Loud and proud, I’m coming out

dot.me, billdorman dot me; this was my response to the question “how do I find you”? My wife and I were leaving a dinner party we attended with friends when this question was asked.

I know, I know, you thought I meant ‘that’ coming out; no way Jose, I might give you a man hug but I like the ladies (my wife) too much.

How did all this start

Most know my story about the invisible blogger moniker and Gini Dietrich being my gateway into the ‘real’ social media world. Well, a couple of months ago, these Spin Sucks charges started showing up on my credit card statement; it was time to come clean with my wife about the extent of my blogging activities. Her only question was, “are you making any money”? And of course, she still wants to know……….:).

So, other than a handful of people at the office and just a very few locals, not many people in real life knew that I was ‘a blogger‘. Ok, don’t any of you smart asses say a word, let me finish the story.

No more secrets

We are out to dinner with four other couples and as soon as I sat down, one friend who I’m connected with on LinkedIn exclaims “so, I see you are a blogger”. Well that certainly got the conversation going and then everybody wanted to know what I was blogging about, how to find me, how much time, etc.

Of course my friend (who probably never read a post of mine) was telling everyone at the table I was divulging everything about my personal life online. That was getting the big yucks and causing me to get the evil eye from the wife.

Long story short, this is pretty much our core group of friends; the cat is officially out of the bag, Dorman is a blogger.

Similar to the Gini revelation above, it was somewhat liberating. For the most part, this group of people are on Facebook at best, but that’s about it. If nothing else, it did spur some interesting conversation.

Is it time to cut the cord?

I’m thinking the ‘invisible’ moniker has run it’s course and starting to wear a little thin. I was thinking of opening it up for suggestions, as Marcus Sheridan did with his site, ultimately choosing Mark Harai’s offering. Let me ask, when is the last time anybody has seen Mark?

Rumor has it, since Marcus has skyrocketed to fame since that move, Mark wanted his cut of the action. Little did he know Marcus had sold his soul to the mob for his stardom and soon as Mark started sniffing around…..I don’t know…….all I do know is the search parties have been called off.

Therefore, to keep everyone safe I think I will try this endeavor on my own.

The new Coke

What do you think; will I lose my identity? Does it really matter? Have any of you done a total change, and if so, was it better afterwards? Are there any ‘do-overs’ in the social media world?

Do most of your face to face friends know the extent of your social media involvement? If so, what do they think about it?

69 thoughts on “Loud and proud, I’m coming out

  1. Hey Bill. Well I’ve not done any do-overs in the way you describe, so sorry, I’m of no help there. I have no doubt you’ll weather the change just fine!

    But I will chime in on the other. Not many folks I know in my personal life follow my online life. They vaguely know about it, but don’t take much interest. The division is pretty strictly along the business/personal line, so it doesn’t really feel any different from the typical work/personal distinction. It is fun when the crossover does happen though, and it’s becoming more and more active for work, so our in-person events are starting to see some impact from that which I’m very excited about!

    Good luck moving forward!

    • Thanks for the comments; my son was just in my office ‘shadowing’ me while he is still waiting to sit for the health license exam and I let him read this post. That was the first he knew of it.

      I told him he should start a blog because he was a journalism major and it would provide an opportunity to write.

      It won’t be a big change, but mr invisible might be gone; baby steps for now…..:)

      So good to see you; thanks for coming by.

  2. Bill, I like your coming out story. I have been following you for some months, the idea with the invisible blogger was really intriguing and a marketing coup.
    You can change anything but your personality. Borrowing Mark Harai’s list tick off one by one (expert, professional, helpful, kind, thoughtful, valuable, caring): congratulations, you are a rocking brand on the social web!
    Here’s to change!
    Have a lovely day, Barbara

    • That was very nice of you to say Barbara; it put a smile on my face. It’s always amusing to me when someone pops up but says they have been following me, or know of me. Not too invisible, huh?

      I’m having fun with it and trying to go with the flow, but with a little more direction.

      Thanks for weighing in and hope to see you around.

  3. Wow, Bill. Love the new profile picture! Who knew what would result from you shaving your legs? Way to take it to the limit!

    Congratulations on coming out. I’m excited for all of your new readers who are in for a treat when they discover the “formerly Invisible Blogger.” Well done.

    • Do you think it was a little much? I just had my hair did and tried to keep it somewhat reserved………….

      I’m still tweaking it, but I think I’m ready to move forward. The FIB, huh?

      Good to see you and thanks for stopping by.

  4. When I moved from Blogger to WP I made several changes including the blog name and the URL.

    It hasn’t been a big issue at all for me. The blog is continuing to grow in every way and new opportunities are coming from it. It is always easier to make these changes earlier in the game than later.

    • I hear ya and now is probably the time. Carolyn had a good analogy in my previous post about a tennis prodigy with a wooden racket but still winning. At some point you probably need to take advantage of the technologies available to you.

      Good to see you, hope you are forging ahead.

  5. I’ve only used social media for a year now, but I do see patterns. It’s sort of like growing up. Some people will never let you change. I ran into a woman once who was appalled that my husband was stll alive. She thought he’d died of a heroine overdose! He never touched the stuff, but he was a lot of “fun” in his youth/young adult years! But no one will let him outgrow his reputation. It’s how they know and remember him.
    Online relationships can be kept current because we can interact no matter what. Right. I think it’s fun to change, try on new stuff. I’d be bored to tears doing the same thing for years or even months!
    I think Superman might work.. you know? The guy who swoops in and saves you before you crash. That’s you, Bill. Your wife would snicker I’m sure.

    • The Superman, right?

      You make a good point about our ‘youth’. I’m many years out of high school but live in the same town where I graduated from. It’s funny when you see certain people how you use high school and how you were as a frame of reference. Hello, that was a hundred years ago, I’m a grown man now…………….:).

      Staying the same is comfortable but it doesn’t allow growth; I’m for the growth even if it means blazing your own trail at times.

      Good to see you and welcome to the KBL Triberr tribe.

  6. I like Betsy’s suggestion but the domain might be taken. Superman.me? Or better yet: TheBatmanHotline.

    Do you do the sexy hotchat too? [grin] I know you have the skills. That southern courtesy will hunt. That can make you more money than insurance and blogging ever can.

    My sophomore year of college, one of our neighbor’s dads owned a phone sex company. He drove a corvette. The dad. That wasn’t impressive. He had a different hottie in the passenger seat every time he came to visit his son. That was very impressive to all of us young men.

    Is it time to change the brand? Or add a new brand to the shelf. Whatever you decide, the Bill Dorman show must go on.

    Stan

    Recently on my blog: The Economics of Friendship. And other social media DOHs! http://wp.me/pbg0R-oU

    • I had lunch w/ my son today and we discussed occupations of father’s where the kids followed in their footsteps. You might have heard of the tragedy where the wing walker fell 200′ to his death, but it was a profession he had followed his dad into. I think my kids would be much more appreciative if it was phone sex instead of wing walking……just sayin’………..:). I do have a 1-900-hotchat #………on my HeyPal account.

      You are correct sir, the show must go on in some form or fashion and we’ll just have to see what that looks like, huh?

      Thanks for stopping by Stan, so good to see you.

  7. Hey Bill,

    I know you as “Bill”, not “Invisible Blogger”. Actually, I know you also as bdorman264. You are one of the few bloggers I have memorized not only your blog name but your twitter name also. Probably because you stand out. You’re genuine and at times a smart ass but that is ok, you liven up this boring business of “content” and “SEO”.

    Anyhow, I don’t think losing the “invisible” will do much on my end. Just don’t change your name to Betty or something. (Get it, “coming out”. Sorry, my attempt at stupid humor fails today. It’s serious business day for Allie.)

    My friends are clueless. When I went to Blogher they thought I was going to learn how to write. There was so much more to it. I think my kids get what I am doing more than any adult I know offline. They get it. They have been on online kid games and forums since they could type.

    It is very hard to explain what I do. I always have to describe it this way:

    “You know the Superbowl, right? How commercials pay big money to be in the Superbowl time slots? I am kinda like that. I write content (Superbowl) and hopefully when I am big enough people will pay for advertising on my site. AND I can sell stuff when I get big enough.”

    Well, I think I am going off on a tangent.

    If you drop the “invisible” are you still going to have a tagline? I think you should.

    Have an awesome day!

    ~Allie

    • The Bill; dollar bill; buffalo bill; billy d; billy defense; dorman; bd; wild bill; silly billy; wkd and those are just a few, I will answer to just about anything.

      I will have a tagline…………..’show me the money’ or something like that.

      It was funny to see the reactions on the faces at the table that night; I had no idea I was going to be a blogger of any consistency. I thought being invisible I could just shut it down if I got tired of it. People started showing up so I had to change out of the cutoffs, comb my hair and find some shoes.

      For the most part people are in social media a just little bit; the percentage is much smaller for the people who are ‘all in’ like we are.

      Thanks for the drive-by and don’t send out anymore inappropriate tweets, ok?

      Have a good one.

      • Tell me about it! No more stupid tweets! I hope I can recover, so far so good.

        I was over at Alaska Chick Blog and thought of some tag lines:

        Bill: he used to have invisibility, now he can fly (get it, you took off)
        I like Adrienne’s idea of “formally known as” or you can just use a symbol, lol.
        Bill “The Fun Blogger” Doooorrrmmmmaaannn! (Like announcing it at a pro wrestling event)

        I’ll just call you Bill.

        ~Allie

    • Yep, forgot Oh no, Mr Bill…………..

      I think I want Brian’s Extremely Average moniker; maybe he will sell it cheap…..

      I’m definitely getting some clever suggestions…………..so, who knows, huh?

      Amber-Lee is on a trip so I don’t know if she will ever see my ‘shout-out’ to her. I’m just getting to know her, but she’s fun. I definitely want to do the tweet up wilderness trip.

  8. Hey Bill,

    My time to pipe in on the conversation? Interesting headline I must admit. I bet your wife is happy it’s just the blog you’re talking about and nothing else.

    So, you finally had to “come out” to your friends huh! Heck, I have some friends follow me on Facebook but have never read my blog. My own family has never read my blog. To them, I’m still just me and no one special. See, I told you so!!!

    I think since your URL is your name, changing the tagline should be no big deal. Let’s face it, you already have a great following so that’s not going to go away anytime soon. I kind of like what Carolyn suggested but with a little spin. Maybe “Formerly Known as the Invisible Blogger.” Hey, can’t stay invisible forever.

    So have fun with that, I just went through hell trying to figure my tagline out just to eventually find out it’s just fine the way it is. Okay then, onward ho!

    • Coward ho; I like that………

      FKIB or FKAIB; hmmmmm, might have some potential.

      After dragging that stiff Avatar around and having people show up, it’s probably not going to matter what I call my place, huh?

      I will try a couple of things to get the feel and look and see what I think from there.

      Thanks for weighing in.

  9. Hey Buddy, congrats on your coming out party here. I gotta be honest, I always wondered about that…guess suspicions are now confirmed. 😉

    Do you need to change the ‘invisible blogger’? Well, if your gut says so, then yes. The blog will get makeover after makeover as long as you’re in this game. If it doesn’t, it means you’re not growing, and I’m not referring to traffic here, I’m talking about you as a person.

    So I’m looking forward to the new Bill as he continues to show himself….good luck buddy. 🙂

    Marcus

    • You know what my gut says, can I have a second helping?

      I was thinking maybe invisible was getting a little obnoxious because I’m obviously not invisible anymore for the most part. I do think it’s time to grow.

      C’mon man; that was the best joke ever. Don’t tell me you didn’t laugh because it’s true about the mob and now I have to watch my back………..

      Always good to see you sir and hopefully you have power at this point.

    • I tried the video gig, I’m not sure that was going over all that well. Especially because I have a face for radio…………..:).

      Whatever it took to get to this point, I’m guessing I could do it again if the wheels just fell off.

      Good to see you Ari and thanks for stopping by today. Hope all is well with you.

  10. Bill,

    I think it is time for a change. You have done the marriage thing why not get out there and experiement. 🙂 I couldn’t resist. The post title left it up for grabs.

    I have made some adjustments several times over the years and I agree with Marcus, if things aren’t changing you aren’t growing. You should still wear diapers when you are an adult. Unless they are adult diapers. lol!

    • Whew, that would be a change…….

      How did you know I wear diapers? Did JK say something to you? Marcus?

      It’s one of those if it’s not broke don’t fix it, but I also think it would show a sign of growth.

      I’m tinkering with it, we’ll see. Good to see you and thanks for the wittiest comment award. I briefly looked at your attachment and really like it. It’s been crazy today so I haven’t been able to dig in but I will and it was greatly appreciated.

      Have a good one buddy.

  11. I say reinvent yourself. You were never “invisible” anyway. I think that you need a new tagline though – you can’t take mine because I will come after you with my slugger!

    I think change is good – I would say change one thing and see how that goes then change more. You can always change it again too. That is the really great part.

    My IRL friends know I blog. My close friends love my posts. Many are largely indifferent to the fact that I am a blogger, which is fine.

    • Billy Idol spiked hair kind of change? Don’t get after me w/ Louie……..

      The thing that does surprise me, someone IRL will say they like my blog; it happened today and I didn’t even know they were a reader. I thought that was pretty cool.

      Most of my friends would just roll their eyes and ask ‘why’. I think it’s fun and it does give me the opportunity to write. If nothing else, hopefully it is helping with my communication skills.

      Thanks for coming by and I’ll try to get something for you to look at in a day or two.

  12. Hi Bill,

    I have always seen you as loud and proud, but I might have been missing something 🙂

    I can relate to the dinner conversation, as my parents have been asking me the same questions for years. My wife has stopped, she knows that I’m not making any money and that she will have to support for a few more years. The thing is, I have told everybody about my plan and my goal, so I’m very open about what I’m doing. I’m writing a novel, and I’m going to get it published during 2012. That’s it. I haven’t told people that I’m going to be a successful author. It’s going to get published, that’s all.

    What’s going on with Mark and Marcus? I haven’t seen Mark in a very long time, and I haven’t heard any news or rumors. I live in Norway, I guess news doesn’t travel that fast after all 🙂

    Have a great day Bill. I’m about to leave for a vacation in Italy, so the next time you’ll hear from me, I’m eating pizza in Rome 😉

    Jens

    • Wow, that sounds like fun; you are having a great summer.

      I think Mark really is gone; even this post couldn’t pull him out (actually I saw he was on Skype this am so I do know he’s still breathing………..:).

      When you are famous, we can all say we knew you when.

      Thanks for coming by and have a great time on your trip; talk to you soon pizza breath.

  13. LMAO sir, maybe that should be included in your Extreme Blog Do-over – (yes, I’m all for those Bill. I’ll take as many mulligans as I can get these days and WILL get to my website fresh by year’s end!!) – some sort of warning about the riotous fits of laughter that may result from reading this blog. 🙂 My only other idea is some sort of play on words ala ‘seeing through the social media b.s.’ maybe?

    I don’t think you’ve divulged private Dorman family secrets; you’re making friends, developing a network so no reason for alarm. Regarding making money, not sure about your financial goals for the blog itself though I think you’re planning to integrate social for your company.

    Back to the blog title, don’t think it will change you b/c as you say, you’ve never really been ‘invisible’ – I know I noticed you right away. As for my offline friends, I don’t know what they know; I don’t really share or post my own stuff b/c I figure it’s not relevant to them so no need to spam my FB stream w/ my business posts. Those that do know just sorta roll their eyes at blogging, Twitter, social networking in general… then we go back to drinking wine, playing cards. FWIW.

    • I like seeing through the social bs theme………..might be some potential there……:)

      No secrets I wouldn’t say out loud; he was just pulling my leg trying to get a reaction.

      I actually un-linked my twitter from LinkedIn because of Triberr, all my posts were going out multiple times and I had several people say I was the most active in their stream. I didn’t want them to think I was a LinkedIn ho………….

      I’m kicking around some ideas so we’ll see where it goes; good to see you today and are you ready for some football? Geaux Tigers………

      • …”Synova, Jeremy isn’t defending Obama as much as he’s hanitg on Althouse and her commenters.”There’s that overused term; “hate” being thrown around.I don’t any of the people here, only read and respond to or comment on their opinions.99% of the comments posted here are represent the far right wing tea bagger bullshit anyone can hear on a daily basis on Fox or via the fat man on the radio.The Queen represents herself as an “independent” but is really just a shill for her loyal wibase their lives around daily visits to her blog site.If you yourself agree with most of what you read here, so be it, I could give a flying fuck.I just wish that every now and then someone here would post something that wasn’t directly related to denigrating our president and anything he says or does.I’d also like to know where these fools were during the eight long years Bush ran the show, along with a Republican majority, as he ran the entire country into the ground.Were you also sound asleep?

    • Hey you, I haven’t even been by your place today. My son ‘shadowed’ me at work today as he’s waiting to take the state health insurance license exam and will work for Aflac. We went on some appointments and we also talked about where and how to find your prospects and just general stuff. It was fun to spend the day with him…….

      I hope your day went well and I’ll drop by in a few; good to see you.

  14. Hi Bill,

    I think a blog, like any website, has to evolve over time. That’s what makes it interesting and fresh. Lots of bloggers have started out with one topic then switched to another (Brankica, for example). The cool thing about using self-hosted WordPress is that you can completely change things whenever you want to. I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun with it when you move. (I know I did!)

    As to your other questions, my family and friends know I have a blog and put a lot of effort into it. Some of them even read my posts! (I automatically cross-post to Facebook, so my aunts, uncles, and cousins see my posts there.) Family members who have read my blog now have a much better understanding of what marketing is and what I actually do all day!

    My family also knows I have lots of “Twitter friends,” but they don’t really understand why I read and comment on other blogs, or why it’s so important that I stay connected with so many people on social media. But hey, you can’t have it all, right? As long as I’m not posting their darkest secrets I think they’re cool with the revelations I make on my blog. 😉

    • Evolution is growth right; sometimes subtle and sometimes you do it in a big way to make a splash. Mine will be on the more subtle side, but I think I’m ready.

      I think more of my family know I have one than friends, but it’s slowly getting out there. It’s not like I don’t want to talk about it, but I don’t throw it out there for a reaction either. It just is what it is I guess………..

      I’m having fun with it so I guess I’ll keep rolling down this road for now.

      Thanks for stopping by and your comments; hope you have a great Labor Day weekend.

  15. Hey Bill,

    I think dropping the invisible is pretty simple. You’re right, you are not invisible and have not been for quite some time. Cutting the invisible part is a good move.

    For the other part, I guess I’ll be the dissenter here… that’s what friends are for, right? 🙂 … I know you’ve talked a lot about not knowing what direction you wanted to take this thing, and I’m not sure where you are with all that. But my 2 cents, you might as well wait until you figure it out before trying to do a tag line, etc. One thing about Marcus’ crowdsourcing his blog was that he was pretty clear on what his goals were and what his blog was about.

    Of course, if you keep it “just Bill” then it really doesn’t matter. In that case, ignore everything above! 🙂 Whatever you do, I’m sure it will be fine, and I know I’ll be there for the journey.

    Have a great evening Bill!

    • I know what you are saying and I’ve already got the ‘cute’ down, so until I’m definitive in my direction I probably don’t need to try and ‘super’ brand yet.

      If I can survive that original Avatar, I should be in pretty good shape.

      Good to see you and hope all is well. I also hope you have a great Labor Day weekend; summer if officially over, right? Where are the cooler temperatures?

  16. Woohoo!! The invisible blogger is no more and the Super Social Man is officially in business. 🙂 I am glad for you, Bill. 🙂 Happy that you are finally coming out loud and proud.

    I wouldn’t even think about suggesting what moniker you will adapt now that you have finally accepted that you are indeed VISIBLE, because I know that you, humor and all, would be able to find that on your own. Just know that I am mighty proud of you and will be here to support you always.

    Good luck! 🙂

    • Yeah, I don’t think it will be earth shattering by any means but just a subtle change and drop of the invisible tag. It was kind of fun the way things turned out and ended up being anything but invisible.

      That’s probably why I would do a good job if I faked my death to collect insurance money and tried to live anonymously somewhere else. I don’t think I could stay invisible too long…………:).

      Good to see you and I will try to get something for you to review as a GP.

      Hope your weekend goes well.

  17. Finally out of the closet. So proud of you, big boy. Anyway, sorry i’m just getting here. Yesterday was nuts. On my DM to you yesterday, I said something like this: As long as you remain true to yourself and keep bringin it like you do, it doesn’t matter what the name of your blog is. Your writing is inviting. Hum ? Inviting Writing. not bad. Just continue to be you and your success and followers will continue to grow.

    Here are some more potential names; The DoorMan, The DorKman, Dollar Bill, Billt to Last,
    UhDoorUhBill, ADorABill, AvailaBill, OpenDorMan, and the R rated “BillowMe” Had a few more of those. Ha !

    Like I said, you are a kind, loving, talented and funny guy. You will always be a hit !
    Thanks again for all the support and friendship you have shown this rookie. Appreciate it.

    Al

  18. Bill – You made me laugh! I am having a similar experience “coming out” as a blogger! Not a story I can share publicly though. You’ll have to buy me a beer. And so you don’t have to explain THAT to your wife, just invite her to the bar with us okay?

    • Yes, I would love to hear the story over a beer. And yes, the wife will insist on coming but I’m sure she would enjoy the story as well.

      It was humorous to see the reactions when he said it; I think in social media unless you are ‘all in’, you just don’t get it.

      So good to see you ma’am and thanks for taking the time to stop by. I hope you have a fantastic Labor Day weekend.

  19. So I read this post first thing yesterday morning, intending to come back to it later in the day. I do remember DM’ing U, so I don’t feel like a total schmuck…just half a one.

    Love the new direction: can I borrow your outfit some time? Have a wonderful Labor Day weekend. Cheers! Kaarina

    • Do you know how long it took me to dress for that photo? I left it on for a week……

      Since Monday is Labor Day (where was the Labour Day?) and I probably won’t post until Tues, I might roll it out then. I haven’t really worked with it yet.

      I’m glad you found your way back, it does get crazy out there when you are out and about amongst the crowds.

      I hope you have a great weekend too.

  20. Hey Bill,

    Many of my friends do know that I blog. Not sure why one wouldn’t share their blog with their friend, unless they covered topics they didn’t want to their friends to know about. When I started my blog I sent out this mass email to my friends and family letting them know about it. But then there were other friends that it took me sometime to tell because I don’t have as frequent contact with them for whatever reason.

    Glad to hear that the cats out of the bag!

    That picture up there is too much. Waaaay to much!

    • Scary pic, huh? That would be loud and proud………..:).

      I don’t even think about much really; that is probably why it doesn’t come up in conversation. At times, it does seem like I’m living parallel lives and sometimes it’s hard to keep straight on who I’ve talked to about what?

      Being ‘all in’ in social media is definitely different than just dabbling w/ Facebook.

      Good to see you buddy, loved your post at MyLifeStyleMax; thought provoking.

      Hope you have a great Labor Day weekend.

  21. I don’t think the moniker will matter as much as the fantastic writing. It could be “Bill Dorman: Loves Stinky Garbage” and I would still read. I would also read the following Bill Dorman blog titles

    …Bill Dorman: Better than a Kick to the Head
    …Bill Dorman: Wisdoms and Bacon
    …Bill Dorman: Will Likely Take Over the World…queue for Sucking Up Starts Now
    …Bill Dorman: He’s Friendly

    Admittedly, I like the last one best.

    • I don’t know Brian, I’m kind of partial to the bacon post……………….

      Good to see you sir, I guess you were able to take time from the book tour; hopefully, that is still moving forward for you.

      I like your suggestions and will certainly keep them in mind. I would like you to guest post in a couple of weeks if you are still interested.

      I hope you have a great Labor Day weekend; talk to you soon.

  22. Okay, the suggestions above really have me laughing! I especially love Al and Brian’s input. I do agree with Kaarina–I’m in for a contest if you’re giving away a Ferrari! I need to spread that one around the blogosphere! I’m kind of partial to The Bill Dorman Show. Ya know, cause you’re entertaining;)

    Yeah, my family and friends don’t quite “get” what I do online. My husband really didn’t get it when I said I wanted to start an online business and get into this whole world. He said once he saw $$$ coming into our bank account he didn’t care if he understood and I could do it all I wanted:) Really, my friends and family have been super supportive even if they don’t “get” what I do.

    I just know you’re going to get that same support if you decide to change a few things around here. Change means growth!

    • Yes, you do have to change and in the social media world it seems you always have to be changing to stay with it. The good news is, there are plenty of places to go to see what you like and don’t like.

      I never bring up blogging probably just because I don’t really think about it that much unless I’m writing a post. Everything to me is just being ‘online’.

      Your husband is probably happy you decided transcription instead of a chat line gig or something, huh?

      Thanks for weighing in and hope you have a great Labor Day weekend.

  23. I feel like I’m involved with social media at somewhat a “different” level than others being that I’m younger. I started blogging and getting into web development when I was around 10, so most all my friends have always known me as the “online” kid. Or the “blogger.” It’s just felt kinda natural.

    That’s where the “Smart Boy” name even came from. Not out of my own big, inflated head. My grandparents would call me. “Hey Christian! We need you to fix our computer!” So I’d fix it. And then, it would come…”You’re such a smart boy!” In grandparent tone.

    I like coming out as a blogger. It’s liberating. Freedom fighting. It amazes me how many people in the “real” world still don’t even know what blogs really are. They have this preconceived notion that it’s solely an online journal where you’re going to divulge all your secrets and daily doings. No, it doesn’t have to be just that friends. Really – in it’s simplest, it’s just a website that shows posts in descending order. Simple. It can be whatever you want it to be.

    Love these thoughts. Hopefully the wife is happy, now that you’ve come out. Are you going to convert her too – or does she not play with these type of things? 😉

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Your friend,
    Christian

    • Hey Christian, that’s a good perspective from someone who has been doing it pretty much his whole life. And I certainly understand the ‘smart boy’ moniker. Similar to my reasoning with invisible because I had no idea people would show up. I had a couple of friends who were blogging (but not engaging) and they were getting very little traffic so I thought that would be the norm unless you were some ‘big’ name.

      I actually am trying to get the wife into it; I think she could find some niche sites she’s interested and have some fun interacting. Right now, she thinks this is all like a glorified ‘dating’ site. I tell her I don’t think twitter is the platform for that; there are too many other places to go on the internet if that was your purpose. She does read my posts however.

      You have a great weekend too sir; thanks for stopping by and keep up the good work.

  24. Well as for me, I just got into blogging and becoming acquainted with it. I do have my family and friends involved though. I interact with them on FaceBook, but I don’t think any of them have really looked at my blog posts except for my husband who is very supportive. I didn’t use to be on any social network daily, but now I am making a conscious effort to be. It’s interactive and interesting_a different media that allows one to express freely.
    I congratulate you on your ‘coming out’ party as everyone said, Bill…although I barely know you. I took that opportunity to thank you for commenting on my blog. Good luck with your revealed identity.

    • It’s crazy out here; one minute you think you have it mastered and then next you think ‘what the heck just happened’? It’s good your husband is supportive. My wife is ‘ok’ with it, but as much time as I invest in it, I think she would like to see more of a return other than the mutual love fest that goes on at times.

      I hope I get to spend some time at your site, your premise sounds very interesting; capturing moments in time through writing.

      It has been fun so far and hopefully for you as well. Thanks for coming by.

  25. It doesn’t matter what you call yourself. You’re still you. And we like you. That’s my personal opinion and my takeaway from all these people who love you.

    Very few of my friends and family read my blog. If my Dad asks me what I’ve been up to say and I say, “blogging” he’ll say, “Now what’s blogging again?” Every time. Social media friends and understanding therein comprises a mini world within my bigger world. And it is a place I often find understanding. That’s worth more than money. Um…right?

    • Hey Mimi, good to see you; if you are into your new gig yet, hopefully it is going well.

      My wife was just in the room and said ‘why don’t you write about something interesting like why don’t doctors do the simple heart tests instead of pap smears, mammograms, etc. More people are dying from heart attacks than anything. It got me thinking, but I don’t have an answer. At least she is somewhat interested in what I’m writing about.

      ‘Real’ social media is unique and even though it can be big in numbers, it is ‘mini’ in my real world. However, to be ‘all in’ in social media, it feels like it is hectic and crowded as all get out.

      It is a forum we can speak and be heard and I too find understanding and questions and it’s worth a lot to me.

      So good to see you and thanks for dropping by. Hope you have a great Labor Day weekend.

  26. Hey Bill,

    If you followed my story from the beginning I started blogging when I was unemployed…a voluntary unemployment and change of cities lead me to have a prolonged joblessness and then someone introduced me to blogging and joys of it! The day I started blogging I made sure ALL my friends are reading it; yes, I made sure I did everything loud and all out!

    In fact I made my mom and dad read it and I actually irritated my siblings into reading and commenting, so now they are like ‘ Oh, blogger, blogs, ya does that pay you…” Everyone seems interested in that!

    Come out loud and clear, really, make it sound like really awesome and so cool! Maybe we might have a mrsdorman.me soon! 🙂

    • I’m trying to get her interested; I think she would enjoy it. She does read (and critique) mine so that’s kind of cool.

      I did know your story but didn’t know about pulling the family in as well. The more the merrier, huh? My sisters know what I’m doing but they don’t follow me; they do FB but that’s about it.

      Well, we’ll see what the new me looks like; it will be subtle at first, but I’m ready.

      Thanks for your comments and hope your weekend is going well. Your support is greatly appreciated.

    • I know what you mean; look at Madonna and how many do-overs she has done to stay relevant. One of the keys is knowing when it’s time I guess; it’s very easy to stay w/ the known and comfortable…………

      Good to see you and thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave your thoughts. Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

