Don’t Skype your community away

There has been many posts written on how and why some of the big dogs in social decided to drop all of their followers; but I think I discovered my own unique way to make ‘them’ disappear. Apparently Skype seems to be the trigger point around here.

I have two posts about reaching out to my network; one wanting to meet or talk with them and a later post discussing the results of those efforts. It’s always interesting to go back to your early posts and see who is still hanging around.

The first post on this topic ‘Who would you invite to your party‘ talked about how your perception of someone might change once you talked or met them in person. And if your perception did change, would you still be as eager to invite them just because you were already fast friends in social?

I followed up with a second post 6 months later because I did have the opportunity to talk with many and meet a few. My post ‘Did video kill the radio star‘ was the prelude to attending a TweetUp in Orlando and actually meeting some of these people face to face for the first time.

Be careful what you wish for

I have noticed one phenomena for me and that is most a lot of the people I have Skyped with have hauled ass. Just.flat.out.gone. I mean, I tried to warn everybody there would be no sexy accent. And you saw my Avatar so I couldn’t really hide my mug. I’m pure Florida Cracker, like 5 generations worth, so it’s pretty much ingrained at this point. If I knew I was going to be that uninteresting I would have made up some stuff.

It’s a good thing I’m simple enough not to think too deeply about this, so I’m sure it wasn’t me; obviously they must be busy doing something else now………even though I still see them everywhere but here…..:). I know, I post once a week so it’s probably hard to stop by; maybe I should give some thought to posting bi-monthly.

Therefore, I’m imposing a Skype moratorium before I chase anybody else off. It is probably a good thing to keep an air of mystique about you, huh? I still think I’m pretty cool BTW, just ask me; I talk to myself all the time.

Where did all the excitement go?

When you were starting out hoping to be noticed did you fall into the trap thinking if that ‘one’ person would just stop by then you will have ‘made it’? If they did stop by, did your numbers jump by a gazillion? Did you win a new car? Probably not, but it still was a nice feeling at the time.

As you move forward is there anybody left out there that would blow you away if they came by your place? I hope I haven’t become too jaded, but I can’t think of anybody. I’m just as excited if Billy Bob Nobody shows up (notice the Florida Billy Bob reference and no I don’t have a gun rack in my truck…..I don’t even have a truck).

When it’s new and fresh there are certain ‘events’ you feel that validate you and make all your efforts seem worthwhile. But once it becomes routine, what are the things now that put a big smile on your face and make you glad about what you are doing? Where are you getting that ‘You’ve got mail‘ feeling?

I liken it to moving to a ‘vacation’ destination. After awhile does it becomes routine and you don’t notice the beauty anymore?

I am cooking with gas

I have found my place in social for now and know what it’s going to take to keep it sustainable. I thoroughly enjoy the people I interact with and it is always a pleasure to meet new people as well. But I’m social like that….

With me, what you see is what you get; I don’t know who else to be. If being ‘me’ provides some stickiness to keep you around then that is what puts a smile on my face. That is all I can do other than quit Skyping, so let’s see if we can make this thing work, ok?

What is the one thing that happened for you in social last week, that made you feel really good about what you are doing?

***Disclaimer – this post was totally a spoof; I haven’t chased anybody off and whoever might not be around anymore left on their own volition. I am having a lot of fun with my blog right now***

69 thoughts on “Don’t Skype your community away

  1. Hi Bill,
    Am I here? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ LOL We’ve been at Google+ Hangouts many times and I’m still your friend! I think the fact that people you’ve met via video have gone has less to do with you and more to do with the general comings- and-goings in the blogosphere lately (one of the topics of our Hangout tomorrow – coming?!) I think if you hang around her long enough, you see a lot of that. It’s not you. So STOP that!

    What is the one thing that happened for me in social last week that made me feel really good about what I’m doing? Claudia’s GP was a lot of fun. Community building is starting to happen- there was a lot of interaction among people that didn’t even involve Claudia- of me! i LOVE it when that happens!

    ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I just read your disclaimer! To delete or not to delete. Nah!
    Lori

    • That’s why I said Skype and not Google +; there must be safety in numbers.

      Actually I did have a few people specifically in mind, but this was totally for fun. Just as I can’t be everywhere, you settle into a routine and I try to make sure I’m hangin’ with my main people first. I know these people are off doing their thing and it wasn’t because I ‘chased’ them off. I’m way beyond keeping a tally, fortunately.

      Claudia had a great post and I’m just sorry I couldn’t haven’t spent more time over there. She is a lot of fun…..

      I will try to stop by the Hangout. I have a lunch appt ’til 1:00 pm and another one out of town at 2:30 pm but I will see what I can do.

      Good to see you today.

  2. Hey Bill,

    This does not look like spoof at all :). Infact having a little mysteriousness always make sense. Overphotographed celebrities are a turn off while people who do some good work behind the scenes and occasionally show up are worth noting. I think in the age of new media sometimes, it makes a lot of sense to keep things down. One wrong thing and you are marked forever.
    But being careful is not synonymous with not trying at all :). That would be antithesis of what I write about in my blog.
    I was surprised recently when a college friend on mine( the one in my post at Lori’s blog) said that he get inspired by my blog and he quickly checks it every week for new content. He is an entrepreneur himself and I felt good about it.
    Later Carolyn mentioned my book that I published on Kindle at one of blog comment. Really made my day
    I trust you are having a great time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Those are the things that makes you feel what you are doing is worth something.

      Yes, I agree too much exposure can be a turn-off at times. You need to hold a little back to keep some mystique, right?

      I’ll be by to check out your latest; thanks for stopping by and hope you have been doing well.

  3. Bill, you always crack me up, but I guess that’s because you’re a Florida Cracker (yes, that was a horrible attempt at a joke:)

    Even if you say this post is a spoof, I agree with Ashvini, that having a little “mysteriousness” is a good thing; overexposure not (and we’re not even going to talk about that little thong and flipflips event:)

    I liken your comments about “new and fresh” and becoming routine to something in Seth Godin’s book, “Purple Cow”, and I’ll quote:

    “When my family and I were driving through France a few years ago, we were enchanted by the hundreds of storybook cows grazing on picturesque pastures, right next to the highway. For dozens of kilometers, we all gazed out the window, marveling about how beautiful everything was.
    Then, within twenty minutes, we started ignoring the cows. The new cows were just like the old cows, and what once was amazing was now common. Worse than common. It was boring.”

    I think this happens in life. What is new and fresh and exciting holds our attention. But when that new, fresh and exciting becomes “more cows”, we tune out and turn off. I certainly know that, some things that were so exciting online eight months ago are now routine.

    So, it’s up to me to change things up, and that’s what I’m doing…and something we can all do. I feel “out of the loop” with some people I thought I was close to, but found that if I didn’t initiate, there was no contact. That’s OK: I’ve accepted that. But then, there are others that, out of the blue, I get a tweet or a comment and I realize they’ve never really left. So although you say your post was all a spoof, there are many things within it that ring true. Signed, Billy Bob Nobody ๐Ÿ™‚

    • As always, I will have some ring of truth in what I write even if I am just trying to keep it light and silly.

      I attended a funeral this weekend for my college buddy’s father. We don’t even live in the same state, but we have kept in touch through the years and we try to get together once or twice a year. I will have to say he does a much better job than I of keeping in touch and I would venture to say without that, the relationship might have gone by the wayside. I have told him how much I appreciate that.

      The point being, I think some people are better a being the one that reaches out; I’m trying to be better and not just with friends, but family too.

      It doesn’t have the new and fresh feel to me anymore, but I can honestly say I am having a lot more fun again now that I have decided what my path will be.

      Thanks for sharing and thanks for your support; as always, it’s great to see you.

  4. Hey Bill. This post was awesome. You are in Cracker country. I will never leave you. Ha !
    You are my kind of people. Yes sir. Glad you have that Skype (what is it?) moratorium. Big word. Checking spelling …. and, Good job. Ok. I havent even hooked up skype. I need to, so I can communicate with my friends. Especially the ones in Canada, where the phone calls are NOT Free. dam.

    I am pretty much like you, Bill. What you see (or hear) is what you get in real life, as well. I gotta be me. I gotta be me. (Singing, terribly). The one thing that has happened recently is I put together this November guest blog series. It has been a lot of work, but the amazing thing is the unbelievable support I have received from friends I have met online. (You, being one of them. Thank you) I am blown away by the continued support and encouragement of everyone. Really.

    So grateful. Some, sort of big shots, too. Ha ! Ok, the one thing that shocked me (pleasantly) was when the facebook queen, Mari Smith, agreed to do a guest post. Wow !
    That made me feel like, maybe this CARE Movement thing is catching on. But just making friends and supporting each other has made this short (so far) social trip incredibly fun. Meeting people like you and so many others.

    Thanks Bill. Appreciate you and your crazy humor and great writing.

    Al

    • Please, please; no need to call me a big shot, it’s just ‘me’ remember?

      So you liked moratorium, huh? I thought you would even be more impressed with volition that I used in the disclaimer. I have no clue what it means, but it sounded pretty brainiac.

      Yeah, I think we are pretty similar; just dorky enough to be socially acceptable, but not smart enough to know any better so all we can do is be ourselves.

      I’m impressed with your November guest blog series; I have trouble doing two a month.

      I’m having fun if you couldn’t tell and hope you continue to do so as well. Thanks for stopping by and I appreciate the support.

  5. I can’t believe that you chased anyone off Bill – I just think they are so in awe of you after what must have been such an overpoweringly positive experience that they are still lying down in a darkened room to recover ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Amazed might be a better description as in ‘I’m amazed this clown is still around’……:).

      As you can tell Tony, I’m having fun with it and if somewhere down the road something knocks me over and sends me in another direction hopefully I’ll be smart enough to pick up on it. However, for now, I’m good to go.

      It’s always so good to see you and hope you had a great weekend.

  6. Hey Bill
    You raise all kinds of interesting points. I think that the degree that one is introverted or extroverted drives so much of our behavior. Introverts prefer small groups and one on one relationships and really aren’t into small talk. And they believe the larger the group the smaller the talk. It’s all about preferences not social skills and how you choose to use your time. I do think that extroverts probably enjoy life more. I suspect Skype is used more by extroverts than introverts.
    Riley

    • You make some good points and different personality types could determine the level of your involvement. It appears to me social has allowed some of the introverts to step out and have their voice heard, where otherwise they might not have been as prone to do so.

      I was just making a funny about the Skype because there are probably 4-5 people I have Skyped with that have moved on. I’m sure it was just a coincidence but it was the only point of reference I had to do a humorous post.

      It’s all good and I’m definitely having a good time. I have no angst and nobody is bringing me down in social; it’s back to being fun for me.

      Good to see you Riley and hope you are getting settled back into your routine.

  7. I’m sooo glad my computer is too slow to Skype or do hangouts! You know I tried! My house is too active and I don’t like myself on camera. It’s very distracting.
    It’s sort of strange to keep comenting on a blog when you really get to know someone. That anonymity wears off and I feel like someone thinks that they know me…I feel more inhibited to say what I want.
    On the other hand, if I’m having a bad day it’ll show in my comment if I know you! If I don’t know you that well I think I’d be more hesitant to show emotion.
    I ‘ve noticed that my friends on and offline take periodic breaks from me. And yes, I go to the same place that you probably go: “Huh? What’s up?” I usually think I’m too boring or that I haven’t interacted with them to merit reciprocity.
    Isn’t it strange? I started reading blogs because I was interested in them. But then, as I got to know the author, I wondered if I was going to be missed if I didn’t show up!
    It’s all about me, Bill! LOL!

    • Yes, we did try to get you on Google +. Google + didn’t count in this article because I’m still hanging with all of those peeps…..:). This really was done in jest even though some of those people are really gone.

      I’m just keeping my head down and having fun; if anybody wants to play with me then they are welcome to hang around. If they feel I’m not furthering their social existence, then they need to find their own way and do whatever it takes to get there.

      I don’t think it’s because we are too boring; I think it’s just ‘life’ getting in the way.

      I don’t keep a tally, but I do know when people don’t show up. It’s just now I don’t worry about it too much. It is what it is and we are all just trying to find our way, right?

      So good to see you; I left a link to our local newspaper about genealogy in your post yesterday.

      And finally, NO, it’s all about ME………..:)

  8. I hope the whole posting ‘bi-monthly’ line was a joke too! I look forward to your posts every Monday!

    I think you make some great points Bill. Sometimes it is hard to keep things fresh and interesting with the people we already know…and maybe Skype is often an unnecessary step. I think that the whole social side of blogging is something that people usually don’t think about too much. They connect with someone, but then it’s hard to say how you should develop that connection (if at all). Perhaps I’m looking into things too much, just thinking about it now.

    People like you because you’re genuine (and being funny probably helps too! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). You tick the two most important boxed – being genuine and having fun. Your community doesn’t expect anything more.

    Hope you had a good weekend bud.

    Rob

    • My weekend was good; the weather here has been exceptionally well.

      This was definitely a tongue in cheek post, but it just so happens I have had several ‘regulars’ just go away. I really don’t think the Skype had anything to do with it; it’s just part of the normal attrition that goes on in here. I just had to find something to tie it to and try to make it humorous.

      The social I can do and that is what I will be doing going forward. If something else works out for me, then I should be ready to go.

      Good to see you Rob and hope you had a good weekend as well.

    • Uh, Gini tells me that all the time, but I’m sure she is just kidding………..:).

      Yes, I might wait until a good hair day as well.

      This really was tongue in cheek but I do have some people who did kind of go away so it was easy to tie it into my Skype calls. In reality, that had nothing to do with it; they are just off doing something else which is the norm in this crazy world.

      Trust me, life is good for Billy Bob……..er, uh Billy Boy……….:)

  9. Okay Bill, those that want to keep hanging out with you will. I know that at times life just gets in the way so for those who have gone by the way side, it’s their loss. Their business starts to pick up because they have become so popular that they just can’t get to everyone anymore. I agree with everyone else, it’s nothing personal.

    I have met some people online though that I really consider good friends. I enjoy our conversations, I genuinely want to know how they are, I want to keep up with what’s happening in their lives. I know that some true friendships can be formed online but everyone else is just really an acquaintance.

    I also hope your bi-monthly posting schedule is a joke too. I enjoy reading your posts at the beginning of each week so please don’t stop anytime soon. Too many people are changing their posting schedules and the next thing you know, they’ve totally disappeared.

    Hey Bill, have a great week my friend. I have no doubt that you will.

    ~Adrienne

    • I’m not going anywhere; and this really was done all in fun. Whoever has left wasn’t because they didn’t ‘like’ me or I chased them off; it is just part of the attrition that goes on in social. That’s why I feel very comfortable writing posts like this because I’m way beyond the point of keeping a checklist.

      I’m a very inclusive person; if you want to show up, then I’m happy. If you don’t; then I really don’t think of the why or why nots. I don’t get to show up everywhere I want so I know how it goes……

      Me and you are going to hang tight however, and we’ll have a good time doing so, right?

      So good to see you today; thanks for stopping by.

  10. Hi, Bill, will have to look up that Florida Cracker, we Swiss mountain people in bloomers have no clue! But I like what I see and get.

    Cool disclaimer: braniac or brainiac?

    Specially like and relate to what you are saying in your reply to Kaarina: “It doesnโ€™t have the new and fresh feel to me anymore, but I can honestly say I am having a lot more fun again now that I have decided what my path will be.” True to yourself and enjoying yourself!

    • I wondered what that red line under braniac meant…….

      Florida Cracker is actually a cowboy that used to herd cattle and while they were riding their horses they would crack their whips to keep the cows rounded up. Of course this was going on in the late 1800’s. But this was a rough and tumble bunch…..I guess all I can say is I’m a fifth generation Floridian and I think most of my descendants were farmers.

      It’s fun to me to just write about stuff that really has no relevance in the big scheme of things. This will probably never be a ‘teaching’ or ‘learning’ site……..:)

      PS – the other thing Floridian’s are, are flatlanders. I think the highest elevation is something like 180′ above sea level………no Swiss Alps here…….

      Good to see you and thanks for stopping by today.

      • Thanks for all the enlightenment, I was thinking hard on that term Florida cracker last night and you sidetracked me nicely with that linked picture. I know English crackers: big noise – useless stuff flying out, ok, no analogies, though if I reconsider it – you said that most of your descendants were farmers …

        I like that you write “about stuff that really has no relevance in the big scheme of things …”, why do we think differently?

        PS. I was bluffing about the Swiss Alps, geographically speaking I am a hole dweller as I live in Basel, a bassin on the river Rhine. Can we keep this a secret?

        PPS. Look forward to your GP at Al’s!

    • The secret is safe w/ me.

      Actually the Florida Cracker photo is a typical Florida Cracker house. Fortunately, that really wasn’t my house and although I wouldn’t mind living in the woods, we don’t live in the woods.

      Yep, totally irrelevant……………:)

    • Yes, they seem to disappear on a pretty frequent basis………..maybe we will win just by being the last one’s standing, huh?

      Good to talk with you today; thanks for the call.

  11. Oh Bill, you’re making my head hurt. I will read your posts and become engrossed in them, then at the end you tell me you’re kidding. Really? About which part? Are you not a Florida Cracker, defined by 5 generations? Perhaps you’re a native New Yorker instead? Is that a Brooklyn accent I hear? Did you get a voice double for your YouTube videos?

    You and I have never Skyped and maybe that’s why I’m still here? But even if we Skype someday, I will still stick around. That is, unless you’re kidding about sticking around.

    D’oh!

    • No way I can make your head hurt, you ARE the Wonder of Tech; now that can make my head hurt…..:).

      Voice double? I got a body double; no way I was rolling the real me out there. I would have had to turn out the lights.

      It was totally a spoof, it was just a coincidence that the majority of people I have Skyped with have moved on. Of course, I think I’ve only done 5 or 6 calls anyway so it wasn’t like a whole community just picked up and left. I just thought it was something I could make fun of.

      I think we have decided we are stuck with each other, through thick or thin, so lets just see where it takes us, right?

      Good to see you, thanks for stopping by.

      • Absolutely, Bill. We started our journeys at about the same time and will travel together, giving each other headaches along the way! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Let me know if you have any questions about your new iPhone. Really excited for you!

  12. I even showered for our Skype chat which was fun! Now why do I keep thinking you post on Mondays and Thursdays?

    I noticed some people come and then go, such is life I guess. Either that or my BO scared them off! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I was doing some GP’s on Thursdays (Jens has one this Thursday) and I even tried to post on some Thursday’s; but that was too much like work. I had to deep-six that before people started expecting it all the time.

      People do come and go and not necessarily go away, just go away from your site; which is ok. I can’t be everywhere either and if someone feels this is not satisfying whatever they are trying to do in social, I’m down with that. I’m not blind and I see the people around, but I am certainly not keeping a tally nor am I keeping an ‘A’ list count either.

      Just about like everything else in life, the only thing I can control is myself and I’ll just have to count on everything else falling into place.

      I will tell you a secret; you prompted this post when you didn’t show up last week so I thought I’d have a little fun with it. I was thinking, ‘man, I gotta make this stop’. Trust me, this was done all in fun. I am very happy with my place in social right now and I’m hoping it shows………

      PS – Sorry about your G-Men; they’ve played better…..

      • My G-Men pissed me the hell off! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I would make an angry face if I could!

        I read your post on Monday, and then I got home late and forgot to come comment. And then I thought “I will come Thursday” but then Thursday there was no post. Then I saw a squirrel, and all hope was lost. See how that works? That is my brain my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I am glad we got to chat. I had fun. I hope you did too.

      • Hello ? Excuse me ? I heard YOU were doing a guest post this Thursday at some Incredible site. Ummm ? What was the name of that place. I heard the guy really CARE’s………Oh yeah…….. The CARE Movement. Ha !

        Thats right. The man, the myth, the legend (in his own mind) doing a GP for me.
        Wow. I am blessed. Thanks brother. See you Thursday.

        Al

    • I had a lot of fun with our Skype, and had fun making fun of my Skype calls; it was all in jest.

      At least you have a football team; the Bucs are so marginal they are not even selling out their games so it is blacked out on TV. Which is probably a good thing based on the way they are playing. Who cut the cheese………..

  13. Wait… you mean you can use Skype to get rid of people. Pardon me, while I go schedule some calls. ๐Ÿ™‚ Skype should put that on their website — they’d be able to charge a fortune!

    I’ve had some folks disappear too. It happens. You can’t be all things to all people. Keeping up is hard, as we both know, so I understand.

    I just finalized a commenting schedule. I’m going to try it with a system for a few weeks to see if that helps. It’s already helped me feel more in control of the process, but we’ll see how the execution goes.

    I’m glad you found your groove Bill! It’s good to see. Talk with you soon.

    • Trust me, I have more ways than just Skype to keep people away………..:)

      If you see my response to Carolyn, I stated it was just a coincidence some of my Skypers have moved on; and like you said, it’s just part of the attrition process.

      Yes, I have found my groove so it’s just rock and roll from here; I’m all for a stress-free social existence.

      Good to see you and thanks for stopping by; hope you are doing well and your commenting system works for you.

      • I’ll let you know. The first thing it did was define which blogs I am committed to trying to keep up with. I am sure it will evolve over time, so we’ll see.

  14. Call me a rebel, but I haven’t “Skyped” with anyone yet, as I’m sure I would run a few off with that, so … I’m playing it safe for now. I think you’d have “I love Bill” fan club if anything. Oh, you’re being modest and I bet you get secret fan mail! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I can’t say specifically what made me feel good about what I was doing last week?! You know I just don’t think that way perhaps or allow myself to?! Now I have to examine this further.

    I will say that Kim Davies asking me to guest post was a privilege and that definitely was a bright spot.

    You’re definitely an interesting enigma Bill … always keeping people on their toes with your wit and humor. You have great gift – thank you for sharing them!!

    Goodness to you my friend,

    Elena

    • That was a good happy moment to help Kim out and it was a very good post as well.

      I do get secret fan mail, but it’s from all these grandmothers. I guess that’s what happens when you have a mug only a grandmother could love, huh?

      You have plenty of vids however; you would do just fine Skyping. Actually, doing vids are relatively easy for me; I think I might do another in the near future. I’m just trying to think of something somewhat creative.

      I do appreciate your kind words and it is always a pleasure to see you around these parts (a Florida Cracker will say that as well……….:).

      I hope your week is going well so far.

  15. Hi, Bill.

    I have been so good at keeping a mystery to my person that not a lot of people know me. ๐Ÿ˜€ But, spoof or not, I get what you mean. Sharing too much of ourselves can turn off some people and would cause them to turn away. So, keeping a bit of mystery can help or in my case, not. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I do think over-exposure can turn the tide against you. I should be pretty safe with one post a week, huh?

      I’m ready for you to step out however, maybe a dancing vid or a guest post here or something.

      So good to see you Wes and thanks for dropping by; hope you have a great week.

  16. Hey Bill,

    It’s a good thing I’m not using Skype then ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m mostly on Twitter, and with my accent that’s probably best for everybody ๐Ÿ™‚

    The best thing that happened to me on social the past week was that I was contacted by the head of marketing for a company that creates the best PDF file manager for iPad. He asked me if I wanted it for free. No strings attached. I had been thinking about buying it, and now I got it for free. That’s awesome.

    • Hey, I want some free stuff too………..do you think if I get enough perks from Klout I can win something?

      You would be great on Skype; the Euro accent works much better than the hillbilly one….:).

      I think I write w/ an accent too however.

      Good to see you; I still haven’t had time to dig into your post but I did copy and paste it to word so I can read it. When you sent it, we had just picked up a pizza from Papa Johns and it was delish….

  17. Hey Bill,

    Well, I was thinking about getting a Skype account, but after reading this, I just don’t know. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Seriously, it will be a while for me as I want to take this one step at a time. Otherwise, I’ll be in over my head.

    I’m having a great experience and have honestly met some of the best people ever using social media. You included of course! I’ve already talked to several bloggers using that thing we call a phone. It works pretty well for me at least. Maybe when I actually get a Skype account we can have a chat, or just do it the old fashioned way. Hopefully I won’t scare you away ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. You almost had me there, Billy Boy! I don’t have time today to read all the comments that came before but I’m sure they’re entertaining as always.

    Just wanted to stop by and tell you that I for one do not tire of you. I know this post was written in jest, but I’m sure some little grain of truth inspired you to write it.

    Just “do you”, as they say. Don’t worry about people who may have left. It’s probably them, not you. Wow, I sound like I’m breaking up with someone! The old, “It’s not you, it’s me” line! Well, I promise I’m not “breaking up” with you! Ha ha! I’m stickin’ around because you always have something interesting, funny, smart or smartass to say! Can I say smartass on your blog? Feel free to edit me if needed:)

    • Yes, there was a grain of truth in this but the good thing is I’m totally comfortable trying to be funny about it and know those who have left just had other things to do. This is my new no-pressure approach and I’m not going to get caught up in who visits who or am I hanging in the right spots. I’m just going to be me and let everything else fall into place around it.

      Trust me, I have heard that line before ‘it’s not you, it’s me’………….fortunately I wasn’t the stalker type; if I even caught a hint someone might not be interested in me anymore I would just go away. I’m not going to stay where I’m not wanted……….unless they are feeding me, then my standards change………..:).

      Yes, smartass is totally acceptable here, but I would like to think more along the lines of incredibly funny…………..although I know better……………

      Thanks for stopping by and hope you have an incredible day.

  19. Hiya Bill!

    I realized that I did not have YOU in MY reader. I feel proportionately guilty and have remedied the situation.

    You have to be careful who you Skype with… Some people think they can handle your awesomeness, but then when they’re exposed to your true energy, they get intimidated, cry like little girls and run away. There’s not much you can do about that. Perhaps, don’t use video when you skype, or degrade the video feed a little bit. Or maybe, stop skyping naked. Just saying.

    Hugs!
    Melody

    • But I am so comfortable in my own skin…………just because I’m pasty, fat and un-groomed I just can’t understand why people have a problem with that. I usually Skype from my office so I think it was making some of my co-workers a little uncomfortable as well. Maybe if I take the camera down and put up a slide show or something while I’m Skyping that will cut down on the exodus, huh?

      Needless to say, I love your comeback; I’m glad to see you can dish it as well as take it. That’s my kind of people………….:).

      Good to see you and good to see you have a sense of humor too.

      I hope your week is going well.

  20. Bill Dorman has been wondering what happened to the party. Where did everyone go? Was it the speedos? Or skype? Of course, this is Bill being tongue in cheek and charming.

    It’s not the Skype, Bill. It’s not the speedos. You’re a stand up guy. You’re likable. You’re sexy. Oops! There’s that word again.

    Everybody wants you at their party. And I’m not teasing you, Bill.

    The problems are several. And I know you’ve been waiting for me to sum it up. After all, that’s what I do. I go deep and think it through because I can. [grin] Of course, I can try to dish it out with my own tongue in cheek. But I’ll never do it with your finesse, Bill.

    5. High School Prejudice

    Some people lack the professional culture to be deal with people they don’t like. In other words, they haven’t graduated from high school. So if they see someone they don’t like hanging out at your place, they may stop coming by. It’s their loss, Bill. I continue to contribute at several watering holes despite the frauds, fucktards, and stupid clowns that frequent the same.

    4. Faking it is no fun

    Most people just can’t fake it forever. They need to get off. [grin] Being positive, encouraging, and kindly when your trudging through the bull shit can try anyone’s patience. Some do it day in and out without any hard evidence of tomorrow’s reward and they will pick up their toys and head home – sooner or later.

    3. This Ain’t Easy Street

    It just doesn’t work. Not you, Bill. Blogging! It’s not the game changer they hoped it would be. Because it ain’t easy. It takes work. Not everyone can succeed. And there’s no guarantees for success even for those that show promise. Granted, it takes the average joe or jane three to six months to figure that out.

    2. Boot Lickers and Suck Ups

    It’s not obvious that you’re in the in crowd. Are you best buddies with 12 B-list bloggers and a minimum of three A-list bloggers? Do they mention you, give you props, and throw you a link in their blog posts from time to time? People need a reason to suck up to you.

    1. Where’s the Money?

    You don’t have a weekly “how to” on how someone can easily move and improve it by an inch. Bill, they need to pay bills. They have the need to succeed.

    You keep doing what you are doing. Lift your allies with you as you level up. Give it three years and you’ll be an online authority. Mark my words, Bill.

    P.S. This is going into an upcoming Blog Soup. That means you’ll get love, permanent links to your Twitter and blogpost (not sucky back links), and maybe a little bit more rank juice.

    • I’m too sexy for my body………….just sayin’………….:).

      Ah Stan, you do have the ability to not only go deep but very insightful as well.

      5. Fucktards – I had to google that just to make sure it was what I thought you meant. My philosophy, life it way too short; don’t get hung up on the meaningless things.

      4. Faking it is hard and if just by trying to put on a happy face isn’t changing anything for you; then eventually you will just quit trying. It’s a mindset; and it is really the only thing you can control.

      3. No, it’s not easy in the sense you can’t just put it on automatic and expect everything to take care of itself. I got into it because it was social and social I can do. I enjoy having interaction with people from all walks of life and experiences. It makes me a richer person.

      2. I’m known but no, the ‘A’ listers aren’t mentioning me or listing me on their wall as posts to follow. However, I know enough of the people I consider influential, and certainly can have dialogue with them at just about any time. I’m happy enough in my own little world; I’m not out seeking guest post opportunities or any other visibility seeking endeavors. The one thing I do know how to be is ‘me’, so I think I will run with that for awhile longer.

      1. Certainly understandable if you think I bring no value to the relationship or I can’t help further your monetary goals by associating with me. There are only so many hours in the day and only so many people you can see. I would counter however, it’s one thing to be focused and goal oriented, but you better be real and credible or people will see right through that.

      3 years, huh; man, I was shooting for 2………..:).

      Thanks for your well thought out input; always good to see you Stan the man.

    • Hey Stan,

      Isn’t Bill A-List? I mean look at the crowd he attracts. I know they say that’s not everything, but c’mon the guy knows how to start a party.

      On your number 2: I’m a Bill Dorman toady and I’m not afraid to admit it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. Well different people are good at different things. For example Ed Dale comes across really well on video and on podcasts. I think it’s because he has a nice voice and appears really relaxed when he’s chatting away.

    But then I saw one of his articles – and it felt salesy as anything, and I was put off. He obviously doesn’t know how to write in the easy manner he speaks – and I think he realises it because most of his communication is via podcast and video.

    On the other hand, I think you have a nice story-telling writing style. I’ve no idea what you sound like, but perhaps your forte is writing?

  22. Lol! We really haven’t “talked” have we…. maybe we should! You might get scared by the Indian-Brit accent that some people find too tough to understand and given my speed, you probably would say…. sorry, I don’t you crazy girl! And then Bill will just block me! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Nah, you can’t scare me. Time-wise I don’t know if we could work it out but I’m having fun with the Google chats we’ve been doing at Lori’s. I think we had 7 people last time; would love to have you in the mix too. We usually get together once a month Wed or Thurs at 1:00 pm EDT.

      You are always welcome around here and thanks for stopping by to share your comments. Very much appreciated……..

  23. Bill, (yes, I am still playing catch up! Although, I am down to 97 from over 600 on Monday!)

    I have yet to connect with ANYONE (except my Mom!) on Skype!! Hmm, gotta kinda wonder why…

    The part of this post that brought me over here, as I am opening and reading what I’ve missed, is “Where did all the excitement go?” Yeah.

    (think)

    Can you imagine (have you?) the excitement that brings young ‘uns to us to train and learn to be Wilderness and Big Game Guides? Oh yeah. And the work is hard, definitely. The busy time is so very busy and lots to see and do.

    Then the clients stop arriving, camps are pulled out for the winter months, the chores continue…. and continue. Remember when it was a blast to go out into the woods and cut firewood? You’d find a nice burl to carve or see a lynx, fox or even some wolves. Blasting your music so you can hear it above the chainsaws and sno-gos, hauling the wood back in. Watching the moon come over Red Hill as you curve around the last stretch…

    I love every minute of being alive. I love Alaska, Chisana, the horses (even the ones I could happily make dog mush outta), the dogs, the adventures, I love being online and learning so much with the possibility right there (!) that I, me, I could make a difference. To us. Maybe to you. Maybe I could make a difference in her life. You all made one in mine and I’ll be forever a better person for it.

    Thanks for this one. My little Alaska Chicklet would call you a “Smart Butt”…at least if she thought I might hear her!

    ~Amber-Lee

    • Ok, don’t go redrum on me; now you are digging deep………..:)

      I don’t know much, but this I do know; you do make a difference in my life and many others. It might not be a life changing difference, but I consider myself much more richer because we have made each other’s acquaintance.

      Keepin’ it real is what it is all about and when people forget that is what it’s all about is when the silliness starts.

      You have so much natural beauty around you I hope you are always able to take the time to appreciate it. You are at a place where so many will never ever experience.

      My only question is, chainsaws? I thought you wilderness people were old school and splittin’ wood the old fashioned way with an ax.

      BTW – I would love to Skype with you one of these days. Bill.dorman10 is my address.

      Good to see you.

Leave a Reply

