3 thanks but no thanks jobs, dad

When you are young and asked what you want to be when you grow up, the response will typically be doctor, nurse, lawyer, or policeman. In reality, those hopes and dreams change as you get older. However, kids are impressionable and frequently want to grow up just like their dad.

In my case, we didn’t come from much but my dad had an office job and wore a tie to work every day. I thought it was pretty cool that he got to dress up and it gave him respectability in my eyes; I knew I wanted an ‘office’ job too when I grew up.

It might be a stretch to say I have grown up, but I can say I do have an office job and get to wear a tie to work.

You do what for a living?

But what if your family profession is something totally bizarre, disgusting, or very hazardous. How much pressure will there be to follow in your father’s footsteps? What if you don’t know any better?

What if it’s a septic tank company and all your friends call you ‘stinky’. It might be like the premise behind “A Boy Named Sue” by Johnny Cash and his absent father named him Sue to make him tough. You might have to whip butt for respect, but at least they will call you Mr Stinky, huh?

My top 3 ‘thanks a lot dad’ professions I don’t recommend:

  1. Wing Walker – Todd Green who fell over 200′ to his death at an air show in Michigan. This is a person who voluntarily chose this profession to follow in the footsteps of his father. Thanks dad…
  2. Rope Walking – The famous Wallenda family known for their daredevil exploits and still carry on the tradition.  Patriarch Karl Wallenda was unsuccessful on his last attempt. Thanks dad…
  3. Motorcycle jumping – Let’s not forget Evel Knievel who literally broke every bone in his body 2-3 times. Yes Robbie, I think you should follow in your dad’s footsteps, it’s a very benign profession. Thanks dad…
Who was your influence
Maybe you just didn’t want a mundane office job. Maybe you had that entrepreneurial pull like John Falchetto experienced and moved to the South of France to open up shop there. But how many ‘followed’ their parents just because? How many truly, just didn’t know any better?
It can be a factor
For all the dangerous professions I listed I can’t imagine any were lucrative. Can you live on the ‘thrill’ of it alone? Is it ego too?
No, you really are the man, dad
For those who were able to win the lucky sperm pool lottery, here are 3 professions you should be high-fiving your dad every day.
  1. Budweiser beer distributorship – are you kidding me? This is the closest thing there is to printing money. All you have to do is show up and not mess it up. How hard can that be?
  2. Walmart – Sam Walton’s kids – are you kidding me? You don’t even have to  show up at this one and you still make the billionaire’s list. Yes, you can be a total idiot and still get your money.
  3. Prince Charles – Prince William and Prince Harry – are you kidding me? Let’s see, I think I’ll play polo today; they don’t even have any real duties, they wear make believe uniforms and people treat them like royalty, say what?
There you have it
It really is just the luck of the draw; unfortunately sometimes it can be just plain dumb luck, huh? How about you, do you have any ancestors that must have done something pretty bad and now it’s payback time?
52 thoughts on “3 thanks but no thanks jobs, dad

  1. Hey Bill, great article! I, too, followed in my father’s footsteps and became a lawyer. His job seemed so cool growing up! But then, after law school I discovered law firms and billable hours. Long hours and working weekends wasn’t so cool. Was the value of my work really just the number of hours I could bill doing it?

    I switched to working in-house for a corporation, which was much better in pay and hours, but then my beautiful daughter was born and I landed my mom’s former job, stay at home mother.

    Now I’m a tech blogger, just like my great-great-great grandmother Effie. Except she blogged in Swedish.

    Imagine what careers our kids will have that haven’t even been created yet!

    • Small world; I have been following Effie. At first I thought I needed new glasses because I couldn’t read the words, but then it all started making sense to me. She’s brilliant…..

      My youngest son had trouble finding a fit in college; he changed his major 4 times I think and would have done it 5 times if it had been easier to do so. At the end, it was just like ‘finish it up and then figure it out’. It is really tough for someone that age to know what they want to do the rest of their life.

      As luck or fate would have it, my youngest is going to try and sell Aflac. Sales, like social media can be so fickle, but it will be good for him to get out there and see if he has the intestinal fortitude for it. I think he will like it if he can just survive those first couple of years.

      I tried to get him to consider a career in insurance several years ago because we really need new, young, bright talent. It has been a great career for me. Unfortunately, most get in to it as an afterthought.

      It will be interesting to see what the job market looks like in just 10 yrs from now.

      Thanks for your thoughts today. Hope all is well.

  2. Well Bill, I ran the opposite direction than my father. He was a salesman and everyone thought I would be great at that because of my personality. Unfortunately, my Dad critiqued every salesman who ever waited on us throughout my entire life so I didn’t have a very high opinion of them. That was the last thing I wanted to do.

    I also didn’t want to be a secretary like my Mom so I did my best not to go that direction but ended up accidentally falling into it at an early age. Unfortunately, I just happened to be very good so I continued with that particular career path.

    No other really great professions in my family to follow. None that stood out that I was told about that is. But I’m no daredevil either so even if my father did walk on airplane wings or was Evil Knievel, I would have run the opposite direction. Nope, not calling my name I’m afraid.

    Great post though, fun to see what others have ended up doing and why. I think I went the safe route myself. 🙂 But, no broken bones so far in my life and I’m still alive and healthy. Now that’s a really good thing don’t you think?

    • My driver was the office job, i could figure out the rest later………it is somewhat funny looking back however, because we definitely have some preachers and politicians in the family line. People have told me I should run for office; running from office would be more like it, too many skeletons in the closet…………:)

      It is good you were able to find something you love; that sure makes coming to work much easier.

      I’m running my tweriod as we speak; it will be interesting to see my metrics. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I come from a long line of family business, mostly farming, and now for the past 3 decades, construction. I do not work in them. My brother does, my mother does and yes, so does dad (as you know from watching the AWESOME videos). I do not. Let me repeat. I do not.

    Following in your dad’s or your mom’s footsteps can be great; but it can also be a real challenge. From a family biz perspective: there is no downtime and boundaries can be broken (torched). It makes it tough to maintain the family bonds when you’re mad at your boss or frustrated. However, it can also make the bonds much stronger, lead to quicker decision making (if you’re tuned into one another), and be a lasting legacy for the entire family.

    While I love dirt, big equipment and reading plans, I love PR and marketing even more. I’d like to think I took the best qualities from dad and mom that work in my chosen career: ability to talk to ANYONE, analytical thinking, gift for telling a story, and general business smarts…and let that be how I follow in their footsteps.

    • The challenge with the family business is when not everyone has the same work ethic. The first generation might have done all the heavy lifting; the second generation took the reins and even grew it some more; but by the third generation and now with many more mouths at the trough it starts to get challenging.

      I think I would enjoy working with my boys. However, after coaching them all through their youth in baseball, soccer and tennis they have probably heard about all the ‘coaching’ they need.

      Sounds like you did get all the good parts and doing something you enjoy. Even though some days are still frustrating, it sure makes getting up in the morning easier doing something you like.

      Good to see you today, thanks for coming by.

  4. Hey Bill!

    Well, growing up my parents did a lot of different things for a living. What I learned most from them was their work ethic. I still carry that with me today.

    For a bit of time my parents owned their own print shop and I managed it. People would often say, “How can you work with your family every day?” Well, I loved it! We’re a close Italian family and very much like Cake Boss, we can yell at each other and then get over it and have dinner together. That was the beauty of working with family. You could truly tell your co-workers what you think, get it out in the open and move on without having some long meeting. Yes, we fought but we also knew each other so well that we worked great together and encouraged each other’s strengths. The economy took a dive and that was the end of the print shop–along with so many other small businesses.

    I look to the future with my son. My husband is a police officer and he says that’s the one profession he will not allow my son to get in to. I agree with him there. While I feel that it’s a noble profession and I’m very proud of my husband, I don’t want my son to be in that kind of danger every day. For any of you who are not related to a cop, it’s a very different lifestyle and it’s not for everyone. I do love the additional “family” we have with his brothers in blue and their wives and kids.

    So, what will my kid be when he grows up? With technology changing so fast it’s hard to tell. However, he really likes electrical cords and outlets. That’s a bit dangerous right now at 16 months. Who knows–maybe he’ll be an electrician!

    • Yes, the cop lifestyle is probably a whole different animal. People are getting crazier with little regard for life.

      That was probably fond memories being able to work with your family like that. Between the economy and technology I have friends that are barely surviving in the printing business. They are not encouraging their children to follow in their footsteps.

      Kids will certainly get into everything; we certainly still need electricians and I know some of those too who have done quite well.

      Thanks for sharing and good to see you today. I hope you are having a good one.

  5. I love the “Dot Me.That is all” Glad you got rid of that FKA crap. Now, to me, this is one of your best, man. I really like it. It’s got it all.

    I got my dads personality, gift of gab and sales ability, however, I did not go into the automoblie industry like he did. He was a VP for Toyota, had a dealership and sold cars. He was different. He was an honest car salesman. It cost him a lot over his career, but he kept his integrity.

    Never had any interest in selling cars. Spent most of my adult life in sales and marketing. Now I’m headin up The CARE Movement. Go figure.

    Love your examples of the good jobs and the stinky ones. Bill, you ARE the Man. Thanks.

    Al

    • Thank you sir; I could sell cars but I would want it to be at a high end dealership and able to take the ‘hot’ cars home every night………….

      Another subtle change to the header; I like it better too, no more invisible BS.

      We are all in sales whether we think we are or not; some are just more visible with it and actually expect to get paid doing it, huh?

      As always, good to see you and wish you much success on your continued journey my friend.

      Happy Valley, right? I’m sure they will do very well. AU will have their hands full. Seminoles don’t even have a line…………you still going to Tally next week?

      • Thanks brother. Yep. Still planning on headin out Friday morning. have no clue where I’m staying. really lookin forward to a solo road trip. Blasting some old school tunes. Allman Bros, Zeppelin, Stones, Isly Bros. (best old Funk) Who knows what else. Why don’t you get ur ass there, too ?

        And yes, we are all in sales. Life is sales.

        Al

  6. Hey Bill,
    I DID want to be just like my Dad which explains why I’m the only one of four children who went into business for herself! My Dad is an incredible businessman. He amazes me for his incredible ability to change with the times. For instance, he started out taking pictures, evolved into photofinishing, opening the first color photofinishing plant in the Maritimes. But as 1-hour labs started to pop up, he opened some too and sold the chemicals they needed to them! He knew how to weave with the times and survive. I hope I take after him in that!
    Lori

    • Yes, obviously very astute and definitely a survivor. Even as staid as my industry is, I have definitely seen a lot of changes over the last 10 years. I too have tried to be proactive and remain part of the solution, not part of the problem.

      Parents have more influence than they realize at times; good and bad.

      Thanks for sharing this piece of information and now let me head back to your place because I see you have mentioned me in a reply.

  7. Bill, it took me a while to figure out how to comment on this most dad-a-licious post of yours. Without going into any details, I did not have a father whose profession, lifestyle or choices were ones that I would have aspired to. But I did have a mother who told me I could do, and be, anything I wanted to be.

    And when I grow up and figure that out, you’ll be the first to know, haha!

    But seriously, the wisest thing I was told by my mother was the quote: “This above all, to thine own self be true.” Based upon the paths I’ve taken, even as recently as our conversations today Bill, I can say that is the one thing I always am…true to myself. Cheers! Kaarina

    • If you can stay true to yourself it allows a much clearer path on where you want to go. Certainly live life with no regrets, right? Is thine still a word?

      I would say many more people than not just kind of fall into their professions and hopefully by some stroke of luck it is something they like. When people get into the ‘working’ world they usually think ‘job’ first and then figure out their career. For those that know exactly what they want, it sure makes it easier to figure it out.

      Thanks for coming by, hope you are getting your run in on this Sat. Are you guys still getting a lot of rain?

      Have a good one.

      • Yes, I am keeping “thine” in my vocab:)

        I always thought I would stay in athletic coaching, but made the transition to business coaching so seamlessly, it allowed my to volunteer my services in athletics, while having my “job” in business. I’ve always been self-employed, so I don’t know what it’s like to have a “boss”…other than me, and I’m a tough task master, haha!

        Got my runs in: another race on Sunday, woohoo! Cheers! Kaarina

  8. Bill, I think you forgot one big category of “thanks a lot dad” careers — the overachieving fathers. How much fun is it when dad is Chief of Neurosurgery at Cedars Sinai, or Bruce Lee, or Pres. Eisenhower. So, Johnny your dad was Supreme Allied Commander, defeated the Germans, and was a 2 term President — what do you want to do when you grow up? (Ike’s kid was actually a general, but you get the point.)

    Ad for me, I got lucky — my pops had a great business head. I was able to learn a lot.

    Take care Bill!

    • This is a good one; Jack Nicklaus’s kids. So, what have you done for me lately….no pressure though, huh?

      My dad taught me a lot of practical stuff; how to fix things around the house, your car, etc. It really prepared me to be on my own. My kids will make it, but we’ve probably enabled them more than anything. I guess when you can take care of them then tendency is to do just that.

      Thanks for sharing this Adam and good to see you. I hope all is well.

  9. Hi Bill, entertaining as always, thanks!
    I wanted to be a writer of fiction, a mother of 10, a doctor, a taylor, a fashion designer, a shop owner, a journalist, a farmer, a hotel manager, a restaurant owner. I ended up studying English and history, chosing marketing as my profession and becoming a mother of a beautiful daughter.
    Luckily not aspiring to emulate my father who was in banking (who wants to be a Swiss banker these days?) but shaped by my family and dominated by my willpower (or the other way round?).
    Have a great weekend, Barbara

    • That is good and thanks for sharing. Willpower is key and the question is, do you come by that naturally or does your upbringing shape that? Unlike myself, my kids had it made and they have done well. However, they don’t want for much so sometimes I don’t see that spark to really get after it and super achieve. I’m certainly proud of them, I just hope they are content with themselves.

      I always thought I would be a professional athlete; it wasn’t until I was about 30 I figured that wouldn’t be happening. Of course, it wasn’t like I was already playing pro sports; I just thought I’d find a way to make it happen………:)

      I do appreciate you stopping by and so good to see you. I hope you have a great weekend as well.

  10. Hi Bill, interesting thought! My Dad was a good man but had a pretty dead end job as a public servant and retired early due to ill health so there wasn’t too much inspiration there. But what did I do? Had a career in banking and retired early due to ill health so maybe subconsciously I did follow him. (Escaping from being a banker was perhaps a lucky escape given what has happened since!)

    However since having to abandon my chosen career I have had a lot more fun – I have done all sorts of stuff culminating in my present existence as some sort of blogger so it just goes to show really that whatever dreams and ambitions you may have had, life just sometimes gets in the way and throws you off course.

    Hopefully my kids will not follow in the family tradition and last the career course! Thanks for another thoughtful post Bill 🙂

    • Hey Tony, who would have ever thought you would achieve world dominance in the blogosphere, huh?

      I always thought my father was healthy, in-shape and would be around for a long time. In reality, he wasn’t; he smoked since he was about 14 or 15 which led to high blood pressure (which he didn’t monitor regularly) and renal kidney failure. He passed away at 64, within one year of retirement. I DO NOT want that to be my legacy and if I do check out at 64 or younger I don’t want it to be because of poor lifestyle choices.

      I am all about fun Tony and because I was actually in the room with my father when he passed away, it gave me a much better perspective of what is really important. Whether my father knowingly did this, a lot of things he did during his life (good and bad) molded me into the type of person I wanted to be. So, in a round about way I would like to think I am who I am because of my parents.

      That might have been off track a little bit, but it sounded good when I was writing it….:). Thanks for coming by T, I appreciate you.

  11. Bill,

    My whole family are Longshoreman, except me. Not sure what it is? Look it up. Dangerous work, death, union and even mobster ties will pop up. I wanted nothing to do with it. (No, my parents aren’t tied to mobsters, that was past stories.)

    Even before that my dad owned a restaurant, FREE FOOD! My grandfather started in in 1937 and it lasted until the 80’s. I wanted to do that until they closed and I found out I hate to cook. My daughter has promise, she loves to cook and make up recipes. I’m hoping for pastry chef, then mom will never lose weight. LOL.

    I wanted Jacque Cousteau as my dad for a long time. Then Hulk Hogan (we see what a mess his family is now). Then Mario Andretti. Then Bill Gates. Now, I’ll settle for Starbucks manager. Wait, head of the University of CA system so my kids can go to a great university.

    As a female, and as you get older. You can’t wish for dads. You wish to marry an old rich guy, Anna Nichol style or Playboy style. But that dream is quickly crushed when you realize your not a bra size DD and 24 years old. 😦

    I guess I’ll settle for blogger and sub teacher.

    ~Allie

    • True story; Michael Andretti follows me on twitter. I don’t know how he found me, but I followed him back. I thought that was pretty cool.

      For women it can be different, because some aren’t as driven to have a career. They are ok in the traditional role and mother and manager of the house. I would go for marrying the rich guy. If that doesn’t work, then maybe the employed guy. If that doesn’t work then maybe the ‘he makes me laugh guy’……………..

      I know what longshoremen are; tough characters, tough work and I’m guessing a male dominated industry.

      So good to see you, hope you have big and fun plans this weekend.

  12. How’d I miss this?
    Remember Linda Carter? Wonder woman? She’s why I went back to ballet. I thought she was so graceful (there was a special with her talking about dance). That’s why I became a dancer. My grandmother was an artist and inspired me to go down that path.
    A 70+ year-old friend was a master gingerbread house maker and asked me to help her out with a fund raiser 25+years ago…so I started a yearly GB House business.
    I’m a believer that there are certain people who cross your path to show you a possibility for your life.
    Blogging? I don’t have a clue how I ended up here except that I got the idea and started.
    My dad wanted me to be a translator for the FBI (or was it the CIA?).
    My mother-in-law still thinks I should design and sell greeting cards (gag).
    I think it would be fun to be a tour guide in Hawaii, making up everything about everything as I go. I’m really good at that. I’ve found that I’m very believable and hardly anyone questions me.
    Gotta go play soccer with Kenny! Bye!

  13. I love the song, “A Boy Named Sue”! One of my favorites.

    I will never, ever try the three things you mentioned above. You know the dangerous ones, but it is funny to see Budweiser and Walmart mentioned along with Prince Charles, Prince William and Prince Harry. I think Prince Harry might toss back a few 🙂

    My influence? Well my dad was a computer technician for IBM for over 30 years. Never wanted to be a manager, even though he was offered that job more than a few times. Hard working, dedicated, quiet man. And, he did love his job (as far as I know). He wanted me to get into the engineering groove at IBM, move to White Plains, NY and earn a good salary as a computer engineer. Problem was, I had absolutely zero interest in this. He didn’t respect any creative profession at the time (old school you know), but he did respect my decision not to go that route.

    My dad was a very hard worker though, so that is something I picked up from him, An honest as can be. Well, I try 🙂 I don’t know if my kids will do anything close to what I do now, but they are both very creative, and I think one might be a chef one day.

    Hey, thanks for being the first person to comment on my very first blog post yesterday. Much appreciated! I’ll be in touch.

    Have a good one!

  14. Hi, Bill.

    A lot of us did want to be like our dads, eh? Although I did not follow the footsteps of my dad literally, I took his creativity with me when I went for being a web and graphic designer. Then, I took it up a notch and became an entrepreneur.

    Good change to the header. Never thought you were invisible anyway, so the “Dot me. That is all…” is definitely a great change for you.

    Glad to have stopped by again. I had fun reading the stinky and great jobs you listed above.

    Wes

    • Well, well, look who showed up. You need to check out my post today about missing friends……………..:). I know you mentioned you were busy and hope that is working well for you; busy is good, right?

      A few subtle changes, but yes I think it was time to no longer be invisible. Kind of interesting how that all worked out but I kind of just ran with it for awhile.

      It’s good your dad could pass on his creativity; mine passed on his practicality and it has done me well, especially projects around the house. It’s fun sometimes being able to figure things out and just fix them…………

      So good to see you and thanks for taking the time to comment.

  15. Hi, Bill.

    A lot of us really wanted to follow in the footsteps of our dads, eh? Well, as for me, I may not have followed them literally, but I took my dad’s creativity with me when I decided to become a graphic designer. Then, I took it up a notch and became a web designer and an entrepreneur as well. I bet no matter what we do really, we make our dads proud.

    Glad I picked today of all my busy days to drop by again. Had fun reading the stinky and great jobs we should thank dads for. And, congratulations for the header change. So, you finally decided to stop being the invisible guy, eh?

  16. Hi Bill,

    For me to a degree, I ran away from my father’s footsteps. He is a kitchen remodeler, and has been in business for himself since I was in about ten. It’s not that I don’t like the kitchen business, it’s just that he never took the time to show my how to do anything. Any time I would go to and work for him as a helper (usually during summer break), he typically just had me stand there, or carry the tools in and out the house.

    I ran away from his legacy for about twenty years after school, choosing a corporate career. After an eventual downsizing, I started my own business (not in kitchens), and have really been enjoying life as a business owner.

    So to that extent, I say thanks Dad! Ask my to do something handy around the house, and I’ll say THANKS Dad!

    Enjoyed your post! -Adam

    • Yikes, I’m afraid I did that with my kids………my dad either taught or let me just have it around the house and I became very self sufficient at a very early age. Some of it was out of necessity, but it has done me well. Because I was in a much better position to provide for my kids, we didn’t ask them to do much. I never really took the time to show them how to change their oil, fix a tire, etc and I regret not doing so. They are great kids but I wish I could have passed on some of my father’s ingenuity.

      I’m glad to hear you are enjoying your life as an entrepreneur and in your own way you did figure it out.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and I enjoyed your comments as well.

  17. Dad, aloha. Quite an entertaining approach you have taken with the dads, Bill. Have to say that had any of those dads been mine, I would not have followed in their footsteps. Whenever I read stories about such people and their accidents, I always wonder what is the purpose in the first place? Why do it?

    While I didn’t follow in my father’s footsteps in terms of the actual business, he owned an insurance agency which my brother now owns, I did follow after him in beliefs. My dad always stressed doing what matters to you and forget about what everybody else thinks/does. He was always fascinated with his insurance business because he loved learning about people and helping them. Bill, I love learning about people and helping them as well.

    Like my dad, I am very much an individual and am going to do what I want/believe. While sometimes feathers get ruffled, those people are ruffling their own. Long ago, I learned “what you think of me is none of my business.”

    Bill, my dad taught me to love and to appreciate life. Bill, I absolutely do.

    Thanks for this fun post and for giving me the opportunity to talk about the wonderful man that was my dad.

    best wishes to you for a fantastic week ahead. Until next time, aloha. Janet

    • You can call me dad because I am one. I couldn’t be more prouder of my boys and don’t know what I did to deserve them. I was not a model child……….

      Hey, I (and 4 others) own an insurance agency and I’ve been here 28+ years. I too learning about people and finding ways to help them and bring value to our relationship. I couldn’t be in any other business that would be more suited to my personality and demeanor.

      It’s good he was able to instill appreciating life and I’m glad you do. I do as well and I look forward to all the opportunities still ahead.

      And because you said, I think I will have a fantastic week; you too. Thanks for stopping by.

  18. Hey Bill,

    See, I am back to stalk you again!

    After a tough two weeks at work and running after meeting deadlines; I think I should have followed my dad. Yes, he is this real neat guy, who carried his bag and goes to work for the government every day and is back long before the sun sets; and on weekends, he makes sure his family has a special time, every weekend!

    I wish I could have been dad!

    But, then whats done is done!

    As for the three best dad professions – India has a big liquor business tycoon Vijay Mallya and his only son was “gifted’ a part of the business on his 18th birthday. And really that guy just shows up everywhere on the TV, sits with his super hot ever changing girlfriends; buys a cricket team, and keeps the tabloids running.

    Also, a burger joint would be nice too! I mean, dads must be giving their kids free burgers right? And taking over from that or going the same way would be pretty nice… eh?

    • If I had a burger joint I would eat all the profits………..:).

      Sometimes you see kids follow in the parents footsteps and grow the business and sometimes they assume the entitlement attitude and never amount to much. But because they are ‘rich’ all of a sudden everybody thinks what they have to say is just a little more important than anyone else. That’s why I try to take the time to see what’s really inside of the person and not be influenced by money or fame.

      Busy times it appears; hopefully it was a good busy for you. Thanks so much for taking the time to drop in; always good to see you.

  19. I really don’t have any type of inspiration, other than Michael Jordan. I wanted to be able to slam dunk, but I never made it. Although I can still kind of touch the rim 🙂

    My father always wanted me to become a lawyer, or at least get a job that would pay a lot of money and have prestige. So, I turned out to be a political scientist, an education not a single soul in my family have a clue about. And then, to make things even worse, I’m working in marketing and writing a novel about a serial killer… they all think I’m nuts. But that’s ok. I’m having a lot of fun. And that’s what life is about, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Kind of like blogging, huh? Nobody has a clue what it is all about……..

      It does sound like you went your own way, which is probably more fulfilling for you.

      MJ was the man but I always thought Julius Erving was more spectacular.

      I think your real avocation is vacationing BTW……….:).

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by, welcome back.

  20. Hi Bill…I loved this post. It made me laugh and it made me think…I too followed in my Dad’s footsteps albeit after an 11 years stint as an RN. Thankfully Dad wasn’t a wingwalker, rope walker or motorcycle jumper…he was a dentist and he loved what he did. After I had my two children and struggled with the ever changing shifts and schedules of a nurse, I decided that I would try to get into dental school and follow in Dad’s footsteps to become a dentist. Hardest thing I ever did with a 2 year old and a 4 year old. My career has been wonderful but I am on my next journey. I own my practice and I have two amazing young dentists taking awesome care of our patients. I am branching off into the marketing of my practice as well as offering social media advice to people in the dental industry. It is a lot of work to forge a new road but I am loving it. I am grateful to my wonderful Dad for his inspirational guidance with dentistry. I am also grateful for recognizing a new and beckoning road.
    Thanks for a wonderful post.
    Claudia

Leave a Reply

