How music helps shape my decisions

Danny Brown recently posted 10 Free Blog Topics to Help You Get Your Blog On. Being the uncreative kind of guy that I am, and the fact you are probably getting tired of me writing about myself, I am thinking about taking his topics in order and using them for my next 10 posts. I mention this in case anybody wanted to play along.

Similar, but not quite like Margie Clayman’s endeavor where she is writing 31 daily posts in August based on reader suggestions. I even had a suggestion that made it; not on my August 10th birthday (cough, cough), but it’s there. I recommend you check her out, she’s good.

All I know is don’t challenge her to any writing contests or you will be playing for second place; you.won’t.win.

What’s the name of that song?

I’ll bet there are several songs as soon as you hear them immediately triggers an emotional reaction, possibly taking you to a specific point in time; you recall the sights, sounds and especially the smells. It might be your first kiss in the back seat of a car, your first heartbreak, your best date ever. Maybe the kiss, car, date and heartbreak happened all on the same night, huh?

I have several, but the one with the strongest trigger is Open Arms by Journey. This was popular when I was ‘courting’ my now wife and is unofficially ‘our song’. Every time I hear it, it reminds me when we used to be fun……..just kidding dear; I’m still Mr Excitement, right?

How many songs do you own?

With the advent of MP3’s, iPods, iPhones you can accumulate quite the library of music. Because of the sheer volume do you think it is as easy for one song to make it to the top these days?

I take my iPod with me to the gym, working in the yard, running, cycling, driving range or hitting tennis balls against the wall. I use the music as motivation and inspiration. There always seems to be one song that makes it through the noise each time that resonates that day and catches your attention. Can’t get that tune out of your head, huh?

How about the movies?

What do you think when you hear Kenny Loggin’s Danger Zone? Play it loud and it will give you goose bumps, pump you up and immediately know it’s from Top Gun. And from the same movie how hauntingly riveting is Berlin’s You Take My Breath Away? That was certainly a good movie but where would it be now without the music to bring you back to it?

It’s the emotion

Music creates very powerful emotions and memories. These emotions are what can and do shape decisions. Maybe not the music alone, but definitely influential.

We’ve all read of people doing some pretty crazy, bizarre things and blaming it on the music, right; remember Helter Skelter?

Music stirs the soul, it stokes your passion; it can be very powerful indeed.

I want to be a rock superstar

How cool would it be to be the lead singer of a rock & roll band, singing on a stage in front of 80,000 people. I can tell you, I’ve wanted to be that guy. Of course, I can’t sing or play an instrument but maybe if I put both on my bucket list I’ll get to one or the other. I wonder what kind of tats I should get? Think I would finally be popular with the girls? Probably, can you say Ric Ocasek?

But look how much energy, excitement and emotion it creates in the crowd; that is power, influence. Heady stuff indeed…….

The music is in me

I’m certainly around music quite a bit as we all are. Do you find it stimulating, motivating or even thought-provoking at times?

How about you, what are you listening to these days? Do you have that one song every time you hear it, you still have the same strong emotional reaction to it; time after time?

Wanna be a rock star?

119 thoughts on “How music helps shape my decisions

    • Wow, to have that kind of connection, I’m sure it was a magical night. All the planets were aligned, huh?

      What a great feeling to get so totally lost into it nothing else matters.

      So good to see you and I will definitely give it a listen. I hope your week goes well.

    • Betsy, Pachebel Canon in D is one of my absolute FAVOURITE pieces of music in the world. Thanks so much for the link: I just posted it on my FB profile page, and must go back and give due credit to you for bringing it to my attention.

      Something that people don’t know about me is that I attended the National Ballet School of Canada until I was 11 years of age, so you and I are heart-connected on the love of ballet:) How wonderful that you experienced that Magic of dance to such a beautiful piece of music. Cheers! Kaarina

      • Stop it………..a Finnish National Ballet School Olympian; what next will you be dropping in on us. My next post was going to be how I went to Starbucks and here you are sitting on a life time of memories. How am I supposed to keep up with that?

      • Soul-sister friend indeed! 😀

        Hi, Kaarina.

        I never went to any ballet school, but I studied on my own, devoured ballet books, illustrations and videos when I was like in grade school until high school. I was still dancing and doing choreography even right after I had my first baby. Music moves us kindred souls, huh?

        Wow!!! I really can’t believe the things we have in common. Love it!! My youngest daughter Elle and I dance to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons often and of course, Beethoven’s Fur Elise. 😀

  1. Hi Bill,

    I’m like you, music helps shape my decisions as well. I listen to music all the time via Spotify. Now, it’s finally in the US as well. Let me know if you want an invite (it’s free). I have been using it for more than a year.

    I can’t say that I remember Open Arms by Journey, but I’m definitively going to listen to it and picture you and your wife on your first date 🙂

    I don’t have a favorite song or movie, I just keep adding new ones to my database all the time. And, since I have access to “all the songs in the world” I just keep looking for new ones all the time.

    Jens

    • Jens, I WISH we had Spotify in Canada: not yet. But I’m a big fan of music, especially the Beatles. Yes, I am a die-hard Beatles fan! Glad to hear your camping trip with family went so well. Keep enjoying the music. Cheers! Kaarina

    • I have Spotify on the computer; I need to work on building my library. It seems pretty cool.

      Are you out of the woods yet? Back to civilization?

      Thanks for stopping by; check out Journey’s song, it was definitely a ‘love song’.

      Good to see you.

      • I’m almost back from the woods. Now, I’m working at city hall, close to the woods. But, I’m back at work for three days a week. And in five weeks I’m leaving for another vacation. Then I’m going to Italy and Rome for two weeks (hopefully I’ll find both electricity and internet connection) 🙂

  2. OK, so I’d like to leave a list of thousands here. I LOVE music, and you got to thinking of some of my favourites, which I’ve pared down to a list of hundreds (no, just kidding). Here’s my top picks, based on your post and your questions:

    My first Kiss – behind the school auditorium, at a dance, the band was playing “Dizzy”. Sigh…Brings back fond memories every time.

    Courting years – driving around in a red Beetle with my now-husband, an 8-track tape playing, among other things: “Boys in the Bright White Sports Car”, “Do you know what I mean” and anything Lighthouse

    Wedding dance – “I love you just the way you are”

    In the car en route from wedding to reception – Meatloaf’s “Paradise by the dashboard light”. Can you believe that?!

    Songs that bring me back to places and times with fond memories, heart aches or heart swells: “Unchained melody”, “Build me up buttercup”, “Crying”, “Pachebel Canon” (thanks Betsy) and a true favourite for all time is “In my Life” by the Beatles.

    Well, now that I’ve dated myself completely, I’m going to revel in the memories that this evoked. Thanks, Bill, for stirring fond memories and bringing a smile to my face:) Cheers! Kaarina

    • Unchained Melody was definitely a good one too.

      I had a red VW all through college; no air, but a neat car.

      If we give it some thought, I think we all have a handful of songs that bring back good memories.

      Thanks so much for sharing your list AND a little comment bombing………:)

      Enjoy your day off………….wait, don’t you work for yourself…………have a good one.

      • Correct: there are no “days off” in my world:) But today was full of fun, especially the memories you conjured up for me with this “fab” (yes, Beatles) post. And if you believe in synchronicity or coincidences…just after I posted my comment, I went outside and guess what was playing on the radio?…..Unchained Melody! Simply magical. Cheers! Kaarina

  3. I’ve always found that certain songs awaken vivid memories. Journey’s Open Arms takes me back to a junior high dance when no one had the courage to ask someone to slow dance with them. So we all just stood around the perimeter of the room, too scared to even look at each other. Funny, that song even reminds me of the smell of the gym where those dances were held!

    Tom Petty’s American Girl takes me back to a family vacation to the Colorado River. We were all riding in the ski boat, singing along and laughing. Whenever we’re together, if that song comes on, we all start singing. Fun stuff. Great topic Bill!

  4. Hi Bill,

    I have one of those. I was with someone for a couple of years. Thought he was “the One” blah, blah, blah…

    Anyway..we broke up right before Halloween a few years ago, and we were still trying to be “friends” (I found out later this is a bad idea)

    Back to my story – it was Thanksgiving and his family all got drunk and were fighting like mad. He called and asked if he could come over for coffee. I said I had no coffee so we drove to Dunkin’ Donuts and we sat in his car listening to the radio.

    Alison” by Elvis Costello comes on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfZ5m-oGmtQ

    We both begin to sing along. I began to slowly cry when I got to the line “sometimes I wish I could stop you from talking when I hear the silly things that you say” At that moment, I looked at him and knew he would never be mine.

    That song still breaks my heart a bit. 😉 but its alright. Pain is what makes us human.

    Your birthday is the day before mine? For real? We need cake!

    • It’s funny how that can stick with you; mine is Cold as Ice by Foreigner. I knew this girl and always thought she was way out of my league. We started going out but I was intimidated by her social status and the ‘who’s who’ she used to date. I think it made me act a little goofy. It wasn’t a bad break-up, but when it was done it was done and it made me sad.

      Every time I hear that song I think of her. The funny thing is, she lives about a block away from me now; but I certainly don’t have those feelings anymore.

      Cake is good; thanks for sharing your story.

  5. Okay, mate, going by your choices, I’m pretty sure we were separated at birth. 🙂

    One of my all-time favourites is Dashboard Confessional’s “Several Ways to Die Trying”. It doesn’t even have an emotional appeal – it’s just an amazing song where the structure just builds and builds, to an awesome crescendo. Sometimes a song just gets you – this is one.

    And thanks for running with the idea, mate, always cool to see where others take it. 🙂

    • I will definitely have to check the song out. I have a much wider taste in music now with the advent of the iPod and how many songs you can get on there.

      I’m already waffling as I was trying to come up with something about the Matrix. I really liked the Matrix however, especially when he comes back from the dead and Trinity KNOWS he is the one. She probably had a pretty good clue when he strapped himself up to that helicopter that was crashing with Trinity in it.

      I really liked the ending song in Matrix as well.

      Thanks for stopping by, and just remember, I will act goofy so don’t pay any attention to me.

  6. Music is the soundtrack of my life and something that I can’t stop blogging about. In a little bit I am going to put up a post with lots of links that will hopefully work and we’ll see if we can have some fun with that.

    I rarely if ever work/write without music. Spotify has been great. Erica, Shonali, Jayme, Brancika and I have all shared lists/talked about songs. Really, it is something that just crosses borders/generations/race/religion etc- just amazing really.

    • I totally agree with you on this one! There’s always a soundtrack playing in my head that goes with whatever’s happening in my life at the time. Music has always been such a big part of my life. I’ve never played an instrument and I don’t know how to read sheet music but that doesn’t mean it hasn’t affected me.

      I’m a child of the 80’s so I can’t help singing along if I hear “Always Something There To Remind Me” or “Mickey.” My favorite bands of all time are The Who and The Beatles. My husband took me to see The Who in concert a few years back and it’s one of my greatest memories ever.

      Not to toot my own horn, but I’m really good at music trivia–mostly rock from the 40’s to present day. I can usually name the artist or song title after hearing about a second of a music clip. If only I could make money with this talent…;)

      I agree that music spans all borders, ages and races. That’s something else I love about it. It’s another way for people to connect–like right here! I love hearing everyone’s stories! Great job with this one, Bill:) I look forward to the next in your series.

      • I kind of a trivia guy too, I too wish I could make some money at it.

        This isn’t rock, but John Anderson (country) and I grew up in the same neighborhood and played little league together. His band in high school was called the Weed Seeds………..go figure, huh?

        I like ‘Always Something There to Remind Me’ as well. We had a station that used to play a lot of 80’s music but they just changed their format………bummer……….

        Music is powerful and it really is impactful.

        Good to see you today and thanks for coming by.

      • Hi Alicia – Ditto on the soundtrack playing in my head. I love Music, and you are now top of my hit parade…The Beatles…yes!!!!!

        You should do a blog post on music trivia: how fun would that be:) And when you find out how to make music on that, let me know…I’d like to buy a franchise. Cheers! Kaarina

    • It really does and it is amazing at times. I definitely would love to see the post w/ the links.

      Spotify is really cool, but I would probably scare some people if I started sharing links.

      Thanks for stopping by and hope you are having a great day in the Cali. I’ll see you around.

  7. Wow, I could fill a book with all the songs that take me back to specific moments in my past. There are also songs that I’ve been listening to my entire life. They don’t take me back; instead, they are all-encompassing. It’s almost like my life flashes before my eyes when I hear them (for example, anything by Fleetwood Mac). The soundtrack of my life.

    I like to listen to instrumental music when I’m writing. Classical music is okay but I like to find treasures from around the world. I especially love Anoushka Shankar for big, sweeping compositions that are sort of other-worldly.

    I’ve always been obsessed with music — I like everything from pop to indie folk music, bluegrass to techno, classical to hip hop. Music (and dance) has had a huge influence on my life 🙂 I love it!

  8. Oh dear, oh dear. If only I had known it was your birthday. I guess the song that comes to mind in this context is, “So cry…cryyyyyyyy babeeeeeeeeyyyyyy, cry babyyyyyyy.” 🙂

    Thanks for the shout, Bill. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with, although (just tossing my vote out) talking about yourself is okay by me 🙂

    • I hear ya, I can do some cryin’……….:). I did drop a Beatles tune in there, but it was Paul singing and not John……..

      I’m already panicking about the next post; I think I’m going back to me……..:). One subject I know well.

      Good to see you and look forward to following your month. What a bold idea.

  9. Wow, not sure I can even get started on all the musical triggers in my past. I come from a musical family, so it has always been a big part of my life.

    Three great uses of pop/rock songs in movies… 1) Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You from the bar scene in The Deer Hunter, 2) Welcome to the Jungle in the hallway transition from Lean on Me, and 3) Tiny Dancer in the bus scene from Almost Famous.

    PS. Guitar lessons on me when you’re ready Bill! 🙂

    • I might take you up on that, have to start somewhere, huh? It’s funny how strongly the movies and songs can be tied together. Sometimes they take on an entirely different context.

      This post was somewhat experimental, I might do the original strategy every other week. The Matrix if it were real topic was a little challenging, especially for those who haven’t seen the movie.

      Good to see you Adam; hope we dodge the hurricane.

    • Really; however a little dust up might help the economy. Put construction back to work and raise insurance rates……………it’s a beautiful thing……………:)

  10. Hi Bill,

    My fav. :Pink Floyd Always make me think and Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin are just superb. I am very fond of Joe Satriani’s music.
    SO yes music forms a really big part of my life and it inspires a lot in me 🙂

    • All good choices my man and thanks for sharing. It has been interesting to see the responses and how much music did influence certain things in their lives.

      I do appreciate you coming by, and thanks so much for your comments.

      I also hope you have a great day.

  11. Hi, Bill.

    There is really something about music that moves, soothes and brings out emotions you never even thought you were feeling. I love music, a broad range of it, from Vivaldi to Linkin Park, from Beatles to Green Day, from Sheryl Crow to Taylor Swift. And, I have lots of favorites that I could not tell you all about them without hogging all the space here and depleting my already depleted laptop battery (I’m looking into your post while at the mall, talk about an addict). But, if there’s one song that will definitely make me dance and cry at the same time, it’s David Foster’s And When She Danced. 🙂

    My battery is making evil eyes at me. Will get back to you later. 😀 Hope you have a swell week! 🙂

    • My range is about as broad as yours; I do need to start including the likes of Vivaldi however.

      Music has the ability for you to totally let go, almost get outside of yourself. You can really lose yourself in it at times.

      I want to hear more about the dancing………..:)

      Good luck with the battery and baby and hope all else is well. Talk to you soon.

  12. Hi Bill,

    Unlike many here, music doesn’t shape my decisions. I would say the opposite once I have made a decision I then choose the tune.
    The DJ in my life is Ameena who runs the Spotify account, and our family iPod.

    Back to listening to Linkin Park now, sometimes I just feel numb 🙂

    • I do like Linkin Park. I would let my wife do our tastes are a little different. Sometimes I need something with an edge or raw power to it.

      Thanks for sharing. BTW, I just talked w/ Griddy and we both agreed it is only fair you get half credit for each comment this month. I told her it really didn’t bother me, but she insisted…………………just sayin’…………..

      Hope all is well, thanks for coming by.

    • John,

      Linkin Park is awesome, well, their first album was. Not so sure about their latest songs though. But I get really pumped listening to the first numb and their other early songs…

      I can’t listen to the music my wife and kids are listening to, at least not when I’m working. When I am working I listen to fast paced music, and not disco 🙂

      • I like a faster pace too and I’m a fan of Linkin Park. I have a pretty varied selection; I’m not sure if I’m quite ready to put my iPod list on Spotify and share however. I might scare my friends off………….:)

  13. Wow ! Great post and great comments (Kaarina) Music has always been Big in my life. the last couple years I have been listening to more personal development cd’s in the car, instead of music. When i do listen to music, it is Really special. Love all kinds. favorite songs and artist are mostly “Old School” classic rock and some R&B.

    Road trip songs and all time favorites; “Blue Sky” – Allman Brothers, “Sympathy for the Devil – Stones, Zeppelin first “Album”, Favs “Babe I’m gonna leave you” and ” I can’t quit you baby”

    Luv that Blues / Rock sound !

    Summer Breeze – Remake by Isley Brothers is Awesome !

    “Comfortably Numb” – Pink Floyd, “Show Biz Kids” – Steely Dan. “Hotel California” and “Desperado” – Eagles. Anything by Stevie Ray Vaughn.

    “Don’t Cry” by Seal will always be special.

    Those and many more have inspired and/or brought back memories many times.

    Thanks Bill. Luv your writing.

    Al

    • Great list; the Allman Brothers was the first live concert I attended.

      If you think about it enough there is a plethora of songs that will evoke certain memories and allow you to get lost in time for a moment.

      Good to see you Al and thanks for the comments. Kaarina really got active on this one and it was certainly appreciated.

      Hope your day is going well.

      • And I will continue to be active:) First Live concert: The Guess Who…Burton Cummings and Randy Bachman. How could I have forgotten that? “American Woman”, “Runnin’ back to Saskatoon”…yeah…I put that Canadian reference in there for you Bill.

        Cheers! Kaarina

  14. All good Bill. Trying to get ready to launch new site and services. Faithful, Grateful and excited !

    Man, I could talk about this all day. My first concert was “Chicago” at the old Hollywood Sportatorium in south Florida. We called it the “Dumpatorium” for numerous reasons. Saw the Allman brothers 4 times. First time in high school at the orange bowl. Great lineup; Wet Willie (remember “Keep on Smilin” ? ) Bachman Turner Overdrive (Awesome) and the Allman Bros. Wow ! between them, Pink Floyd, Eagles and Stones, some great concerts and music.

    Thanks for the memories. Can’t wait to head out and turn it up !

    Al

    • I saw Elvin Bishop at the Atlanta Fulton County Stadium that was pretty cool because I was with the right crowd, right girl, right weather, etc.

      I also Henry Gross in Underground Atlanta front row seats; same crowd, same girl, same results.

      Ah yes, B T O; good times indeed.

      I saw Allman Brothers at the Ft Homer Hesterly Armory in Tampa, Fl. I don’t even know if it is still there.

  15. Hey!

    This is such a musical post..indeed! I just came across from Jack’s blog… he was telling me about you being all visible while being invisible and how you are passing around ideas about doing a list of posts… so creative …really!

    Music has been such a lovely part of my life and I also listen to lovely Bollywood song… Bollywood has these amazing musicals which is all song and drama and you just can’t get over the color and passion of these songs. Obviously you won’t understand the Hindi but the music is just as lovely.

    My personal favorites are so many, that this tiny box might just put a word limitation on my comment!
    I would so love to be a rock star, Bon Jovi style actually! Scream shout and talk about it being my life!

    • What? You don’t think I have any culture and know Hindi? Just ask Shonali; and I even know cricket too………..:). I’ll bet they are lovely songs………..

      I might have painted myself in a corner; I was looking at next weeks and I’m already getting cold feet……….yikes……….

      We’ll see, the good news is I have about 3-4 in reserve because I was going to use them for a guest post but need some work.

      So good to see you and thanks for dropping by.

  16. Oh wow, brought back memories for me too Bill. I LOVE Journey, have every album (yes album) they produced and use to light the candles and incense and just sit on the couch and sing my ass off. Still love them to this day.

    I’m not as much into music these days as I use to be. Oh don’t get me wrong, I LOVE music and always will. It’s just that when I go to the gym or walk each evening, I’m listening to training podcasts or personal development information. They have taken over my life now, not a lot of time to listen to some great tunes these days. But I still go out and listen to some local bands and will be doing that this Friday. Great Chicago Blues band, Steve Krase and The In Crowd, will be playing. Steve and I celebrate the same birthday and we’re the same age so we end up celebrating our birthdays together now. Imagine that!

    I’ll be looking forward to what you’ll be sharing with us since I haven’t seen Danny’s post. I think I’ll not visit just so I’ll be surprised. Oh, and you can bet I’ll be back to wish you a happy birthday on your special day too my Leo friend!

    Have a great week.

    Adrienne

    • Journey was pretty awesome for a stretch there; Steve Perry could really sing.

      I’m already waffling on the next installment. I might do it every other week……..:).

      The local bands are cool too, especially if you have a connection.

      This was fun to do however, it looks like it brought back memories for some people. I think you and Al have the educational thing going; I’m afraid I’ll get too smart if I do that.

      Thanks for coming by, hope your week is going well.

  17. Bill,

    You really dated yourself. LOL. My mom was a huge music fan so I remember Donna Summer, Chicago and Fleetwood Mac fondly. She listened to music real loud and so do I. I know I’m gonna be def soon but it was fun getting there.

    Then the 80’s came along. When I was 12 I loved certain songs but I try to listen to them now and want to barf. McHammer and New Kids on the Block were on my “tapes” and later in my car in CD form.

    But my favorites come out of the 90’s, my college years. Pearl Jam, Nirvana and Toad the Wet Sprocket (they have significant meaning for me.) I still jam those along with Foo Fighters and Green Day.

    Now? It is whatever I am in the mood for. Right now I have America, Beatles, Zac Brown Band, Rascal Flatts, Rhianna, Bob Marley, CCR, Def Leppard, The Eagles and even Jay-Z sitting on my iPhone waiting to kill my ears.

    BUT my all time favorite song that gets me going every time! Joe Walsh “Life’s Been Good”!!

    ~Allie

    • Shhhhh, I’m not old but I know some old people…………

      And another shhhhh, but I have SPM (South Park Mexican) Mexican Radio, Paul Wall and a few others of that genre. Also love Linkin Park, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Green Day.

      My wife is waiting for me to grow up, but I’m afraid if I do THEN I’ll get old.

      NKOTB huh? Marky Mark……….whatever happened to that guy?………:)

      Thanks for sharing and always a pleasure to see you ma’am.

      I hope your week is going well.

  18. Hi Bill,

    Great post and sorry, I’m really late to the party.

    Anything by The Clash gets me going and there is not a Beatles song I don’t like, but the song that really takes me back is Boston’s More Than a Feeling. Never get sick of hearing that one.

    I have to check out Spotify ’cause I’m still using that old fashioned service called Pandora 🙂 where I have a mix: Arcade Fire, Fatboy Slim, Pink Floyd, REM, among others, and this band called Ween, yes Ween 🙂

    My wife and I moved from Baltimore to Seattle in ’91, right after getting married. No job. No relatives, but we wanted an adventure and wanted to start a new life on the west coast. It was an exciting time. We had saved enough money to coast for a few weeks. We found an apartment in the city, and only had what we could fit in our Honda Accord. What an incredible time that was. Freedom and fun for sure. We arrived in mid-September and it was sunny for about 30 days in row, in Seattle. Well, that never happened again 😉

    Anyway, we arrived when grunge exploded here in Seattle (remember that?) So, whenever I hear Soundgarden or Mudhoney or especially Nirvana, it takes me back.

    • Wow, that was adventurous; trading crab cakes for salmon, huh? BTW I was a HUGE Orioles and Colts fan in my youth.

      Definitely remember when the grunge hit; Nirvana & Soundgarden were huge.

      Spotify is pretty cool; I haven’t populated it yet but it looks like you have access to just about everything.

      So I guess you ended up staying on the left coast, huh?

      Thanks for sharing that story and it was great to see you. Hope all is well.

      • Yes, and every time we go back, we hit a restaurant that has all you can eat blue crabs. Crabs and cold beer 🙂

        I loved the O’s. They were so great back in the day. And the Colts. Man I was a fanatic about them. The Shake ‘n’ bake crew with Bert Jones at QB. Too bad he had injury problems, if not he’d certainly be in the hall of fame now. Their announcer, Chuck Thompson was one of the best ever in my opinion. Often turned the TV down and listened to his commentary on the radio, Colts and Orioles.

        The funny thing is when I was in elementary school I liked the Miami Dolphins too. Even had a Dolphins rain poncho.

        I must check out Spotify.

        Yes, here on the left coast still, but my wife and I are getting sick of the gray, and the kids are getting older. Hmmm, we might have to talk to that Falchetto guy 🙂

    • I became a Dophins fan more because of Don Shula than anything else. Now it’s the Bucs.

      The O’s started to drop off for me after Ripken was gone and then the Rays came into town.

      I mean you picked up and moved across the country; I think southern France might be calling your name…………just sayin’……..

      • Yes, and plenty of people in B-more hated Shula for leaving Baltimore. Luckily they didn’t throw eggs at me in my Dolphin poncho! Ripken was the man, no doubt.

        Southern France … need I say more?

    • Hi Craig, hi Bill!
      I guess I’m late too, so I’ll just slip in here!
      Music does transport you, doesn’t it! I find it to be a powerful time-travel machine! For that reason I’m careful about what I listen to and guard my time and emotions from the sad songs that could bring me down along with playing the up-beat songs which rev me up!
      I can’t say music shapes my decisions Bill.
      Good idea keeping up with Danny’s post suggestions! Better you than me 😉
      Lori

      • Are you back? How was the trip? No withdrawals? Now that you’ve been away from it you are probably hesitant to jump back in, huh?

        I’m waffling on keeping up with the suggestions; the Matrix one has been kind of hard for me and I actually have some others in reserve.

        So good to see you and hope you had a fantastic time with the family and being off.

        Thanks for dropping by today.

  19. I was once told by a friend, who’s also singer in a band, that I was a melomaniac and I collected music… I replied: I don’t collect music or songs… I collect memories and memories with their soundtrack. Music is a very important part of our lives.
    Whenever I’m sad or angry I put on my ‘Emergency Playlist’ which includes:
    – Bizarre Love Triangle – New Order
    – I’d Rather Dance with You – Kings of Convenience
    – Canned Heat – Jamiroquai

    Loved this post!!

  20. Also late to the party.. via Jack B. Hmm.. not sure music is as influential for me, kinda like John F. but there is such a connective tissue to memories and experiences. I love that you included Top Gun.. there was a time when movie soundtracks just kicked b/c they introduced me to great music and in the best cases, really helped make the movies. Thinking of anything from Pulp Fiction to Turn Up the Volume to Lost Boys IDK.. anything, I have so many. For those who like scores, I’d suggest the Man from Snowy River; if you watch the Master’s golf tournament, they use that theme.

    What’s in my iTunes now? A little of everything but lots of strummy crap alt rock. 😉 I kid of course, just like everything from Safetysuit to Linkin Park, Nickelback (aka the worst band ever to some), Sara Bareilles and TONS more. Couple songs I enjoy because of the tempos, the build: Matthew Goode’s Weapon and Red’s Pieces. Lemme know what you think. FWIW.

    • Davina, I will forever be a fan of the soundtrack from Top Gun…and Grease…and Across the Universe (hmmm, someone “borrowed” my Across the Universe DVD and I never got it back: must go buy that, now that I think of it). Love the new photo, BTW. Cheers! Kaarina

    • I think Nickelback sho get’s beat up out there and don’t really know why. Linkin Park seems to be on a few lists.

      I lean more to the stuff that will jack me up; like I need any stimulation, huh? Did you know I’ve been drinking coffee since I was about 10, maybe that’s where the ‘on’ button comes from. My dad, who used to be the breakfast fixer always let us have it even though it was supposed to be ‘bad’ for you. We didn’t have a lot of rules at the Dorman house back then. I learned really early how to fend for myself………..did I just get off track?

      I can get lost in the music, especially from the iPod and it can pull me through yard work in hot weather and other physical endeavors. The wife draws the line in the bedroom however………………..:). I guess that’s what the blue pill is for, huh? I know TMI, but I thought it sounded funny……….

      Good to see you ma’am, hope all is well.

      • I did check out Jack’s post, have quite a few added to my iTunes. I am resisting the online temptations of Pandora, Spotify.. for now. I LOVE when music cranks me up, those songs that when they come on the radio, you just blow up the car stereo. As for the TMI.. 1) you’re funny and 2) think that’s when you’re supposed to dial up the Barry White. 😉

  21. OK I need to craft a proper response here Bill. First off I am going to work on figuring out how to remove Journey from your wife and your life. I know it can be done. I can never forgive that band. They were the source of what I call cock rock: Bon Jovi. Warrant. Skid Row. Poison etc. I am thinking maybe Tiny Tim or Don Ho could have a song for you. But really Boston could be a good replacement. I will have to think about this.

    Music is my number one passion. Art second. Work third. LOL I am 0.9 days shy of 60 days worth of music on my hard drive. I used to have a ton of vinyl albums and tapes too but lost them in the last year.

    But yes music is powerful. Often it get’s locked in time. On my way back from Vermont on Monday Ozzy Crazy Train and 2 other songs from his first solo album came on. Brought back memories of 9th and 10th grade. I remembered my old room. My record player. Even my room’s shag carpet. Why I chose shag in the early 70’s don’t ask me. I was 6 when I made the decision. It was one of those early Parental empowering the Child situations.

    It really is amazing how Audio can bring back memories similar to the way smell can. But hey this post is not about smell. Maybe next weeks?

    Always love when you share my friend!

    • Early Ozzie rules; talk about video killing the radio star. I DON’T want to see a domesticated Ozzie.

      Cock rock, that’s a good one. The funny thing is all of those guys are just one dropped bar of soap from spontaneous combustion. However, you know they are just knocking it back and probably lived every fantasy known to mankind.

      Art, as in you create Art? I would like to do that, but I don’t feel I am creative or talented in that way. Therefore, I can just appreciate the works of others.

      I was going to say, your parents were very forward thinking allowing you to pick the decor for your room. Early 70’s huh? Did you miss the black lights and beads for doors era?

      Yeah, smell will be the next one and diesel is definitely one for me. It reminds me of riding in the back of a deuce and a half at Ft Dix, NJ being colder than this Fla boy had ever been before.

      Good to see you bud, hope you are doing well; rock on Tiny Tim.

  22. Okay, Bill. This is getting scary. Open Arms is “our song,’ too! And Danger Zone has a hilarious story of sitting for the Kansas Bar Exam associated with it for my husband.

    You are right. I have a soundtrack for my life and a particular song transports me to specific moments in a heartbeat. I read this quote last night and thought of you and this post…

    “After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music.” –Aldous Huxley

    • That is funny; I think Open Arms became ‘our’ song when my wife said the song reminded her of us. Once I really listened to the words, it gave me an ‘awwww’ moment.

      We used to be a lot more fun and adventurous back in the day. We still have plenty of fun but she started acting all responsible and grown up. I guess one of us had too, huh?

      I do love the quote, a lot.

      Good to see you ma’am and hope you are back home safe and sound and ready to ‘rock and roll’.

  23. Ahhh….I lost your site with a mistaken click, but am back…not sure if the comment I was posting actually went through to you…(learning curve here : ) ) . I’ ll try again… Music, a backdoor or maybe even front door for accessing my own motivation, feeling, intention etc. I love the Josh Ritter song “Be a light in my lantern”…find it very inspirational. I created an image page with a lantern on it and a link to youtube for that song. I keep the lantern image open on the monitor, open the youtube link and listen to that song…with deep, deep intention, for what that lantern represents for me…which would be different for everyone. http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/be-a-light-in-my-lantern/ (Terrific..I managed to get that link into this post without losing your site…the learning curve improves! ) So…beyond bringing back memories…music has lots of powerful applications. Thanks for your good ideas…Kathy

    • I stopped by your place and checked it out; it was very mesmerizing.

      Music does have an impact and can be very powerful; it sounds like this is the song that really does it for you.

      I do appreciate you taking the time to stop by and comment; I hope your day and week has gone well.

      Take care.

  24. Hi Bill, Actually I came to your party on time, but was really busy reading comments all week, lol. You sure do inspire people to post!

    I love Journey, but Don’t Stop Believin’ is my favorite. I love the music and the message (unless you listen too closely to the lyrics).

    And Danger Zone, well I was dating a fighter pilot when that came out. ‘Nuff said.

    But I love most music! Put on a good dance tune and I am off the sofa and grabbing folks to join me. Go ahead and ask my kids how I embarrass them on planes when I have my iPod earbuds in. So much fun!

    Somehow, I’m thinking you would throw a fun party, Bill. Probably because you do it every week here on your blog. But maybe that’s just crazy talk…

    Thanks for another fantastic post!

    • Yeah, sometimes if you really listen to the lyrics you might say ‘they said what’? My hearing is about shot anyway so I can’t understand half of what they are saying.

      This was a fun post, it was interesting to see the reactions and everyone’s experiences.

      Sounds like you might have some interesting stories along your life journey, huh?

      Somebody definitely needs to get the party started and sounds like that’s you when you are pulling them off the sofa to dance.

      Like our kids never try to embarrass us……………:)

      Good to see you and thanks for adding to the party atmosphere. I hope you have a great weekend.

  25. Hey Bill, you’ve got quite the memory lane going on here!

    Music for me has changed over the years and I find my preferences are quite different. In the first half of my life I would never had admitted to liking rock and now I find it makes great running music so I’ve quite quite a lot in my play list. Another fav on the running list is Jimmy Buffet because he tells stories and makes me laugh. It’s not uncommon to see me laughing out loud on the trail all by myself! 🙂

    • Hey you, thanks for stopping by. Hope all has been well and you are having a great summer.

      When we have the ear buds in it is easy to get lost in the music and just laugh or sing and to outsiders it might appear we are a little ‘touched’………….:). I’ve done the same thing.

      I still like rock and variations thereof; I haven’t warmed up to country, but there are a few songs that I like.

      There was a reply above that summed it up nicely: I don’t collect music or songs… I collect memories and memories with their soundtrack. I thought this was very appropriate.

      Hope you have a great week planned; have a good one.

  26. You will then follow others’ attention declarative gestures and flicks registered with one stick of butter when you trade trader 247 online? Pamela Martens, the immune system’s ability to untangle these events occurred, there is a reasonable trader
    247 need. Fifty years ago, a development that most people Trader 247 the FX market was for plant, the Trader 247 trials are
    sure about the hiring of new alternatives. As if that happens a big difference.
    This includes agricultural, energy companies are still traded in Over-the Counter markets.
    Now, when so many of the 2009 list.

  27. 65 pounds fast While these ingredients may temporarily block
    a portion of the pills on extended periods can cause addiction to the drug which can be found in Zhejiang.
    Following a few Basic Rules Bear in mind, to get the best weight loss
    pill and this may not be the best green coffee bean extract always comes into your mind.

    Certaines de ces marques non-normatives base de plantes pilules de perte de poids?

  28. But naturally, it isn’t only up towards the DJs in addition to their talk signifies that boosts the morale of folks.
    Things began to improve only with the expansion of the capacity of various channels of communication, as
    well as the emergence with the format video and audio
    streaming. Baofeng charger Kris: Robert, did you learn anything concerning the medical system through this
    experience.

    Well, i want to play out circumstances for you that will illustrate the point.
    Baofeng v6 With every one of the negativity present all around the world, positive thinking is now somewhat rare inside thoughts of countless.
    You’ll not stuck with one communications device that can go at any minute.

  29. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with your website.
    It appears like some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please
    comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thanks

  30. naturally like your web site however you have to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to inform the reality however I’ll certainly come again again.

  31. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and
    entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking
    intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this in my search for something relating
    to this.

Leave a Reply

