Will you miss me when I’m gone?

Or, did you even know me?

There are many levels of involvement in the social media world; the path I am presently on has allowed me to post a few tweets, engage with others through their blogs, and retweet their posts. As you can see (well maybe not see because that’s a whole different level to get blogs recognized) I even  created a site to blog.

This has allowed a certain level of engagement and time permitting, I can stay in touch with a core group of people I find interesting.

Beyond this group and the occasional new person that might comment on my reply, that is the extent of my visibility. If I were to shut it down today, would anyone wonder where I went; know that I was even here? Does it even matter or are you the person who wants to feel like you had some impact even if it was on a very small scale?

It takes a certain commitment even to get to my limited level. Maybe it’s self impossed but I feel a need to be seen in some way most every day. I think this brings a level of relevancy or belonging, at least in my own mind.

Similar to a gym or church where you have a regular group and you notice when someone doesn’t show up; maybe not right away but eventually thinking ‘hey, where did they go’? Is it the same in the social media world; especially those with large followings, do you know when someone is gone?

Finally, does the 80/20 rule apply in the social world as well; is it 20% of your followers who actively and continuously engage with you? If so, are you ok with that, is it a good number or would you expect it to be higher?

Everything is so fast paced and instant in this arena two days can seem like a lifetime. Is the clock always ticking and did anyone even notice you turned out the light?

PS – I’m not going anywhere, just asking……………

8 thoughts on “Will you miss me when I’m gone?

  1. Hi Bill,

    I guess I would miss you, since I just signed up 🙂

    I like your posts — they are so human and so spot on, at least with what goes through my mind. We could be the only two thinking along those lines, but I doubt it.

    Best of luck on your blogging journey,
    sherry

  2. Found you at Ari. Have read all your Top Posts. And now don’t want to just click randomly backwards and forwards to next post. But I would like to skim an archive and find some more to read.

    For me the rule is, only 10% of readers comment. The silent majority is 9 out of 10 of my readers.

    Blogging is a bit Twilight Zone. If Google likes you, your posts can continue to be read, long after you have gone on to other things, other blogs.

    Diana of EE

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment Diana. Do you think it’s not comment worthy or people are just hesitant to put their name out there?

      I’m social by nature so I’ll just jump in anyway.

      It’s been an interesting journey, but I’m having fun so far.

      I hope your journey has been rewarding as well.

      Good to see you.

      • We are busy, don’t have time to comment on every post we read. Sometimes, we have nothing to add, it’s been said.

        Hesitant to put their name out there? You’re kidding ;~) I am often surprised by good posts that attract a string of spammy comments.

Leave a Reply

