Worker dead at desk for 5 days

Since I jumped on the hamster wheel of social and decided to be a blogger, my decision early on was to at least post on Mondays; rain or shine. I’m pretty sure I have not missed a single Monday since I started back in March. This is pretty predictable, so I should be pretty easy to find. Therefore, you would think my throngs of followers should be lined up every Monday eagerly awaiting my post, right?

As I sat at the computer this weekend contemplating what to write, nothing really came to mind. Instead of posting something even less inspiring than my normal fare, I decided not to post at all. It would be my experiment to see if anybody noticed what was causing the huge void in their Monday morning.

Hey Dorman, guess what; not only did no one notice, nobody gives a rat’s ass either (my post, I can cuss if I want to).

BTW – Carolyn Nicander Moore from The Wonder of Tech wins the new car; she was the first to reach out. Adrienne Smith made the ask too. Β 

It actually felt pretty good, maybe too good

I recently posted about finding sustainability and not having any set posting schedule per se; but the Monday posts were the one thing I was going to try to stay consistent with. Coming in to work this past Monday and not having anything really to keep track of in social actually felt kind of nice; almost like sleeping in.

Uh oh, is this the beginning of the end?

This I do know

Whereas people enjoy what I might have to say and I’m reasonably pleasant to be around, obviously I blend in quite well; too well, it appears. And that’s ok, I struggle with paying attention too; and I know how hard it is to make sure your own stuff is taken care of first before you start going down the line with your visits. Plus, some of my friends have some real struggles going on and this would be the least of their concerns.

The thought occurred to me how much time this might free up visiting other places and maybe fit some new ones in as well, if I wasn’t fretting over a do-nothing blog. I have to tell you, it sounds pretty appealing.

I could easily name you more than 10 previous ‘regulars’ here who have dropped out; cut back because ‘life’ got in the way; or just don’t find me worthy of stopping by anymore. As the numbers drop, I’m not sure I have the energy to regenerate interest and even if I did, what for? Since I’m a glass half-full kind of guy the good news is I can drop their sorry asses out of my reader now (still my post, no censure….:).

Boo hoo Dorman, you big baby

This certainly sounds like a woe is me post, but it really isn’t; not even close. There was a time this might have been post worthy, but I know the reality of social, and there just doesn’t seem to be a lot of love going around in here right now anyway.

My good buddy TheJackB talked about being the last man standing and I can certainly see how this can happen very easily.

This appears to be a trend

Two people who I respect, admire and are smart like that, both wrote posts about how social has evolved and where they think it’s going. Maybe it’s just where my head is right now, but both really hit home. Check out Margie Clayman and Michael Schechter’s posts on this topic; do you agree or disagree?

Having said that, my good friend Brankica who I also admire tremendously has stepped up to the plate and is going to post every day for the month of December. I jokingly replied to her ‘you poor girl’……….

If you wouldn’t whine so much

Maybe people would look forward to stopping by, huh? It’s like the person in your office whatever you do, do NOT ask them how they are doing because they will tell you…..in detail…..and not the short version.

I know you were counting on me to be the next ‘big’ thing and I apologize if I let you down. I really was going to fly you all to my award ceremony.

The good news is , this has been an absolute kick-ass week for me in my day job. I am very excited about 2012 whether it’s online or off. I love my community and the way you put up with my flakiness.

And what did we learn today? Obviously, not too much again; but it’s my post Β so I can do what I want when I want, right? That.is.all.

72 thoughts on “Worker dead at desk for 5 days

  1. Hi Bill, Great story about the worker who was dead for five days and no one noticed. I wonder if he died of boredom?

    No worries, Bill. No one is going to die of boredom reading your blog!

    In defense of your readers, I got an email notice Monday morning that you had a new post. When I arrived at your blog, I thought your post was new for about two seconds until I started reading it. Then I read down to see if it was a spoof (silly me to suspect you were anything other than serious!).

    When I saw it was the exact same post with the exact same comments, I figured it was a glitch (silly me to think WordPress might have a glitch!). So I waited a couple of days and checked back. By yesterday, I was concerned so I reached out.

    I never suspected I was part of a social media experiment conducted by Dr, Bill! (Silly me)

    Thanks for the car, Bill. Any color will do! πŸ˜€

    • Also in defense of my readers, there was still a good amount of traffic on Monday so somebody must have been looking for it. However, you know me, I will take the littlest thing and just run with it………..:).

      In my current office, we have two buildings. I’m in the larger building with about half the people. There are days where only one or two of us at my end of the building might be in and me being the responsible corporate player, I keep the lights on in only rooms/offices being used. Therefore, it can look dark at times. I might not make it 5 days, but could easily make it 3……..maybe 2 if the wife started looking for me…….:).

      The scary part of it all when I didn’t post, it truly was like sleeping in; not having any responsibility for the day. Yikes……..better be careful with that, huh?

      Thanks for noticing; you might not have been able to get a pulse out of me, but at least you caught it before I started stinking.

      Have a great day.

  2. So glad you posted. Whew. I have been on hold with 911 since Monday. What a relief. Ha ! Whats up brother. Really is good to see your post. You know that. I love the way you write with your wit, sarcasm and humor. We need your writing.

    Now quit whining, you Big Baby ! Oh yeah, and thanks again for lunch.

    Still in Ft. Lauderdale. Headin back Saturday. Take CARE.

    Al

    • Yeah, I’m sure you were waiting on this post w/ bated breath, huh?

      I’m looking for anything to make a post out of and this was a small enough crack in the door to get me through. Not only do people have their own worries, there is so much stuff out there that would be pretty selfish on my part to actually think people would notice right away.

      I can certainly whine at times, can’t I?

      I hope your trip down south gave you some much needed head clearing time and good luck with your radio gig. Is is something you will be able to put the recording of it in a post?

      Take C.A.R.E. and talk to you soon.

  3. Let me tell you that even though I haven’t been very good about commenting over at your place lately (though, to be fair, I *have* been out), I do miss your posts in my Reader.

    What do you mean by you blend in too well? I think you’re one of the stand-outs.

    • It’s a good thing you showed up because I was just about ready to eject you from my reader………….

      Nah, you have a permanent hall pass with me. We know where to find each other as I can’t make it by your place every day either. I appreciate your friendship way more than your comments and I know you see me when I’m out and about.

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts however, they are always very much appreciated. Good to see you today……..

  4. Bill, I only had time to read Margie’s but I do agree, I think I’ve agreed from the start. I really only used/use facebook to connect with my friends and share pictures. I do think it is vital to have an online presence for a business, so if someone wants to find you they easily can and see a little about you and for google rankings too, but not pouring all hours of the day into it.

    As far as the younger generations, (1993 post baby’s) seeing how fast stars have been made on YouTube and Instgram I think their desire for fame and quantity of followers and friends is greater than the quality. I don’t know about you but, I’m all about the quality.

    PS: Keep up the hard work! I do enjoy reading your posts.

    • Well, look who came by and left a comment………..:).

      I did FB first and it was nice and easy……….and social. Once I jumped into twitter, I thought it was supposed to be essentially the same thing, just a different iteration. I quickly found out how people were either trying to make money with it or incorporating it into their business strategy. At first, I was all hot and heavy to try and do the same. However, that was not sustainable for me. It was cutting into my day job AND my in real life social activities. Therefore, I haven’t abandoned the business side of it, but for now I will primarily use it like a Chamber After Hours event.

      I’m much more about the relationships than a pile of numbers if people aren’t going to connect with me.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and I’m putting those tickets in the mail today; I’ll send them to the business.

      PS – I don’t know if you are familiar w/ Marcus Sheridan @TheSalesLion but he also has a site for his in-ground pool business. He does a fantastic job with inbound marketing and usually writes about what has been successful for him. You might want to check it out and see how some of this can apply for your business.

  5. Hi Bill,
    I was wondering where you’d gone! Good for you for not writing when you had nothing to say! Sometimes life does get in the way – we all do more than blogging!
    Such a sad story about that man who died at work! Don’t worry Bill, we’d notice.
    Lori
    But don’t die, okay! And next time I want in on that lunch with you and Al! (I can video-attend, you know!)

    • I do have the new iPhone 4s and not only can I do Facetime, but I can Skype from it as well. Next time, we just might be able to pull that off. I did have fun breaking bread with Al.

      You know me, I can take the smallest thing and put my own little twist to it. When I saw the story about the dead guy, I thought it fit in perfectly with my story.

      It did help me realize that if I truly practice what I have been saying these last few weeks then it really doesn’t matter if I have a set posting schedule. I’m better off writing when I’m inspired and not worrying who shows up.

      I do appreciate your support and your visits; thanks so much for stopping by.

  6. You’re deep Bill… The greatest asset I would say you’ve gained through your social media activities is you’ve connected and built some great relationships on the platform with some brilliant, loving, smart, caring people – – not sure how you broke in the community : P

    What I discovered on my hiatus is those friendships are real and although I wasn’t active on social media during this time frame, I always received emails, Skype’s, tweets et al – with lots of encouragement, well-wishes, and love. All of that just brought happiness and much joy to my life. I can hang with that.

    Now that I’m back a bit more, although I don’t have the rankings and reach I once had, it really feels like I never left. My friends are still there because they were real friendships nurtured over months and years.

    My goals and actions on social media have always been to serve, help, assist, connect, share the work of others, and hopefully contribute content that could help and inspire others. Period.

    You naturally connect in meaningful ways with people, You have a gift to make us laugh harder than we ever have! You’re a successful business guy with so much to offer the community you belong to.

    To get to the point here – you take this body of work and effort anyplace you want to take it. You’ve established credibility and value. How you build on that in 2012 and beyond is up to you and you have lot’s of friends that will support your efforts.

    Start where you start. Evolve and grow. Nurture your friendships/ relationships. Continue to build, build, build. Every time you post an article, share a tweet, leave a Facebook comment, you’ve added value to your social footprint and gotten further to where you ultimately end up with this social media effort; even if you don’t know exactly where that is today.

    I do know whatever direction you decide to go, you’ll have a positive impact on people – so you need to kick it in high gear in 2012 : )

    Cheers to work Bill and hope to share with you in your journey. That. Is. All.

    • Certainly some kind words indeed and very much appreciated. It is also good to know now that your are back you feel like you can jump right back in; maybe a little wiser this time around, huh?

      Sometimes I wonder if it all means anything and I think it really does; it’s the relationships that mean something and I certainly don’t want to lose sight of that.

      It is good to see you out and about again and look forward to catching up; as you can see, I haven’t changed much from your first time around. I’m still not going to be too serious about anything………..:)

      I hope your day is going well.

  7. Ah, I’ve missed you. Sorry I didn’t specifically miss you on Monday, but my 90 days away did mean I didn’t get exposure to your wonderful wit and style.

    During my 90 days absence, you and @Kaarina Dillabough were the only social friends who walked by my cubicle to see if I was still twitching.

    Thanks for that.

    I think the cavalier attitude about people dropping from your list is the healthiest one we can strike. Unless they’re gone because they’re slumped over a desk somewhere. Yikes…this interconnectedness thing has a lot of latent care for one another we may be overlooking!

    • There were certain comings and goings or never show ups of people that used to make me wonder what I was maybe doing wrong. Once I came to the realization I wasn’t doing anything wrong, it’s just the nature of social, it certainly got me back in the right mindset and having fun with it again. Yes, I still see these people around but that’s ok, everybody has to do what’s best for them to keep ‘social’ sustainable; which can seem like work at times.

      The social part I can do; I didn’t realize I had to work too………yikes, that might scare me off.

      So good to see you and I hope to see you a lot more often now. Thanks for stopping by today.

  8. Crap Bill,

    Make me feel guilty why don’t ya! I was gonna wait 2 weeks then ask, honest! I noticed you were gone. I’m just not a feelings person and I’m not real direct AND I’m a procrastinator. Does that sound like someone you want to be friends with? Heck no! I’m working in the feelings, ok? My friends are patient with me. (Now we are both having pity parties, lol.)

    While you were gone I visited Hajra and Adrienne’s blogs more. When you are gone I have time for 2 blogs. What does that say? You are worth 2!

    Love ya, Bill. I’m here just invisible. Hee hee!

    Guilt Tripped,
    Allie

    • What? Your about-me page says exactly the opposite; did you lure me in with false promises?

      First and foremost, I LOVE my community. I know there will be comings and goings and everybody has their own agenda in here. When I am able to connect and communicate I really appreciate it because it is what I enjoy most about social.

      Having said that, it tickles me when someone tells me they have been too busy to stop by but I see them every where else; every day. I post once a week for the most part. I think I would rather them tell me ‘you suck’. It’s all good though, I’m not blind and I see where people are, but I truly am not keeping tabs.

      Yes, you are someone I want to be friends with. If you were perfect, there would be nothing interesting to talk about when we are talking behind your back……….:).

      Hajra, hah………….she’s been MIA too for a couple of monthg; I hope she is back. 2 for 1……….now that’s a metric worth considering.

      Good to see you today and thanks for checking my pulse; it might have been too late, but at least you could get me cleaned up before the flies started to arrive.

      Have a good one.

  9. Carolyn is SO good about being the first one to comment on some of the posts I visit Bill. That’s impressive. I normally have very busy mornings on Mondays and Thursdays myself.

    I do have my reader full of blogs to visit but a few of them I definitely know the days they post so when I don’t see one up that morning I start to wonder. I also think well maybe their blog missed the posting schedule like mine sometimes will and they haven’t had a chance to check it because they are working a day job so I don’t panic until the afternoon starts to arrive. Then I start wondering what the heck happened.

    We all learn that readers come and go and you may end up having a few dedicated ones stick around for the long haul but the rest of them just seem to hop by every once in awhile and then go about their business. Why, I have no idea. But me personally, I like visiting your place Bill. You just share what’s on your mind and I enjoy hearing your views. So yes, I will continue to ask when you miss your posting schedule but I’m much more concerned that nothing is wrong and you are okay. I’ll wait on the post because I know one will eventually come.

    Don’t worry though Bill, I have no doubt that if you were to die at your desk someone would definitely notice. Now that’s just really sad! 😦

    • Adrienne, you and Bill make it easy because you two have the same posting schedule. Of course both of you get swamped with comments early so you don’t have a chance to check each other’s blogs right away! πŸ™‚

      • I had recently re-connected w/ my elementary school sweetheart. I was able to go to a class reunion last Oct and see her for the first time in over 30 yrs. I almost didn’t go because it was in a different town from where I live now, but glad I did.

        She was killed in a car wreck in April of this year and I was reminded of her birthday in June when it popped up on FB. Fortunately, her sister called me when the accident happened and there was a message on FB about it.

        It is a little disconcerting to see someone ‘live on’ through their previous online presence.

    • Sad that someone would notice or sad that I have departed?………..:).

      You know I joke about this, but how will we know if someone goes away because something did happen to them. I’ve tried to reach out to Marianne Worley several times to no avail………..

      Thanks for your kind words and I’m glad you enjoy my posts; I do have fun doing them and hopefully there is enough entertainment value to at least make you smile.

      So good to see you today.

      • As someone who had 3 friends die within a 14 month period recently, I consider myself somewhat of an expert on this topic. Facebook is the key to spreading the word. One of the family generally posts the news and then the tributes start pouring in. But the family has to have the password.

        What’s creepy is when you get a birthday reminder about the person. It takes a second to realize they aren’t with you anymore.

  10. There are some people who can get away with anything! Here I am waiting for some sunshine to come all the way from Florida to cold, rainy and grey Switzerland but no – at least you took Al out for lunch (what did you have by the way? You can always make things good by telling me about food).

    Had I known there was a prize involved, who knows? I am happy you are fine and up to mischief.

    BTW, I am glad you did not make the news at NYT. And how you manage to turn such a sad article into a wonderfully witty and entertaining post again, kudos.

    • Actually, I had already done the post and was looking for an image to match ‘no one noticed’ and that popped up. I had seen the story before and still don’t believe someone could not be noticed for 5 days, but it did fit well with my theme and my sense of humor.

      Lunch – in some of my previous posts I have talked about being a self-proclaimed hamburger connoisseur. Locally, the two best places I know are two clubs where I also play golf. When I met Al, it was in a town close to where I live so I asked a good friend where a good place to meet and eat would be. She mentioned the golf club in that town so of course I had to see if it was true to form about burger quality. Yes, I had a cheeseburger (w/ Swiss of course) w/ mayonnaise, lettuce, tomato & onion and with a side of onion rings. It wasn’t quite the quality of my other two places, but pretty darn close.

      I will have to bring some sunshine over, but there I want to have wine and fondue at an outdoor cafe.

      So gut, die Sie heute sehen, ich danke Ihnen fΓΌr Ihren Besuch.

  11. Bill,

    I’m hoping that story is from The Onion πŸ™‚

    You, my friend do not just blend in. C’mon, really πŸ™‚

    It’s funny I kept looking at my reader wondering when your new post was going to come up. NOW I realize I should have sent you an email. πŸ˜‰ I’m really a sucker for the guilt trip, you know.

    Glad to hear about your kick-ass week in the day job. That’s great news. Things are starting to turn around for my business too. After two pretty tough years that is great news. Amazing what some good old fashioned cold calling and word of mouth will do for you.

    Life certainly gets in the way AND so does daily business. Blogging and social is fun for me, it really is, but it consumes you. Anyway, I’m in for the long haul and look forward to many more of your posts in 2012.

    Flaky, nah. Not close.

    • You know, I kept sitting around waiting and waiting for the phone to ring with all the people who couldn’t wait for me to do business with them………..talk about crickets…..:).

      My business model typically involves a longer ‘courting’ process due to the size of the account, getting to know the right people etc. Therefore, it can be cyclical. Everything can happen at once or you can go a year with not much if you don’t keep your pipeline full. The good news is because I know a lot of people through board involvement and networking I can usually get someone on the phone. It doesn’t mean we always do business right away, but can usually get a lunch.

      Trust me, I’m not presumptuous enough to think people will start looking for me if they don’t see my post by 10 am on Monday morning. People did come looking and I actually had traffic at the site that day, so it was really pretty cool and it allowed me to do a silly post………..imagine that……….:).

      Good to see you Mr Creative, I did like your post. Thanks for your kind words here today.

  12. I don’t notice one ‘missed’ post – got too much going on w/ emails to ignore, naps to take and a Google Reader just itching to have All marked as Read. Takes at least a week or two off the grid before I catch on, slow on the uptake I am. πŸ˜‰

    Seriously I really DO need to clean up my Reader and move a few of my favorite must-read blogs to email subscription. But the challenge there is, who gets left out? I have too many as is, plus everything else I might want to read, share that comes my way.

    I’m also scaling back myself, let a few weeks go by with only one post. Which I’ll probably continue next year, a little ‘less is more’ for the blog. And for the longest time my RSS feed is/was/is again on the fritz but very few people noticed, even though I’ve been publishing and occasionally tweeting all along. I’m trying not to take any of it personally, lack of comments and followers, no RTs of my epically awesome content; I know people have other – and probably better – things to do.

    And FWIW the Dorman brand of flakiness totally works for you, look forward to more in 2012.

    • Ms D, good to see you. At this point I think the both of us have matured enough in this arena to not take most of this stuff personally, because it really isn’t about us. People have their own stuff to worry about than to check to see if my post popped at 7:30 am on Monday. However, because of this ‘maturity’ I think I can poke fun at it all I want. It lets me weave a little truth into something that really doesn’t matter, but probably most can identify with.

      As we plug along trying to find our sustainability, sometimes it’s hard to let go of certain pieces of this but I really am going to try and stay true to my word and just have fun with it.

      2012 – the year of fun and prosperity; let’s make it happen.

      It’s always a pleasure ma’am.

  13. If it makes you feel better I got three complaints this week that I update too frequently. I told them that they can complain when they read all of my blogs and not before.

    I noticed that you hadn’t updated but since you had been by my place several times I figured that things were ok and that you hadn’t had time to do anything here. That is a perfectly reasonable excuse not to post.

    I probably should go read those other posts you linked to and see what is going on. You have the chops to be among the last standing. It is only a question of whether you want to be that guy or not.

    Unfortunately there are no prizes awarded for it, at least not yet. Never know what tomorrow will bring.

    • The crazy thing at times is how quickly it seems my mind can change from being all gung-ho to almost being ok walking away from it. I don’t want to walk away because I enjoy the ‘process’ and I enjoy the people.

      You should check out the posts if you get an opportunity; I did feel they had a lot of truth but could tell they were having their own challenges dealing with social.

      Good to see you as always; hope you are well.

  14. *pokes you with a long stick* You ok there buddy?

    Ok, first off, I have a great excuse for not noticing that you didn’t post: I don’t have a traditional job and therefore mostly don’t have a clue what day of the week it is. And I don’t care. So, I don’t notice when something doesn’t happen “on schedule” and quite frankly, I resent the implication that I should. Hmph.

    Also, I cannot believe that a man was dead at his desk for FIVE FREAKING DAYS and no one noticed. Obvious question: Could they not smell him?? Not only do decomposing corpses start to stink pretty bad, but people generally, um, “let go” of bodily, um, ok they poo themselves, alright? What kind of nasty ass office do these people run that they didn’t notice the stank?

    So, in summary: If you start to stink I’ll notice.

    Fuzzy puppy hugs!
    Melody

    • First of all, I was in a client’s office today who just got back off a 3 wk European vacation. Paris, London, Berlin, Amsterdam etc; but out of all the places he went, he said Barcelona was the best, hands down. I had to smile because it made me think of you.

      Don’t care if I post, or what day of the week it is…….or both? I figured if anyone resented the implication they should have noticed, it would have been you. Of course, I would have been the only one presumptuous enough to think you should have noticed, right?

      I’ve been told I act like my ‘stuff’ doesn’t stink, so I would have probably still been quite pleasant after 5 days.

      That story really had to be made up; there is no possible way unless they worked in a refrigerator. He would have been smelling the 2nd day for sure…….

      Yes, since I do want to be socially acceptable, please feel free to be the first to comment if I become odoriferous at any time.

      Good to see you today Melody; thanks for stopping by.

      • Awwwwww, Bill. Of course I would notice if you stopped posting! I love poking at you. With a long stick. To see if you’re still alive… I just don’t care what day of the week it is. In other words, every day is potentially Bill day. πŸ˜‰

        Oh yeah and Barcelona definitely has all those other cities beat. Would I choose to live anyplace less than totally awesome? Yeah… I think not.

    • Long stick like you would poke a sleeping lion in his lion cage, huh?

      I’m glad to hear about Barcelona; it wasn’t even on my radar until my friend said it was the best place he visited. He talked about the beaches being right there and the place was hoppin’; vibrant and alive. Sounds intriguing indeed……….

      Why don’t you have a great weekend, ok? Puppy hugs and puppy breath back at ya.

  15. I used to have a schedule too Bill. Now, I’m just writing and publishing when I feel like it. I love to write, but I love my freedom more.

    That being said, I have no clue when the people I follow closely publish new posts. I come by when I have the time, and sometimes it’s several times a day, other times it’s once a week. I’m not doing too well on social. I’m occupied with work and the novel, and I’m replying to everything on social, but that’s about it. I’m going to have to start over again in January. That’s the month I’ll make it all happen πŸ™‚

    I’m still trying to figure out if the story about the dead worker was a joke or not. If not, it could only have happened in the US πŸ™‚

    • Maybe in a colder state; he would be stinking pretty quickly down here, but then again we might not think too much about the smell……….:).

      I’m trying to be social enough to be seen but do not want to be a slave to a schedule at this point. It’s just hard for me to break some of these old habits knowing how the ‘game’ is supposed to be played.

      I think those of us who follow many, sometimes like the reprieve if someone decides not to post, huh?

      Well, if you do start over in January, I’m sure you will be much wiser this time around.

      So good to see you my friend; appreciate your thoughts.

  16. Are you trying to depress me?! WT??? did this man not have family or anyone who loved him enough to note he was missing?!? Didn’t his iPhone ring endlessly and texts come pouring in? Didn’t anyone make a FB plea or a Google+ comment to their circles?!? GEEZ!! I remarked about how Kaarina had more people comment on my vlog about her than I would have show up at my funeral?! I’m starting to feel paranoid here!

    I defy all rules here or screw them up depending how you look at it … I am the most erratic blog poster and it drives me nuts. I get whacked out about it and then do 4 or 5 in one week and the next only one. Oh well, I’m ok with it though because I really try to add something when I do post. I’m also finding though that I’m really the only one who care and maybe you because I don’t get comments like the rest of the bloggers in the world. Is there such thing as bloggers “bad breath” I swear I brush at least 2 times a day! πŸ˜‰

    I really enjoy this blogging journey and selfishly I do a lot of it for myself, as it satisfies a greater need – the writer in me. The one thing I’ve learned is that if WGB ended tomorrow (it won’t) I would choose to continue to blog; however, possible under a different guise – I have a bigger vision in my head and if I’m blessed enough, I’ll be able to tie it all together one day!

    I miss you when you blog and then I wonder if you’re having a good day and hope that life is always good for you … I’m serious because gosh darnit I like you!! πŸ™‚ You’re funny and your “spot” is always reserved … blogger or not!!

    Blue skies,

    Elena

    • Thanks for the kind words and keep that seat at the table open. Sometimes I still scratch my head at why some get more comments than others. I do know some people only show up at the ‘right’ places because it helps their numbers and metrics. If you are not in the ‘in’ crowd there is a good chance you will never see them, regardless of how many times you visit them. I’m fine with that however; I know how the game is played and if I ever want to play it like that then I’ll start paying more attention.

      For now, I just want to keep it somewhat light and fun and talk with my friends.

      I’m glad you are around and I enjoy stopping by your place.

      So good to see you and hope you have had a good week. I’ll bump into you soon.

  17. Hi Bill,
    When Calvin Coolidge ,who wasn’t what one might call a colorful charismatic president, died Dorothy Parker (an intellectual wit and writer) remarked “How can you tell?”
    Riley

  18. Hey, Bill.

    I may not have been around here in your blog much, but I do miss you and you are one of those people who always make me feel that I am still missed, so who am I not to miss you back? I would be pretty ungrateful if I won’t miss you once in a while, won’t I? πŸ˜‰ But, really, joking aside and all, I miss you, big guy…I even miss Skypeing with you and Kaarina. 😦

    And, hey, as Shonali said, you don’t blend in well because you.are.a.standout! Who won’t with that leopard-print thong and those car gifts you love flaunting about so much??

    Love you, Bill. Monday posts or not. πŸ™‚

    • I think it was the leopard print thong that took me from an also-ran to totally over the top. Sometimes you just have to let go of your insecurities, huh?

      I do appreciate your kind words and like I told Shonali, you have a total hall pass. I know what’s going on in your life and the last thing you have to worry about is a whiny blogger trying to get some attention.

      I’m glad you are able to make the effort to even be around. It would be very easy for you to just shut it down for awhile, but I do know it’s income for you and money is always good, right?

      Thanks for stopping by as it is always appreciated.

  19. I came by Monday and saw no post, then the landlord came over and well…that was it for blog reading.

    I have only been a few places. My most visited sites this week are Indeed. com and Craigslist. I also spend a lot of time messaging friends who are helping with my current situation.

    I notice dips and drops. I get used to when people post, and if it is not there, I may not remember to go back. That has more to do with me and my ADD than you.

    Anyway, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

    • You have way too much going on to worry about whether I posted or not. There was a time I might have thought it was a slight that no one noticed or commented, but it wasn’t even a blip on the radar. In fact, I was hoping it would have been longer that no one noticed so I could have really milked it for effect.

      In reality, most of my regulars did notice and I even had a fair amount of traffic that day. However, I did have to find a way to turn a real life situation into a funny post, right?

      I hope all of your efforts are helping you gain some traction to improve your situation; I know it has to be mentally draining, especially at Christmas time.

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by, now go take care of business………:)

  20. I noticed. You have a small checkbox in this form,”notify me of the new post”. I did not receive your mail. But then I thought maybe it was me who missed your post :).

  21. For the record, I did notice. But you post on Mondays, so it’s pretty easy to move on into the normal Monday madness. Figured you just got caught up. I haven’t kept to a schedule since I started this thing (which I know is bad), so it is no shock to me when someone else misses their normal dates.

    Don’t worry — if it had gone on more than a week I would have called Polk county search and rescue! πŸ™‚

    I think part of being one of the “last persons standing” is pacing yourself so you don’t burnout. While goals and hard work are the only way to accomplish anything with it, I think that for most if blogging becomes a chore (and its not their primary gig), it won’t last.

    Interesting discussion. Have a great weekend Bill!

    • And of course, all of these slights are just things I conjure up in my own mind while the world continues to turn with our without me, right? I knew what was going to happen so I had to let it play out a few days to make it a post. I was going to wait a whole week but people started reaching out too quickly………….:).

      Yes, if blogging becomes a chore it would be easy to walk away from. I do like it when an ‘idea’ pops into my head and I can have some fun with it and put it in print.

      I use my reader as my guide to when people post or not; sometimes it takes me a few days to notice something out of the routine.

      Good to see you and hope you have a great weekend.

  22. Ok, what an apt post for me to ‘be back!’ Don’t worry Bill, you really are one of the best and I did miss you…but because I was too busy to read any of your posts! But I plan to attack them as soon as I can.

    Life is funny and for people like me who blog ‘just for kicks’ it is hard to ‘convince’ people that I am a ‘serious blogger’ (my family is kind of getting tired every time I mention that word) but then doing it regularly requires some kind of effort and if you are able to do it then wow! πŸ™‚

    Ok, I am kind of sad for the worker, and it makes me wonder about people in my office who have been staring at their screens for long… time to shake up a few people and find out!

    • Hypnotized by the screen or have left us, huh? That story didn’t sound too real to me however. There are some people in my office I better do the poke test with though…:).

      I can take the smallest thing and have fun with it even if there is only an ounce of truth in the purpose of my post. I really did not expect the search parties to come out on Monday when they didn’t see me. That would be pretty presumptuous, huh?

      I’m very happy to see you back and hopefully you can be around for awhile; it is always a pleasure to see you.

      Hope all is well and you have a great weekend………….if it’s not already over for you…:)

  23. Well, you accomplished one thing with your post– you got me laughing numerous times, which is not an easy feat. ;}

    I know a lot of bloggers say to schedule your posts and work ahead, but I am more of the mind that you should write as you feel inclined. As you said, no one other than you is going to notice if you did not keep your weekly posting schedule– and if you are busy enough, you may not even notice it. Sometimes we put more pressure on ourselves than everyone else combined.

    But it sounds like you are getting inspired in regards to your business, so that is a good thing. Each “season” is different, and your focus may shift slightly. No need to force yourself to create posts if you are not feeling so inspired. The inspiration will likely come back at a later date.

    Enjoy your day.

    • Hey J Lo, this was your chance to get me back from teasing you at Allie’s………….thanks for stopping by.

      I have tried the partial posts in draft and probably have 10 in there now; but when I go back to them they don’t do much for me. It probably is better just to write when inspired if you want to put out your best stuff, huh?

      In one post I talk about how I need to keep this fun if I’m going to sustain my presence and not worry about numbers or anything; and then on the other hand I talk about keeping my schedule. I need to make up my mind, right?

      I’m glad it put a smile on your face and got a laugh; that is what makes it worthwhile for me.

      I hope you have a great weekend.

      • Bill,

        Thanks for your reply.

        I think you need to do whatever tactic works for you at the particular time. Why not use both strategies if they both work for you? I do keep a running list of either titles or topics to jog my memory, but if something really catches me, I go with it. For me, it just kind of all tumbles out (I consider it like child labor), so I better just take advantage of the inspiration. I have been doing that, and having too many posts at once, so I have been learning to schedule them for automatic posting, which is so fun and novel to me still. πŸ˜‰

        I think people get too into stats, SEO, scheduling, etc. and forget what the whole point of a blog is. Your blog should be a place of refuge for you, not just another item on the “To Do” checklist.

        Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • And you don’t know how much that is appreciated; maybe I should place the 300 word rule in effect, huh? I can get wordy but have thought about shortening the posts; sometimes easy to read is good in this busy world.

      So good to see you, thanks for enduring…….:)

Leave a Reply

