Is it time to change your membership

Membership to what; the lifetime achievement award, AAA? In this case, it is my gym membership but I have a story to share along with it.

Can’t you stick with anything?

Let me share a little history first. I’ve been married almost 29 years; I’ve been at my current place of employment for 28 + years; I live in the town where I went to high school X years ago; do you see a pattern here?

As you can see, I can be pretty predictable. I rearrange the money in my wallet just to mix things up.

But don’t think routine is boring; I’m still Mr Excitement, just ask me.

My YMCA gym story is, I was a member for 20 + years; about 10 years ago I had the opportunity to run one of our offices in another community that did not have a Y. Therefore, I joined one of the big box gyms. 3 years ago we consolidated that office back into our main office so I have been back in town since then. However, because I can be too lazy to change, I just transferred the gym membership to the local big box instead of dropping it and going back to the Y.

There are a lot of things I like about the big box gym and just like in social, I have made a lot of friends there as well. However, and I have struggled with pulling the trigger, I have made the decision to go back to the Y. I’m on their board of directors, so it’s the ‘right’ thing to do.

The gym looks like social to me

If you belong to a gym, one thing you will notice that is very common with social is the ebb and flow of members.

People join up all gung-ho and ready to go at 90 miles per hour but can’t maintain the pace and eventually drop out and just go away. I still see them around town, just like I see some of the dropouts in social with the phantom tweets, but essentially they are done.

I used to be an avid runner and jokingly say my strategy is to ‘start slow, and taper off from there’…….this isn’t far from the truth because you have to find a pace that works for you if you want any sustainability. This is especially true in social. I see people bust out of the gate like it’s a dash and they find out it’s a marathon instead.

Are you ever going to grow up?

I had to throw this in since my last post was about ‘names’ and my gym reference made me think of this.

Every time I get around my buddies in the gym we seem to revert to a high school mentality and can be very juvenile at times. Most of you might find that hard to believe about me because I’m always so serious, but I truly believe this is the hook that keeps me young.

In the gym especially, everybody seems to pick up a nickname and like social where you will see some of these people more regularly, it is more prone for this to happen.

Nemo– this was an older gentlemen who would come into the shower with his mask and snorkel on after swimming. Huh?

Band shoes – he only showed up a few times, but was ill prepared to work out and would show up in dark dress shoes hence the moniker ‘band shoes’.

Mr Moron – this guy really was a certifiable idiot; you didn’t want him on your basketball team but sometimes couldn’t help it.

The black hole – when we played basketball, if you threw the ball into him you knew it was never coming back out. He never met a shot he didn’t like.

Panel Van – this dude was scary and stinky. He seriously looked like Lurch. He was very anti-social and we surmised he was a serial killer.

Action figure – this guy was a pro body builder and he looked like a beefed up G I Joe doll.

Do you recognize any of these people? Yes, I had a name but we will share it in another post.

So this is about as deep as it gets with my crew; I don’t think you will find a  Nobel Laureate among us.

Let’s wrap it up here

Change does not always come easy to me, but I can embrace it. Some change creates new opportunities and can be fun and exciting like social was when I first got in. However, some change seems to happen too quickly; let me get comfortable with the first change, ok?

What did we learn today?

Dorman poorly tried to weave two unrelated stories into one, and nobody really cares what gym I belong to. Did I tell you I went to Starbucks?

How do you like them apples?

73 thoughts on “Is it time to change your membership

    • Routine is good in some cases and if it isn’t broke then why fix it, huh? Sometimes it is hard to tell when change is better until after the fact. Sometimes change is just different and nothing else.

      What I find in social and with the social platforms, change is a given (and sometimes too much) or they feel they will become obsolete.

      Good to see you Riley.

  1. Bill,

    Ok, so change is hard. Your gym buddies have nicknames. And you are predictable. Guy life is no different than chick life. Although, the names we give other women is not very friendly and we can’t say them around the kids.

    Change gets harder as you get older. When I was younger I wondered why old people just wouldn’t take plastic over those damn paper bags! And they STILL drink Folgers. Don’t they know you can get fresh coffee now?

    I’m not saying you’re old, I’m not far behind you (I think, you’re looking about 29 these days. Like I said, I’m not far behind you.) I’m just saying if you are going to do any kind of change do it sooner than later, it gets harder and harder. Like being 85 years old and if you don’t eat that grape fruit every morning after your walk, you’ll be crabby all day. It messes up your nap and your mid-morning game show watching.

    Have a great day, in your sunny state! Here? The wind is back!!! I have sun but with a price. Argh! I’ll be miss grumpy butt again today. LOL.

    ~Allie

    • What? I am 29, whadda ya mean? I guess if I start dropping all these years in here people have a pretty good idea I’ve been around for awhile, huh?

      I think the one thing that did happen is I took the time to look up and see how many years had actually passed but I essentially was doing the same thing.

      As far as work is concerned, some of the core stuff we do is the same but I have seen quite a few changes in the insurance industry. And it was one of those things that you had to get on board or you might as well get out.

      I could truly see myself doing the same thing for at least the next 15 years with no problem whatsoever.

      You mention the 85 yr old; there are certain routines I have in my day and every once in awhile there is a disruption. It can be funny how discombobulated you feel when something just isn’t quite right………..:).

      It got chilly last night; I was playing tennis in 48 degree weather…………….brrrrrr, but it’s supposed to be sunny, breezy and 73 today. In case you wanted to know…..

      Don’t be a grumpy butt………….thanks for stopping by.

  2. Hey Bill – nice comparison between gym members and social media! I like the marathon idea – it really is a long distance run, NOT a sprint!
    I’m interested in change! 😉 I used to hate it but I’m getting to like it a lot!
    More on that later! Starbucks eh? Which flavour?
    Lori

    • My Starbucks drink is the Venti Redeye; that’s the large coffee with a shot of espresso. Good stuff indeed…………..

      Change is ok; I just feel in social and with some of the platforms it is too much, too often. They feel like if they aren’t changing and growing, they are going backwards. I don’t know what the happy medium is. Change just for the sake of change is not necessarily a good thing.

      Having said that, I do embrace change and want to keep the attitude that I will at least give it a try.

      Good to see you; see you again in about an hour I hope. My computer was running slow this morning.

  3. Wow, you still live in the same town. I bet it’s a whole heck of a lot better then where I grew up. Exxon plant is right across the street so you can imagine the type of people the town ended up attracting. Not a great place to live after awhile. Yep, I escaped over 20 years ago.

    Some things are good being settled into, I admit. I fought against change for the longest time but soon realized that some of it was just inevitable. Not so bad really, once you stick your toe in. I do laugh at my Mom at lot though. That woman fights change a lot in certain areas but others, she’ll give it a try. Did I tell you she’s an emailing fool?

    I enjoy your ramblings Bill, your stories that don’t relate and your examples of just things. Brightens my day to not have something serious to think about. Yep, I enjoy visiting your place and seeing what you’ve come up with next. Keep it up my “old” friend! 🙂

    So have a great day and I’ll definitely catch you later,

    ~Adrienne

    • Routine is ok, but if you are willing to change when necessary and can embrace it, I think it can provide the proper balance. I might not do too well if I had no routine and everything was always chaos.

      Yep, I’m not going to make you think too deeply around here. All you have to do is show up, which is something I have mastered well.

      We know ‘old’, huh; and it’s not us………………..:).

      Thanks for the comments.

  4. Okay, I got a chuckle out of this. Your names for the gym people are funny, I’m interested…what names did you give the women? Can’t wait for That post, lol. I’ll be back for more!

    • JOIN TEAM JOEY NATION!BUFFALO WILD WINGS IN AUBURN, IN Wednesday NOV. 14th from 6-8(Come on out!) You may contact for coupons. 10% of all food purchases will be donated to help JOEY!**TEAM JOEY Christmas Extravaganza** Mark your Calendar!!Date: November 17th, 2012Time: 12:00pm – 5:00pmLocation: Auburn First Christian Church,910 N. Indiana Ave. Auburn, IN (Just south of Rieke Park) SANTA will be there for a photo Opp, bring your camera, take all the pictures you need and make your Christmas Cards perfect, coloring table for kids to color pages for the Keller’s, Party lite candles, Premier Designs, a Certified Massage Therapist (for on the spot massage), home made Jams, bake sale, 31, Vault Denim, home made blankets, scarves and purses and many more things! SILENT AUCTION: Debrands chocolates gift baskets, American doll clothes, Cookie cottage gift baskets, Italian Grille gift cert, Albright’s Grocery gift Cert., movie baskets, longaberger baskets, Vera Bradley Bags and MUCH MUCH MORE! Please join us in making this a SUCCESS FOR JOEY!!!! Please share and mark your Calendar!

    • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

    • For me this is a relatively easy question, but has a pretty complex answer. The specialty I have actually looked forward to working with is OB/GYN. I find that the ability of a woman’s body to produce a child, endure the amount of abuse it takes during a pregnancy, and the amount of pain endured during delivery is amazing. The joy of being able to be present as life enters the world is truly one of the greatest moments in life. To me that would be the best possible option. I also would love working in the operating room with a surgeon. I have experienced the OR quite a few times, and have been on both “sides” of the table. I have to say I would love to work with any surgeon in the OR except for Orthopedics. The reason behind that is the surgery’s are pretty brutal when it comes to the skeletal system. Having been in the OR with an Orthopedic surgeon and seeing the use of the saws, hammers and other heavy equipment in order to perform the surgery just sends chills up my spine. I know that type of surgery is not for me. I think my favorite surgeries have to be that of the abdominal cavity. The specialties that I would least like to work for are few, and for simple reasons. Pediatrics is not a specialty for me since I have four children of my own. My Aunt is a neonatal nurse practitioner and I followed her in high school and saw the good, the bad, and the ugly so I can honestly say I could not emotionally handle that type of position. Podiatry is also an area I could not see myself working. The reason behind this is pretty silly, but here goes, I very much dislike other peoples feet especially if they are not well kept. I know in the medical field you will encounter feet on a daily basis, but I could not mainly work with feet on an everyday basis. My last specialty is Orthopedics for the reasons I noted above about the “barbaric” nature of the surgeries and treatments for the musculoskeletal system. Its just not for me.

  5. What? You think a bunch of guys would come up with names for the women? That would be treading on very thin ice, I’m sure.

    With the women, the biggest thing we joke about is how much harder we seem to be able to work out when they are around. Just like a peacock, we have to show off and strut our stuff, huh?

    Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment.

  6. Wow, Bill, I thought for sure you were 28. Until you started talking about your kids in their 20’s. I’m thinking you were a very young groom. 🙂

    I totally “got” your post because I just got back home from the gym. I joined the gym when I moved to Pennsylvania 7 years ago, and it quickly became my main social circle because we all shared a racquetball bond. I met great friends and came up with fun nicknames for all of them, “Radio Mark, Karate Mark, No Mercy Bob, Push’ Em Back Jack, Chill, YoHar.” I didn’t have a nickname, at least none that they would admit to!

    But then I left for England and when I moved back very few of the guys were still at the club. Quite a few had lost their jobs, some had been injured. I was only gone four years but it seemed like 20.

    I played with two new guys today. The game is fun, but it just isn’t the same without the camaraderie. Luckily I have the blogging community for that!

    Thanks for your great post, Bill!

    • That is why I’m dragging me feet because I do have some great relationships. However, because I am on the Y board and even though they are already getting my time and treasure, I think it’s the right thing to do.

      I’ve seen some people leave the gym and then they pop back up a yr or so later, but for the most part they are done; they never reach the level they previously had. It’s funny, I run into people and remember them from the gym 20 yrs ago. We might not know each other’s name but we can say ‘hey, aren’t you the guy from the gym’?

      I probably have about 10 nicknames, it just depends who I’m talking to.

      The blogging community is good for the camaraderie, but like the gym, it is very fluid as well.

  7. Hey Bill, I like Lori’s assessment of your comparison; it really is about the long distance run, and most folks aren’t prepared nor committed to the amount of work and follow-through it takes to get the desired results.

    There are no quick-fixes or shortcuts to being in great shape, building a successful business, or building a rockin’ social media presence.

    I’m not sure where you’ll be with this social media stuff in the next year, two or three… but because you invest so much of yourself here – you’ll be able to take it wherever you want and your friends will help you along the way. That is pretty cool in my book.

    Cheers Mr. Bill : p

    • It has a relative ease of entry and appears to be cheap to get in so people probably think ‘how hard can this be anyway’? Of course, we know that is not the case and your time is worth something so that alone can make it a very expensive proposition. At some point you need a return on investment, but it doesn’t always have to be a money return; there are other rewards social can provide that make it worthwhile.

      I hope I have reached a level of sustainability and it took me awhile to figure out where that level was, but I do hope to be around for the next 2-3 years.

      I hope you can find a sustainability level as well and we get to have you around for awhile as well. So good to see you and thanks for providing your thoughts.

    • You burn calories based on how far you run (ie 1 mile). Speed only has a slhigt change in the amount of calories you will burn as the end result. Weight-loss tries to keep you at a speed that doesn’t wear you out too quickly but doesn’t have you walking for 30 minutes just to get to 1 mile.

    • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

  8. Hi Bill,

    How fitting to come and read this after our hangout about change…
    I love your comparison between the gym and social media. I have the luxury of going to the gym during the slowest hours, so that I always have my choice of machines and never have to wait. But I’m never alone and because it’s not so busy, I have a lot of opportunity to observe others. There are the showoffs who grunt and sometimes even shout loudly during each rep. They want attention. I guess these would be the people that tweet and FB about freaking EVERYTHING. I don’t really care that you took a poo. I mean good for you and all, but really?? Then there are those that sprint from machine to machine, trying out everything, with no real plan. Those would be the people who try every new gadget and gimmick. I could go on, but you get the idea.

    Also, I do find it hard to believe that you can be juvenile sometimes. Seriously – SOMETIMES?? Yeah… not buying it, dude. You may have these other people fooled, but anyone who eyes my Bombay Gin the way you did has more than a bit of frat boy in him. Just saying…

    Ta!
    Melody

    • It takes a trained eye………………

      And of course, you took the observation even deeper. I was talking about the ebb and flow of membership and you delved deeper into the actual workout itself and how it compares to online personalities. But then again, you are smart like that so I expected it.

      When I figured out I wasn’t going to be the leading man type I had to fall back on something, so humor and silliness seemed to be a good fit. I like to think I’m like George Clooney, except he got the looks too……………:)

      Thanks for stopping by and it was great to see you at the Google chat; hope to see you next time as well.

      • Christmas Cookie Walk at Agape Church of the BrethrenDon’t have time to make homemade cookies or candy for the holidays? Don’t like to bake? Have a last minute get-together and need dessert? We have the solution for YOU! Come to the “Christmas Cookie Walk” at Agape Church of the Brethren, 11610 Lima Rd. (between Carroll and Dupont Roads) on Saturday, December 8, from 9:00 A.M. to 12:00 noon. We will have many different varieties to tempt your taste buds. Some of the cookies featured will be: holiday cut-outs, buckeyes, peanut butter blossoms, monster cookies, and many more. We will also have a limited number of homemade Chocolate Covered Caramel Apples decorated for Christmas. Mark your calendars and get there early for best selection of these yummy treats at only $6.00/lb. Proceeds will be used for Women’s Fellowship projects and Outreach Ministries.In addition, holiday and gift items, handmade by Agape craftpersons, will be sold. A variety of wooden, quilted, knitted, crocheted, and “crafty” specialties are available with proceeds going to the Agape Women’s Fellowship projects. AND the youth group will be selling HUGE jelly beans as a fund raiser for their activities.Lots will be happening – hope you can join us! For more information call the church office at 260-489-6908.

      • For me this is a relatively easy question, but has a pretty complex answer. The specialty I have actually looked forward to working with is OB/GYN. I find that the ability of a woman’s body to produce a child, endure the amount of abuse it takes during a pregnancy, and the amount of pain endured during delivery is amazing. The joy of being able to be present as life enters the world is truly one of the greatest moments in life. To me that would be the best possible option. I also would love working in the operating room with a surgeon. I have experienced the OR quite a few times, and have been on both “sides” of the table. I have to say I would love to work with any surgeon in the OR except for Orthopedics. The reason behind that is the surgery’s are pretty brutal when it comes to the skeletal system. Having been in the OR with an Orthopedic surgeon and seeing the use of the saws, hammers and other heavy equipment in order to perform the surgery just sends chills up my spine. I know that type of surgery is not for me. I think my favorite surgeries have to be that of the abdominal cavity. The specialties that I would least like to work for are few, and for simple reasons. Pediatrics is not a specialty for me since I have four children of my own. My Aunt is a neonatal nurse practitioner and I followed her in high school and saw the good, the bad, and the ugly so I can honestly say I could not emotionally handle that type of position. Podiatry is also an area I could not see myself working. The reason behind this is pretty silly, but here goes, I very much dislike other peoples feet especially if they are not well kept. I know in the medical field you will encounter feet on a daily basis, but I could not mainly work with feet on an everyday basis. My last specialty is Orthopedics for the reasons I noted above about the “barbaric” nature of the surgeries and treatments for the musculoskeletal system. Its just not for me.

  9. Make the switch Bill. Make the switch; you are on the board for Chrissakes!

    I have always gone just to work out. I talk to no one at the gym. I don’t rat tale anyone in the locker room. I friend no one. I smile at no one. Though I will sneak peaks at the cute women working out I have never befriended any, hit on, or asked any out in my 25 years of going to a gym (I know how unamerican)

    But then I got an Android and now I spend time tweeting my personal account and running a clients. And I have met 3 to 4 people I say hello to. But still I go to exercise.

    But I have seen you at my gyms of years past. And the people you described. I was always that prick saying ‘Hurry up and finish your sets dude’….’This is the gym talk to her on your own time buck-o’….’Stop the rough housing because someone is going to lose an eye’

    I will say your life has been admirable, successful, and we have been similar in our work since this is only my 3rd gig in 15 years which is rare for people now days.

    Yep. Oh and I will take a Grande Non-Fat Ice Mocha with 2 extra shots of espresso please.

    • I’m only social enough to say hello. I am NOT the guy who talks all the time and never gets the workout done. I am a man on a mission and don’t like to engage in deep conversation that will take over 60 seconds……….

      What I hate is to have my routine in mind and your are doing some circuit training on 3 stations and soon as you get started someone comes and camps out on one of your stations……………..doh……………..they get the Gruden stink eye………..

      My prior membership at the Y is where I played b-ball and we certainly had some characters there. The big box gym is where I go just to work out.

      My drink of choice at Starbuck’s is the Venti Redeye; large coffee w/ a single shot of espresso……

      • Christmas Cookie Walk at Agape Church of the BrethrenDon’t have time to make homemade cookies or candy for the holidays? Don’t like to bake? Have a last minute get-together and need dessert? We have the solution for YOU! Come to the “Christmas Cookie Walk” at Agape Church of the Brethren, 11610 Lima Rd. (between Carroll and Dupont Roads) on Saturday, December 8, from 9:00 A.M. to 12:00 noon. We will have many different varieties to tempt your taste buds. Some of the cookies featured will be: holiday cut-outs, buckeyes, peanut butter blossoms, monster cookies, and many more. We will also have a limited number of homemade Chocolate Covered Caramel Apples decorated for Christmas. Mark your calendars and get there early for best selection of these yummy treats at only $6.00/lb. Proceeds will be used for Women’s Fellowship projects and Outreach Ministries.In addition, holiday and gift items, handmade by Agape craftpersons, will be sold. A variety of wooden, quilted, knitted, crocheted, and “crafty” specialties are available with proceeds going to the Agape Women’s Fellowship projects. AND the youth group will be selling HUGE jelly beans as a fund raiser for their activities.Lots will be happening – hope you can join us! For more information call the church office at 260-489-6908.

      • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

  10. I actually let out a laugh hearing about the gym friends. That is comedy gold right there! 🙂 I agree all of this is a marathon, do too much and you will burn out totally. I like to be consistent with everything.

    I group all my bills together and facing the same direction. If I want to have some excitement i put them in my wallet backwards. 🙂

    • I mix the money all up; some are upside down, inside out, etc. I used to have them nice and orderly and somebody made fun so I had to show them I could let the money exist in my wallet in a crazy fashion. See, I’m wild and crazy…….

      I like to people watch; the gym provided an environment where you see some of the same people over and over, which makes it conducive to ‘tag’ them after awhile.

      Good to see you at the chat today; hope you get your ‘stuff’ resolved soon.

    • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

  11. Bill,

    You revert to a high school mentality and can be very juvenile at times? … No! 🙂

    Your monikers really do remind me of my father. When he discussed the neighbors, he never, ever used their real names. It was, “Sweatpants” because that’s all the guy wore. “Shorty” because, well … “Mr and Mrs. Loud,” “Crazy Lady,” “El-Creepo,” “Coach” and my favorite, “Denny the Dipsh*t” 🙂 The guy had a thing for nicknames for sure.

    I like the pattern here. Can you keep it up? 😉

    It seems to me that you did come in at 90 miles an hour and are still going at that pace, honestly, especially with the commenting. Maybe you’re just one of those people who can keep up the pace.

    I do miss some of the people you’ve mentioned in the past though, especially Ingrid (aka “Griddy”). I hope she has plans to jump back in.

    Nice post, Bill. Now I hope Al Smith doesn’t do a drive by and start calling you and me names 🙂 Sticks and stones …, right?

    • Yeah, Al is a little brutal on his; I try to stay under his radar.

      I didn’t include donger in my list but probably don’t have to tell you how that name came about.

      In my neighborhood growing up, they were calling each other by their initials: WK, JD, AD, etc. I don’t think anybody else called them that which I thought was pretty humorous.

      A lot depends on what you want to get of social as to how much and what direction you need to go in. Regardless however, it has to be sustainable and allow you to have a life outside social.

      Good to see you; hope you have been well.

    • Just don’t get between him and his dinner plate…………:). It was a blast; he was nowhere near as cute as Gini and Shonali but it was fun breaking bread with him anyway.

  12. Hey Bill,

    I am not afraid of change but I don’t always hustle off to meet it unless there is a need. In many ways I really am “if it is not broke than why fix it” kind of guy. I am often a creature of habit and I don’t have a problem with it.

    Life is a marathon and while I run to do many things and do my best to live my dreams I will always remember to sustain my effort. Success often comes from being able to take one more step than the other guy so that pace you talk about is important.

    • I concur; I’m not afraid of it but won’t necessarily seek it out unless there is a need. I too can be a creature of habit.

      If you can’t sustain your efforts you will eventually have to find your plan B anyway.

      Social is a war of attrition to some degree and if you are the one taking one more step then that could be the difference in success or not.

  13. I’ll take a Tim Hortons, large, with one milk and one cream please. Oh yeah…you don’t have Tim’s there, do you? Shame…

    Interesting that I’m reading this after our hangout. I love change, embrace it, but I never change for change sake.

    When I played varsity basketball in university (yes, at 5’4″, I did…guard, of course), we all had names for each other, very few of which are G-rated for public consumption.

    You have money in your wallet? Cheers! Kaarina

    • Oh, so no low post moves, huh; always straight up to the basket. Be careful, Jack might try to school you on the court and with that wide ass he has, I hear he can clear out a lane…………

      Big Al and I talked about you today…………:). Were your ears burning?

      I have $2 left in my wallet after lugging Al around; good thing he quit drinking.

      I hope you have a great weekend and can run in that winter wonderland.

      • Was that the ringing in my ears? Great photo of you two, but I was expecting the beach and thong and flip flops version too!

        I am running in snow: no snowshoes required yet, haha! And Jack…we need to play ball sometime:) I shall show you all my 5’4″ guard moves.

        And Bill…I’m sending you a cyber Tims as I type. Did you get it? Cheers! Kaarina

        • I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

    • Rather than a weekly updtae, why not use the Praxis graphs; instead of having the x-axis as 24 hours, have it for the winter season, say Oct 1 to May 1 (we don’t usually have snow outside of those months). You could plot last year’s data as yesterday’s’ data, as well as add a third line for the 30 year average (might just be steps of monthly long term averages?). Then we could see this winter grow above (or below) the line and know exactly where we stand every 15 minutes! Oh the excitement.

    • I am currently finishing up my BA in Child Development and Family Studies and thus far I have only work with children from 2 weeks to adolescent while helping support their families. The Physician that I would want to work under is an Obstetrics (OB) because they are in direct contact with pregnant women and their children during pregnancy. I would choose this particular specialty for a variety of reason such as having the opportunity to see individuals become parent for the first time, seeing how much love is surrounded in the process, being there to help the mothers while there in a vulnerable state. One of my main reasons is because I think that the whole birthing process is fascinating and to be able to be a part of family’s lives while going through this process, I imagine to be extremely rewarding.A of physician specialty that I would least want to work with would be a psychiatrist. Although I believe that psychiatrist do some spectacular work and help a lot of people through difficult situations I personally believe that this job would be to emotionally draining and overwhelming for me. This makes me question whether or not I would be able to handle it. When I set out to do a job my goal is to do the best that I can and I don’t feel that I could successfully do this job to the best of my ability.

  14. Funny, I actually thought about the business side of this story. Think how much time the big box had to cement a relationship with you and get your loyalty, but your past loyalty to the Y is stronger. Granted, the Board thing is pretty big, but sounds like your “loyalty” at the big box is more to the buddies you see there than the biz.

    Not very social at the gym myself. I keep the headphones on and do weird exercises that make everyone stare at me. 🙂

    • Actually, the big box did a great job of keeping me ‘hooked’ because I was ready to switch the membership as soon as I got back. Their staff is very engaging and kept me around 2 1/2 yrs longer than I had planned. I will miss them too………

      I like the workout facilities better at the big box, but I’m a Y guy and for all it stands for; it was time.

      SO, you are that dude…….we definitely have some names for you………..:). We have one guy at our place who stands on his head and works his legs back and forth. I’m impressed with his balance, but I don’t think it’s impressing the women………just sayin’… Actually, I do some non-traditional stuff in my routine as well; just trying to mix it up.

      Had lunch with Big Al today; we talked about you. Don’t worry, I told him you were cool so you can maintain the persona.

      Thanks for dropping by; hope your weekend goes well.

      • Yeah, I’m definitely that dude at the gym. Thanks for not using those names publicly.

        And thanks for keeping the persona alive for Al — I need all the help I can get maintaining the illusion. 🙂

        Have a great weekend!

  15. Ah, the gym. I have joined so many times, and quit every single time. I have even tried new type of gyms, with fancy equipment that I thought would make me even more interested, but I still didn’t feel comfortable. Last time I joined a gym, I showed up one time and paid for six months.

    I’m not sure why I’m not comfortable. But like social, it might have worked out if I automated it 🙂

    Just kidding. It was the drive, the opening hours, the bad weather, my kids, my wife working late etc… I found all sorts of excuses. Now, all the excercise I get is by walking (everywhere) and running a few times a week.

    I’m also a little in your league when it comes to routine. I’m living in the same town as I went to high school, I’ve been working at the university for 10 years, and I’ve been together with my wife for 20 years.

    But, when it comes to social I’m experimenting all the time…

    • The gym is a lot like social in that way too; it can seem intimidating just getting started and it looks like everybody there already knows what they are doing. The other thing is, it is a ‘workout’; it can make you sore and not want to come back.

      The walking and running is certainly good. I like the gym because hopefully it is making me healthier so I can continue to be mobile and enjoy things as I age AND it has a social aspect………..imagine that………

      It’s good to have a ‘comfort’ zone with certain things in your life so you feel more confident when you step out there to experiment with something.

      Good to see you, hope your week went well.

  16. Bill,
    Your comment section is very entertaining! I only got through 1/2!
    I’m with you on change. Life offers it, and also requires it. I’m okay with it either way, but the people part is difficult. Those characters in the gym, as much as we all joke about their craziness, are what make our lives interesting and colorful. They;re the part of the landscape that we miss the most when they’re not there by circumstance or choice. I’ve collected so many friends IRL with each move we’ve made around the country. Thank goodness for social media where we can still connect and stay current! I guess that’s what I love most about “social”. Even when you move to a new town you still live on a computer screen with all your buddies. LOL!

    • Those ‘characters’ are the flavor in life; I wonder at times how I am being described, am I unique enough to have a catchy moniker…………:).

      Did you get moved? Are you already set up in Cape Cod? I know you have a big brood, is it tough to get everyone moving in the same direction?

      Thanks for sharing, hope your weekend goes well.

  17. So…true to my gym stereotype, I’m all at it in fits and starts in social media. And, just as with my appearances at the local Y, coming back to the social media world is a bit intimidating after a three month hiatus. What if they’ve moved the equipment around again? What if no one is friendly? They’ll all know I’m a quitter?…

    But the thing about my return to exercise is that I always feel fabulous afterward. And the thing about my return to social media is that, here you are! THE Bill Dorman…as real and wonderful as ever. I’m so glad to be back in your world!

    • I saw you had a post pop and need to get over to check it out; I just saw the 1st few sentences, but it appears maybe the car career can be scratched off the bucket list?

      True to form, I still haven’t pulled the plug yet. The gym I belong to, everybody is nice and attentive; I know a lot of the people and they are nice as well………..yikes. However, I really do need to go back to the Y and pledge to make it happen this week so I can start fresh on Monday.

      I don’t know how quick you will pick up on this, but social has really worn a lot of the people down and they are posting about it. The bloom is off the rose as they say…..

      If nothing else, I have been consistent but contemplating a post that might change the landscape for me. I will let it percolate before I decide.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and can’t wait to read your story. So good to see you.

  18. Those are great nicknames, I still remember joking around by the lockers when classmates would pass by.
    You are on par with life being a marathon rather than a sprint to the finish. I’ve noticed others within my circles who will go on the whim to do something new just to get more excitement but they end up adding that activity to their routine. Instead of making the activity fun and enjoyable, they have a negative outlook on it, turning it into a monotonous cycle. I know some that join a support group, gym, or take a class and go for a few sessions and quit. To do real change and good to yourself is to do something that has some outlet for your creativity or your health. Many people neglect that too much productivity is the predecessor to failure in physical health. Sometimes change is all we need, maybe mentally but a physical move and a change in our environment is all we need. I suggest a daily walk, or run but consistency is key. That’s change right there.
    Until next time, all the best and adieu!

    • I understand having to change to grow at times. But sometimes I want to try to really get good at something before I have to leave it and try something else. In social it seems like there is something new and shiny just about every day.

      I do believe balance is needed in all parts of your life and I will admit when I first jumped in social, it did consume me for awhile.

      Some change is good and will invigorate you; some will just frustrate you. Here’s to finding the ‘right’ change, huh?

      Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your thoughts Ryan.

  19. Grande one shot soy latte OR Grande Refresh tea….so predictable. And oatmeal with 2 brown sugars in the morning. BOOOORRRRIIINNGGGG But you know? (Hang on to your hat Kaarina) it’s all about balance. So…give me a day with change….lots of beautiful change (sung to the melody of “Hair”)….as long as I can balance it with some predictability. Some comfort “food” if you will. We get comfortable in our habits….even though at one time, those habits were part of “change”. So, the Y was comfort “food”. Then you moved to a new gym and it was change….but it didn’t remain “change”….it became comfort. And now, you need to make a decision (I agree with Howie….you NEED to go back to the Y) and it involves “change”….But, in the midst of the change in your life, you know you can always find some comfort in your predictable patterns….the venti Redeye (geeezzz….really????)
    Great post (as always) Bill. You know, you are WAY more of a genius than you ever let on….just sayin’
    Claudia

    • The deed is done………..I officially pulled the trigger on the big box and have a 60-day window because of the contract; but have committed to the Y at this point.

      Sometimes when things just seem to get crazy it is nice to have your routine as a safe haven; it makes you think everything is going to be ok.

      Mine is the venti redeye at Starbucks and they don’t even ask what I want and usually have it ready before I make it to the front of the line. $3.21……..talk about predictable.

      Thanks so much for the kind words and the visit; it is always a pleasure to see you. I hope your weekend is going well.

  20. Oh, Bill!

    You always make me laugh! That’s one of the reasons why I keep coming back:) I agree that change sucks—but sometimes it’s exactly what we need. I, too, like my routine and things to be just the way they are. However, I wouldn’t be where I am without change. Sometimes it’s scary–like when I was pregnant and laid off and decided that I would start my own online business–but it might be the best thing we ever did:)

    By the way, I love the nick names for the people at the gym. People watching is one of my favorite things to do and there are always characters at the gym!

    • Thanks for the kind words; I’m glad I can put a smile on your face, it makes ‘all this’ worthwhile.

      Yes, sometimes the routine it too much and you need a little change just to shake it up. Your change with the pregnancy and job was probably pretty scary at first, but you grew because of it.

      I did officially change my membership, so let’s see what that entails now. I’m looking forward to see who I know there.

      It’s good to see you Alicia, thanks for coming by; hope all has been well.

  21. I like them apples just fine! Are they candied or caramel?

    Change can be hard for most people. When I worked at the Los Angeles Times, change management was something we spent a lot of time on. People stick with what they know and keep doing what they’re doing. Sometimes to their own detriment.

    As for the Y versus the big box, the Y is a national brand so I don’t necessary think of them as the little guys. However, I’m all for supporting local over corporate 😉

    Now, gimme ten push-ups!

    • Caramel, of course……..

      Because of technology it seems like everything is changing much more rapidly these days. That means don’t get too comfortable because you might have to learn something new to survive. The key is knowing when to hold ’em or when to fold ’em, huh?

      How about 10 jumping jacks instead?

      Good to see you Amber, thanks for coming by and leaving your thoughts.

      • National Memory Screening DayFree, confidential memory screenings for anyone concerned about memory loss and early Alzheimer’s disease detection and intervention, sponsored by Visiting Angels in cooperation with the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America.WHEN:Tuesday November 13 2012Noon – 4pmWHERE:Avalon Missionary Church. 1212 Lower Huntington Rd. Fort Wayne IN 46819INFO:National Memory Screening Day is an annual initiative of the Alzheimer’s Foundation of America (AFA). Visiting Angels is proud to be a partner in this important first step in finding out if someone has a memory problem, and in helping patients and families become aware of the resources and assistance that is available.While a memory screening is not a substitute for a consultation with a physician, it can help to determine whether additional testing is warranted. With as many as 5.1 million Americans living with Alzheimer’s disease, and many more with mild cognitive impairment and dementia, early detection and intervention can be critical to making informed decisions for greater health and quality of life.For more information on memory screening and resources to assist with ageing in place, cognitive impairment, mild dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease, contact Visiting Angels at 260-482-CARE (2273).

      • For me this is a relatively easy question, but has a pretty complex answer. The specialty I have actually looked forward to working with is OB/GYN. I find that the ability of a woman’s body to produce a child, endure the amount of abuse it takes during a pregnancy, and the amount of pain endured during delivery is amazing. The joy of being able to be present as life enters the world is truly one of the greatest moments in life. To me that would be the best possible option. I also would love working in the operating room with a surgeon. I have experienced the OR quite a few times, and have been on both “sides” of the table. I have to say I would love to work with any surgeon in the OR except for Orthopedics. The reason behind that is the surgery’s are pretty brutal when it comes to the skeletal system. Having been in the OR with an Orthopedic surgeon and seeing the use of the saws, hammers and other heavy equipment in order to perform the surgery just sends chills up my spine. I know that type of surgery is not for me. I think my favorite surgeries have to be that of the abdominal cavity. The specialties that I would least like to work for are few, and for simple reasons. Pediatrics is not a specialty for me since I have four children of my own. My Aunt is a neonatal nurse practitioner and I followed her in high school and saw the good, the bad, and the ugly so I can honestly say I could not emotionally handle that type of position. Podiatry is also an area I could not see myself working. The reason behind this is pretty silly, but here goes, I very much dislike other peoples feet especially if they are not well kept. I know in the medical field you will encounter feet on a daily basis, but I could not mainly work with feet on an everyday basis. My last specialty is Orthopedics for the reasons I noted above about the “barbaric” nature of the surgeries and treatments for the musculoskeletal system. Its just not for me.

  22. I had a rather hard time choosing just one type of physician I would want to work for. So many of them fascinate me, and with me not really going into any medical field other than support, I never gave this any thought in the past. After reading the list, I am more favorable of working for a neonatologist. It is difficult to think about how neonatologist physicians sometimes have the most difficult job in the world, but I can only imagine how amazing it would be to be a part of saving a baby’s life. I had a coworker once whose baby was born at 36 weeks, and her baby had a lot of heart and lung problems. There were concerns about whether or not they would ever fully develop once she had him, but after many months in the NICU, and many scares that happened during it, the doctors were able to save him and he is now a very healthy 5 year old. It is because of that I have a higher interest in the neonatologist field.I hate to say which type of physician I would care less to work for, and it is because I worry that many will take it the wrong way. When I was 16, I used to help my mom at an assisted living home as a caregiver. We would get to work at 7:00 A.M. every morning to prepare breakfast for four of the elderly men and women that we were caring for. We would then make sure that all bedding was changed, rooms were cleaned, meals were prepared, and appointments were handled. We worked 12 hour days, and they were always grueling. The owner of the home made sure that everyone had their medicine and made it to their doctor appointments on time. However, she was more worried about getting paid for her services than actually helping the elderly. She would yell at them if they did something wrong, and even call them terrible names. My mom reported her and we both quit our job, but it has always left a sting in my heart since then. It is because of my experience with that situation that I do not think I could ever work for a gerontologist. I know that the situations would be much different, but ever since my experience with caring for elderly individuals it is very hard for me to think about assisting a physician in geriatrics because I worry that someone else might treat the elderly in the same way the owner of the home did. I am a firm believer that the elderly deserve the ultimate care and comfort when going through any treatment and aging in general, but I do not think I could ever work in that environment again.

Leave a Reply

