stumbled upon this blogging venture, but now that I’m in, my plans have changed completely, and that’s a good thing. I have many things planned for 2012 and like Al, I want to get out and speak. I know all the plans may not all come to fruition, but that’s how it works, eh?

    The new company site looks really nice at first glance. I’ll have to go back and dig through it to give you a full review. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Merry Christmas to you, Mr. Dorman. And here’s to a great 2012!

    • Yes, I start pulling out the plump pants this time of year. Not only cookies, but every candy and desert imaginable. And I’m not big on sweets but if they are sitting around the break room, I am likely to dig in.

      I kind of fell into blogging too; it hasn’t opened the door on any business gigs yet, but it has created an invite to a couple of local social events. Maybe I’ll become famous after all, huh?

      I’m thinking if your speaking thing doesn’t work out maybe you can get one of those sandwich boards and be a preacher on the corner. You can get a Mr Microphone and talk about all your ‘lost’ days…….:).

      I thought the site was pretty cool; away from the traditional insurance stuff.

      Good to see you and Merry Christmas to you and yours. Here’s to a kick ass 2012.

  15. Hi Bill,

    Perfect title ๐Ÿ™‚

    Do you know what.. I’ve been eating a vegetarian pizza today at lunch with a lot of garlic. I can still taste it 8 hours later. To me, pizza is about passion, but I don’t think that I should work with pizza, it’s more like a hobby to me.

    But, 2012 will be my most exciting year since I don’t know when. I’m going to finish my novel, and I’ll going to do everything in my power to get it published, and I’m going to do a lot of writing, and hopefully I’ll start a business as well. I want to control my own destiny, and so far I feel like I’ve just been doing what other people are expecting me to do. I’ve been having a lot of fun, but not as much as I should be having.. and that’s what’s going to happen in 2012.

    • I thought you would like the pizza reference; I was going to comment on the speedo and the like from above but whoever’s cheap ass site this is, they don’t have reply buttons on every comment. What’s up with that?

      I think some passions we should keep as a hobby. Once it becomes work, we better be making a lot of money at it, right?

      I think you are getting your legs and it will be interesting to see what is in store for you in 2012. You are right, you can’t just do what others are expecting and I think that is the path I was trying to go down in social. Once I got away from that, I was able to find what works for me.

      Thanks for coming by and I’m sure I will bump into you later my friend.

  16. Bill,

    You hit the nail on the head for me.

    For the last year I’ve been blogging along on my merry way with not much recognition that I was going somewhere, but not far, slowly. I figured my blog would grow, but not this slow. So I took a hard look at why.

    I know my content can be dry but I also know it helps people. But what I really needed was a boost. But in what?

    I got to thinking. And thought: Crap! I have to learn SEO. I have been avoiding it like the plague. My SEO friends get on my case about it (or are they trying to sell me their services, huh? Maybe.). You need to OPTIMIZE! What a horrible word. So here I am learning more, again. I will see what 2012 brings when I start to work more on SEO.

    The other HARD question in my life is do I eat that hamburger? My trainer (yes, I have one and he can be pretty mean, lol) tells me no. My butt tells me no. But my brain says it tastes so good. Rocky Road ice cream and a great beer (not together) are my food enemies also. We all need enemies, right? Without them how would we know who is our friend?

    As you know I will be turning a special age next month and want to celebrate the year with a better me. A healthier me and a better business me. It’s gonna be a tough year. Don’t think about leaving the blogoshere because I need all the support I can get. If you leave, I will hunt you down if I have to head to FL myself. And I will be bringing my kids with me. You don’t want that. They smell like teen spirit, whine at the end of the day and eat a lot.

    Cheers to owning our own destiny! And to PIZZA, BEER and FOOTBALL! Go 49ers!

    ~Allie

  17. First and foremost, yes, eat the hamburger. I love hamburgers and if you don’t eat all of the other stuff with it (fries or chips), then I’m sure it can’t be bad for you. I would get a new trainer; get one kind of chubby who likes good food, that will work much better for you……….:).

    I will tell you, I know some people who were in your position who figured out SEO and everything that goes with it and I have seen their blogs take off in the last few months. There is certainly some merit to it and I think it will be a good direction for you this year.

    Yeah, I’m guessing ‘your’ special age is an age that has certainly come and gone for me. You will do fine and I can’t imagine you getting much better. For better or for worse, you are probably stuck with me next year as well.

    I know what teen spirit smells like and fortunately I had boys so it wasn’t too overwhelming……….:).

    Beer, pizza and football; doesn’t get much better than that, unless it’s hamburgers too…….or even brats………mmmmm. 49ers are kicking some bootie; my Bucs are dead and buried.

    Good to see you and thanks so much for stopping by.

    I hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas.

    • So glad you’ll be around next year, and as long as you can stand this blogging gig. LOL. I’ll need the backup.

      You are a brave man for raising boys AND thinking the stench is not that bad. My son’s room needs air all the time! It’s not bad, just musty after I open the window. But when mixed with dog, wow!

      Thanks for all the kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Merry Christmas to you also!

      ~Allie

  18. Hi, Bill.

    Love the picture, the title and pizza! ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually, put me in your food club, I am definitely going to be a good addition there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    When I was younger, I ate half of a 14-inch stuffed crust pan pizza by myself to the amazement of my husband who was much bigger than I am and the waiters of the pizzeria. I stand only 5 feet and one inch tall and I weighed only a hundred pounds then. ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t do that now, but still love pizza, grilled hamburgers, pasta and lots of others besides except chocolate cockroaches, battered spiders, frog legs and other exotic food I don’t even want to name.

    About your tough questions, well, a psychologist friend who’s into Archetypal Psychology told me that the most important thing for me to do right now is to care for my soul and that it’s not actually bad not to know where I’m going and to just live with the flow of life. To take one day at a time and savor each moment as it comes. So, although my boss has pretty much decided what he wants for me to do in 2012 and that could mean to others that he has taken control of my life, I say that I am going to go to with the flow and just let the Universe take me where it wants. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy your holidays, Bill! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m not real crazy about some of the exotic foods, but will tell you frog legs and alligator are quite tasty. I’ll probably draw the line on insects, regardless of what they are covered with or cooked in.

      Sometimes we try to over-plan and always looking ahead so we fail to enjoy the moment or just taking it one day at a time. Since I’m pretty good at being able to ‘just show up’ I think I do a pretty good job of going with the flow of life. However, I do catch myself thinking ahead about what the next good thing I can eat.

      I don’t know if you have ever seen the hot dog eating contest, but the guy that has been winning it is actually quite normal sized. He usually kills the big heavy guys; go figure, huh?

      Enjoy your holidays as well and thanks so much for stopping by.

  19. Am I the only one who thinks of life as one of those roller coaster rides in the dark, throwing you from side to side, hurling you around bends and up and down and around, taking your breath away? You have no idea what’s coming next but you know it won’t be a smooth ride. You can either scream in fear or delight, that’s about the only thing you have under your control.

    Anybody else feel that way? Who’s with me on this?

    • I think it’s more like a round of golf; some good holes and some great holes; some bad holes and some disastrous holes. You still have to keep playing so it’s really how you react to these events as to whether you enjoyed the journey or not.

      I don’t think I want my life to be as dramatic as a roller coaster ride in the dark; sometimes maybe, but certainly not every day I wake up….:)

  20. Christmas is when I eat the most. My first New Year’s resolution is always to shed a pound or seven.

    Now, as for your question, which to me was the most interesting of the lot, “when and where do you decide to change and become a producer?”

    I’d say it’s when you realize you love something so much that just absorbing it, taking it in, is not enough anymore. Then your inner self cries out for you to start giving back.

    Some people seem to have been born with their key decision pre-installed, like Spielberg or JJ Abrams, who were making little movies with their Super 8 cameras as young children.

    A few of us – a very lucky few, I might add – have always known what they wanted to do. Where their heart was. Others find out later in life, and that’s good too. We’re all different, which is why the world is so rich and diverse.

    • Some are lucky to ‘fall’ into something they love, but more times than not they get stuck in a ‘job’ and always wonder ‘what if’. After high school, 3 years in the Army and 4 years of college, I was still trying to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up. My path to commercial insurance sales was a result of a couple of factors when I was in college, but ultimately turned out to be a perfect profession for me. I look forward to coming to work each day.

      My youngest son is in that ‘what do I want to be when I grow up’ mode. He has his degree, but it’s a tough job market right now.

      I stepped on the scales this morning; yep, better run an extra mile or two. It’s a good thing I’m active, or I would probably be about 3 bills…:).

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment; always a pleasure to see you.

      • I will link Ye comment Thy Bill to mine. You have some things others dream of. Stability. Long term love. Health. Resources to enjoy life. I might have led a more risky adventurous life. But at 44 I have no health insurance. No mortgage (possibly a good thing). Technically earn enough to be called in poverty after many years close to 6 figures. No retirement account. So there. Who is to say what is better. I think we all wish for things we don’t have but fail to appreciate the things we do.

  21. Steer ye Matey! Steer! Starboard ho! Don’t let ye Land Lubbers push you around.

    Control is a misnomer. None of us have control in reality. We can steer. And we can manage risk. And we can set goals. But in the end too much is luck, opportunity, in addition to our hard work and focus.

    And when we try to control too much we often miss grand opportunities in life. I always link things. My goal was move back east. Set up my own business. Move to NYC. And my business grew too slowly. Which allowed me to meet the gal of my dreams in Vermont. And I fell in love with the rural world of mountains and woods and healthy living. And now I am moving here. I never wanted kids. Now I have my gal’s 6 month old I love to death. And we will probably have one of our own.

    But….my business is still there growing slowly and that is the important part..where I live who I am with my happiness…I was very surprised didn’t turn out to be in NYC!

    • I think I was able to get to a point where I appreciate what I do have and have really scaled down always wanting for more, or what my neighbor has.

      It’s funny what you use as life lessons, but my parents divorced when I was about 13. My dad was going through a mid-life crisis and my mother turned to the bottle. I knew when I had a family I was going to do everything within my power to make it work and not put my kids through crap. As a result, it made me well suited for a traditional, somewhat safe career choice and lifestyle.

      Are there times I would like to have the freedom you have; absolutely, but I don’t second guess my decision. It was the right call for me.

      You are still very young and can do just about anything you want. It’s great you have found someone and I will guess some of your priorities will start to change because of it.

      The only thing we really control is our reaction to the things that happen to us. We can try to direct where we are going through planning, but even that can go sideways.

      Thanks for stopping by Howie; I see you have already picked up a Vermont accent. Send me some syrup, will ya?

  22. I second everything that Lori said. You have complete control over your destiny if you stop being a lazy ass about it. Set intentions not goals, etc.

    I ADORE food. But I’m very picky. I only eat what I want to eat, what will make me feel great both emotionally (because it tastes so good) and physically (because my body reacts well to it). And most foods that are traditionally served during the holidays don’t fit that bill (no pun intended, but appreciated). But I don’t feel like I’m missing out. I also generally don’t drink alcohol (the very occasional glass of wine or champagne. Like once very few months, truly) and I don’t feel like I’m missing out on the party either. I can drink water and have a fantastic time at a party, and I can eat awesome, non-traditional food and have a fantastic time at Christmas. The way I see it, I’m not stuffing myself with food that are mediocre and will leave me feeling heavy and farty (yeah, I went there). I choose to eat foods that are excellent and leave me feeling energized and decidedly non-farty (what’s the opposite of farty?) But that’s just my thang.

    Have a wonderful Christmas Bill and enjoy every bite. And who cares if your ass is fat? Better than a flat butt. Nothin’ worse than a man with a flat butt. *shudder*

    Hugs!
    Melody

    • Buns o’ steel baby; buns o’ steel……….

      And when you say stop being a lazy ass about it, somehow I felt you were directing that specifically at me and not a general statement. If the shoe fits, huh?

      And BTW, I know what kind of liquor you have at your crib; you might not be drinking but don’t be holding back on me. If I show up at your door step, I want some of the good stuff.

      That’s my downfall, I am not a discriminate eater. Especially if it is laid out buffet style, I go into grazing mode. The good news is, it is usually the ‘real’ food. I’m not a huge dessert fan, I would rather have seconds of the main course. I also don’t discriminate against farty vs non-farty foods either. All I would advise is just to be careful not to have your hand or arm between me and the food, you might be pulling back a nub.

      I did get the book, eat for your blood type, but half the stuff I like was on the ‘don’t eat’ list; rubbish. I must be doing something right however because my blood pressure and cholesterol is normal. And even with my fat ass, I’m only a buck eighty and just shy of 6′.

      So good to see you today Melody; Merry Christmas to you too and my LOA will be running pretty high when we grill the fillets a customer gave me. It’s still good to be me, isn’t it?…………:)

    • Yes, those stools are not the most flattering, huh; I don’t care how comfortable they would be………..:).

      Good to see you Amber, I hope you are enjoying this holiday season.

  23. Hahaha…I agree with Amber…you lost me after the photo…

    On a more serious note, though, I really believe in the power of action vs REaction…and maybe more specifically, I endorse pro-active rather than re-active. When you are proactive or you take planned action, you are going to be better able to control your outcomes than if you let your life be run by REactions. That is not to say that I don’t do that occasional slip into reacting rather than being proactive. But almost consistently, the outcome is less than optimal when reacting. My goal for 2012 is to hit the ground running and to be in the driver’s seat so that I can take action and be pro-active (I think I combined two metaphors there…one that involves me running and one that involves me driving…doh)
    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Bill and an AWESOME 2012 to you and all of your readers!!
    Claudia

    • In my business of commercial insurance sales we are prone to have ‘competition’ on our accounts. A lot of times someone will come in and start taking shots at our program and puts us in a reactive stance. That is never good because then we have lost control of the process. You never want to have to say, ‘well, we can do that too’. Therefore, the more pro-active we can be and driving the process, the better the outcome for us.

      If you just sit back and wait for things to happen, you should never complain about the outcome if it is not what you want.

      Speaking of hitting the ground running, I better do so running or I might have to buy some new pants………….:).

      Merry Christmas to you and your family and here’s to a totally fantabulous 2012; I look forward to you being part of my fantabulousness.

      I hope you are having a great day.

  24. Hi Bill,
    This post just makes me want to get some good old organic flatbread pizza…There’s nothing wrong with gaining a few pounds from the Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners – I know I sure have added a couple inches to the belly!
    Until next time, happy holidays!

    • I’m waiting for the season to be over, then I’ll start the work on belly reduction; I certainly don’t want to miss out on any good food….or drink…..:). Life’s too short not to live it to the fullest; I’m ok if I die fat, dumb and happy……..

      Thanks for stopping by Ryan, very much appreciated; hope your holiday season has been well.

  25. So, here’s the funny thing. When I was a little kid, I fell in love with acting. It became my passion, and I ended up going to drama school and then being a professional actress/director. Nothing – NOTHING – has given me the kind of high I used to get from being on stage (though doing great work for a client comes close). But after doing it for many years, it wore me out, and I transitioned into PR. Do I miss it? Sometimes, mostly the teaching part (I did a lot of workshops, particularly with children), and maybe I’ll go back to community theater at some point.

    My point is – passion is terrific, but it’s not everything. It has to be sustainable.

    • Sustainable yes, and what happens when the music dies? You are used to that high, that adrenaline rush and when it goes away, what’s next? I guess if you can keep it in perspective and really appreciate it when you are in the moment, then maybe it’s not as hard when it starts to fade.

      I was thinking about your acting background and it’s probably something everybody should try to do once. Talk about getting out of your comfort zone. I would think it would give you confidence and better able to think on your feet and handle things as they are thrown at you.

      Sounds like you really enjoyed it; I’ll bet community theater would be a blast for you. Maybe you can put that on your list for 2012, huh?

      Good to see you and sounds like we won’t see you again until next year. Have a good one and enjoy yourself over the holidays.

      Take care….

Leave a Reply

