Versatile Blogger Award: Thank You Allie

I have to tell you, this has been an interesting month indeed. The beginning of the month I was definitely feeling the dog days of summer and struggling with direction and focus. Nothing in comparison as to what my good friend The JackB is dealing with right now; but as it seems to occur in the blogosphere, somebody shows up at just the right time.

In addition to it being my birth month, I had guest post opportunities from good friends Danny Brown and Lori Gosselin and it turned out to be quite the party indeed. On top of that, I had two successes of note with my day job, so all in all last time I looked it was still good to be me.

And just when you think it can’t get any better, I received the Versatile Blogger Award from my friend the mommy blogger Allie from @AllieRambles.

This was pretty cool and the fact she thought of me as a blogger worthy of recognition was literally icing on the cake. Allie has become a very dear friend and I’m pretty sure she doesn’t know what to do with me yet, but glad she has welcomed me into her community. Please check her site out, she is very talented, helpful and passionate about what she does.

I know, I know, how in the heck did I get in a mommy blog; I told her my story about cutting someone off in traffic and they called me a mother so I think that qualified me.

I previously received a similar shout out from Ari Herzog and Hajra Khatoon. I let it sit for awhile but did not respond, but it was appreciated too. Unless you are calling me for dinner however, I might not be the quickest to act. But that’s because I’m just lazy like that…..

Here’s the fun part

I get to pass this on to other bloggers for the same reasons. However, there are some rules and they are as follows:

  • Thank the person who gave the award and link them back to your post.
  • Share 7 things about yourself
  • Pass this award along to up to 15 16 recently discovered blogs.
Here’s the hard part, the 7 things about me:
  • I’m way cooler than I look
  • No, I don’t whine every time I don’t get my way
  • My last meal would probably be a hamburger
  • Yes, this is my real hair
  • Yes, I really do have a job
  • Yes, I really do have two hole-in-ones
  • I think Field of Dreams is the best father/son movie ever
Now it’s time to rock & roll
These are my selections I feel are deserving of the Versatile Bloggers Award. You will notice they are all lovely ladies and sorry Al Smith, shaving your legs will not gain you admission. I might have been born on a Wednesday, but it wasn’t last Wednesday……just sayin’…….
This is by no means an exhaustive list of my ‘lady’ friend supporters, but a list of bloggers worthy of recognition and attention.
The contest
I don’t expect reciprocity, but thought this was a cool way to publicly recognize some friends.
Thank you bloggers for the time and effort you put into your writing, it is recognized and very much appreciated.
Please check this talent out and enjoy.
106 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award: Thank You Allie

  1. Congratulations, Bill. Well, you are a blogger and somewhat versatile, so I guess you qualify.
    Really dude, you are good. Thanks for the wonderful mention of me along with the outstanding 16 lovely and talented women. I know some of them and look forward to reading the others, soon.

    I can’t believe you shared the shaving thing on your blog. I thought that was just between us ? Dam you Man ! Anyway, you got any bandaids ? As I have pretty much butchered my left leg. Yeah, thats right, the left leg is partly shaved and bloodied and the right one is not getting touched. ha !

    Seriously, thanks agin for sharing your talents with the blogging world. I look forward to your writing and crazy sense of humor. It is much needed and appreciated by me and lots of others. Well, at least by me and Allie.

    Have a GREAT-Ful day !

    Al

    • Hi, Al.

      I am sure you if Bill will have another list of great bloggers, you will have a spot in it. 🙂

      Interesting to know that you shave your legs. I do, too. 😀

    • It was fun and hopefully will get the bloggers some recognition.

      I think you should go with the one leg shaved look, very cutting edge.

      My Google Reader has very few new posts in it and Monday usually is a busy day. I’m guessing the storm has kicked some people out for the day. Hopefully it will put some contractors back to work, huh?

      Good to see you and thanks for the comments.

    • Gents, I am late to the ballgame but I have to share that I have shaved my legs many times. Of course, I was swimming competitively so it was a natural thing- but a little strange to reach down and feel smooth skin.

      Fact is that I do a better job shaving my legs than the ladies- how is that for versatility.

      Bill, I expect that one day we will see that you have taken over the blogosphere. I am waiting and watching/

      • I’m on top of the world, king of the blogosphere……….isn’t that what they were saying on the Titanic? Yikes…………..

        I’m having fun on the journey and you will probably see some subtle changes occurring, but I’m still all in at this point.

        Hope you got moved or close to it; I’m sure it has been somewhat stressful.

        I’ve never shaved the legs, but I’m not that hairy of a guy anyway so you might not be able to tell. But if it will get me an award or an account, I’d probably do it…..:)

        Good to see you Jack, thanks for coming by.

  2. Thank God you shared your secrets with us! I knew you were cooler than you look and that hair…let’s just say some bets will be settled now. 🙂
    Congrats, my friend, glad to see the light shining on you and your talent. I’m sure had you had the option of 17 bloggers to recognize, Al would have made the cut! 🙂
    Have a great week!

    • It was close but once Al suggested the lipstick I had to shut it down………..no mas………..

      Hope you didn’t get too wet over the weekend; as I mentioned to Al my Reader is barren from lack of new posts, the storm must have had an affect on that.

      Thanks for coming by and hope you have great week; I’ll see you around.

      • I understand; Al and lipstick just don’t mix. We were quite dry here; nothing but wind, bringing in the start of my allergy season. I love this time of year, but hate the pollen that goes with it. I’ve been super slow on my posts lately! Will crank one out tonight! Lots in the brain; just need to get it all out!!

  3. Congratulations with your Versatile Blogger Award, Bill! You definitely deserve it. 🙂

    And, thank you very much for including me in your list of Versatile Bloggers. I don’t know what I ever did to deserve you as a friend, support and wise adviser, but you have been there for me since I started and I am very grateful. It is official, your special chamber in my heart will be there for life. 🙂

    • I was hoping it was going to come with a new car, but maybe the next award will. …..

      It was easy to put the list together and I had fun with it. I like to shine the light on the people who have supported me. Hopefully in a small way this will do so.

      Good to see you and thanks for weighing in today; hope all is well.

  4. Hey Bill,
    This doesn’t surprise me at all (well the Mommy part did!) but you deserve any credit that comes your way! Thanks for mentioning LFI and me. You blew our comments record out of the water last Monday!
    I didn’t know you had a niece blogging – I do too! It’s fun to see what she’s up to. In fact, this whole blogging thing is fun, isn’t it! Except today when I have lost my Internet connection due to the hurricane. I popped into my Dad’s place for an hour to grab the connection but I’m heading back home! I MISS you all! LOL See you later. Enjoy your award Bill! Print it, frame it and reach up and pat yourself on the back!
    🙂
    Lori

    • I was hoping they were at least going to feed me; maybe that’s at the next banquet, huh? But then again, maybe they have seen me eat already so they knew it was a wise thing ‘not’ to invite me…………….especially if they are on a budget………

      I think the storm knocked out several people; didn’t see your post bright and early. Hopefully everybody can get back up to speed quickly.

      Thanks for coming by in spite of spotty internet; I did see the smoke signals………

      Have a good one today.

  5. Hi Bill,

    Congratulations amigo on winning this award. 🙂 I am very happy for you. I am really happy that you included me in this list. That is really unexpected and a nice way to start the week. I am always happy to be included in one your lists. You are a great friend. 🙂

    Since I am still displaced from my house, I now have a topic for tomorrow!

    • I’m not quite sure how stiff the competition was, but it’s always fun when somebody recognizes you out in the blogosphere. As we both know, it can be so fickle at times you don’t know if you are visible or not at times.

      Hope all is well and other than water (not in the house) you will get back to normal quickly. It’s ironic you are dealing with the storm and we barely got wet here. Knock on wood though because the season has a ways to go.

      Thanks for coming by and look forward to your post tomorrow.

  6. You sure know how to make a gal’s Monday morning sizzle! I just got back from my run, showered and shaved my legs (was that too much information?), opened up my emails and voila! There you were.

    First, big congrats on the award. I don’t know of many people who are as omnipresent in the blogosphere, commenting and blogging and guest posting: you will not be able to call yourself invisible any more.

    Second, you have indeed made my Monday sizzle. Thanks so much for including me in your list: I’m honoured (and yes, I’m continuing with the “Canadian spelling” here, although I’ll be changing to that soon…going for the International flare:)

    You are a great friend and, partner in crime. I’ll help you move bodies anytime, especially if you’re still in that silk robe and smokin’ the Hef pipe.

    Now how the heck do I get that award graphic onto my site to pass it along? Have a fab Monday!

    • For you, not TMI; for Al, absolutely……….

      As far as invisible, wait ’til you see my Thursday post; inquiring minds want to know….

      I just copy and pasted from Allie’s sight. If you can’t pull it off mine go to here link and try it; that’s where I got it.

      When she sent it to me, I thought what a great idea because I had been trying to think of an ‘inclusive’ post for a lot of friends. I was disappointed it didn’t link as I thought it was happening automatically. I guess you get what you pay for, huh?

      Good to see you and hopefully you didn’t get too wet this weekend. I’ll see you around.

      • Now you have my curiosity piqued about Thursday’s post. I’m running as fast as I can and I still can’t catch you!

        I was able to copy and paste and file, so will be putting together my post on this tomorrow. Thanks again for including me in such a fab bunch! Cheers! Kaarina

    • Thursday’s post won’t be earth shattering or anything colossal, but it’s hinting at subtle changes. It’s some things I have been thinking about and I feel it’s time.

  7. Thanks Bill! I’d love to get the “Versatile Mommy ” Award! THAT would be a major accomplishment! Who’s watching out for that one? You know, one that gives awards to mom’s who blog and still have a house still standing afterwards!

    • I hear ya, especially with that brood you have running around.

      I thought it was kind of neat Allie thought to include me. I’m sure the criteria was not too demanding; something like ‘can you fog a mirror’?

      I’m glad you were able to make it by and see it. I was just trying to find a way to throw some love your way, you have been a big supporter of mine and it is very much appreciated.

      Hope your day is going well, thanks for stopping by.

  8. Hey Bill!

    Congrats on the award! I also love that you received it from a mommy blogger. It shows how versatile you truly are;) Thank you sooo much for including me in this list! I am humbled and honored–and will get working on mine!

    You’re a good guy, Bill and that’s why people want to recognize you. You’re a true friend to us all and you reach out to each of us in a personal way. (I don’t mean in a stalker kind of way. If anyone is concerned about Bill in this way I think there’s a number you can call.) Seriously, thanks for being you and I appreciate your friendship!!

    • Oh, I can stalk; but I’m able to do it in a way you don’t know it’s happening until after the fact. You scratch your head and ask ‘have I just been stalked’?………..:).

      I do spend some time at some niche sites and I know they aren’t as social as the PR or marketing sites so I was trying to find a way to throw some love to my friends who toil daily in those sites.

      I do appreciate you and your support; hope you had a great weekend and I’ll see you around.

  9. Hi Bill

    This is a great way to show case other great
    blogger. I know some of them but not all. The
    ones I do know are wonderful helping caring people..

    Thanks for sharing
    Bonnie Squires

  10. * I’m way cooler than I look
    * No, I don’t whine every time I don’t get my way

    Well, thank you for clearing this up for us for us, Bill!! Your knack for getting ego & self-deprecating humor into the same 20 words is nothing short of amazing!

    Thanks for the shout-out here – I’m certainly the odd one out on your biz side of the social, but I’ll happily take it! That’s one thing I’ll share about myself – I follow Gary V’s philosophy ““If you’re not passionate about what your company does to find fuel for conversation for everyday, for hours on end, with as many people as possible, maybe you’re in the wrong business.”

    This describes me pretty well. I LOVE what we do, and I LOVE talking to people about all aspects of business models, company vision, leadership, sales, innovation, structure, etc. If there were more willing participants in our circle over there, I’d have a hard time getting other work done!

    Congrats on all your success and thanks for sharing it all around!

    • That’s fantastic because with that kind of passion it makes work fun; not seem like a job. You guys really do do a great job and the blogging is such a small part of the big picture, but I want others to know it’s still pretty stellar writing.

      I thought these links automatically notified you but apparently not; I guess I get what I pay for, huh (free site)?

      Thanks for stopping by, it was very good to see you today.

      • You’re swell – thanks. : ) We’re definitely career people (reference to today’s blog post), who are passionate about what we’re doing and having fun – there’s no j-o-b going on here! But I do feel a follow up blog post on the topic.

        Nice to see you today!

    • I think I’m going to come to work for you guys; it is obvious you enjoy what you do.

      With the economy like it is, it is easy to get discouraged in our industry but the way I look at it is, there are still SO many opportunities. We just need to stay proactive and always learning and growing.

  11. Bill, I didn’t know you shaved your legs. But I won’t hold it against you, brother.

    And congrats on your mommy blogging! I won’t hold that against you either.

    • No, no, no Stan; that’s where I draw the line. I’m in front line outside sales and the standing joke is ‘well, what will you do to close the deal’? The response is ‘ok, I’ll wear a dress but I won’t shave my legs’. Scary stuff, huh?

      Mommy’s are cool………..good to see you today.

      • Thanks for making me laugh.
        That funny is funny wearing a
        dress.

        You 2 should have seen our
        oldest daughter when she got
        pay back on her younger brother
        she shave one strip down his legs
        while he was sleeping. So he had to
        shave his legs so he could go to school.lol

  12. Congratulations, Bill. What a nice award to receive. And congratulations to the 16 worthy winners upon whom you bestowed the award as well.

    Meanwhile, I’ll just continue to fly below the radar and be versatile on my 3 blogs: Elyse Bruce (elysebruce.wordpress.com) that talks about my personal life including the fun parts of raising a totally awesome award-winning teen with multiple serious medical conditions; Idiomation (idiomation.wordpress.com) that takes a different expression, a phrase, an idiom Monday through Friday and not only provides an explanation but gives a detailed history as well; and Midnight In Chicago (midnightinchicago.wordpress.com) that provides factual information (including links and screenshots) about what’s going on in the disability community around the world. 🙂

    Again, kudos on winning the award! 😀

    • Hey Elyse, long time no see; it’s great to see you. I know most of my posts ae probably not interesting to you so it was hard to keep your attention. However, you do have 3 great sites and a totally awesome son to boot; he’s changing the world one cause at a time. I’m sure you are very proud of him.

      Thanks so much to taking the time to comment; very much appreciated. I hope you have been doing well.

      • Bill, you’re selling your site short. Just because I don’t post a comment to many of your articles doesn’t mean I don’t read them and find them interesting, educational and/or informative. I *do* read (I am, after all, subscribed to your blog) and your blog articles *are* interesting, education and informative.

        Thanks for the compliments on my son’s efforts and my sites. Last week, he had 100 Special Edition signed and numbered prints of his “A Sunday Afternoon Stroll Under The Sea” painting with 20% of the price being donated to Make-A-Wish so other kids like him living with life-threatening medical conditions can have their wishes granted. That’s his wish … to sell all 100 prints so he can donate and know he’s helped other kids. Gotta love a boy with a big heart like that! 🙂

        Take care and I’ll keep reading your blog, Bill.

    • It’s been blowing me up and Allyson wants to know when it will equate to dollars. I’m still trying to find some direction, but I have enjoyed the journey.

      I was thinking my post would link you but apparently not; that’s what you get with a free site, huh?

      Hope you all are well and we will see you soon.

      Love ya

  13. Congratulations on the award Bill! And that is quite a great list of bloggers you have there. A couple I don’t know that well, so I will make sure to check them out.

    Parenthood was a great father/son movie also. 🙂

    • My niece Staci is in your backyard; she’s in the Apopka/Orlando area off 436.

      It was kind of fun putting this together and I was trying to get some recognition for some hard working friends.

      If you do get a chance, I’m sure they would love a drive-by.

      I don’t think I’ve seen Parenthood; I’ll have to check it out.

      Good to see you sir, and thanks for stopping by.

  14. I love your list. I always get stumped and then write something boring like “I like Ice Cream” DUH!

    Let me clarify. I’m not a “mommy blogger”. Those are women who blog about being a mom. I am a “mom who blogs”. I blog about blogging and trying to be an entrepreneur. Well, a “mompreneur”. LOL. Sometimes I blog about being a mom but it’s my blog, I can do what I want, so there. I would never be a mommy blogger, my life is not exciting enough to do that. LOL. (I just opened up a can of whoop ass on myself, didn’t I? You are REALLY gonna call me “MOMMY” blogger now. LOL.)

    So you are way cooler, you DO whine (I figured since you had to write that, I bet you do, especially on the golf course), that is your real hair and you really do have a real job? Why do men always worry about their hair as they age? Really? Worry about your gut or your nasty feet. (Oops, mistook you for my husband for a minute there. Lol)

    I believe some of that.

    I just came by to add absolutely nothing to the conversation except to rip apart you 7 secrets. I only do that cuz I love ya.

    Honestly, I am very happy that you came to my blog, you liven it up! And I really do love reading yours!

    ~Allie

    • Remarkably enough, not only do I have all my hair it has very little gray. I just threw that in to be funny however, I guess I would be ok w/ a shiny dome.

      Thanks for the correction on the ‘mommy’ blog distinction; you are a WAHM, right? Work at home mom………..

      Like you, this is my site so I will have whoever I want over and I will also write whatever I want as well. I can’t help it if my direction still seems to be writing about nothing in particular. I’m just not that smart; I would actually have to think about it if I wanted to define my direction. Trust me, my wife will be the first to tell you the one thing I do well is ‘just show up’. No planning, no preparation, just show up…………..

      This was fun and thanks for thinking of me; it gave me the opportunity to mention others in my community who don’t always get the recognition they deserve.

      I hope your week is going well.

  15. Hey Bill, Congratulations on the award! It must have been from all that campaigning I did for you. Hey, wait a minute. I didn’t do any campaigning for you. I didn’t even cast a single vote. What gives? How did you win an award without a no holds barred campaign? You have to let Christian and me in on your secret.

    I’m really happy for you, you richly deserve any and all recognition you get. Maybe, if I win next week, we can race our Ferraris together? We can form a racing team, Bill and Carolyn’s Excellent Adventure, or something like that. Then we can find Ferrari contests for all of our blogging friends and expand the team. Adrienne probably wants a blue Ferrari. I have great ideas sometimes…

    You will have to give us your new domain name. I show billthemommyblogger.com still available. What gives? On second thought, you may want to keep your new site away from smart alecks like me who clog up your comments section with lame attempts at humor. 😉

    Thanks so much for the shoutout, my friend, as well as all of your campaigning for me. You rock.

  16. Hi Bill,

    I thought I’d check out your site after reading your comments on Adrienne’s site, and what interesting timing.

    I may have a Y chromosome, but I really liked your writing style and the simple/clean site. Nothing wrong with sticking to the basics. It makes your points hit that much harder.

    Well, looking forward to learning more from you,

    Bryce

    • Hey Bryce, thanks for stopping by. I have seen you at Adrienne’s and appreciate you taking the time to pay a visit. I also appreciate your compliments.

      When I jumped ‘all in’ to this social media thing I didn’t really expect to be a blogger per se, but seeing it’s part of the game I’m just trying to get better and grow with it.

      This was a fun little contest and it allowed me the opportunity to give a shout out to some friends.

      I hope your week is going well and we bump into each other more often.

  17. Congrats indeed Bill. What a wonderful and cool award to get too! Looks like you’re month really did start off great. Celebrating that birthday is always fun. I was happy when I learned we shared the same birthday month. Yep, we Leo’s rock!!!

    So guess I need to really give you a great shout out for including me in your list of us these fabulous lady bloggers! 🙂 How neat to come visit you today and see my name in your post. I really appreciate that. Guess you’ve given me my next topic to write about too! I think that will be fun. Great way to kick off September. I see I’m among a great group of ladies here.

    I was telling some of my blogging friends recently that since I’ve had so many really nice things happening to me this month that I still had a feeling there was more to come. I’ve never been nominated for any award so I really think this is pretty cool that I won one without even doing anything. Ah, but being your cool blogging friend that is. Great to win something for once. That’s a nice feeling.

    I hope I do this award justice so stay tuned for what I’ll share in my next post. Thanks again for thinking of me Bill. Am truly honored and I know you are worthy of this as well my friend. So, have a fabulous week now.

    See you later.

    Adrienne

    • I think that is what I liked most about the award; I knew what my next post would be about…………:).

      It’s funny, I do have some posts in reserve but it seems the longer they sit the less relevant they become so they may never see the light of day. Everything moves so fast and what you might be thinking about 2 weeks ago seems so yesterday’s news by the time you want to publish it.

      You are really kicking some butt at your place and I’m sure you are pleased with the activity. I only see it getting bigger and better from there and we can all say ‘we knew her when’. Keep up the good work…………..

      Thanks for coming by and your nice comments; your support is greatly appreciated.

      • Bill, You should write about tech. Posts never get stale because nothing new ever happens in tech. I have 30 year old posts I could publish right now. Wait until tomorrow when I review 8 track tape decks. They play in hi-fi stereo!

    • The challenge was, I have some very dear friends I did not include but I felt they were more established and probably already have a pot full of accolades. However, I do know it is always nice to be mentioned or recognized in some form or fashion. That is why I’m somewhat hesitant to do ‘my favorite’ or ‘best of’ lists because I can’t include everybody.

      I think Allie only listed 5 or 6, so it’s ‘up to’ 15………………:).

      Good luck with it, and thanks for coming by; always good to see you.

  18. Congratulations from a fellow recipient of Allie’s award Bill, your inclusion is richly deserved!

    I have to say that I am really impressed with the speed with which you have compiled your list, I am, as always, full of good intentions but it’s still likely to be some time before I get round to doing likewise 🙂

    Hope you have a fantastic week.

    Tony

    • That might have been the only speedy thing I have done Tony; I just knew it was going to be my post for Monday so I jumped right on it. The challenge was keeping it at 15/16 because there were easily 5 more I could have included who have been tremendous supporters as well.

      I’m always amazed at how you put your Top 10 lists together; now that sounds like work to me………..:).

      Always good to see you Tony and thanks for coming by to check the ‘ladies’ out. I hope your week is going well, sir.

  19. Wow, congratulations Bill. That’s awesome. You are definitively versatile – I had to look up the word just to be sure 😉

    Is your last meal going to be a hamburger? I would say pizza. I haven’t tasted a bad pizza – ever, but a lot of bad hamburgers.

    I would love to read about your blogging strategy in a future post. For instance, what goals do you have, how much time do you spend writing, commenting etc.. do you have any marketing strategy when it comes to spreading the word about your blog? I’d love to pick your brain on this topic.

    Have a great day bud.

    • Unfortunately there is not a lot to pick Jens; you would be floored at actually how little planning I have done.

      I’m always on the look out for the premier burger.

      My strategy right now is pretty much ‘no’ strategy. I write, I post, I comment…..period. I come from a world in insurance sales where everything is about measurement and results and it’s funny how little of that I do in the social media world. HOWEVER, I will be coming up with a strategy soon. I’m all about having fun, but at some point if I’m going to put all this time and effort into this, I probably should have some direction, huh?

      Good to see you; thanks for coming by.

      • Your strategy sounds a lot like my strategy. Well, I sort of have a way to drive traffic, but the reason I’m doing it (blogging), is mostly because I’m having fun and learning. I work in marketing, so it’s my way to share what I learn, and to learn from others. But, I’m not earning any money doing it, and I don’t have any long term strategy. On the other hand, I’m going to be working on a long term strategy soon. I believe that the most important part is having fun, but we probably need goals as well 🙂

        Jens

  20. Hi Bill,

    Congrats on the guest posting gigs, and the Versatile Blogger Award! Funny about the mommy blog … some guy called me a mother … the other day and I have no idea why. Guess he was just having a bad day and I got in his way 🙂 I’ve never shaved my legs or wore a thong, and am anything but cool. I don’t whine for sure, but man, man I wish I had your hair!

    Funny you mentioned you’re not the quickest to act, ’cause I often think you are the absolute quickest to act. Jack @ TheJackB mentioned that one day you will have taken over the blogosphere. Hasn’t that already happened? I don’t see anyone out there with quite the commenting chops of Mr. Dorman, and now you are guest posting everywhere too! Sheesh, slow down, man.

    Seriously you certainly deserve this award! I’m hoping you get a bright, shiny plaque to put on your wall, right next to my Bill Dorman testimonials.

    • I thought you commented about wearing a thong…………..yikes, and especially with those hairy legs………….

      Looks like you got out of B’more in the nick of time; hopefully you had a crab cake or two.

      I am King Blogosphere, I ride around town with the Burger King crown on. I have to scream at people, ‘don’t you know who I am’?

      I do have some pretty good hair……………:). I used to want straight hair but glad now I have a little wave/curl to it; my wife digs it.

      Believe it or not, my commenting is actually down. There are a few ‘hot spots’ I don’t frequent as much, but they already get plenty of traffic anyway so I don’t think I’m missed. I didn’t have much to add anyway……..

      Welcome back and good to see you again. Hope you are all refreshed and ready to rock and roll.

  21. Yes we certainly did get out in the nick of time, and enjoyed some of those great Maryland blue crabs.

    Hard to believe your commenting is down, but I guess that’s the result of all this guest posting. Good to see you again and I’ll be joining you bloggers in a few weeks with my own bit of nonsense 🙂

    • Looking forward to seeing your posts; I’m guessing you probably have about 100 in reserve now and you will be posting epic posts one right after the other, huh?

      Good luck with it, it has certainly been an adventure for me; but a good one.

      No comment on the thong, huh?

      • I do have a few in the can. Nothing epic, but hopefully I’ll learn as I go.

        Thanks and I am really looking forward to finally jumping in.

        I’m gonna let the thong thing go. It’s getting’ kind of ugly. I mean, the visual :(-

    • Yeah, probably a good thing to let the thong imagery go……….

      Do you have your site ready and everything? Do you have a theme or direction or just going to be a knucklehead like me? So far, most of mine has been social media related but you can only write about that for so long, huh?

      • Agreed 🙂

        The design of the site is ready to go. I’ve used the Thesis framework for WordPress, have it hosted and all that fun stuff. I also have about five posts ready to go, but am working on a few other parts of the site before I make it live.

        I kinda, sorta have a theme, which is based on learning through exploration: Exploration of social media and doing some things I haven’t done before and writing about them: Speaking in front of a large crowd (I’ve done Toastmasters, but never actually spoke at events), interviewing people, etc. I honestly started working on a blog because I wanted to created something that would drive me to do more and make a bit of a career transition. I rambled, but hope this answers your question.

        Bill, I think you could write about your social media experience for a long time. It’s all very interesting to me and many others obviously, as you can plainly see by the number of comments you consistently get. I’ve seen a few sites out there that are focused on tribes and developing a community with zero comments. Your site is all about your experience with community, and your site demonstrates your skill at networking. I can’t get enough of that and your writing and commenting has made me realize how very important that first step is.

  22. Hi Bill, Me again. In all seriousness (that’s allowed here, right?), I wanted to sincerely congratulate you on your Versatile Blogger Award. I have to say, if I were to give you an award, it would be for throwing the best online party. Your posts always have an enormous number of comments, even without CommentLuv or any other fancy schmancy commenting plugins. Which shows that it’s you, your brilliant and engaging personality shines through every post. Well done.

    I am truly honored to be among your listed bloggers. Thank you kindly for placing me in such esteemed company and for all of your support of my blog. Greatly appreciated.

    If I ever have a spare Ferrari sitting around, it’s yours.

    • Spare Ferrari’s are cool and trust me, it is not above me to accept on as a gift.

      I am half way there to being self-hosted and the main reason I haven’t pulled the plug is my IT guy keeps asking me ‘why’? He said for what I’m doing know, what would change just because I’m self-hosted. So………my question would be to you, if I had a comment plugin, CommentLuv, Disqus or Livefyre do you think I would notice a difference in commenting traffic, or would it just be making it easier? Inquiring minds want to know….

      Some seriousness is allowed, but not too much………….:)

      Thanks for your support and good to see you again.

      • Imagine a boy who takes his father’s old wooden racket and plays a few games of tennis. He enters his local tournament and wins. People encourage him to play tournaments in the juniors circuit. He does and he wins. True prodigy. He still has his wooden racket. Does he need a new titanium racket? He has been doing just fine with the wooden one.

        I don’t know where you are headed with this blog, and you might not either, but you have been immensely successful with your blog in a very short time. Getting more comments isn’t a problem for you, I’m sure. But wherever this success leads, you will be able to accomplish more with a self-hosted blog and some useful plugins. Get rid of the wooden racket, the sooner the better.

        For commenting, I like the native commenting with CommentLuv. The other services, Disqus, LiveFyre and Open Debate are difficult, if not impossible, to use on the iPad.

        Just my 2¢.

    • Wooden racket,huh? Somebody told me once they thought I had a wooden head. I think I want to be the prodigy instead………..

      I like your analogy and it certainly makes sense; I guess I will start moving that forward again………….hopefully…………..:).

      CommentLuv it will be.

  23. Oh my!

    I nearly missed out my name! Yay! Thanks for the super cool mention! 🙂 I am so happy – I did get this award some time back but then who ever thought one more wasn’t just fine (P.S to everybody else, I still love getting them and please give me many more!)

    I will do a follow up on this! Some very familiar names and some new… have to check them out.

    Seems like we ladies are being nice to you; but then who isn’t nice to James Bond with good hair and “being cool”!

    August has been fun for me too, took my blog self hosted, I just got a raise, I just celebrated Eid and got Eidi Money like crazy (Eid is celebrated at the end of Ramadan, and Eidi is like some gift money you give to people younger than you as a gift, besides the actual gift of course and I being the almost only youngest in my family, get monetary benefit like crazy every Eid!)

    So thank you once again! Will do this soon 🙂

    • Sweet, I need some Eidi Money; does it spend like real money……………….:)? That’s pretty cool; isn’t their fasting involved w/ Ramadan too? If so, how long? BTW – that would be very tough for me…………

      For some reason I thought when I mentioned someone in a post they were getting notified, but apparently not, huh? Maybe that’s a good reason to be self-hosted…..

      Glad you make it by and see your name in lights (twice). I do appreciate you taking the time to stop by and comment and your support.

      I hope your week is going well.

      • Lol! It is money, proper crisp notes and all and we just name it Eidi to rub off the guilt that others are paying us for being younger!

        Yes, fasting for 29 days this time. It usually is 29 or 30 days, but its easy just from sunrise to sunset… that’s it!

        Yes, I did get a pingback when you mention me; but seems like I checked your blog before I checked my wordpress dashboard! 🙂 The love for a Bill Dorman post! 😉

        Week is going awesome (didn’t I mention that I got richer suddenly)

  24. Ah Bill, the Lord of The Blog, the Crown Prince of Blogging, you deserve all the good things you get my friend 😉

    Great to see you getting recognition, as you’ve put in a lot of time commenting on other people’s blogs, getting to know them and build relationships, and generally making your presence felt throughout these lands. And that’s a good thing, trust me.

    Also, I think you made a very smart move featuring just ladies on that list – they can show more affection than us guys, who will only punch you in the arm and ruffle your hair. Not quite the same right? 🙂

    • Ah yes Stu, much more pleasant to feature the ladies. I figure the guys can fend for themselves. Also, because some of the mentions are niche blogs they don’t get the same traffic as the social sites do and wanted to throw them some love as well.

      Comments are a form of validation so it’s always nice to have some traffic. However, sometimes I still wonder if I should have just stayed on the commenting side; it would have allowed for me to keep exploring and meeting new people. I guess the flip side is, hopefully my site will allow the new people to show up here.

      August was a good month for me and I had a lot of fun. I was a little discouraged over some things at the beginning of the month; but it ended up being quite the fun month indeed.

      Good to see you Stu and thanks for stopping by; very much appreciated sir.

  25. Bill – you have some game don’t you…making sure to mention all the ladies!

    I think you are an incredibly versatile blogger. Your breadth is rich; you can get serious and have fun. Your range of blogs that you visit prove this over and over. I read a lot of your comments (I find what you say entertaining as well as thought provoking – depending on the subject).

    You deserve the recognition.

    PEACE

    • Kind words indeed sir; of course, this might have been a ‘just show up award’, but I’ll take any I can get. This social media can be so fickle, you just never know when you might get tossed out on your ear, huh?

      Florida is showing no signs of cooling down yet; but I am ready for some relief.

      I hope your day is going well; good to see you.

  26. Bill, aloha. What a perfect intro blog for my comment. This is will the 100th comment on this post. Congratulations! What a nice number.

    Reading about you was, obviously, a good way to get to know a bit more about you. Bill, I like your style and your humor.

    However, what tells me even more about you, Bill, is the company you keep–the bloggers you chose to award. Knowing many of the them as I do, I know they are amazing people who care, share, give and delight. Since you “hang out” with them on a regular basis, my initial impressions of you and your blog are heavily slanted because of that perspective. Nice tilt.

    Bill, I am happy to be among the bloggers that Adrienne selected to carry the torch. Be watching for my post continuing these terrific awards acknowledging people we respect and admire.

    Wishing you an amazing weekend. Take good care, Bill. Until next week, aloha. Janet

  27. That’s pretty cool you got to be 100; I never know who’s going to show up at times, but it usually is a pretty good crowd.

    It was fun doing this and it allowed me to mention some people who are under the radar because of niche sites so I wanted to let them know they are noticed.

    It was also fun to see people carry this forward and do the same.

    Glad we finally ‘made it’ to see each other and thanks for you well wishes. I hope you have a great weekend as well.

  28. You know Bill I have subscribed at least 5 times now and I must be doing something wrong because nothing ever comes to me about your blog, so … I look like a crappy friend and I promise you I’m not!! I feel so cheated not to read your stuff as it comes out and then am super late to the party (and what a party it is!!).

    I think the awards and accolades and all the stuff in between you are so, so deserving of and yes, I’m jealous! 😉 I think your 7 things about you are perfect and you’re witty and yes, I’m jealous of that too!

    Now, you’re unduly kind to include me on your list … truly I’m humbled and cannot express enough thanks all kidding aside!

    Now, I keep changing my list of “5 people I’d like to have as dinner guests” … you’re on this, in fact you have been for awhile. You’re an enigma and I love it!

    Blue skies my friend,

    Elena

    • Yes, we were just about to take a vote to pull your ‘friend’ card; instead, we put you on double secret probation for 90 days.

      One question I do have is, is putting someone in your reader the same as a subscription? I have a lot of people in my reader but some post so much I don’t want it to keep popping up in my e-mail. Therefore, I don’t want to subscribe via e-mail.

      It was cool to run with the award and it’s premise; I just wanted to be able to bring some attention to friends of mine who are out there everyday working hard.

      I’m glad you finally found it. For some reason I thought it would link when I posted but apparently not.

      Thanks for coming by and let me go enigmatize down the road now.

      I hope you had a great weekend.

      • This is weird, I checked “follow up” comments and “new posts” and nothing … I just subscribed with another email to see if that work. Otherwise, I’m going to be completely paranoid because I don’t like being that late to a happening party and missing out!! Nooo way mister! Fingers and toes-ies crossed! 😉

Leave a Reply

